Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pushing my boundaries and making my physio rich...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,551 ✭✭✭chinguetti

menoscemo wrote: »
    Chinguetti... promised me If I helped him get the pacing in Limerick then he'd definitely run the relay :D

When did i say i wasn't doing it? As i say on any event, if my legs are ok, i'll run it. That hasn't changed but if i do a speed session and pull a calf, can i blame you? But how does one do a speed session btw:D

If i was a racehorse, i'ld be Fame & Fortune - Brian will get this, the rest of ye won't.

• Registered Users Posts: 277 ✭✭rockman15

rockman15 - I love hearing from folks like yourself. As you can see, I was in the same position as yourself a couple of years ago. Eat properly [fruit, veg, meat/fish - and no **** -> its really not rocket science, no need for fad diets - just eat like your grandparents would have!!!], and keep at the regular exercise and the weight will come off.

The most important thing is sticking with it, and taking it slow and steady, only increasing milage by around 10% a week - when I thought I was superman and jumped ahead on milage I got injured :)

been there for a while. Suffered from shin splints since i was about 15. But nothing so far and ive been slogging away since november.

Interestingly i see you do a lot of pre-work runs. Between classes in the evenings and studying mine are fairly crowded. So i tried a few morning runs, but due to dehydration and lack of food before getting out there, they are usually sh!te. How did you crack that? Strangely I love the post run mornings in work Im bouncing off the walls which is great! Just lacking something before I get out.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,687 ✭✭✭tHE vAGGABOND

Went to see physio about left foot issue [which is still sore from Sat/Monday BTW] - and I need to go and see a podiatrist

I might have to get Orthotics fitted as the arch on my left foot is a bit flat - so while it never bothered me. I clearly "got away with it" for thousands of miles but its eventually starting to give me **** when I do any long runs it seems.

Anyway, rest of week off running - but its the excuse I need to return to the gym and pool and do some non-impact stuff.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

What running shoes do you use Vagga?

Back when i started running about 5 years ago I faced similar issues and was even lulled into buying a pair of orthotics. They didn't do much for me and it was only when i changed on to Asics Kayanos that the problem went away.

May be worth going to a quality gait analysis for free before paying for orthotics. There just happens to be an Asics evening in 53 Degrees North in Carrickmines this evening @ 7pm.
    May be worth a look?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

belcarra wrote: »
    What running shoes do you use Vagga?

Back when i started running about 5 years ago I faced similar issues and was even lulled into buying a pair of orthotics. They didn't do much for me and it was only when i changed on to Asics Kayanos that the problem went away.

May be worth going to a quality gait analysis for free before paying for orthotics. There just happens to be an Asics evening in 53 Degrees North in Carrickmines this evening @ 7pm.
    May be worth a look?

He was wearing new Lunarglide 2's and normally wears Brooks Glycerine I think?

Both neutral shoes.

I'm with Belcarra on this, it's unusual for someone flatfotted to wear neutral shoes. Support shoes have an arch support for people with a flat foot. Definitely worth getting a professional Gait Analysis before getting orthotics (though I'd reccomend Amhibian King over Asics Carrickmines).

• Registered Users Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

Possibly also golf ball rolling and other exercises for the foot?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,554 ✭✭✭Mr Slow

menoscemo wrote: »
    (though I'd reccomend Amhibian King over Asics Carrickmines).

Base2Race in Ballymount (also Amphibian King) gets my vote , one of the guys up there is a boardsie! :)

Same thing :)
    Base2Race is the overall store, the running bit is Amphibian King

RayCun wrote: »
    Same thing :)
    Base2Race is the overall store, the running bit is Amphibian King

Thanks Ray, where would we be without you there to point out the bleedin obvious! :pac::P:D;)

It's my duty to pass on my ancient wisdom :D

Ironically [I guess] it was Amphibian King who put me in the [Brooks] Glycerin 8's - and I never had a problem with 3 pairs of them until the Marathon.

When I got fitted with them the Lunarglides were another option I was given, but did not go with. So bought a pair on spur of moment a while ago, as they were an amazing price at Wiggle.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,851 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

I switched from those brooke runners to another brookes and I had problems too. Problems i had was caused by the gel base.

Now i am no expert, but if you were put into brooke gylercin by AK, you dont need orthotics, as they are neutral and I could use them once i got orthotics otherwise i would of been in alot of pain.

My two cents

Ironically [I guess] it was Amphibian King who put me in the [Brooks] Glycerin 8's - and I never had a problem with 3 pairs of them until the Marathon.

When I got fitted with them the Lunarglides were another option I was given, but did not go with. So bought a pair on spur of moment a while ago, as they were an amazing price at Wiggle.

I'll shut me Beak then :pac:
    Seriously though, being put in Neutral shoes and needing orthotics just does not compute. Either you were badly analysed initially, your arches have dropped or you don't need orthotics.

I'm in Brooks Glycerin now as well and they're making certain muscles work harder but no complaints so far......

Thanks for all the posts folks - very wary of orthotics as like many things [statins anyone], its an easy way to get more money out of you :)

May go to Runways or AK again, and see what they say gait wise

• Registered Users Posts: 2,551 ✭✭✭chinguetti

Vagga, i'ld run barefoot than wear Brooks. They crippled me last year and caused me the world of injuries.

Go to another store and get gait analysis. Tell them nothing and see what they tell you about your gait/shoe type. If they are talking sense, then start to ask them lots of questions and seek their advice.

Sorry Vagga, i mode from Brookes Gyclerin 8 back to Brooks Dyad and not the other way around. Gyclerin just werent as comfty or a good gel base and hurt my legs.

Back on the dyads now and I have to say they are great.

Amazing weather these last few days - and Im still bloody injured :(

2 sessions of cross training in the gym over last few days - *yawn* - its better than nothing, but only just

But foot/ankle still sore. Was at physio again today, saw their foot specialist. Again another person saying I have "sort of" flat feet. I am not getting the whole €300 custom made orthotics [and to be fair, they did not push them *at all*, but I will get the €60 cheaper somewhat custom insole.

At the same time Im hedging my bets, went into RunWays, and they tried to sell me Asics Kayno 18's for a huge price- which are the shoe the Physio said [as an example] I should get, if I was to get an off the shelf shoe. So I ordered a pair of them for a great price from the states, online.

[PS: I know I should support a local store, but Im getting them a 1/3 cheaper, so Im all about supporting local producers retailers, but only up to a point]

If you need a recommendation for an excellent physio just let me know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

2 sessions of cross training in the gym over last few days - *yawn* - its better than nothing, but only just

But foot/ankle still sore. Was at physio again today, saw their foot specialist. Again another person saying I have "sort of" flat feet. I am not getting the whole €300 custom made orthotics [and to be fair, they did not push them *at all*, but I will get the €60 cheaper somewhat custom insole.

At the same time Im hedging my bets, went into RunWays, and they tried to sell me Asics Kayno 18's for a huge price- which are the shoe the Physio said [as an example] I should get, if I was to get an off the shelf shoe. So I ordered a pair of them for a great price from the states, online.

[PS: I know I should support a local store, but Im getting them a 1/3 cheaper, so Im all about supporting local producers retailers, but only up to a point]

What price were they asking in runways? I went to get a new pair on saturday and couldnt bring myself to pay €155 for the Kayano 18's. You can usually pick them up online for €100 from time to time on deals.

Vagga - what was the site you are buying them off? I was in Lifestyle at lunchtime but they seem to have shifted most of the size 10s...only had them left in 4 regional towns and none in Dublin :(.

I'll have to get a new pair within the next couple of weeks and no way am I paying €155!

Be careful you don't get stung for excise duty on a pacckage coming from the states.
    Also make sure not to put orthotics in the kayanos, afaik Orthotics should only go in neutral shoes, the 'structure' shoes are already doing the job of the Orthotics.

I have to say that i am a bit surprised that you have been running a good while in neutral shoes and now need kayanos, but better to fix it now than never. There are also lots of other options of Stuctured shoes that will do the same job as kayanos, e.g Nike Structure Triax.

1) Random google search for large appearing US based online running store - let me dig name out and post here.

2) Meno - roger on not putting insoles in Kayano's, assumed that.

To be totally honest, my purchasing of them is "self medication" - so many people have said that if I do have anything like flat feet they should/would be perfect, and I tried a pair on, and they felt fine. So hands up, I am taking a guess, basically, that they would work out and help me.

I decided to go against my gut feeling and also get the insoles from physio [ie: trust him!], at worst, I can use them in my existing runners or work/walking shoes.

Its all very confusing - its an area where everyone has an opinion and I have received "expert advice" with every possible outcome or potential avenue. So physio has done my right so far in the 18 months I have been using him, so Im trusting him and ignoring everyone else. :cool:

Im off on holiday to Spain for a week next week, so hope to have one or the other option available, so I can do a few short and sneaky morning runs - but we will see.

If getting the orthotics, make sure you get good ones, cost about 250 euro.

Also it will take about 3 weeks for them to arrive.

They take awhile to get use to and you could suffer from blisters for awhile so use thick running socks starting off.

I have them over a year now and alot of my issues are gone. My wife notices the difference in how my feet touches the ground with them and without them, big difference!!

Also your right to stick with your pyhsio if he has done well with u over the last 18 months.

Im an Idiot :o

Woke early, going mad not running, so went for a slow 5k run this morning..

Low and behold my foot is a bit sore [not too sore, but that's not the point].

/bangs head on table

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Go buy yourself a weights bench and maybe a pull-up bar. At least then when you get the itch you can do some upper-body stuff and feel like you're doing something :)

Or go on some crazy cycles with yourself and your bro :P

New Kaynos, ordered from dodgy looking site in US arrived at work today - early! Hurray for interweb :)

So I can go for a slow and short run in them later and make myself worse before going on vacation :pac: </confidence>

And the website was....?
    With service and pricing like that I gotta know!!:D

Belcara - let me dig out the URL for you...

Went for a run in my new toys this morning and I am very impressed, a nice cushioned ride, and no pain or issues at all. [Now I have read all over the place to take it very easy if making a change like this, so I only did a very slow 5k and cut it there]

5k in just over 30 mins - breaking in and testing new kaynos

I think Im going to have to slip them into the suitcase for the holiday next week, and get some warm weather training in - but dont tell herself or I will be shot :pac: