Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Toddle Bar - Who's the new Owner!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭marlin vs

kryogen wrote: »
    was there many in there? how does it look etc.. havent been able to get up that way yet!

Have to say it's spotless, and there was only about12 in the bar but it looked like there was a few arriving as I was leaving.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭dayshah

marlin vs wrote: »
    I went in this evening, the staff are useless all they want to do is watch the television.

TVs ruin pubs!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

dayshah wrote: »
    TVs ruin pubs!!!

Should probably elaborate on that dayshah.

TVs do not ruin pubs. It's bad management of TVs that ruin pubs. In fact, it's bad management of a lot of things that I believe ruin pubs. (At this point I'd like to say a warm hello to anyone reading this that has now decided that I'm definitely up my own arse - Sorry...im just very opinionated about a lot of things and I never know when to be quiet)

Anyway..Let me explain what I mean.

TVs

Some pubs rely on em for the big soccer matches. For example, when I worked with Masons there were two champions league finals that were just out the door. The atmosphere was probably the best I've ever experienced in a pub. I ended the night playing man utd songs in a DJ box getting very drunk on champagne. Anyway, on a weekly basis without tvs, we'd have a lot of empty pubs.

However, hate seeing Sky News and MTV on tvs in pubs around the clock. If there is nothing to show on the TV that people are interested in, then don't show anything. People are always drawn to the TV in the corner, regardless of what it's showing, and man is it a conversation killer.

The woodman used to show the news every day at 6pm...it was a tradition..the regulars expected it. I hated it. I always believe that we go out to socialise to get away from pain and misery...not to watch more of it. In saying that, if the majority of customers want it, then the decision is made for ya.

MUSIC

I was in the Tower Hotel recently for lunch and they had the volume of the music way too high. The choice of music also left a lot to be desired. I believe if there's music on during the day it should be an after thought in the back ground and that's it. The bar men in Geoffs should have a think about this tbh. I often wonder why it's so popular with the over 40s, even with the loud grunge blasting out. I also believe there's no place for hip hop and dance music when we can see the sun in the sky. But maybe that's just me.

For a pub to work (Ok, at this point there are people reading this that know me and they're thinking...what a complete pompous asshole this guy is. I actually know at this point...I just can't seem to stop myself)...anyway..for a pub to work...it needs to have a good policy on things like this, and a good staff that will always maintain that policy. For example...one bar I worked in, the staff used to have the lights blaring like illuminations after ten o clock. The music playing was also pretty ****e...they staff didn't care either way...they just did the bare minimum of what they were paid for.

TVs do not ruin pubs. It's bad management of TVs that ruin pubs. ...

However, hate seeing Sky News and MTV on tvs in pubs around the clock. If there is nothing to show on the TV that people are interested in, then don't show anything. People are always drawn to the TV in the corner, regardless of what it's showing, and man is it a conversation killer.

Yeah, that what I meant, but what I said was a lot shorter :)

Shorter is not necessarily better!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,393 ✭✭✭danjo-xx

Some taxi driver's are now refusing to pick up from it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭marlin vs

Supposed to be taking over the Reginald bar.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,985 ✭✭✭mikeym

danjo-xx wrote: »
    Some taxi driver's are now refusing to pick up from it.

Howcome??

• Registered Users Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

mikeym wrote: »
    Howcome??

All the hassle last Friday night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭calvin_zola

its like a Knacker wedding in there most nights

• Registered Users Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭Dr. Baltar

Indeed, in the space of 2-3 weeks it went from nice to pretty rough.
    Very disappointed.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

I think places whose main attraction is the low price of drink will always attract a crowd who want to drink as much as possible, for as cheap as possible. Some might say that's an unfair generalisation and I have no doubt that there are people who go there who like to just have a pint or two to unwind but as it stands, I'd happily pay >€4 per drink if I knew I could enjoy it in peace and not have to worry about trouble kicking off around me!

With that being said, I wonder why The Exchange doesn't have the same problems? My guess that as an established pub that's nearer to the city centre and serves food has something to do with it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭Hoffmans

neds went the social club route so if your scum your not in ,thats fair enough and a grand place to enjoy your 3€ pint
    considering the extortionate prices less than 500yards away in old tweetyville john st & surrounds where you'll pay 4.70€ for a pint of muck...

• Registered Users Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Funfair

its like a Knacker wedding in there most nights

lol :)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,985 ✭✭✭mikeym

Hoffmans wrote: »
    neds went the social club route so if your scum your not in ,thats fair enough and a grand place to enjoy your 3€ pint
    considering the extortionate prices less than 500yards away in old tweetyville john st & surrounds where you'll pay 4.70€ for a pint of muck...

Or €5.30 for a pint in harveys.

• Registered Users Posts: 602 ✭✭✭savic04

Apparently owner of the Toddle has got the lease for the Bowery/Reg'....

if they start doing 3euro a drink in a niteclub.. it will spell the end of the strip :)

• Registered Users Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

savic04 wrote: »

if they start doing 3euro a drink in a niteclub.. it will spell the end of the strip :)

I await ATBB's input on this :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

if they start doing 3euro a drink in a niteclub..
    it will spell the end of the strip :)

never happen for obvious reasons

kryogen wrote: »
    never happen for obvious reasons

true, but they said it wouldnt keep up in pubs and now most pubs doing it or some sort of reduction on prices

• Registered Users Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

I'd a imagine a late bar/nightclub would have significantly higher costs then a pub like the toddle.

Licence,Insurance,Staff,Security, would all be higher to name but a few.

Having said that I think if a Club did open that charged even €1 less per drink they could do very well.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,603 ✭✭✭200motels

Hi lads any idea when Kittys is reopening in Barrick St?

ziedth wrote: »
    Having said that I think if a Club did open that charged even €1 less per drink they could do very well.

Exactly. €3.50 a pint would still be cheap (for a night club), but is still a far far greater margin than €3 a pint.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,393 ✭✭✭danjo-xx

With all these cheap drinks in the pubs now...whoes taking the hit, Diageo/Government.....nah.... cheap imports from the north/elsewhere maybe?

danjo-xx wrote: »
    With all these cheap drinks in the pubs now...whoes taking the hit, Diageo/Government.....nah.... cheap imports from the north/elsewhere maybe?
    Places that overextended themselves during the boom, like Bob Tweedy (or his creditors is more like it).

• Registered Users Posts: 1,336 ✭✭✭tonc76

200motels wrote: »
    Hi lads any idea when Kittys is reopening in Barrick St?

Jan 21st/22nd from what I've heard

anytime I got a bottle in the cheaper pubs the back of them always says ''NOT FOR RESALE'' they are obviously part of the cheaper boxes from supermarkets etc

there would be no compromise on quality though.... if you get a 10 pack of becks from Tesco for instance its import lager brewed in Germany and canned in the UK, I'd much prefer this stuff than drinking pints brewed under licence in Cork and Dublin

But it's illegal.

I'm only talking about the quality of the beer I'm not advocating what they are doing.... I was in there drinking bottled Corona a few weeks back all the same and I'm sure the bottles where barcoded and didn't have not for resale on them

• Registered Users Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

Some places might allow their staff or regulars to take away bottles or crates as long as they return them. Would imagine this is why you're seeing Not for Resale on some of the bottles as I can't imagine it would be cheaper for a publican to buy from the likes of Tesco rather than their wholesaler distributor especially because they couldn't claim back VAT on it.