Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

League of Ireland football this weekend, 1-2 Oct 2010

• 30-09-2010 7:53am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 443 ✭✭

Premier Division
    Friday, 01 Oct 2010
    Bohemian FC 19:45 Bray Wanderers
    Dundalk 19:45 Galway United
    U.C.D. 19:45 Shamrock Rovers

Saturday, 02 Oct 2010
    Sporting Fingal 13:00 St. Patrick's Athletic
    Sligo Rovers 19:45 Drogheda United

First Division
    Friday, 01 Oct 2010
    Finn Harps 20:00 Athlone Town
    Monaghan United 20:00 Waterford United
    Shelbourne 20:00 Cork City
    Wexford Youths 20:00 Derry City

Saturday, 02 Oct 2010
    Salthill Devon 19:00 Limerick
    Longford Town 19:30 Mervue United

C'mon City!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

normally Shels-Cork would be a draw - but given Cork's current run of form - I'm guessing an early/late goal and a 0-1 win.

Bohs and Rovers should record wins and I reckon Derry Limerick and Longford should also do the same !!

my 5 for this weekend:
    -Cork
    -Rovers
    -Derry
    -Longford
    -Limerick

not sure if Sligo/Monaghan will suffer from cup hangover....either of those games will be tough to call..... waterford playing monaghan/shels playing Cork ... only gives Derry the opportunity to extend their lead !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,964 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

PCPhoto wrote: »
    normally Shels-Cork would be a draw

The clubs have only ever met twice. A win for the Reds and a draw.

Bizarre logic. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,965 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

PCPhoto wrote: »
    normally Shels-Cork would be a draw - but given Cork's current run of form - I'm guessing an early/late goal and a 0-1 win.

Our form ain't to bad either, plus as Zebra3 not a lot of past games between ourselves and FORAS to judge on. I'm saying 2-1 Reds!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Remember the Bohs vs Rovers game is on Tuesday as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

Zebra3 wrote: »

Brilliant :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Pure_Cork wrote: »
    Premier Division

Saturday, 02 Oct 2010
    Sporting Fingal 13:00 St. Patrick's Athletic

Attendance at that will be epic tbh.

Im going with 400 max!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭herbieflowers

Tough match for Galway. Ryan, Conneely and MacKenzie are all suspended. Would love a point, hoping Rovers do us a favour by taking care of UCD!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

what-is-lemon-zest-1.jpg

Congrats. You posted a picture of a fruit. Hope your mother is proud of you. :rolleyes:

What would us Reds ever have to bitter about with regard to a six month old franchise?

Do explain.

Congrats. You posted a picture of a fruit. Hope your mother is proud of you. :rolleyes:

What would us Reds ever have to bitter about with regard to a six month old franchise?

Do explain.

Whatever

768lemon.jpg

green_apples-554.jpg

gimmick,

It's no wonder all those clubs down in Cork keep going out of business if your limited thinking is anything to go by.

Can we rename this thread to the weekly Shels and Cork road-show?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,697 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

A controversial Cork late winner at Tolka should keep this thread going longer than any other:pac:

Bohs v Rovers may have to go to the superthread sanctuaries...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 443 ✭✭Pure_Cork

Two weekends ago we went to D***** and brought home Sam, this weekend we'll bring home 3 points.

Yiz are great.

Winning a trophy in your first season in a sport you don't even compete in.

And great to see you acknowledge Dublin is a five star place. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

I love this thread already!!! :D

Is it true that cash-strapped Bohs are charging Rovers fans a fiver less than home fans into the game on Tuesday night?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,852 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

Is it true that cash-strapped Bohs are charging Rovers fans a fiver less into the game on Tuesday night?

yep

Bizarre to say the least. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

Rovers losing and Mark Quigley gets sent off for Bohs for a headbutt.

He really is an idiot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

Rovers lose 3-2

Bohs draw 0-0 and have 2 players sent off against the bottom team in the league.

Rovers are doing their best to lose it but Bohs are just a small bit less **** than them.

FT Bohemians 0 - 0 Bray Wanderers
    FT Dundalk 3 - 0 Galway
    FT UC Dublin 3 - 2 Shamrock Rovers

Rovers had 2 players sent off, runs off to check what players miss the games vs us.

rarely ever look at that other league that shels and cork play in but Monaghan were 2-0 down to Waterford and.........

87' Finn Harps 2 - 2 Athlone
    87' Monaghan 4 - 2 Waterford U.
    87' Shelbourne 2 - 0 Cork City FORAS
    87' Wexford Youths 1 - 1 Derry City

/afterbet won 41 quid on UCD :D

F*** it anyway, the season looks like it's over for us now.
    stovelid wrote: »
    Can we rename this thread to the weekly Shels and Cork road-show?
    Shels fans are still bitter that we haven't paid any attention to them since 2006. Add to that they're fairly pissed off that despite trying to buy the old holding company and takeover over €1.2m debt (without a stadium to sell, like they sold Tolka), we now are debt-free.

Yiz are great.
    Thanks for the kind words.

With Derry almost certain to go up, I hope either Monaghan or Shels go up instead of Waterford.

Monaghan, i would be quite happy to never have to play Shels ever again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,852 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

Rovers lose 3-2

Bohs draw 0-0 and have 2 players sent off against the bottom team in the league.

Rovers are doing their best to lose it but Bohs are just a small bit less **** than them.

So whats in it now, 5 points?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭frantic190

We were shocking tonight, don't deserve to win the league with a performance like that.

Friendly with Celtic confirmed for Sunday 10th of October, should bring in a few bob along with Rovers.

Trilla wrote: »
    So whats in it now, 5 points?

Yeah, 5 points.
    http://www.rte.ie/aertel/235-01.html

For some reason i assumed Bohs would steamroll the last 10 games thus winning the league.

mad **** Rovers are going to win it in Dalymount, what the jaysis is going on at Dalymount?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

F*** it anyway, the season’s over for us now. First goal was offside.

Shels fans are still bitter that we haven't paid any attention to them since 2006. Add to that they're fairly pissed off that despite trying to buy the old holding company and takeover over €1.2m debt (without a stadium to sell, like they sold Tolka), we now are debt-free.

Thanks for the kind words.

But you werent around in 2006 so how could we be bitter :confused:

dreamers75 wrote: »
    For some reason i assumed Bohs would steamroll the last 10 games thus winning the league.

mad **** Rovers are going to win it in Dalymount, what the jaysis is going on at Dalymount?

You'd think our players would be playing for contracts at other clubs, an LSL side wouldn't sign any of our players with performances like that.

Thank **** they can't win it at Dalymount, would never heard the end of it from them if they had of. If they beat us on Tuesday they go 8 points ahead with 3 games to go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,235 ✭✭✭iregk

frantic190 wrote: »
    Thank **** they can't win it at Dalymount, would never heard the end of it from them if they had of. If they beat us on Tuesday they go 8 points ahead with 3 games to go.

Which effectively is winning it in Dalymount lets be honest.

iregk wrote: »
    Which effectively is winning it in Dalymount lets be honest.

Yeah but at least they wont be able to sing "We won the league in Dalymount". Its not over till they are out of reach of us. TBH, I thought they had it won ages ago.

Surprised Winters got out of Belfield alive tonight.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

Bwah ha ha ha ha ha ha.:D

paid-for-by-lemon-growers-to-foster-lemon-awareness.jpg

Haha

stovelid wrote: »
    Surprised Winters got out of Belfield alive tonight.

I've heard nothing about the match except you lost and had players sent off, but Winters is an absolute clown!!

Yeah but at least they wont be able to sing "We won the league in Dalymount". Its not over till they are out of reach of us. TBH, I thought they had it won ages ago.

But they'll still be singing Champions!!! You's blew it!!!! End of!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

Did I mention runners up in cup and league would be a better financial result for us? :pac:

Such a strange season, if there was a good team in the league they would have walked it.

Fingal are shocking at the back, we are not much better.

Cracking crowd :D

Aw the Reds!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭herbieflowers

Awful result for Galway. Was hoping for a point, and typically Rovers get beaten by UCD! Still, UCD to come to Terryland so hopefully with a few players back from suspension we can get the results to leapfrog UCD.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,434 ✭✭✭Lamper.sffc

dreamers75 wrote: »
    Fingal are shocking at the back, we are not much better.

Cracking crowd :D

Terrible crowd alright.

I think one of the reasons we are so bad at the back is the fact that we keep trying to pass the ball out of defense and getting caught out of position when it doesnt work.
    We have good defenders its just down to the fact they are told to play it out all the time. Im all for playing nice football but do it in the right areas of the pitch not when the other team are pressing you and you have feck all options. Just boot the fvcking thing.:mad:

Good come back from us though and it was an entertaining second half.
    Hopefully Drogs can do us a favour but I wont be holding my breath.

Looked awful on TV. How many was there? 150?

gimmick wrote: »
    Looked awful on TV. How many was there? 150?

Nah, more than that but still terrible. Poor home support and away support. Games at that time on a saturday are a complete waste of time for the clubs. We dont get great crowds at all but they are usually better than that.

Honest to God, thats all it looked on the telly. What idiot decided to move a match to that hour of the day anyway?

Attendance was 712 according to ET, looks official.

There was only 39 people at the Salthill match :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭Pinturicchio

There was only 39 people at the Salthill match :eek:

They had 8 at one of their matches.

paid-for-by-lemon-growers-to-foster-lemon-awareness.jpg

Haha

Not bitter, just better. :cool:

Highlights of Shels victory over Cork Foras. http://vimeo.com/channels/shelstv

PS:Best of luck to to Cork Foras on Saturday. ;)

Honest to God, thats all it looked on the telly. What idiot decided to move a match to that hour of the day anyway?

RTE :rolleyes:

Unfortunately for Pats they will have to play their third game in as many weeks at that time this sat against Bohs. Ridiculous