Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If you won the Lottery...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Poly

send off my bank details to the government officials in Nigeria so they could transfer it in

• Registered Users Posts: 805 ✭✭✭reverenddave

i'd buy 10-15 acres in west cork or kerry
    build a straw bale house,
    buy a new hilux,
    section off 2 acres for keeping pigs
    and sheeps :D for meat
    dig a big pond for chickens and ducks and geese for eggs
    and a huge veggie garden
    and live happily ever after :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

RobitTV wrote: »
    What would you do If you Won the Lottery?
    Say nothing.
    Kippure wrote: »
    Give half to the Childrens hospital in crumlin.

...Or give a large amount to a special bank account where they could consistently gain the interest of it for ever.

• Registered Users Posts: 314 ✭✭Mr Cawley

kylith wrote: »
    If it were a big win I would first buy/build my dream home. Then I'd give each of my family members some money, donate a wad to charity, leave my job and get one I like more, and stick the rest in the bank.

I know you mean swiss bank;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Buy farmland.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Give 20% of the winnings to my folks.

Pay a group of 150 people to vigorously clap & cheer as i break dance on the street every single day until the money runs out.

or

Fullfill my dream of setting up a breakdancing school specifically for overweight people. I would call it Yo Chubby got Moves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 722 ✭✭✭Rycn

I'd spend some of it on women, drink, drugs and fast cars. . . I'd squander the rest.
    How original.

Id buy a multinational company and make myself ceo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

I think a holiday of at least a month would be required with maybe a couple of grand spending cash. The winnings would have to be put in a place where they cant be touched for the duration of the holiday so plenty of thought could be given to how it would be spent or invested

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

Booze and sluts

Film a gang of at least 20 female porn stars jerking off into a swimming pool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Mrs Garth Brooks

I would spend the rest of my life in college. I love learning.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Well now how much is the lottery, because if it is less than 100 Million forget about it if you want to live the life per example:

Dublin Penthouse: 2 Million.
    Weekend Cottage: 1/2 Million.
    New York Loft: 5 Million
    Hamptons Summer Home: 8 Million
    Aspen Ski home: 5 Million
    Vegas Pad: 2 Million
    Yacht: 5 Million
    3 cars: 1/2 Million

And then you have to maintain all these homes plus have to pay staff and it doesn't long be adding up to 2 million per year just to maintain the lifestlye, im telling ye its not all easy once you win big money.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,069 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Well now how much is the lottery, because if it is less than 100 Million forget about it if you want to live the life per example:

Dublin Penthouse: 2 Million.
    Weekend Cottage: 1/2 Million.
    New York Loft: 5 Million
    Hamptons Summer Home: 8 Million
    Aspen Ski home: 5 Million
    Vegas Pad: 2 Million
    Yacht: 5 Million
    3 cars: 1/2 Million

And then you have to maintain all these homes plus have to pay staff and it doesn't long be adding up to 2 million per year just to maintain the lifestlye, im telling ye its not all easy once you win big money.

It would be easier if you didn't spend ridiculous money on houses around the world. What would be the point in that? Maybe get a holiday home somewhere in the sun, but hotels would do when visiting other places

• Registered Users Posts: 805 ✭✭✭reverenddave

orourkeda wrote: »
    Film a gang of at least 20 female porn stars jerking off into a swimming pool.

i didnt know females had penises in order to jerk off with
    :confused::confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭dilallio

I'd hire 2 Private Investigators and get them to follow each other around.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

I'd buy my mum a ski chalet somewhere so she would stop giving out about never getting to go on holidays anywhere.

I'd have a massive party somewhere and pay for all my friends to arrive by helicopter, limos etc. :D

I'd go to Vegas and rent a suite in Caeser's or the Bellagio just to live the high life for a couple of days.

I'd buy myself a car and get driving lessons (finally). Actually I'd buy two cars, a nice one for going into town in and another one for Sunday driving.

Then I'd buy/build myself a house somewhere. I would probably finish out my degree and work for a few years so that if it did all go belly up, as least I would actually be qualified to work.

And not forgetting a massive shopping spree in Chanel, Mulberry, Marc Jacobs... the list goes on. And if any shop assistants gave me any snotty looks, I would pay to have them removed from the shop.

I'm going mad with power already...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

I'd buy a nice house in some forest in the US.

I'd buy a massive over-powered classic muscle car that does 6mpg.

I'd have an extension built onto the above house filled with classic and rare guitars and amps.

Give some to family and charity then invest the rest, and retire at the age of 20.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭desertcircus

Buy a small distillery in Scotland, a small brewery in Belgium and an Indian restaurant in Dublin, and hire a Vietnamese tailor full-time. That way even if the money disappears I'll still have whisky, beer, good food and bespoke clothes.

And hand every women's shelter in the country a copy of the Argos catalogue for the kids' Christmas presents and take care of the bill.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,959 ✭✭✭tinofapples

I'd move outta Ireland !!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭Lazare

kylith wrote: »
    If it were a big win I would first buy/build my dream home. Then I'd give each of my family members some money, donate a wad to charity, leave my job and get one I like more, and stick the rest in the bank.

I love when people give 'donate to charity' as an answer.

Such obv bullsh1t.

Throwing the whole handfull of pocket change into the bucket rather than filtering out the copper is about as close to 'donating to charity' as they'll get.

• Registered Users Posts: 288 ✭✭cooltown

I would buy a few houses and appartmets, and stuff for my family and cars. I would then leave home and plan to live by muself for ever.

• Registered Users Posts: 217 ✭✭spadesaspade

i would prob spend a day going to different ATMs and getting a reciept and leaving it in the machine, for the next people to have a look at

• Closed Accounts Posts: 424 ✭✭d.anthony

I'd buy Messi for Celtic.

Seriously though, I'd take 20-30 of my mates on holiday for a month to Barbados. And if their employers don't give them the time off, I'll pay their wages until they get a new job!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭hypervalve

I'd buy a rocket car and a solid gold house.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,964 ✭✭✭Sitec

be rich

• Registered Users Posts: 17,736 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Lazare wrote: »
    I love when people give 'donate to charity' as an answer.

Such obv bullsh1t.

Throwing the whole handfull of pocket change into the bucket rather than filtering out the copper is about as close to 'donating to charity' as they'll get.
    I'm not saying it'd be a large wad :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,824 ✭✭✭RoyalMarine

id buy an island in indonesia and never ever leave.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

Lose my virginity.

wipe my arse with a €50 note

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

snyper wrote: »
    Depends on the size of the win.

There is a large difference in 6 mil and 60 mil

There's f_all different between 6 mil and 60 mil in terms of what you'll ever need in life.

600,000 would do me to have me set up for life regardless of what Clown & Co impose on us.