Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

La Liga - Week 5

13»

• Registered Users Posts: 4,536 ✭✭✭Dolph Starbeam

Looking at this performance, you have to wonder what is the point of having Mascherano in the team.

i would say he's there for tougher games against the likes of Inter and Chelsea, Barca were bullied off the pitch by both of them the last couple of years. Thats teh only reason i can think of anyways, the ref might aswell give him a yellow as soon as he walks onto the pitch for any game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,046 ✭✭✭eZe^

Barca went to sleep there.

Disagree, that's just a good piece of play from Bilbao. Good cross, good save, scoring with the rebound.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

Will this end up like United-Everton? :D

Mad finish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

woo-hoo

3 - 1

Busi

Will this end up like United-Everton? :D

Pffft!

SERGIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIOOOOOO!

Barca > Utd. :p

eZe^ wrote: »
    Disagree, that's just a good piece of play from Bilbao. Good cross, good save, scoring with the rebound.
    Barca defence was exposed, Keita/Busquets should have been back covering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,951 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

What a finish to that game!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Villa's a bit of a feckin eejit for doing that.

Great 1st goal from Barca.

baz2009 wrote: »
    Villa's a bit of a feckin eejit for doing that.

Aye, cant complain about that sending off but the Bilbao chap should be punished for making a meal of it.

When are Fifa gonna bring in laws to punish this overreaction crap - this summers World cup was full of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,536 ✭✭✭Dolph Starbeam

Great finish to the game, pity about both of the red cards as they could have been avoided, but apart from that it was a great game, Barca really were sexual to watch at times, i thought the bad pitch would have stopped them playing football a bit but it just didn't, fair play to Athletic too, they kept fighting as long as they could with 10 men and kept going right until the end. Now over to watch motd :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

redout wrote: »
    Aye, cant complain about that sending off but the Bilbao chap should be punished for making a meal of it.

When are Fifa gonna bring in laws to punish this overreaction crap - this summers World cup was full of it.

Yeah, he went down like a sniper got him in the head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

You would have to wave goodbye to Busquets for large chunks of the season in that case.;)

Only saw bits of this, Barca played some lovely stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭Le King

From your own too.

sergio-busquets.jpg

flahavaj wrote: »
    You would have to wave goodbye to Busquets for large chunks of the season in that case.;)

Only saw bits of this, Barca played some lovely stuff.

Aye and we would never see Ronaldo in that case :pac:

Seriously though - players should be carded for that stuff.

I couldnt care what players it involves - if the refs dish out automatic cards for simulation then the players will get it into their heads to stop doing it.

Come down like a tonne of bricks on them I say and they will soon get the message.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Aye and we would never see Ronaldo in that case :pac:

I couldnt care what players it involves - if the refs dish out automatic cards for simulation then the players will get it into their heads to stop doing it.

Come down like a tonne of bricks on them I say and they will soon get the message.

Agreed 100%.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,339 ✭✭✭me-skywalker

Los Che top of the table! GEDDIN THERE!! Madrid comign up, the form that we are in and the lack of form they are in I can realyl see us turning them over!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

More importantly - retroactive punishment/recinding of cards. Thiago Motta in the Champions League last year is a prime example where the card should have been reversed. Here, Villa intentionally struck out with a closed fist, open and shut case - 3 match ban. Players who make meals of things should be looking at 6+ weeks out. Might make'em think twice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

Wish Pedro had taken that chance, if only so I wouldn't have to ever watch Bojan play in a Barca shirt again :)

Pardon me?
    He only has a couple of appearances - Gimmick rates him as far as I know.

I would say he is Xavis long term successor. Comfortable on the ball and excellent passing range from the few performances I have seen.

Only skimmed through the Barca game when I came in last night. Thought the Bilbao red was a tad harsh, but understand why it was given. Villa was just stupid and deservedly walked.

Massive 3 points all the same. Not many will go there and come away happy.

gimmick wrote: »
    Pardon me?
    Bojan is not good enough, too many Barcelona attacks just peter out once he gets the ball.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

I will tell you now you are 100% wrong. He has had a poor start to the season admittedly, but he will score at least 20 goals this season.

I think faith needs to be shown in him and he'll shine. He has the potential to be fantastic;

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭CorkMan

I would put my house on Madrid to score.

I called this morning but there was no answer. I don't want to kick my door!

CorkMan wrote: »
    I called this morning but there was no answer. I don't want to kick my door!

I would gladly take the park bench for that result :pac:

Mallorca lineup:
    Aouate, Ratinho, Ramis, Nunes, Kevin, Nsue, De Guzmán, Martí, Castro, Víctor, Cavenaghi

Sociedad lineup:
    Bravo, De la Bella, Mikel González, Ansotegi, Carlos Martínez, Rivas, Aranburu, Griezmann, Xabi Prieto, Zurutuza, Tamudo

Link: http://www.myp2p.eu/broadcast.php?matchid=88639&part=sports

or http://www.rojadirecta.org/

Goal........

1 - 0

Cavenaghi

Mallorca definitely started the brighter of the two.

Good start for Laudrups men.

<3 Laudrup.

Losing your captain after only half an hour is never good.

At least Laudrup has drilled into them the importance of putting men on the line - already saved them a goal.

Goal......

2 - 0

Cavenaghi again.

Points in the bag now.

Just shows what you get with nobody on the post!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Hercules 2-0 up against Sevilla at half time.

Trezeguet with both goals.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭The Floyd p

Wow.

3 points off Barca and 3 off Sevilla.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

This is absolute bollox. The ref is all over the place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Bukman13

This Ref is a disgrace!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

Come on Atletico p1ss all over them now and kick them hard!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭Mgoraf

Awful decisions from this referee. Pathetic.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,068 ✭✭✭Bodhisopha

Lol @ Gary Birtles.

I need to stop putting money on Atletico games.

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

Yep the ref has lost the plot. Reyes decision, the back pass and Da Costa getting elbowed/shoved) very late in the 1st half(possible penalty, at least free kick).. all of which have been horrible decisions.

Hopefully Atleti can score another, I need it :p

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,697 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

gimmick wrote: »
    I will tell you now you are 100% wrong. He has had a poor start to the season admittedly, but he will score at least 20 goals this season.

I hope you're better at this than homeless redout:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Bukman13

Huge win, Atleti would have conceded in a game like that last year. Aguero did well when he came on, holding up the ball and slowing the tempo of the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

Alvarez out, Manzano in at Sevilla.

Why didn't they just do that in the summer? They might've made the CL then.

Delighted for Manzano because he was screwed by Mallorca in fairness.

Sevilla having a horrid start to the season.

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

Finally.

Too bad they didn't have guts to do it in the summer.