Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Final Anglo bailout cost set at minimum of €29.3bn

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 iaminminsk

what exactly is the story with the eu? If we are members why can we not borrow at the same rate as Germany?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭mike kelly

Ireland offers nothing to the outside that can't be acquired cheaper and better somewhere else

That's it in a nutshell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭mike kelly

iaminminsk wrote: »
    what exactly is the story with the eu? If we are members why can we not borrow at the same rate as Germany?

there is a stability fund which allows for that but for some reason we don't use it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

mike kelly wrote: »
    I think they made a mistake doing that, how will she react to her parents telling her she is not wanted at home?

They didn't mean it like that and she didn't take it for it mean as such.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

mike kelly wrote: »
    I think they made a mistake doing that, how will she react to her parents telling her she is not wanted at home?

according to the post you quoted, they didn't say she wasn't wanted at home, they said there was nothing for her at home...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

I'm no scientician so can anybody explain exactly how ****ed we are?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Proper fúcked bai!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

If you get 29.3 billion and divide it by every man woman and child in the country, that's the individual level of debt. Out of curiosity, divide it by the workforce, who are actually in work at the moment, seeing as they're the ones paying taxes. Then for a laugh, remember that that's not actually the only massive insurmountable problem that will destroy us.

Then find a noose, a light fitting and a chair.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

From what I've been hearing from far more clued in types than me, is that we as a people have underwritten the massive losses by a few and we will be paying for that for a very very long time.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

And although it wouldn't change things, but why - why fvcking why haven't heads rolled?.
    You cant cut the heads off headless chickens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Father Damo

SeaFields wrote: »
    I He said it was a horrendously depressing thing to watch them tell their only daughter to stay on the other side of the world.

Again though, Id have given the same advice to anyone BEFORE the recession. Cheaper, good weather, opportunity to earn more. Australia is a place where you can actually enjoy your money. I take home 200 euro more per week as a construction general labourer here than I did as an analyst in a well known financial firm back home, and yet I can get a pint for 2.20 euro on certain days! Never mind the recession, the quality of life for the average Joe was sh1te when things were going well! I nearly cant say that mass emigration is depressing if only in that they are heading away for a life that wasnt attainable in Ireland in 2006, never mind 2010. The only thing I miss about home is a greasy drunken Abrakebabra at 4am, and that is honestly the only thing. The economy, the weather, the sh1te overpriced nightlife, fcuk it all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

News conference on the electrical internet now
    http://www.rte.ie/live/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 852 ✭✭✭moonpurple

the head of aib has been sent off the field

I do not regret that

as I found him very mussolini like in his approach to questions from journalists,

2 years ago the banks muscled our elected leaders
    today the banks have gotten a taste of the state and its supremacy

we do not live in a bankocracy or in corporate ireland, we live in a democracy

one of the youngest democracies in europe

sin an sceal inniu mo cairde Gael

moonpurple wrote: »

I do not regret that

as I found him very mussolini like in his approach to questions from journalists,

2 years ago the banks muscled our elected leaders
    today the banks have gotten a taste of the state and its supremacy

we do not live in a bankocracy or in corporate ireland, we live in a democracy

one of the youngest democracies in europe

sin an sceal inniu mo cairde Gael

I find your post a bit weird. The state only came in today because the banks are totally boned and the state was terrified they'd collapse.

Wibbs wrote: »
    From what I've been hearing from far more clued in types than me, is that we as a people have underwritten the massive losses by a few and we will be paying for that for a very very long time.

My dad has been saying this for about 15 years. IE, along the lines of my kids, kids...

The main problem is a dire lack of home grown Secondary Industry here so we've nothing to put jobs into... we're practically an economy built up on Tertiary Industry and credit... feck all tangibility to it at all...

Which is why bailing out Anglo is ridiculous. The Government are bailing out loans for money that didn't exist in the first place, with more money that doesn't exist now either...

I wonder how many millions in a golden handshake will he get :rolleyes::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,087 ✭✭✭paddydriver

Kiith wrote: »
    I'm beginning to regret not taking that job in Liverpool :(

Centre forward or attacking midfield? - they could do with some cover:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭fishtastico

Hmmm... Well, I've about 24c in my pocket. That'll have to do

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Phill Ewinn

There was no reason to extend the guarantee to Anglo. It's depositors coulda been guaranteed by the state for a time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭Voodoo_rasher

crucially

NO PASSPORTS

SEIZED..

too gutted for words. very disconsolate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,152 ✭✭✭holdfast

is there a website where you can beat up, Bertie, cowen, lynne, fiztpatrick, neary, drumm, rod moll, calley and the old central bank guy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

So let me get this straight, we bailed out Anglo so it wouldn't affect our borrowing. Now our borrowing is affected cause we bailed them out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Sanjuro wrote: »
    You cant cut the heads off headless chickens.

You can string 'em up by the bollox :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 831 ✭✭✭DubArk

The Army should be sent into the Dail and the so called government arrested and marched straight to prison. Marshal Law put in place.

Each and every one of them put on trial.

Democracy is a figment of our imagination in the rep of Ireland….

You can string 'em up by the bollox :D

Not hens.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Not hens.

Kick 'em in the gee then.

Anyone hear that stupid Labour party wagon Joan Burton or whatever her fucking name is banging on about Pearl Harbour this morning.. What a stupid moany cunt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 852 ✭✭✭moonpurple

The Irish people stood up to an international organisation in the 1919 era and it was the right choice. That international overbearing organisation was the British Empire which was built on international business.

It is now time to stand again against another international group who have gone too far, the financial markets, we are in an unjust intolerable situation which has been created mainly by the greed of international banking fire hosing their speculative monies into ireland

enough, they take 40 cents in the euro
    or they can go to hell

sin an sceal amhain
    sin an bothar anois

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

My dad has been saying this for about 15 years. IE, along the lines of my kids, kids...

The main problem is a dire lack of home grown Secondary Industry here so we've nothing to put jobs into... we're practically an economy built up on Tertiary Industry and credit... feck all tangibility to it at all...

Which is why bailing out Anglo is ridiculous. The Government are bailing out loans for money that didn't exist in the first place, with more money that doesn't exist now either...
    +100 on all those points.

We really got caught up in our own hubris. I remember a few years back on this very site, where I questioned a guy who was saying irelands a brilliant place to do business and that it would continue to be so. I got rounded on at the time by quite a few for daring to suggest otherwise. Now if you're a pessimist, the tendency is that you will also turn into a prophet if you wait long enough(ditto with optimism), but I could see the pyramid scheme madness among a lot of my mates. When we had the highest per capita ownership of mercedes it was starting to look daft. Especially when so much of it was based on one finite industry. I knew a plumber with a huge gaff in dublin, a holiday home in cork and portugal and two houses in rent. All "overnight". That's an awful lot of taps installed. He's now fcuked. I know one guy in a similar trade who was sensible. Kept his prices low and saved. Yep that weird thing people used to do. He's not rich, but he's ok now.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

tubba wrote: »
    god help us in the next budget. also what are the government going to do when the thousands that went to Australia have to come back and start claiming the dole??

do you think they dont already know?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

The Irish people stood up to an international organisation in the 1919 era and it was the right choice. That international overbearing organisation was the British Empire which was built on international business.

or just hand it back and say sorry for the mess we made of it?:rolleyes:

The electricity in my housing estate just went....its the beginning of the end for Ireland - we're shutting down. :eek:

It is now time to stand again against another international group who have gone too far, the financial markets, we are in an unjust intolerable situation which has been created mainly by the greed of international banking fire hosing their speculative monies into ireland

or they can go to hell

sin an sceal amhain
    sin an bothar anois

we were only too glad to take the easy credit. stand up to the financial markets - bravo *irony*

whats it to be ? barter system

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,473 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

+100 on all those points.

We really got caught up in our own hubris. I remember a few years back on this very site, where I questioned a guy who was saying irelands a brilliant place to do business and that it would continue to be so. I got rounded on at the time by quite a few for daring to suggest otherwise. Now if you're a pessimist, the tendency is that you will also turn into a prophet if you wait long enough(ditto with optimism), but I could see the pyramid scheme madness among a lot of my mates. When we had the highest per capita ownership of mercedes it was starting to look daft. Especially when so much of it was based on one finite industry. I knew a plumber with a huge gaff in dublin, a holiday home in cork and portugal and two houses in rent. All "overnight". That's an awful lot of taps installed. He's now fcuked. I know one guy in a similar trade who was sensible. Kept his prices low and saved. Yep that weird thing people used to do. He's not rich, but he's ok now.

Agreed...I was supposed to be buying a house in late 2006 and the sub prime started to go in the US...
    Started thinking to myself "hold on here a second..started reading up all I could on it and the potential impact for Ireland".
    Coupled with rumors that my workplace was rumored to be moving it's manufacturing from Ireland to Poland and I took the wisest decision I've ever made. Canceled the mortgage application and saw back and watched Ireland go down the tubes a year later.
    I'm still in work at the same place and my job is safe enough..just got a promotion and a nice payrise so I'm quite comfortable off and have a good lifestyle but can only watch in dismay as I see my family being affected by the crash and many of my friends who now struggle to pay their bills etc.

I also used to give customers a tour around our factory and I remember talking to a Belgian company who were eager to discuss the housing in Ireland.
    Nearly 90% of them all rented their house in long term schemes back in Belguim and couldn't believe how the Irish was all so mad to own their own house especially with the prices they were paying...that was the final nail in the coffin for me..

SeaFields wrote: »
    The electricity in my housing estate just went....its the beginning of the end for Ireland - we're shutting down. :eek:

How... how are you on the internet? :confused:

or they can go to hell

sin an sceal amhain
    sin an bothar anois
    Eh yea great in theory, but 1919 was a very different world to today(and we were monumentally fcuked in the 20's and 30's and not much better in the 40's and 50's. This country was dirt poor for most of the 20th century). Plus it wasn't just the greedy bankers. It was every eejit who thought an average paying job entitled him or her to live like a millionaire. And there was a lot of them. There still is and they're quite put out that this fantasy was just that. Yep those same voters in this democracy. Yes the banks down to the branch level enabled the madness, but the madness also walked in the door.

What worries me now is that if we do have to go to the EU cap in hand, then we're even more boned. First thing that will go is our low rates of corporation tax. That will make a lot of the big international companies here think "feck it, lets move to China". If someone like intel was to do that a large section of people, direct and indirect would be screwed. I'll also predict that the EU will lean on us more and more to control our internal taxation and spending. The anti EU types will have been proven correct.

How... how are you on the internet? :confused:

Laptop battery. :D

we were only too glad to take the easy credit. stand up to the financial markets - bravo *irony*

whats it to be ? barter system

I propose a system of hugs. :)

Especially when so much of it was based on one finite industry. I knew a plumber with a huge gaff in dublin, a holiday home in cork and portugal and two houses in rent. All "overnight". That's an awful lot of taps installed. He's now fcuked. I know one guy in a similar trade who was sensible. Kept his prices low and saved. Yep that weird thing people used to do. He's not rich, but he's ok now.

HAHA, this reminds me of all the times i heard about builders buying new Land Rovers or sports cars regularly because they had so much money they could splash it on anything they wanted at a whim...

As opposed to saving it for when it was needed...

Sc@recrow wrote: »

I also meet people who are struggling and they tell me Ireland's turning a corner and it's going to get all better.
    I pity their ignorance and naivety and rage at their stupidity that they can't see that Ireland is fúcked for at least 10 years, probably 20 by my reckoning.

they're likely life-long ff supporters. disown any such ppl. actually don't drink with them for sanity sake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

How will this effect the price of a pint?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭cynder

IMF anyone?

Me be thinking this country's screwed, can i up sticks and move to a log cabin in Canada?

On a more serious note this country's screwed for the foreseeable future.

Not a happy day for ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Oh well......

*picks up stick*

.....time to go mad, crack a few skulls open and feast on the goo inside.

I wonder if my volunteer job is safe, the last thing I want is a pay cut from my salary of €0..................I'd owe them money?? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭cynder

How will this effect the price of a pint?

YOu wont be getting any money to buy a pint. Rain water only! hell they will even find a way to add a tax to that, even if you are catching it in a bucket in your back yard. As water rates are soon to be introduced.

If someone like intel was to do that a large section of people, direct and indirect would be screwed.

The Intel site in Leixlip is designed in such a way that it can be shipped out rather effieceintly...

The other big boy in Leixlip is slowing down on production and primarily working in Finicial Services and Corporate IT Solutions now...

...and even then, that's being moved around throughout EMEA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Is it too late to rejoin the UK?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭Uriel.

tubba wrote: »
    i see it already down here in Kerry, suicide rate is huge at the moment and i'm sure the government will cut counselors etc. in all areas

We'd all be far better off if they cut Councillors.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

That part I get re the main banks, but why support anglo. Why not let that bank fail?
    It was the same as the SSIAs and everything else they did, keep the illusion goin. I would've preferred had they let the banks fail in the first place, even though it would've led to far results than anything we've seen so far. At this moment in time I don't know which way is the best to do it, and as I said already I'm past caring. I'm in a college course and once that's done I doubt I'll be hanging around this stupid ****ing country. Everything about politics in this country stinks and I strongly doubt I shall vote again in future having not missed a chance since I turned 18 until now.
    It's even worse than being the women in Backdoor Sluts 9.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

What in the name of hell is Eamonn Ryan doing as a TD? He hasn't a faintest clue what he's talking about. Not to mention that he was the manager of a failed bicycle shop. And he has the permanent look of a man who's just woken up from a forty-year coma.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

Is it too late to rejoin the UK?

rejoining the commonwealth mightn't be a bad idea...

There's an opportunity afoot though. If you can build any biz that helps people save money. I dunno, like in the motors forum there's a thread on driving old bangers that are cheap as chips to run. If you're a mechanic, then aim entirely at that market. Source and sell those type of cars. Import cheaper(quality) spares from outside the country to bypass the middleman paddy tax here. Maybe make it a co op kinda thing. A banger club, where people share expertise and spares and cars. Take a small bit off the top to provide the service.