Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Work in Oz

Options
  • 23-09-2010 12:08pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3

Flying out to Oz on a WHV in a few months and starting to get nervous about work. I'm a cival/structural engineer, can't get work over here so hoping to pick something up over there. I have 5/6 months work experience, but I haven't been working for over a year now. There any chance of me picking up a decent job? Maybe get sponsered? Should be landing mid November hopefully. Any advice is great.

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

try reading this thread

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055496201

Its handy. As I assume you are looking at the WHV as a route into living here.

There are a few threads here about civil Engineering work. Best of luck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 MaxB

Thanks Zambia232. Going on the WHV with the intention of staying there for a year, maybe two if I got sponsered.

Read in a few threads that work experience is a big thing and could cause a problem. I'm really going for engineering experience like.

• Registered Users Posts: 747 ✭✭✭uglyjohn

do a bit of research in terms of where you want to move to. prospects vary from state to state.

is your experience on site or in consultancy? i came over with over a year office experience and didnt have a hope of getting an office job. if it had been site experience i would have walked in to one.

as said before, check prevous threads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 MaxB