Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why is GameSoc gay?

• Registered Users Posts: 779 ✭✭✭papajimsmooth

I made a guy cry and run away at a gamesoc halo night. Too much teabag for one mind :D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭TimeToShine

I know why the OP is annoyed at with Gamesoc. It sounds like a society where you can play Xbox, PS3 etc but it is a bit different to that. It should be called Dress-In-Long-Black-Coats-and-Hats-and-Shout-A-Lot-About-Pokemon-Soc

That being said, you are being immature about it all. What they get up to is not my cup of tea, but you REALLY need to move past calling something you don't like as gay. It is a sign of immaturity and a lack of knowledge about the world. You will meet all sorts of people in life and learning to co-exist with them is a sign of growing up.

Though I will say that Gamesoc talking up all the seats across from Theatre L and acting like all round prats is a sign of immaturity too. I have a few stories I could tell about them!

Edit: Don't think I emphasized just how much you really should not call something you don't like gay. It is seriously not cool!

Yes I will admit I was SLIGHTLY immature, but I really was looking forward to it. A place where you could meet up with hundreds of fellow COD and FIFA players? Fúcking epic, putting money on games etc, it would have been awesome. You're hardly expecting me to come on and say "Well, good day Gentlemen. It is with great regret I inform you that the aforementioned society has not quite lived up to my expectations, however I will be civil and controlled and no insults shall be used".

No thanks, I'll stick with gay

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

Yes I will admit I was SLIGHTLY immature, but I really was looking forward to it. A place where you could meet up with hundreds of fellow COD and FIFA players? Fúcking epic, putting money on games etc, it would have been awesome. You're hardly expecting me to come on and say "Well, good day Gentlemen. It is with great regret I inform you that the aforementioned society has not quite lived up to my expectations, however I will be civil and controlled and no insults shall be used".

No thanks, I'll stick with gay

Gay is two dudes having sex with each other. People enjoying a different format of games to you is not gay.

Post all the pissed off threads you want, but stop calling stuff you don't like gay.

your flawless logic is gay

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Lab_Mouse

Oh god I'm in the beasts lair...

Yep.Trolls should stay under bridges

• Registered Users Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

"TimeToShine"?
    Pretty gay.

haha touché

• Registered Users Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Tea-a-Maria

I went into the Freshers tent there yesterday with the intention of joining a few societies, GameSoc being one of them. I'm a big fan of video games (Call of Duty, Halo, Counterstrike etc) and always have been, and assumed that this is what GameSoc meant. Lo and Behold it's a bunch of grown men playing with gay little trading cards going OH MAI GAW MY CORD IS BETTER EXPERIENCED THAN YOURS HARHAR ( saw them in the science building) and little gay role-playing games where you run around with a foam sword and hit people. Are you fúcking kidding me? Someone set up a console society or something, I'm sure there are plenty of people out there who like their Xbox's and PS3's but don't want to be associated with these pure and utter nerds.

Rant terminated.

*sigh*

If you're interested in Video Games come to the Video Games nights each week,that is,if you can stand to be in the same room as 'nerds' like myself.

I am on the Gamesoc Committee.I was Video Games Officer last year and I'm the Secretary this year.I have been inside the Fresher's Tent all week,being friendly and encouraging people to sign up.Many have.It is tiring,sometimes disheartening work, mainly because of people like you who laugh in your face and sneer at you when you ask them to join.

But you know what?I do it because I like Gamesoc.They are the main way I made friends in college.They are friendly, and the nicest people I have ever met.They have their own set of interests:What the hell is wrong with that?

If you're not interested in Gamesoc,fair enough.But who the hell do you think you are to come on to a public forum and belittle,mock and bitch about a society that you don't like?

Cop on.

• Registered Users Posts: 41,080 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

I went into the Freshers tent there yesterday with the intention of joining a few societies, GameSoc being one of them. I'm a big fan of video games (Call of Duty, Halo, Counterstrike etc) and always have been, and assumed that this is what GameSoc meant. Lo and Behold it's a bunch of grown men playing with gay little trading cards going OH MAI GAW MY CORD IS BETTER EXPERIENCED THAN YOURS HARHAR ( saw them in the science building) and little gay role-playing games where you run around with a foam sword and hit people. Are you fúcking kidding me? Someone set up a console society or something, I'm sure there are plenty of people out there who like their Xbox's and PS3's but don't want to be associated with these pure and utter nerds.

Rant terminated.

OMG That is soooooooooo straight

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭Chet T16

Gay is two dudes having sex with each other.

I think it can be a bit more than that

• Registered Users Posts: 197 ✭✭Zuffer

Gamesoc is great.

A lot of people like card games and boardgames. For sure, gamers can get intense or obsessed about them, but that is true about any activity. Look at any sports club or dramsoc, for example, you'll find plenty of obsessed people. A friend of mine is an ex-card game player who went on to become auditor of the L+H. He admits himself that he brought the same intensity to organising, debating, etc, and that is what helped him succeed.

And as other people have alluded to, in UCD one will find plenty of people involved in activities that you consider irrelevant or distasteful (omg socialists!) but that is university life.

• Registered Users Posts: 901 ✭✭✭EL_Loco

by joining a society you have the ability to change it. why don't you take it upon yourself to be the console gamer wing of the whole thing. While the society wasn't what you expected, and not dishing up what you want on a plate, you can still get something up and running.

Maybe even set one up yourself. Who knows, working towards improving something you see a deficit in could be your........ time to shine. :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 36 asdf1234

Gay is two dudes having sex with each other.

Thats harsh on guys having sex with one another. Sure, its a little different, unconventional even, depending on your point of view, but its generally speaking not as gay as playing top trumps

• Registered Users Posts: 1,355 ✭✭✭dyl10

They also like Star Wars and Stargate and World of Warcraft.

MOD WARNING

Any bashing in or around the topics of Star Wars, Stargate and their expanded universes will result in bans.

• Registered Users Posts: 37,302 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

I'm sure there are plenty of people out there who like their Xbox's and PS3's but don't want to be associated with these pure and utter nerds.
    But I'm sure they won't want to be associated with ghey n00bs like yourself who are unable to read what each society does.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,231 ✭✭✭Fad

the_syco wrote: »
    But I'm sure they won't want to be associated with ghey n00bs like yourself who are unable to read what each society does.

He's just bitter that he doesn't understand how to play TGCs......He's just not hXc enough :(

• Registered Users Posts: 1,355 ✭✭✭dyl10

I'm not going to lie, I did laugh when reading the first post in this thread.
    Be it right or wrong, it was humourous.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

Speaking of the homosexuality of gamesoc rather than what games they play. I did notice over the past few years that there is more than one hot chick buried among the pirates and ninjas of the Theater L seating area.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Over the last 5 years there have been more and more young women getting invovled in gaming, it's been good to see and there is a big community for all sorts of gaming and there are intervaristy games which can include console stuff. Most of the cons have a console section UCD and Maynooth's sections are always worth popping into.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

OP I can tell by your maturity that you're really going to excel in third-level education

Future nobel laureate here folks

We can all look back on this thread and say "I knew him when..."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,847 ✭✭✭HavingCrack

You've learned that difference now. If this point troubles you so much you can find information about how to set up a society from the SU.

Not as easy to set up a new society as you'd think. One of my friends was trying to get a Motorcycle club set up this year (go on motorbike trips down to Wicklow, have a place to go to tinker around with engines etc) and he pretty much hit a brick wall with the SU. He had a good 30 people interested as far as I know as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

Chet T16 wrote: »
    I think it can be a bit more than that

Wow thanks for that insight, I wasn't aware that there were other forms of being gay.

Or maybe, just maybe, I was using one instance of when it is correct to use the word gay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭Four-Percent

Johnnymcg wrote: »
    OMG That is soooooooooo straight

Great comeback. I tip my hat to you sir!

• Registered Users Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

Oh dear God.

A few points:
    1. Societies are an important part of life in UCD; you are free to praise or criticise them as you feel fit. Just because they are run by volunteers doesn't exempt them from criticism, but that should be kept in mind when discussing or dismissing their activites.

2. Personal abuse is ALWAYS forbidden on this forum, and suggesting that the OP isn't that bright is personal abuse. Attack the post, not the poster.
    I will hand out infractions/bans to anyone who attacks another poster.

3. Using the word 'gay' repeatedly as a derogatory term is not something I can feel that I can ban - hell, in real life I use it occasionally myself - but whereas once can be an innocent usage, I am suspicious of someone who uses the same word repeatedly - if you are in college your vocabulary must be wider than that.
    The thing is, continuing to use the term gay is kind of like referring to infertile women as barren - it's needlessly annoying, upsetting and hurtful when there are perfectly appropriate alternative words.
    I won't ban you for using the term gay repeatedly, but I would politely ask you not to.

On to Gamesoc in particular.
    I liked Gamesoc during my time in UCD. They were for the most part friendly, and some of their events were cool.
    They had certain activities which I thought were, frankly, silly (*Cough* Pokemon cards *Cough*), but that was more than made up for by the non-silly activites, such as projector-screen Halo tournaments.
    The thing is, most societies cover a broad field. GameSoc covers all games, cool or otherwise. That is why societies have committees - people with different interests can be catered for, even if the auditor himself doesn't care about the particular event.

You just go to the events that you like, and ignore the ones that you don't; membership of a particular society is not an implicit endorsement of every event carried out by that society.
    Just sign up, go play Halo, ignore the guys (and girls) playing with cards, and if you can't do that, then just try and remember that if a large group of people do it for fun worldwide, there must be some enjoyment in it.

EDIT: Oh and how the hell is dressing up and fighting with broadswords gay? That sounds like the most manly and cool thing ever. I wish they'd done that while I was in college.

• Registered Users Posts: 581 ✭✭✭Ruski

Ranting about Gamesoc over the internet is gay.

You now what you can do, OP? You can actually give the whole trading card and board game thing a chance. Maybe you'll like it, then become addicted and spend all your hard-earned money collecting them.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

*EXPLICIT MOD WARNINGS*

Posting in caps, thats a bannin'
    Personal abuse, thats a bannin'
    Trolling to get a rise from people, you better believe thats a bannin'

*/WARNINGS*

Seriously lads, I can see this becoming a train-wreck, and I will hand out bans if need be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭jimi_t2

EDIT: Oh and how the hell is dressing up and fighting with broadswords gay? That sounds like the most manly and cool thing ever. I wish they'd done that while I was in college.

Sounds great in theory alright. In practice however... its the most alienating thing gamesoc could do bar the whole gaming cards stuff. Like its watching a kitten drowning; unbearably awful but you can't tear your eyes away from it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,750 ✭✭✭ghostchant

A place where you could meet up with hundreds of fellow COD and FIFA players?

As someone who considers themselves a bit obsessed with video games (mainly old ones though - retro gaming society would be great), and as someone who has spent plenty of time playing COD, FIFA etc. online, meeting face-to-face with some of the people you come across when playing would be my idea of hell.

This year was the first year I joined Gamesoc, after 7 years of being here. No interest in card games and the like personally, but they never claim to be something they're not. If you sign up without enquiring what it is they do as a society, that's hardly their problem.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭unknown13

I am not a big gamer and I didn't join Gamesoc. Would I come on boards and start flaming the Soc? Absolutely not because the Society brings together people who have a love for video games and they get to meet each other and challenge themselves against each other in a friendly manner.

Time to Shine, what is wrong with that?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,750 ✭✭✭ghostchant

unknown13 wrote: »
    the Society brings together people who have a love for video games and they get to meet each other and challenge themselves against each other in a friendly manner.

Time to Shine, what is wrong with that?

I think the OPs point was that he thought that this was what gamesoc were, but they aren't (at least not mainly). Then again they never claimed to be afaik.