Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leinster v Munster Match Thread

1789101113»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,684 ✭✭✭JustinDee

danthefan wrote: »
    A couple of nice long bans would stop the Islanders and their culture pretty quick smart

"The Islanders and their culture"???
    The two high shots by Mafi say more about Mafi himself than about an entire selection of Islands and the people who live on them.

He was brought up in the Kiwi "culture" by the way since he was very young and later represented New Zealand.

You appear to be confusing tackling hard at chest-height with a slingshot high-tackle for which Mafi was binned on saturday.
    Those who can tackle full-pelt at the chest will do so, regardless of their "culture".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,036 ✭✭✭murphym7

First time near a computer since coming back from Dublin. The game was Poo's as was said before. A bad Munster beaten by a bad Leinster.

Mafi is starting to really get on my t*ts again this year, his play is dangerous and to be honest has not added anything to the Munster side since Tipoki left, he has been running around like a headless chicken since, throwing in dangerous tackle after dangerous tackle, How many yellow's did he get last year 3/4?

Irish arse's will be handed to us during the AI's and the 6N will be brutal.

Lansdowne road is a good job - except for the obvious half finished remark's. I made a comment last week that this was not really going to be much of a home game, I was very very wrong - it just seemed to me that there was just blue everywhere. Fair play to the Leinster branch, you did a great job making this an occasion, Munster supporters in the stadium were in no doubt that it was a Leinster home game.

You can see Murphym7 + wife on the TG4 replay at 6.58 & 28.45, not the game clock but the coverage clock. I am a media whore, camera loves me though!!:D

http://beo.tg4.ie/main.aspx?content=265471555585

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭d'Oracle

Just saw the "spear tackle" :rolleyes:.

Got a link?
    I missed it, in fact till I read this thread, I had no clue there was one.
    Who did it?
    To whom?

Also, I disagree you inference that Pacific island culture, (which of course is a great many differing cultures) somehow drives players to tackle badly.
    Its frankly an appalling thing to say. I can probably list off as many Island players who don't do that stuff as I can think of that do. There are dirty players of every creed and race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,410 ✭✭✭twinytwo

d'Oracle wrote: »
    Got a link?
    Who did it?
    To whom?

Also, I disagree you inference that Pacific island culture, (which of course is a great many differing cultures) somehow drives players to tackle badly.
    Its frankly an appalling thing to say. I can probably list off as many Island players who don't do that stuff as I can think of that do. There are dirty players of every creed and race.

But they do have a history of the high tackle

an example

twinytwo wrote: »
    Aside from the fact that you've linked Samoans (Mafi is a New Zealander who is Tongan qualified by birth) . . .
    Using this logic, the Irish have a history of, in modern parlance, "contact with the eye area" and stamping.
    "Culture" of Irish rugby? Nope. Not even in the slightest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭Peter B

Just saw the "spear tackle" :rolleyes:.

What was it like? It would'nt be like anyone here to exaggerate an incident :rolleyes:

twinytwo wrote: »

an example

You are attempting to prove a racial profile based on a youtube video of one match.

In doing so you are reducing a Multitude of different ethnic and cultural groups into one, based on the fact that they are all from an oceanic region that is larger than Europe.

I have seen countless high tackles over the years by all nationalities.
    It is not true or nice to say what you have said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,411 ✭✭✭CouchSmart

CouchSmart wrote: »
    I assume you're talking about the tackle 51.45 on this http://beo.tg4.ie/main.aspx?level=sport&content=265471555585.

That's the spear.

CouchSmart wrote: »
    That's the spear.

No its not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭PhatPiggins

Got a link?
    Who did it?
    To whom?

I don't agree with the pigeon holing of entire races but when I played in Kiwi for a couple of seasons the polynesian players were by far the most aggressive. I wouldn't say they were dirty but their levels of adrenaline and commitment always seemed to make them more suspectable to doing something over the top.

I'm not interested in a pc debate just sharing what I experienced. I thought there was a rule staing the front row players were the dirtiest regardless ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,411 ✭✭✭CouchSmart

Peter B wrote: »
    No its not.

Yes it is, go to 51.45 of the video. Unless you're referring to it being a spear, which I agree it's not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

Rugby forum not stereotype forum. if you want to talk about it take it elsewhere or pm but Back on topic.

• Subscribers Posts: 16,614 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

Peter B wrote: »
    No its not.

he means it's the tackle that some people are claiming is a spear.

I have watched it 5 times, That is not a Spear Tackle.

No tip.
    No real lift.
    No attempt to invert the player and drive hip top first to the deck.
    Basically two lads hitting a player around the chest at different angles and trying to drive him. Sometimes players go up or get tipped, its rugby.

Christ alive.
    I remember before Spear Tackles existed when people used to get tipped a bit in the tackle all the time without an thought to how it would corrupt our children beyond all belief. And I'm not even old.

I don't agree with the pigeon holing of entire races but when I played in Kiwi for a couple of seasons the polynesian players were by far the most aggressive. I wouldn't say they were dirty but their levels of adrenaline and commitment always seemed to make them more suspectable to doing something over the top
    There is nothing wrong with aggression. If channelled with accuracy, it is invaluable.
    As many law transgressions can occur out of passive or lazy play as they can out of aggressive play.

JustinDee wrote: »
    Aside from the fact that you've linked Samoans (Mafi is a New Zealander who is Tongan qualified by birth) . . .
    Using this logic, the Irish have a history of, in modern parlance, "contact with the eye area" and stamping.
    "Culture" of Irish rugby? Nope. Not even in the slightest.

Were we not talking about Islanders?..ie saoma, tonga etc

JustinDee wrote: »
    There is nothing wrong with aggression. If channelled with accuracy, it is invaluable.
    As many law transgressions can occur out of passive or lazy play as they can out of aggressive play.

The bit about accuracy is the key as the polynesians seem to have aggression as their default setting.

Lazy play will lead to a lot of penalties but I can't see many instances where it leads to dirty play.

The bit about accuracy is the key as the polynesians seem to have aggression as their default setting
    Do you know any team taking the professional field who don't? Even in a rural junior grade derby, you'll see heightened aggression. In fact, its probably worse (if you find it a bad thing) at that kind of level.
    Lazy play will lead to a lot of penalties but I can't see many instances where it leads to dirty play.
    Late or high tackles occur out of lazy and sloppy play as well as those which are aggressive.

Way off subject here though so to catch up, here's my ten cents:
    - Mafi definitely deserved a look at, even with yellow. First tackle (on d'Arcy) was worse.
    - Tackle on Tuitupou definitely not a case for a spear-tackle citing. He was guided back to ground.
    - Game was NEVER going to be a spectacle. It was always going to be like watching Scotland play Scotland.
    - Great to see Leamy so prevalent again as well as Luke Fitz and Sexton.
    - ROG makes kicking from hand look so easy.
    - Tomás O'Leary lucky not to be talked to for what he said to the ref at fulltime.
    - Donncha Ryan continues to look promising. A lot of tough work during that game.
    - I'm better off working at a game than sitting in the stand. I was beginning to lose my patience with some of the know-nowts sitting around me.
    - Irish backrow looking good.

What did O'leary say to the ref?

copacetic wrote: »
    he means it's the tackle that some people are claiming is a spear.

Oh right. Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

copacetic wrote: »
    he means it's the tackle that one person trying to defend Mafi was claiming is a spear.

Fixed that for you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭Corcioch

Congrats to Leinster,

Sexton really invigorated the backline when he came on didn't he . . .the whole back line stepped up a gear, running better lines, wrap arounds etc.

As so often happens in close games, subs made a big difference.

I taught O' Leary had a complete howler of a game . . . .and im not fan of his anyway ( his distribution is sooooo slow). Two knock on's at the base or rucks/ scrums . . . you could sorta forgive him for the second one but its still NOT good enough, not with the field position we had at those times!!!!

His Box kicking was by and large poor . . . one sublime kick that found a nice touch but much of it just gave away hard earned ball and brought NO advantage.

Back line got very very little quality ball . . . .and 2 good breaks they did have ended with Sam knocking on and Mafi just going no where.

Mafi's lack of ability to offload is a huge problem imo . . .the guy is just selfish with the ball . . ..if the ball was a ticking bomb he wouldn't offload the flippin thing . .

. . .and the man is a complete laibility in the tackle . . . .as we saw . . .again.

So going forward ball in hand he is questionable and in the tackle he is questionable . . .mmm, what does that leave????????

I dont think he belongs in the side . . .but is there much other choice at the mo?? . . .Murphy at 13 and Hurley on the wing perhaps until some of the injured return.

Hayes, what the hell is going on there?? . . .the poor chap, hes just not able imo. Where were the likes of Dave Ryan who played some good stuff last year ??? . . .is he injured.

Im not so much bothered about the loss to leinster ( not that I want to take away from their victory ) . .but concerned about the H Cup, Mafi at 13 is just not the answer imo . . .Hayes playing 80 mins is not on anymore . . .and TOL needs a right good kick up the arse.

Play like that in Europe and it will be curtains.

D Ryan and Leamy were good!!

What did O'leary say to the ref?

"For Flip Sake!"

You can probably see where I took euphemistic licence.
    Probably not the worst thing that's been said to a ref, but it was on camera so about 300 extra children will grow up to be murderous junkies as a result.

Always been O'Learys problem. Never thinks of the children.

"For Flip Sake!"

Probably not the worst thing that's been said to a ref, but it was on camera so about 300 extra children will grow up to be murderous junkies as a result.

:):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

"For Flip Sake!"

That's right. Given I'm still a young 'un he never thinks of my sanity either when I'm watching him. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

If you want to see the difference between controlled agression and being something I'll get infracted for, contrast the performances of Tuitoupo and Mafi. Tutu put in some massive tackles during the game, but every single one of them was fair.

Also mafi could have smashed both d'arcy and kearney legally if he wanted to but he choose to go high

• danthefan wrote: »

true, I was very impressed with Tuitoupo, some seriously powerful tackles from him. One to watch

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

Just watching Mafi's tackles again, and the first one is scandalous, really scandalous. Firstly he could have easily taken him legally, and secondly he had about 2 seconds, a huge amount of reaction time for a professional sports man, to pull out, but yet chose the swinging, flying arm.
    How anyone could defend that!
    Considering guys get bans for any contact with the eyes, the punhsiment for this should follow suit. Could have broken Kearney's neck too.

Was thinking the same thing myself. Easy to spot which one was the All Black.

Another disgraceful hit from the weekend, good work by the ref though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Jesus Mafi's is tiddlywinks compared to that. :eek:

• In fairness, that's full on outright assault

In fairness, that's full on outright assault
    Jesus Mafi's is tiddlywinks compared to that. :eek:

Mafi's was just as bad. Look at the effect it had on the guy on the receiving end, repectively. Both malicious, both red cards, both probably will end up with bans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,968 ✭✭✭✭phog

Mafi's was just as bad. Look at the effect it had on the guy on the receiving end, repectively. Both malicious, both red cards, both probably will end up with bans.

The problem with me disagreeing with this post is that some will feel that I'm defending Mafi. TO BE CLEAR I'M NOT, he has been cited and justifiably so.

Mafi's was not as bad and I dont think the ref or a disciplinary panel should take the effect a dangerous tackle, stamp, punch, etc on the injured player into account before deciding on what card or ban should be issued on the offending player.

• Subscribers Posts: 16,614 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

mafis intent was as bad at least, going for the back of the head is illegal even in MMA and Boxing for good reason.

The tackle on the guy who recieved the ball wasn't exactly textbook either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,741 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

think thats the worst tackle i have ever seen - its worse than a headbut , and on par with a baseball bat assault - what is it with Polynesians ? i like them as people and want their rugby to do well , but someone is going to get seriously hurt and it will be too late , unless they rain it in on the high hits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭daveharnett

Another disgraceful hit from the weekend, good work by the ref though.

Looks to me like the ref denied them a shot at a try there.

Fair enough, there's a concern for the 'tackled' player's safety, and a good chance of a reaction from his team. Ordinarily, blowing it up immediately is the right call. But in these circumstances where the ball is gone and there is space (and professional physios can attend to the injury while the game is live), I see no harm in playing a short advantage before handing out the red.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭outwest

dan i agree, mafi is worse but only for the fact that if the ya man rapped his arms round as was a tiny bit lower i would say it was a great hit,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭davidpfitz

outwest wrote: »
    dan i agree, mafi is worse but only for the fact that if the ya man rapped his arms round as was a tiny bit lower i would say it was a great hit,

That's a bit like saying to a Ronan O'Gara just after missing a penalty that if his place kick was just a little higher, longer and a bit straighter it'd have been a great kick. Fact is, it wasn't.... it was a bleeding awful 'tackle'.

The guy who received the ball after him got clotheslined, too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,803 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

thebaz wrote: »
    think thats the worst tackle i have ever seen - its worse than a headbut , and on par with a baseball bat assault - what is it with Polynesians ? i like them as people and want their rugby to do well , but someone is going to get seriously hurt and it will be too late , unless they rain it in on the high hits

NEE NAW NEE NAW

You're going to get into trouble with the PC Police
    RuggieBear wrote: »
    Rugby forum not stereotype forum. if you want to talk about it take it elsewhere or pm but Back on topic.

thebaz wrote: »

Or South Africans

Or Argentinians

Or Welsh

Mafi and Tuilagi have played over the edge of the law in the tackle for some time now. Do not judge all of Polynesia on them.
    I'm not being overly PC here, its borderline racism.

davidpfitz wrote: »
    That's a bit like saying to a Ronan O'Gara just after missing a penalty that if his place kick was just a little higher, longer and a bit straighter it'd have been a great kick. Fact is, it wasn't.... it was a bleeding awful 'tackle'.

The guy who received the ball after him got clotheslined, too!

The difference between a bad and a great tackle can be miniscule. That could have been hit of the year if he'd used his arms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭lologram

The difference between a bad and a great tackle can be miniscule. That could have been hit of the year if he'd used his arms.

Yeah but this is Henry Tuilagi we're talking about, wrapping his arms is too much to ask of him. If you scroll down the Rugbydump post of that hit, you can see the large collection of his red and yellow cards for these kinds of 'tackles'. He's just a thug basically

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭laugh

7 weeks ban!

laugh wrote: »
    7 weeks ban!

Great stuff. I'm delighted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

how many warnings....these threads always go the same way