Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Will Ireland ever have a Polish taoiseach?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭Dunjohn

Millicent wrote: »
    I don't get you?

There are words in Polish that put the apparent difficulty of pronuncing "taoiseach" to shame. So that's hardly a criterion for exclusion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

lol @ OP, mega thread fail mate :p

I don't think we'll have a Polish Taoiseach, sure aren't all the Polish heading home? There's surely more jobs there than in Ireland :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

Dunjohn wrote: »
    There are words in Polish that put the apparent difficulty of pronuncing "taoiseach" to shame. So that's hardly a criterion for exclusion.

Ah, I get you now. :) And yeah, seriously. I've tried to learn a little bit of Polish from colleagues but dear God! the pronunciation is shockingly hard for some words.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,179 ✭✭✭RichTea

I'm talking about the Polish in Ireland, no Polish serious about politics is going to be running for office here.

Based on your username, did you have a few scoops before coming up with this thread?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 593 ✭✭✭Rockery Woman

I think there is a strong possibility we will have a Polish Taoiseach in the future.

But they will probably be second generation Polish (ie born in Ireland to Polish parents)

I can't see our current pack of gombeens being replaced for a while, but I can imagine people of Polish origin growing up in this country not only getting involved in politics, but GAA and all sorts of typical Irish activities.

And I really believe - thats a very good thing!:D

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,087 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

Well we've already had an American Taoiseach and President.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭DB10

Get a load of young female models into cabinet like Berlusconi does in Italy. Then we have a reason to watch all the politics, prime time stuff etc.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭DB10

I think there is a strong possibility we will have a Polish Taoiseach in the future.

But they will probably be second generation Polish (ie born in Ireland to Polish parents)

I can't see our current pack of gombeens being replaced for a while, but I can imagine people of Polish origin growing up in this country not only getting involved in politics, but GAA and all sorts of typical Irish activities.

And I really believe - thats a very good thing!:D

The Polish men might want to give up their steriods before taking on GAA.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

RichTea wrote: »
    Based on your username, did you have a few scoops before coming up with this thread?

He's not the OP! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

Confab wrote: »
    Racist thread of the year. How is Obama not American? Because he's black?

No, because he's a Democrat. :pac:

EDIT: Also who cares what Nationality the Taoiseach is, how about just having a fecking good Taoiseach! We should start behaving like soccer teams and recruit better leaders from abroad when our current one sucks.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

Aíne Bacyabikz for Taoiseach - i can see the AH thread from 2032 in my mind already...oh how we'll laugh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭Ectoplasm

Like Leo Varadkar?

Varadkar isn't of Polish descent. His mammy is Irish and his daddy is Indian. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

CorkMan wrote: »
    First off, he is half-white and half-black. (and African-Americas making up a substantial part of the American population BTW).

A Kenyan official told a British newspaper he was born in Kenya, that is what I base my information on.

This ^

Your basing your information on what you heard from one source without investigating why it would be werid for a Kenyan to become president of America :confused:

/ Token facepalm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,191 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

I don't think we'll ever have a foreign Taoiseach, but we may have an Irish one of foreign extraction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

We already have a Northerner for President.

Lady before her was a Westerner (Robinson).
    Man before her was a Southerner (Hillary).
    Man before him was an Easterner (Ó Dálaigh).

• Registered Users Posts: 454 ✭✭KindOfIrish

I have been seeing a lot of Polish girls with buggies recently. So in 30-40 years time it will be a distinct possibility:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭h8scobes

we will never have a polish taoiseach because being polish means being porn in poland. just cause some guys second name is maresweski doesn't make them polish if they are born here no more than a guy in america with a irish/dutch/english/german name makes them 1 of those nationalities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,186 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

h8scobes wrote: »
    we will never have a polish taoiseach because being polish means being porn in poland. just cause some guys second name is maresweski doesn't make them polish if they are born here no more than a guy in america with a irish/dutch/english/german name makes them 1 of those nationalities.
    freudian slip

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

R0ot wrote: »
    No, because he's a Democrat. :pac:

EDIT: Also who cares what Nationality the Taoiseach is, how about just having a fecking good Taoiseach! We should start behaving like soccer teams and recruit better leaders from abroad when our current one sucks.

Is it constitutional to have a non national as our political leader?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Scuid Mhór

eh, yes. i zoo beveeve dat ireland eez in, eh, times of truuble. yes yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

topper75 wrote: »

But all had the good grace to be born and grow up in the 26 counties, sort of gave them an idea what the natives are like

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,565 ✭✭✭southsiderosie

But all had the good grace to be born and grow up in the 26 counties, sort of gave them an idea what the natives are like

You think foreign-born people living in Ireland don't have an idea of what the natives are like? (raises eyebrow)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

wes wrote: »
    Are you serious? Someone who is foreign born can't be President of the US, and the claim is bull, spouted by the far right lunatics in the US. Obama was born in Hawaii.

There are actually two documents in Kenya that say he was born there, both dated on his DOB. His documents in Hawaii have never been seen by anybody, the only documents available to the public were signed 4 days after his birth by his grandmother.

His half brother and half sister both claim he was born in Kenya, so does his other grandmother.

There are many many more little things.

If he was born in Hawaii, why not just produce the documentation?

You think foreign-born people living in Ireland don't have an idea of what the natives are like? (raises eyebrow)

When their wallet is empty they get the idea

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,565 ✭✭✭southsiderosie

Seaneh wrote: »
    There are actually two documents in Kenya that say he was born there, both dated on his DOB. His documents in Hawaii have never been seen by anybody, the only documents available to the public were signed 4 days after his birth by his grandmother.

His half brother and half sister both claim he was born in Kenya, so does his other grandmother.

Does your tin hat make your head sweaty?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭fontanalis

There are actually two documents in Kenya that say he was born there, both dated on his DOB. His documents in Hawaii have never been seen by anybody, the only documents available to the public were signed 4 days after his birth by his grand mother.

His half brother and half sister both claim he was born in Kenya, so does his Grandmother.

You're right, when you apply for the most powerful job in the world they don't check the basics.

Oh yeah, I forgot to point and laugh at you.

fontanalis wrote: »
    You're right, when you apply for the most powerful job in the world they don't check the basics.

Oh yeah, I forgot to point and laugh at you.

Even if he has an american birth cert, it doesn't mean it's legit.

He lied on his bar exam, there is a section where you have to list all aliases you have ever used, he has used about 5, he listed none.

Why lie?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭fontanalis

He lied on his bar exam, there is a section where you have to list all aliases you have ever used, he has used about 5, he listed none.

Why lie?

Why believe the most extreme element of the tea party

YOU ARE WRONG

fontanalis wrote: »
    Why believe the most extreme element of the tea party

YOU ARE WRONG

The tea party are a load of muppets, I don't believe them.
    He did lie about his aliases, this is fact. On public record. Indisputable.

There are two registrations of his birth in Kenya on his date of birth.

the only publicly viewable proof of birth in the US in his name is dated 4 days after his birth and signed by his grandmother.

This is fact.

I am not wrong.

I didn't say he WAS born in Kenya. I just said that there is documentation in existence saying that he was. There is more publicly available evidence that he was born in Kenya than there is publicly viewable evidence that he was born in the US.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,844 ✭✭✭RobbieTheRobber

The tea party are a load of muppets, I don't believe them.
    He did lie about his aliases, this is fact. On public record. Indisputable.
    the only publicly viewable proof of birth in the US in his name is dated 4 days after his birth and signed by his grandmother.
    This is fact.
    I am not wrong.
    I didn't say he WAS born in Kenya. I just said that there is documentation in existence saying that he was. There is more publicly available evidence that he was born in Kenya than there is publicly viewable evidence that he was born in the US.

I think I get what your saying now, so i'll just try and sum it up nicely for you in one line.

Obama will be the first Polish Taoiseach of Ireland!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭ninjasurfer1

topper75 wrote: »

They're all from the Republic Of Ireland which is the political entity that the president represents. Given that Mary McAleese is not from that political entity, you could call her a foreigner....(in the political sense).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,183 ✭✭✭dvpower

The plot thickens. What do you reckon they did with his twin brother?:rolleyes:

dvpower wrote: »

He had a drink problem so they put him in a fat suit and sent him to Ireland,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,129 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

dvpower wrote: »

I thought there were quintuplets, with the other four in storage, just in case someone get's trigger-happy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,899 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

They're all from the Republic Of Ireland which is the political entity that the president represents. Given that Mary McAleese is not from that political entity, you could call her a foreigner....(in the political sense).

have you read the constitution?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,129 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

ejmaztec wrote: »
    I thought there were quintuplets, with the other four in storage, just in case someone get's trigger-happy?

It's gets, you twat!:mad:

(I hope I don't get banned for self-abuse):(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

We already have a Northerner for President.

She's an Irish woman for sure, but what nationality is a Northerner??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭Ectoplasm

ejmaztec wrote: »
    It's gets, you twat!:mad:

(I hope I don't get banned for self-abuse):(

I thought self-abuse was encouraged in AH ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,763 ✭✭✭Sheeps

haha this is the best subtle troll ive ever read!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭Sonnenblumen

Millicent wrote: »
    I'd tend to go with a birth cert myself... ;)

So Irish Wolfhounds born abroad are not Irish ?:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Predator_ wrote: »
    Will Poland ever have an Irish prime minister?
    Nope. They're not taking in many immigrants these days.
    AAAAAAAHHH wrote: »
    Well a man told me that he was Satan. What do you say to that? If only there was some form of record of where he was born. Some certificate. A birth certificate if you will.
    I once told a bum that I was Jesus. Being drunk during the day in Dublin is fun.

Apparently I'm Kenyan too.
    http://boards.ie/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=129197&stc=1&d=1285699287

As for Polish politicians, shame on AH.
    One of our greatest leaders, one of our greatest women's rights campaigners, one of our greatest revolutionaries, one of the people behind the freedom of our country.

I honestly cannot believe how you people have forgotten Constance Markiewicz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,092 ✭✭✭CiaranMT

Why lie?

Sources?

Great thread :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Terry wrote: »
    As for Polish politicians, shame on AH.
    One of our greatest leaders, one of our greatest women's rights campaigners, one of our greatest revolutionaries, one of the people behind the freedom of our country.I honestly cannot believe how you people have forgotten Constance Markiewicz.

The Countess was as much English than Irish in terms of place of birth and heritage, and she married a Pole from modern day Ukraine. There is a chance that Ireland will one day have a Taoiseach of foreign origin. We have already had Poles amongst others running for office here, and holding public office.

• Registered Users Posts: 521 ✭✭✭Voodoo_rasher

who does not drink alcohol; more entertaining question imho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭up for anything

A polished taoiseach would be nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭Star Bingo

^ lol. coulda sworn i saw a placard up outside the Aras, "no polish need apply" :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,731 ✭✭✭alex73

We could have an Indian Taoiseach before a polish one with Varadkar....

What a retarded thread...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,899 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

Wasn't Dev born in the US?

Riskymove wrote: »
    Wasn't Dev born in the US?

No he came down on a golden chariot from the stars into Limerick, his first words were

O ****