Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Rep of Ireland v Russia - 8th/Oct/2010

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

cson wrote:
    To be fair to him, Killer and Green aside you'd stuggle to really improve upon the 11 that are out there imo.

Now that doesn't account for his tactics and stubborness but anyway...

That's a fair point although I'd love some better options on the bench.
    Xavi6 wrote: »
    So who's going to start the 'Are Trap and Ireland done?' thread?!

Slovakia? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭Kiwi_knock

Fahey would be no use if we continue this style of play, he needs a supply of ball and none of our midfield are getting that. A complete change of tactics is needed if Fahey is put on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Stephen Carr at rb and OShea at left?

How is Ian Harte doing for reading?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭el dude

whycliff wrote: »
    Is it me or are we as a sporting nation slow in terms of pace?

Our 4 midfielder look like they are jogging back when Russia attack. You could take all 4 midfielders off to be fair. You can't single out any of them.

The only player that we seem to have of any real class is Kevin Doyle.

I think some of that comes from our players are mostly standing around on their heels, whilst the Russians are always in motion, always have a run on us.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭Lord Trollington

Say whatever you like about Trap but i think its fair to say the lads he has put out on the pitch aren't giving it 100%.

Not a sign of the Irish spirit or fight. What I wouldn't give for a crunching tackle from Roy Keane around the middle there.
    Be beaten by a better team is fine, but at least put in a little f*ckin effort and heart.

Dempsey wrote: »
    Not to bring it up again but he's left better players at home so you can blame Trap

who?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

whycliff wrote: »
    Say whatever you like about Trap but i think its fair to say the lads he has put out on the pitch aren't giving it 100%.

Not a sign of the Irish spirit or fight. What I wouldn't give for a crunching tackle from Roy Keane around the middle there.
    Be beaten by a better team is fine, but at least put in a little f*ckin effort and heart.

I think they're trying. Hell St.Legder is trying so hard he'll be lucky if he stays on the pitch.

• Registered Users Posts: 541 ✭✭✭DEVEREUX

Drag Liam Brady and Gilesey outta the commentary box and throw them on.......they are our only hope!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭FlawedGenius

No changes?????????
    Oh my god thats mind boggling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,480 ✭✭✭✭cson

Lol at the lads bitching about 'statistics'

'You can't go by statistics'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Gilesy: "Lowd of rubbish....statistics" :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭Mezcita

Russian birds in the crowd! Tits!

No changes?????????
    Oh my god thats mind boggling

The bench has has nothing worth throwing on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

rarnes1 wrote: »
    who?

James McCarthy for one.

Do you really think that Paul Green and Glenn Whelan are the best options possible?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Mezcita wrote: »
    Russian birds in the crowd! Tits!

They were as lacklustre and disappointing as this performance

bonerm wrote: »
    The bench has has nothing worth throwing on.
    Gibson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,833 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

we are getting DEEEESTROYED,
    kamon lads, hup ska!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,692 ✭✭✭Dublin_Gunner

Kilbane and green need to come off. Fahey and Gibson have to come on. To be honest I'd throw caution to the wind and bring on Long as well and go 433. Take whelan off for him.

*edit

jaysus that keeper is sh1te

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭_Bella_

Glen Whelan has to be taken off

Its hrd to watch at times..... Whelan would need a Tesco car park to turn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

there keeper is fupping sh1te

• Registered Users Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭el dude

I don't think i've ever seen Akinfeev catch the ball. Ridiculous keeper. I hear Arsenal were/are seriously interested. Why? He looks right out of the Almunia mould of clown keepers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Well played by Dunne

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,019 ✭✭✭✭adox

Russia looking full of confidence, a real swagger about them now.

The funny thing is I reckon if Ireland got one back, they most likely score again. Ireland still far from out of it, even though they should be.

RUSSIA FOR THE EUROS tbh or are we just making them look that good??:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

The Russians are a joy to watch. Us, not so much.

/ed
    Jammy deflection makes it 3... /sigh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,531 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Horror deflection!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,395 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

Time to watch something else....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

ffs :(

we only need 4 now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Oh dear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,833 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

game over ball burst.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,019 ✭✭✭✭adox

****!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭_Bella_

Feck it.

Thats what happens when you back off like green and Whelan

el dude wrote: »
    I don't think i've ever seen Akinfeev catch the ball. Ridiculous keeper. I hear Arsenal were/are seriously interested. Why?

Cos he's ****e? :pac:

Ah cunt.

At least the sponsors will be happy-ish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,973 ✭✭✭WesternZulu

Game over:(

• Registered Users Posts: 541 ✭✭✭DEVEREUX

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭sky88

ahh what in the hell

its tough being an irish football fan sometimes

Dempsey wrote: »
    James McCarthy for one.

Do you really think that Paul Green and Glenn Whelan are the best options possible?

Both are limited but can do a job against inferior opposition.

Russia are leagues ahead of us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Leiva

Paul Green you are a disgrace .. Losses ball - Jogs back :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,227 ✭✭✭The Highwayman

goodnight

I'm out a here

• Registered Users Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Some great stuff from the Russians

• Registered Users Posts: 3,254 ✭✭✭shano_88

Shocking, shocking performance. Things need to change. We have better players than the ones on the pitch and they need to be playing not warming the bench or not even in the squad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,692 ✭✭✭Dublin_Gunner

Ah for fcuk sake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,328 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

How casual are the defense? Just watching, a sure I'll stick out a foot, toothless ****e.
    Get 3 lads on now at least to have a look at them Trapp. Although I pity whoever has to join this shambles.

Ah sure we'll leave it another 15 minutes before I'll think about changes and see if they can get one back.

/Trapattoni

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

apollo%20dead.jpg

This could be a thrashing. Group is blown wide open anyway.

Might aswell be beaten 5-0 as 3-0.. Throw on a few lets play ball

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

Richard Dunne again.