Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Navy - Notre Dame, 2012 [TOUTING IS FORBIDDEN AND WILL LEAD TO PERMABANS: #205 #628]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭neilthefunkeone

Mine are still down as being processed(ordered 15/12/11).. Probably good as no doubt i would have lost them somewhere in the house!:)

• Registered Users Posts: 487 ✭✭bobby wade

AxrinHXCQAEF8j8.jpg:medium

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,286 ✭✭✭OAOB

Just got mine, delighted to have them in my hand, makes it seem more real.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,788 ✭✭✭Vikings

Arrived in the post today too... 50 days from today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

Got mine in the post as well today :) Happy Days - now just to make sure not to loose them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,787 ✭✭✭Benimar

Got my tickets today too..can't wait for September 1st :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,624 ✭✭✭✭okidoki987

On the very slim chance, someone finds themselves with 2 spares tickets, let me know.
    Have a brother coming over from the States (without tickets!) and would like to bring him.

• Registered Users Posts: 156 ✭✭fermoyboy

I'll be photographing the game and can't wait for it!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭JJ

My tickets just came in late last week. Even though we're in the nosebleeds, we're still kind close to the 50 yard line and I've got binoculars so I don't mind. I've sat in the same general area before so I didn't mind too much. We're also at the end of our row so we don't have to inconvenience anyone when we have to go for a loo break or a drink run.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭spank_inferno

Apologies if already asked.

I checked on Ticketmaster and there are no tickets available.
    Does anyone know if there will be further allocations made available closer to the event?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Leslie91

Does anyone know if there will be further allocations made available closer to the event?

I think every ticket is sold, so no more allocations coming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭JJ

Your best bet is the black market or the nice people who will sell to you at face value market.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭spank_inferno

I didn't think there would be that level of demand in the domestic market!

Especially considering it received limited / if any promotion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,225 ✭✭✭Chardee MacDennis

I didn't think there would be that level of demand in the domestic market!

Especially considering it received limited / if any promotion.

about 10,000 tickets for Ireland apparently, took an hour or two to sell out. it is very surprising to be honest.

• Registered Users Posts: 63 ✭✭Smurf1971

Tickets arrived today.

Get in!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭Torlac

got my ticket today. Luckily my wife was on hand to remove it from the clutches of my 2 yr old daughter who had ripped open the envelope was after tearing off the recipt section of the ticket!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 258 ✭✭HeartOfTheCity

Lads

Bought six tickets in the presale, but only using four. Therefore have two tickets going in section 506.

Obviously, selling at face value (buyer can feel free to buy me a pint at the game) - €80 for the pair (inc. the handling fee etc).

PM me (per mods request) if you're interested.

• Registered Users Posts: 48 glassmullan

Hi, I am very interested in two tickets for Navy v Notre Dame, i am probably too late PM'ing "HeartOfTheCity" earlier...but if anyone else has 1 or 2 tickets that they are not using ... I would be very interested

• Registered Users Posts: 37 nickbrun

Hey guys,

Desperately looking for two tickets to the game. Please PM me if anyone is willing to sell.

Cheers,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,471 ✭✭✭brick tamland

Keep a close eye on ticketmaster lads. There could possibly be more on sale. Either returns from abroad or sometimes they keep a small stash to sell on close to the event to deter touting. Might not happen but worth keeping an eye on

• Registered Users Posts: 2 The Blue Swordsman

Would any of you have any suggestions for good websites to buy Notre Dame gear from? Specifically concerned about the cost of shipping, as a lot of sites charge almost as much to ship one item as the item itself costs.

I'm sure the usual suspects (Lifestyle, Champion et al) will be selling stuff closer to the game & probably at a premium too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,687 ✭✭✭✭jack presley

Would any of you have any suggestions for good websites to buy Notre Dame gear from? Specifically concerned about the cost of shipping, as a lot of sites charge almost as much to ship one item as the item itself costs.

I'm sure the usual suspects (Lifestyle, Champion et al) will be selling stuff closer to the game & probably at a premium too.

Fans Edge or Football Fanatics are two websites that sell American sports gear and have reasonable shipping prices

• Registered Users Posts: 2 The Blue Swordsman

Thank you, sir. I'll check them out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,929 ✭✭✭JaMarcus Hustle

I was quite bored, so I decided I'm going to preview each team in the build up to this, position by position :) Starting with Notre Dame and Quarterback position.
    FTv04.jpg

They will probably scrape into the preseason polls as one of the top 25 teams in the nation, but you get the feeling that if Notre Dame were in a better situation at the Quarterback position, then they would be an entirely different monster. Brian Kelly may not be short of potential at the position, but right now – actually, make that ever since he arrived in South Bend – he has been lacking consistency under centre. This spring, all eyes have been on the four-way competition to be named starter and it’s not hard to imagine that Kelly will be flipping a coin en-route to Dublin.
    p0sy7.jpg

Tommy Rees (above) is contestant number one. Rees will not blow you away – he’s not athletic, he doesn’t have a big arm and he won’t pick up yards on the ground. It’s for these reasons that he is not the most difficult Quarterback to defend against. Combine this defensive advantage with some poor decision making on Rees’ behalf and you have a guy who committed 19 of Notre Dame’s 29 turnovers last year. With Brian Kelly having announced that the starting job will go to the Quarterback who protects the ball the most – closely followed by Rees throwing 3 incompletions and an interception in his first 5 attempts during the Spring Game – you begin to worry about his chances this year. Getting arrested for public intoxication, and then assaulting the arresting officer probably wasn’t the best method of improving those chances. Having said all that, Rees does have 16 starts under his belt with 12 of those ending in victory. That experience is priceless for Rees, because his competition for the starting job have a combined total of zero starts for the Irish. Rees understands the playbook, and despite his problems with turnovers, he is incredibly well adept at reading defences and was responsible for some hugely impressive drives last year. He will, however, know all too well that being named starter is only half the battle. Rees began 2011 on the sidelines after Dayne Crist was entrusted with the starting job. That lasted all of 2 quarters of football – safe to say that if Rees does start this year and doesn’t live up to Kelly’s ball protection standards, he will be benched.
    gD1Vr.jpg

Who would benefit if that comes to pass? Andrew Hendrix (above) most likely. Having seen some game time last year, Hendrix is – in theory – the best Quarterback on the Irish roster as things stand. He has a lot of the qualities that Rees lacks – he’s athletic, has a big arm and is a genuine ground threat if the aerial play breaks down. And that latter quality is very important in this debate considering the head coach. Kelly has always had a preference for Quarterbacks who can offer him something in the ground game. At Central Michigan, Kent Smith contributed 269 carries for 794 and 17 touchdowns in his 2 years as a starter under Kelly. When Smith graduated, Dan LeFevour took over and contributed 132 carries for 521 yards with 7 touchdowns in Kelly’s final year before taking the reins at Cincinnati. There, Ben Mauk and Zach Collaros carried on Kelly’s success with mobile Quarterbacks on either side of the Tony Pike era. It’s a favoured mould that Kelly leans towards for his signal callers, and in that regard Hendrix could easily appeal to his coach’s bias. He has shown flashes of this in his limited game time, but like Rees he has struggled with inconsistency. However, that is something that can be fixed with time, and is more forgivable in Hendrix given the smaller sample size of snaps he has taken.
    dgct4.jpg

If it’s not Rees or Hendrix starting come September, then it will be Everett Golson (above) – the token joker in this deck of cards. Heck, if rumours are to be believed and Brian Kelly is as impressed with Golson as they say he is following the Spring Game (11/16, 135 yards, 2 TD), then there’s a good chance that Golson is being pencilled in as the starter already. A highly-rated and recruited dual threat Quarterback who redshirted his freshman year in 2011, Golson appeared to struggle with accuracy in Spring but his breakout performance in the Blue-Gold Game has fans taking note. His ground game is easily the best among the group, and his ability to make big throws won’t have been lost on Kelly with some frighteningly fast freshmen receivers on board. The big problem is getting Golson up to speed on the playbook as Kelly prefers his offences to play with a high tempo.
    tm0xW.jpg

Of course, this Quarterback controversy is really only concerned with the upcoming season. Gunner Kiel (above) is inevitably the future in South Bend having flipped his commitment from Indiana to LSU to Notre Dame, much to Les Miles’ well-publicised disdain. Admittedly, having been compared to Peyton Manning does not immediately ring true with Kelly's penchant for mobile playmakers but when a five star recruit and the number one rated pocket-passer in the country falls into your lap, you tend to look past such preferences. Besides, those comparisons merely lend credit to Kiel’s aerial talents and should not serve to discredit his ground abilities – he reportedly runs a 4.65 40-yard dash. Besides, Kelly has had success with Tony Pike at Cincinnati when it comes to your prototype pocket Quarterback. Kiel only enrolled it Notre Dame in January so it’s unlikely he will see too much game time this year if any at all – he could redshirt the year to return as the starter in 2013.

Verdict: Tommy Rees' inconsistencies and legal troubles will cost him his starting role. Andrew Hendrix should be named starter, with Everett Golson threatening to take over at some point during the season (which probably will happen given Notre Dame's horrendous schedule). The QB role in South Bend this year really boils down to three tasks - 1) Keep defences honest while you 2) hand the ball off to stud RB Cierre Wood, all the while 3) keeping the seat warm for Gunner Kiel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Phoenix Park

Good man JaMarcus, i mainly follow the NFL and don't get much exposure to college football. I'm going to this game myself, so i'm looking forward to your write ups.

• Registered Users Posts: 60 ✭✭teddybear178

Hi guys,

I just found your board today.

I'm traveling to Ireland from Canada on Aug 30 with the hope of catching the ND-Navy gane on the 1st and the GAA football semi on the 2nd. The semi is no problem; got a seat on the end of a row through ticketmaster.ie for 40 euro. The ND game is a harder nut to crack to get to the craic!

I was wondering if anyone might have a single ticket for sale. Also, I noticed that some of you are looking for game merchandise but the shipping costs to Ireland are prohibitive. I would be willing to bring jerseys over at cost for anyone that can help me secure a ticket.

Thanks,

Notre Dame running backs:
    QR0X4.jpg

If Brian Kelly is having headaches over his Quarterback situation, then he might just be looking at his running back depth chart to ease the pain – Notre Dame are loaded with talent in the backfield. With such uncertainty at Quarterback and now at Wide Receiver following the graduation to the NFL of Michael Floyd, Kelly should look to his four-headed monster in the backfield to carry the Irish through this season.
    ZtZIS.jpg

Cierre Wood (above) is one of the stars of the show on offence in South Bend. Wood had a fantastic breakout year last season, rushing for over 1,100 yards and 9 touchdowns with an impressive 5.1 yards per carry average. He proved himself to be a great playmaker – now he is primed to take the jump to elite status with NFL scouts taking note. His quickness and agility is already at that level, and his ability to make lightning fast lateral cuts is a joy to behold. Of course, none of this is of any use to Notre Dame if Wood didn’t know when and where to use these talents, so perhaps his most important asset is his decision making. His patience and timing bring the best out of his physical abilities, and he uses this to make countless defenders miss tackles. Wood is equally adept as a pass-catching option out of the backfield having notched 27 receptions for an average of 7 yards each time last season. There’s no question he will be the feature back for Kelly, and there’s equally no doubt that if Notre Dame have a good season, Wood’s efforts will be at the heart of it.
    iL33f.jpg

Theo Riddick (above) is the prototypical jack-of-all-trades at Notre Dame. Having started out in the backfield as a freshman, Riddick made the switch to wide receiver in his sophomore year where he posted back to back 40 reception / 400+ yards / 3 TD seasons. For his senior season, Riddick returns to the running back depth chart, but that may only be on paper. Sure, Riddick will get his share of carries but his versatility will allow Kelly to use him not just at tailback, but also as a slot receiver and even out wide should the situation dictate, not to mention his return skills on special teams – think Dexter McCluster for Kansas City in the NFL, or Danny Woodhead for New England were he half a foot taller. Having been a productive starter for 2 years now, it would be naïve of us to think that Kelly is relegating Riddick to back-up status. Rather, Kelly is simply looking for more ways to get his most athletic playmakers on the field at the same time. Quarterback’s just love a player they can make a quick throw to, who will return pad their Quarterback’s stats with their playmaking ability. Riddick is that player, so expect him to contribute significantly on offence this year. He could well be the eventual starting Quarterback’s best friend and safety blanket while receiving from the slot and out of the backfield.
    QUIXU.jpg

George Atkinson III (above) is the proverbial lightning in a bottle. We had RG3 and his highlight reel last year, but now it’s GA3’s turn. Okay, so he might not be at the level of the 2nd overall draft pick yet, but Atkinson is one of the most exciting prospects in South Bend. He was the undoubted star of the show in the Blue-Gold Game this spring as he ran for over 100 yards, and his sporting pedigree cannot be questioned – he is a track and field star at Notre Dame and the son of George Atkinson Jr. – a Super Bowl winning Safety and Kick Returner for the Oakland Raiders back in the 70s. There are only 2 problems with GA3, and they happen to be pretty significant ones at that. He needs to protect the ball more – we’ve already established that Brian Kelly values ball protection more than anything this year, and will not have been impressed with Atkinson’s two fumbles in the spring game (although you can lay the blame for one of them with Tommy Rees). Second, Atkinson is practically non-existent as a pass catching threat out of the backfield which limits the amount of plays Kelly can draw up for him. However, he just happens to be one of the most thrilling kick return specialists in all of college football, racking up over 900 return yards and 2 touchdowns last year. GA3 has the ability to make the Aviva Stadium rock on the very first play of the game this September. (Fun Fact – Atkinson gained national attention in 2010 while playing for Granada High School following a 60 yard punt return TD while racking up 206 rushing yards and 3 rushing TDs against Castro Valley. What was so impressive about this? Well, he only carried the football 5 times that night…)
    rjSur.jpg

Amir Carlisle (above) rounds off the four big names in the Irish backfield. A high-profile transfer from rivals USC, Carlisle averaged over 6 yards per carry for the Trojans last year. He also proved himself as a capable pass-catching option, snagging 7 receptions for 41 yards and the only TD of his freshman year. His flashed his potential in USC’s 42-17 rout of Colorado, averaging 9 yards per carry on 10 carries. Word is that USC were very upset to lose the young running back, who was desperate to relocate so he could be closer to his father who is currently working as Purdue’s director of sports performance. The bad news is that Carlisle broke his ankle in workouts back in March so does not have the same preparation that those above him on the depth chart have. However, he should be ready to roll come September and he proved at USC that if given the carries, he will pay it back with positive yardage. Carlisle is one to watch in South Bend.

Verdict: Notre Dame are blessed at the running back position. Cierre Wood is the feature back, and will get the vast majority of carries in Dublin. We will see a lot of Theo Riddick aswell, although most of that may be out of the slot with the occasional carry or end-around. As for GA3, it would be great to see him take some hand-offs but we might have to make do with his kick returns, but then again, that could well be what we're all talking about on here later that evening.

PADRAIC.M wrote: »
    I see a good few tickets on eBay- like these...

Scumbags tbh. You shouldn't even advertise their links.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,444 ✭✭✭frostie500

CAN EVERYONE PLEASE REMEMBER THAT WE ARE ALLOWED TO POST ABOUT SELLING TICKETS AT FACE VALUE ETC. BUT POSTING LINKS TO EBAY AND OTHER AUCTION SITES ONLY GIVES THESE TOUTS LOOKING TO EXPLOIT DEMAND ANOTHER POTENTIAL CUSTOMER AT CONSIDERABLY HIGHER PRICES

• Registered Users Posts: 60 ✭✭teddybear178

I've seen 500 level tickets going for 200 to 400 euro. That buys a hell of a lot of the black stuff! If I cannot find anything under 100 euro, I'm going to plant myself in a pub and watch it there. Any suggestions for pubs that show American football or that have free wi-fi so I could watch it online?