Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Vivendi Cup - Paddy Watch.

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭thegen

ziggy wrote: »

Mark Roe is paid to offer impartial, professional punditry on every golfer. People on boards are fans and do side with favourites:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Massive credit to Harrington for shooting a 64 when the pressure was clearly on. He racked up a sizeable amount of birdies over the 4 days.

The upshot is that he goes in to the Ryder Cup with some confidence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Gophur

AGC wrote: »
    Not wearing rose-tinted glasses here.

Of course you can count his 3 majors in the selection, what other European currently playing on the tour has done that? They are all in recent years and he has beaten all on the American team in winning them and they respect that.

Throw in the ol ''runner up'' dig again, how many times in those runners up has he shot 64/65/66 to get there, how many times has he blown a tournament like i don't know, Casey:rolleyes:

For your records he has won 5 times on the PGA tour and as you said in anotehr post ''thats not the point'' well it is when considering someone for selection.

All the bashing of him getting selected is unreal and everyone has allowed themselves fall into all the crap Sky are saying just because Casey or Rose wasn't selected.

IMO only Rose was a possible selection ahead of Harrington because his form was excellent all year but Monty went for that bit of experience.

Stop listening to Sky and just be glad he is in the team.

Again, you're going back well before even the last Ryder Cup, to justify PH selection. His RYDER Cup record doesn't back your argument up, either, his experience there is nothing spectacular.

And, don't confuse "bashing" with constructive criticism. Simply put, PH failed to qualify for the team and hasn't the form to justify his selection over some others.

And
    Stop listening to Sky
    ?

Is that some half-ar5ed dig? Or an attempt to denigrate what is said on SKY?

Either ways I don't know, I don't subscribe to SKY and , as such, will be denied the opportunity to watch the contest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭AGC

Gophur wrote: »
    Again, you're going back well before even the last Ryder Cup, to justify PH selection. His RYDER Cup record doesn't back your argument up, either, his experience there is nothing spectacular.

And, don't confuse "bashing" with constructive criticism. Simply put, PH failed to qualify for the team and hasn't the form to justify his selection over some others.

Obviously we have 2 different point of views but I feel only 1 person on form should have been picked ahead of PH and that was Rose but Monty went for experience.

And constructive criticism?

''PH is a golfing embarrassment, it's car-crash TV.''

Sounds like bashing to me

AGC wrote: »
    Obviously we have 2 different point of views but I feel only 1 person on form should have been picked ahead of PH and that was Rose but Monty went for experience.

And constructive criticism?

''PH is a golfing embarrassment, it's car-crash TV.''

Sounds like bashing to me

How? One never knows what PH is going to turn up, not just in any tournament, but in any round, hell, even on any hole, he is likely to do something ridiculous.

I cannot understand the swing changes he decided he needed. His final round in winning the PGA was the greatest final round, possibly, in Major history. He completed the last 13 holes with 14 putts, and, possibly, left Sergio knowing he would never be good enough to win a big one.

Since then PH has made one hell of a mistake, and one now never knows what will come out. The way he's playing is suited to fourball play, but can one risk such erratic play/decision making in a foursome?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭Paulusmaximus

Harrington is going to be an asset in the fourballs based on his ability to make lots of birdies, i dont think anyone can deny that. The question mark is over the foursomes and singles because he is so erratic.

I think its fair to say that harrington's biggest problem is off the tee. If the ball is in play off the tee he gives himself a great chance of birdie/eagle.

Now looking at the Celtic Manor course and how it sets up for foursomes, the odd holes are four Par 3's, three Par 4's (one short one) and two Par 5's. Now who's to say that Harrington won't just play the odd holes and will be leaving the driver in the bag for the majority of the day....

How? One never knows what PH is going to turn up, not just in any tournament, but in any round, hell, even on any hole, he is likely to do something ridiculous.

I cannot understand the swing changes he decided he needed. His final round in winning the PGA was the greatest final round, possibly, in Major history. He completed the last 13 holes with 14 putts, and, possibly, left Sergio knowing he would never be good enough to win a big one.

Since then PH has made one hell of a mistake, and one now never knows what will come out. The way he's playing is suited to fourball play, but can one risk such erratic play/decision making in a foursome?

Im sure we will find out the answer on Sunday evening....this is why they are WILD cards;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 948 ✭✭✭SSK

Aidric wrote: »
    Massive credit to Harrington for shooting a 64 when the pressure was clearly on. He racked up a sizeable amount of birdies over the 4 days.

The upshot is that he goes in to the Ryder Cup with some confidence.

I think that's exactly the point. I can't get on to the europeantour site at the moment but I think he had two doubles and a treble over the course of the week which ruined his chances of winning. He's consistently been making birdies and stuffing up rounds with one or two poor holes.

This has been a common theme for most of the year with him, but I think in a matchplay situation, where the loss of one hole is not the end of the world, he should be fine.

Its a pity Casey isn't in the team as well but that's the way the team was picked and it was line ball between all 5 of the potential picks I would reckon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ziggy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,571 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

As for "countless" victories? He has won 15 times on the European Tour, and once on the US tour.

Twice? Three times? Whatever? That's not the point.

You lost any credibility on this thread with these two statements IMO. Firstly stating that he has only won once on the PGA tour (too lazy to look up the correct figure), and then saying it's not the point when it was pointed out you were wrong. You are only interested in bashing Harrington on this thread, which is fair enough, but don't try to disguise the fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Hypocrites on an internet forum? Surely there has been some mistake. :P

fullstop wrote: »
    You lost any credibility on this thread with these two statements IMO. Firstly stating that he has only won once on the PGA tour (too lazy to look up the correct figure), and then saying it's not the point when it was pointed out you were wrong. You are only interested in bashing Harrington on this thread, which is fair enough, but don't try to disguise the fact.

100% BS, young man.

The number of victories was not the issue, the fact of whether he deserved a Ryder Cup call-up was the issue. (And yes, I was too lazy to look up the exact number, it not being of any relevance to the debate.) EDIT: He has TWO US Tour victories, not including the Majors, already mentioned.

Are you too thick to see what was posted? It was a valid debate on the merits of PH's game. You choose to see it in a different light, ignoring the actual content of the posts.

I am not interested in " ...... only interested in bashing Harrington........", I am, however, intelligent enough to look at the wider picture and call a situation as I see it.

Simply put, PH failed to qualify for the team and hasn't the form to justify his selection over some others.

In that case, simply put, Paul Casey, Justin Rose and anyone else not on the team failed to qualify and haven't justified their selection either. They all know how the qualifying process works and didn't make it so can have no major complaints. Would you rather Monty didn't pick anyone and went with a team of 9 :rolleyes:

In that case, simply put, Paul Casey, Justin Rose and anyone else not on the team failed to qualify and haven't justified their selection either. ........

Hey, you have a subtle misquote of my post there!!!!

I posted that PH does not have the form to justify his selection. Casey and Rose have not had to justify anything. PH doesn't have to justify his selection, Monty has to justify it.

That said, both of them (Casey/Rose) have performed better than PH this year.

In any event, Sunday evening will have various people bragging about whether Monty was right or wrong, but that will be hindsight only. And everyone is 100% knowledgeable with the benefit of hindsight.

As things stand he's taking a risk. I hope it pays off for him.

Hey, you have a subtle misquote of my post there!!!!

I posted that PH does not have the form to justify his selection. Casey and Rose have not had to justify anything. PH doesn't have to justify his selection, Monty has to justify it.

That said, both of them (Casey/Rose) have performed better than PH this year.

In any event, Sunday evening will have various people bragging about whether Monty was right or wrong, but that will be hindsight only. And everyone is 100% knowledgeable with the benefit of hindsight.

As things stand he's taking a risk. I hope it pays off for him.

So do I. I'm not trying to be a dick here, it's just that there's been so much negativity around his selection from all angles and a lot of the criticism has ignored the fact that he's had a number of good tournaments as well as bad this year. At the end of the day it is a risk and hopefully it will pay off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Benicetomonty

"It's just funny that nobody bothers when Irish pundits do it e.g. the furore over here when Darren Clarke didn't get picked at the last Ryder Cup but complain about a British pundit doing the same about a British golfer on a British tv station."

You can't seriously be comparing the picks of Harrington and Poulter in the same light?!

In 08, Poulter was picked on the basis of a distant second place finish behind (who else?) Harrington at Birkdale as well as personal assertion of his status in golf by saying he was the best in the world outside of Tiger Woods!! Faldo went back on his publicised selction criteria of picking a form player when he ignored Darren Clarke, who was winning tournaments in '08.
    Now that is taking nothing away from Poulter's performance; he played brilliantly in Valhalla. But he didn't make Faldo look good; nothing could've made Faldo look good that week...

Compare Poulter's circumstances then with Harrington's now- a very similar, winless year, but with a number of top 10's on both tours, a wealth of Ryder Cup experience, a proven winner on both tours and-without harping on- 3 MAJOR CHAMPIONSHIPS! Absolutely incomparable circumstances

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,759 ✭✭✭Dr.Silly

When will people realise

IT WAS THE WRONG DECISION..............plain and simple

• Closed Accounts Posts: 450 ✭✭thelongfellow

This thread has gone way off topic.

Harrington played well the weekend-lots of birdies and lots of brain farts. I think most people hope he plays well next weekend. Most people...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭thegen

Dr.Silly wrote: »
    When will people realise

IT WAS THE WRONG DECISION..............plain and simple

In your mind it is, not everyones. We have all heard your opinion.

Last word may sum you up;)

Well I don't see how I did miss your point, when you've obviously compared the two picks, but no doubt you'll enlighten me :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 251 ✭✭MasterKZG

thegen wrote: »

*Clap clap*:):):):)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 251 ✭✭MasterKZG

Harrington is simply going to the business this weekend, i can feel it in my bones! He going on the basic that he got a wild card to qualify and will not let Monty down. Under pressure, Harrington is simply brilliant!

Come on Europe..Come on Harry..:)

Loving the re-runs on the past ryder cups.

Peaches :) Now that that's behind us, come on Europe!

thegen wrote: »

Don't bother about him, he's a self-confessed liar.

MasterKZG wrote: »
    Under pressure, Harrington is simply brilliant!

HAHAHA...This is simply comical .. utter bullsh1t...

Don't bother about him, he's a self-confessed liar.

Awww fullstop, all because I said I wouldn't post again,
    have a wee weep in the corner and you'll feel better

100% BS, young man.

The number of victories was not the issue, the fact of whether he deserved a Ryder Cup call-up was the issue. (And yes, I was too lazy to look up the exact number, it not being of any relevance to the debate.) EDIT: He has TWO US Tour victories, not including the Majors, already mentioned.

Are you too thick to see what was posted? It was a valid debate on the merits of PH's game. You choose to see it in a different light, ignoring the actual content of the posts.

I am not interested in " ...... only interested in bashing Harrington........", I am, however, intelligent enough to look at the wider picture and call a situation as I see it.

You used in your arguement that he only has 1 win in the US and also that he has a number of runners up finishes, that was in your arguement on why he shouldn't be picked so it is relevant, simple as.

An intelligent person(Or one that knows anything about golf) would not call PH's golf ''car crash golf'' and wheter you think it or not it is bashing.

So instead you just go and try and get into personal attacks on posters to try and justify an arguement you have lost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Lads this childish crap is boring me.
    Back on topic now or take 7 days of R&R
    There will be no further warning.