Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Stadium

• Registered Users Posts: 9,153 ✭✭✭everdead.ie

Our architect has confirmed that we would knock down the current stadium and rebuild our own purpose built one. Hopefully that prompts them to give it to west ham I don't know if they could fill a 60,000 seated stadium though and the atmosphere would be crap if they maintain the running track.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 TheYid

Our architect has confirmed that we would knock down the current stadium and rebuild our own purpose built one. Hopefully that prompts them to give it to west ham I don't know if they could fill a 60,000 seated stadium though and the atmosphere would be crap if they maintain the running track.
    The fact that we plan to knock down the OS was always the case, its just now that the media have copped onto the fact.

• Registered Users Posts: 858 ✭✭✭RichMc70

Could also spell the end of the use of Tottenham within the club name. Similar to what happened to Wimbledon when they moved to MIlton Keynes (now known as MK Dons).

Interesting article here:
    http://www.thisislondon.co.uk/standard-olympics/article-23913875-tottenham-could-be-renamed-in-ground-switch.do

TheYid wrote: »
    The fact that we plan to knock down the OS was always the case, its just now that the media have copped onto the fact.

Hopefully some good news here:

International Olympic Committee president Jacques Rogge vowed to keep London 2012 bosses to their pledge of retaining an athletics track in the stadium after the Games.

http://www.thisislondon.co.uk/standard-sport/football/article-23913581-spurs-look-to-win-backing-for-controversial-plans-to-demolish-olympic-stadium.do

• Registered Users Posts: 5,395 ✭✭✭Hatch99

RichMc70 wrote: »
    Hopefully some good news here:

International Olympic Committee president Jacques Rogge vowed to keep London 2012 bosses to their pledge of retaining an athletics track in the stadium after the Games.

http://www.thisislondon.co.uk/standard-sport/football/article-23913581-spurs-look-to-win-backing-for-controversial-plans-to-demolish-olympic-stadium.do

Hopefully they insist on keeping the track, and we pull out :D

To some extent I can understand why the club is pursuing the Olympic Site option as they would be saving a savage amount of money. Possibly £200m or more but some things are beyond account sheets IMO.

By moving out of, not just Tottenham, but out of North London itself, they would be ripping the heart out of the clubs history.

Bill Nicholson (RIP) and other legends will be turning in their grave if the club is successful with the Olympic site bid. I for one will give up if they are.

To some extent I can understand why the club is pursuing the Olympic Site option as they would be saving a savage amount of money. Possibly £200m or more but some things are beyond account sheets IMO.

By moving out of, not just Tottenham, but out of North London itself, they would be ripping the heart out of the clubs history.

Bill Nicholson (RIP) and other legends will be turning in their grave if the club is successful with the Olympic site bid. I for one will give up if they are.

Your spot on, but I have a nasty feeling they are serious about the move to Stratford, which would change the club for the worst if Im honest.

I have to be honest only this week begun to realize they could be serious not to mention we could be the only viable option as well because there are serious doubts that West Ham can fill the stadium and by leaving the running track they would be destroying the atmosphere.

I know from a business perspective it makes a lot of sense and I couldn't just give up on the club but it would change us we would no Longer be Tottenham we'd just be another club.

Hatch99 wrote: »
    Your spot on, but I have a nasty feeling they are serious about the move to Stratford, which would change the club for the worst if I'm honest.

Hatch they are serious.

Initially I thought it was a bluff by the club to squeeze a few concessions out of the local council and maybe financial assistance by way of a grant but as things have very quickly developed it seems more and more that the club is throwing all it's weight behind getting the Olympic site.

Journo's are quoting that the likes of Boris Johnston (Mayor of London) and even (UK PM) David Cameron are very cosy with the idea of Spurs taking over the site in Stratford.

When it comes down to it, Spurs are always going to carry more influence than West Ham at political level. Plus from the financial view, West Ham are traditionally a 'yo-yo' club being up and down between the leagues and a much smaller fan base. Based on these assumptions I reckon Spurs are going to win the bid.

I hope to god they don't. The only chance I feel is from outside pressure i.e if the International Olympics Committee start leaning heavily on the decision and that will only be if West Ham start coughing up 'gifts' to prominent committee members to fight their corner.

Overall, I have a bad feeling about this situation.

Tbh I can't wait to see Stratford Spurs take on the mighty Leyton Orient and Dagenham&Redbridge in the massive EAST London Derby.

North London's all ooooooouuuuuuuuuuuurs!

Piss off to Stratford

North London's all oooooooouuuuuuuuuuuurs!

I see the kids are back home from school.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

Been home a while actually, no kid though.

So will Stratford do Arsenal a favour on Sunday? Hopefully although they usually bottle it against United.

When will you lot move the caravan anyway?

Ironic considering you pikeys belong back in your south London swamp.

Been home a while actually, no kid though.

Ah I see, well I'm sorry then but the nature of your previous post gave me the impression that you were a child. Obviously your just a troll and not a good one at that.

If you've noting constructive or intelligent to add then I suggest that you take your obvious unrivalled wit to a forum more deserving than us mere Spurs fans discussing matters regarding our club.

Thats the irony of it all though isn't it, how many years have Spud fans brought up this so called "unfair move" which happened 100 years ago.

And now the exact same is happening to you lot. I feel so warm inside....:D

Cant wait for the North-East-London Derby...

You're not long for these parts, don't let the door hit your arse on the way out.

Copy of an email I received today from the Football Supporters Federation.

Dear Spurs fan and FSF member - I thought you would be interested in the below linked story (apologies if you have already read via Fan Mail). This story was written after taking into consideration the views of all FSF members/relevant fans who got in touch.

The We Are N17 campaign have also asked that we also pass on the following message: "We will be outside the Bell & Hare pub with a paper petition, leaflets and a banner on Sunday (Manchester United game). It's not a 'protest' or march as such, but it is an opportunity for fans to gather and make their feelings known. We will be trying to ensure Sky's cameras are there too, which we're told shouldn't be a problem."

http://www.fsf.org.uk/news/Fans-say-no-to-Olympic-Stadium-plans.php?id

Hi all, apols if the last link didn't work, hopefully the below one will, or go to www.fsf.org.uk and the story is on the homepage. Cheers - Michael, the Football Supporters' Federation.

http://www.fsf.org.uk/news/Fans-say-no-to-Olympic-Stadium-plans.php

Say no to Stratford...

I know the girl involved, born and bred in N17, lived on Park Lane for most of her younger days. Babysat by Sir Bill's wife Darkie.

Proper Spurs.

Say no to Stratford...

I know the girl involved, born and bred in N17, lived on Park Lane for most of her younger days. Babysat by Sir Bill's wife Darkie.

Proper Spurs.

Great saw it earlier brilliant I really hope we stay

• Registered Users Posts: 535 ✭✭✭WHL

Have a look at this link on the BBC Sports website:
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/c/crystal_palace/9364649.stm

Expected that Palace might move to the NSC and screw up our plans to revamp it as an athletics stadium :)

Alan Sugar just gave interview to BBC radio 5 they say will be broadcast about 7pm on Spurs bid
    He seems to be pro the move as a business man I'm not surprised though

• Registered Users Posts: 4,627 ✭✭✭golfball37

Business wise its a no brainer really. Moving to Stratford saves the club a fortune.

What will the long term effects be though? Nobody can calculate this.

If it were up to me I'd stay in WHL as is. I wouldn't even redevelop. Spurs aren't Man U or Arsenal. I lke the fact we do things properly. Last season and this season are only so good because they are so rare.

I actually enjoy failing and succeeding in equal measure. We lose the soul of what Spurs are about by trying to ape the gorillas of the super clubs who lost their soul many years ago.

Spurs will always be in the top 20 clubs in the world, that will do me everytime. Why risk the entire fabric of the club just so we can move up a few places on this ladder?:(

golfball37 wrote: »
    Business wise its a no brainer really. Moving to Stratford saves the club a fortune.

What will the long term effects be though? Nobody can calculate this.

If it were up to me I'd stay in WHL as is. I wouldn't even redevelop. Spurs aren't Man U or Arsenal. I lke the fact we do things properly. Last season and this season are only so good because they are so rare.

I actually enjoy failing and succeeding in equal measure. We lose the soul of what Spurs are about by trying to ape the gorillas of the super clubs who lost their soul many years ago.

Spurs will always be in the top 20 clubs in the world, that will do me everytime. Why risk the entire fabric of the club just so we can move up a few places on this ladder?:(

We do need a bigger stadium though if you stand still in everything in life you fall behind the rest. Id much prefer to be challenging for honours every year myself I want the club to be in the champions league every year I want to do the league double over United and arsenal and Chelsea. But I don't want to leave our Home.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,627 ✭✭✭golfball37

The area can’t cater for 35,000 at the moment though, how on earth will it cater for 60,000?
    What Tottenham needs is a new station and relief road more than a new stadium, at this juncture.

Pele has written to the Olympic Stadium Committee backing the spurs bid :(

Open Letter to fans too
    Dear Supporter

I write to update you on the Club’s stadium plans. I am conscious that there has been an exceptional amount of coverage on this subject over the past couple of weeks. We submitted our final bid for the Olympic Stadium site at noon today and I should, therefore, like to outline our proposals and to update you on the position of the Northumberland Development Scheme (NDP).

Our proposals for the Olympic Stadium site include an iconic 60,000 seater stadium, the construction of which is fully financially guaranteed. It is designed along the lines of that which we incorporated in our planning application for the NDP, with a single tier end and seats close to the action on the pitch. It would rank amongst the finest in the world and deliver one of the best fan experiences anywhere in Europe. It would also host major concerts and other sporting and cultural events to be delivered as part of a year-round programme by our partner in the bid, AEG, the operators of The O2.

The proposals include the re-use of the existing infrastructure in order to maximize the benefit of the public investment to date. Surrounded by an exceptional public realm which would host community-focussed events and activities, the stadium would benefit from the best public transport and access for any stadium in Britain and our plans also include a major tourist attraction based around extreme sports and incorporating specialist sports retailing, restaurants, cafes and bars.

We proposed a comprehensive athletics legacy which included facilitating a permanent 25,000-seat athletics venue at Crystal Palace, with the ability to convert to 40,000 for a World Championship, along with support for grassroots athletics.

The easiest option for us would undoubtedly have been to bid for the Olympic Stadium site with a retained athletics track. But it would have been the wrong option. The front row seats in the Olympic Stadium with a retained athletics track will be up to 45m from the pitch; in our stadium design they would be 8m from the action.

Football and athletics cannot co-exist successfully in the same stadium. There are examples all over the world of where clubs have removed tracks or moved stadiums simply because of the poor spectator experience and the lack of sustainability in the long-term due to decreasing attendances. We never considered for one moment placing our fans in such a stadium environment.

The decision now rests with the Olympic Park Legacy Company as to who they will select as their preferred bidder, with whom they would then enter into detailed negotiations in order to reach a final agreement. This is scheduled to be announced following an OPLC Board meeting on 28 January 2011. As I have stated previously, should we be selected as the preferred bidder, we shall engage with and fully consult our supporters.

In respect of the NDP, the S106, the planning agreement required before full planning consent can be issued, has been signed by ourselves, Haringey Council and Transport for London and is in the process of being signed by the relevant financial institutions.

That said, I must once again repeat the concerns we have about the viability and deliverability of the NDP. The cost of consent has been high. This is not attributable to any one stakeholder, but is rather the result of the cumulative nature of the various obligations. We have worked well in partnership with Haringey Council and I should like to thank them for their support in reaching this stage in the process.

No progress has been made with the remaining land owners and this is a potentially costly issue. As such, we have yet to conclude the site assembly. Compulsory Purchase Orders are of course one route to resolving this, but that process is uncertain and can take years to conclude.

So, in some ways much has happened and in others, we are still determining new stadium plans.

Our guiding principles remain the same – we are committed to taking this Club to the next level and an increased capacity stadium is central to that intention; and we have to seek a stadium solution which does not undermine the financial stability of the Club or its ability to continue to invest in the First Team.

If you look at the stadium capacities of the top 20 clubs in Europe, they all exceed ours. The new Financial Fair Play rules will mean that we shall only be able to outlay income generated through the activities of the Club – increased match day revenues play a major role in a club’s finances and we need to ensure that we are in a position to thrive and to continue to compete at the highest level.

Perhaps more importantly, we now have over 35,000 fans on the paid for waiting list for season tickets. It is an astonishing figure and a real reminder of the strength of support for this Club and the hunger there is to come and see the team playing some of the most attractive and exciting football in the Premier League and in European competition.

I am ever conscious of the feelings of our fans - on all fronts. I have never made any secret of the fact that I am ambitious on behalf of this Club and our fans. You could say that the one choice we do have , is the choice between standing still or moving forward. I know what my choice is and, judging from the emails we receive at the Club, you join me in wanting to see our Club progress. A new stadium is critical to our continued success. I shall keep you updated and thank you for all your support.

In the meantime we have a season to be getting on with and some fantastic football to enjoy.

Yours, Daniel

"I am ever conscious of the feelings of our fans - on all fronts. I have never made any secret of the fact that I am ambitious on behalf of this Club and our fans. You could say that the one choice we do have , is the choice between standing still or moving forward. I know what my choice is and, judging from the emails we receive at the Club, you join me in wanting to see our Club progress. A new stadium is critical to our continued success. I shall keep you updated and thank you for all your support.

In the meantime we have a season to be getting on with and some fantastic football to enjoy.

Yours, Daniel"

What a condescending a55hole. Ignoring the fact the emails they are receiving are against a move to Stratford.

"A new stadium is critical to our continued success." Yes Daniel, and it will significantly increase the value of the club when it comes to selling it off to the highest foreign bidder in a few years time.:mad:

This situation clearly shows how football has been taken away from the fans. Neither Spurs fans or West Ham fans want the Olympic Stadium but yet the directors at each club are doing everything in their powers to win the bid with no regard for the fans opinions. We the fans who are the backbone of their financial gain.

• Registered Users Posts: 197 ✭✭thudd

After reading Levy's letter, I think my opinion on this matter has changed slightly. Up until reading this, I obviously wanted Tottenham to stay in Tottenham. But if we get the Olympic Stadium, Build the same stadium that was planned for the N17 site and most importantly keep the name of the club the same I think it could work.

I also thought this whole bid thing was just a method of putting pressure on Harringey council or whoever to sign off on the planning permission. Nothing more than that. But he says here, 'No progress has been made with the remaining land owners and this is a potentially costly issue. As such, we have yet to conclude the site assembly. Compulsory Purchase Orders are of course one route to resolving this, but that process is uncertain and can take years to conclude.'

So these land owners in the area of the proposed Northumberland Park project are messing him around too. And it could 'take years to conclude'. So you got to ask yourself, is it worth waiting 5, 10, 15 years to get the new stadium built just so we have the club based in Tottenham? Obviously, many people will answer with a resounding yes. But by waiting this long at the Lane, full to capacity with 35k week in week out we might get left behind financially. Yet in 4 years we could be set up with that stadium meant for the Northumberland Park project AND getting another 25,000 spectators a week generate serious cash.

Levy has always said he wants to do whats best for the club, and I believe him. By moving to Stratford we can save 200million quid, as all the transport links, planning permission and everything else will already be all sorted. We've played our way back to where we should be over the last season or two. The Stratford move will mean we have a much better chance of staying where we are, and aiming even higher.

Might be controversial, I'm sure i'll be blasted here. Obviously, I'd much prefer the inital idea of the redelevopment of White Hart Lane and its surroundings. Wait 20 years for it though?? Not so sure.

I support Tottenham Hotspur, not Harringey, N17.

COYS

thudd wrote: »
    After reading Levy's letter, I think my opinion on this matter has changed slightly. Up until reading this, I obviously wanted Tottenham to stay in Tottenham. But if we get the Olympic Stadium, Build the same stadium that was planned for the N17 site and most importantly keep the name of the club the same I think it could work.

I also thought this whole bid thing was just a method of putting pressure on Harringey council or whoever to sign off on the planning permission. Nothing more than that. But he says here, 'No progress has been made with the remaining land owners and this is a potentially costly issue. As such, we have yet to conclude the site assembly. Compulsory Purchase Orders are of course one route to resolving this, but that process is uncertain and can take years to conclude.'

So these land owners in the area of the proposed Northumberland Park project are messing him around too. And it could 'take years to conclude'. So you got to ask yourself, is it worth waiting 5, 10, 15 years to get the new stadium built just so we have the club based in Tottenham? Obviously, many people will answer with a resounding yes. But by waiting this long at the Lane, full to capacity with 35k week in week out we might get left behind financially. Yet in 4 years we could be set up with that stadium meant for the Northumberland Park project AND getting another 25,000 spectators a week generate serious cash.

Levy has always said he wants to do whats best for the club, and I believe him. By moving to Stratford we can save 200million quid, as all the transport links, planning permission and everything else will already be all sorted. We've played our way back to where we should be over the last season or two. The Stratford move will mean we have a much better chance of staying where we are, and aiming even higher.

Might be controversial, I'm sure i'll be blasted here. Obviously, I'd much prefer the inital idea of the redelevopment of White Hart Lane and its surroundings. Wait 20 years for it though?? Not so sure.

I support Tottenham Hotspur, not Harringey, N17.

COYS

Don't think you'll be blasted there is support for the move and against from the fans and I'm caught in two minds myself

• Registered Users Posts: 197 ✭✭thudd

Ok good. Its just that I was fully against it till I saw this open letter from Levy, which I only read a while ago.

• Registered Users Posts: 535 ✭✭✭WHL

Everybody is entitled to their opinions. I am becoming more opposed to the move every day. In fact, I would also prefer to stay in the current stadium if we can't build the new one. Unfortunately Pele doesn't agree with me
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/olympic_games/london_2012/9369180.stm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,305 ✭✭✭DOC09UNAM

Lads I hope ye don't get the olympic stadium.

Hope ye get to build your own, but that will involve redevelopment of the area by Spurs, which seems to be where it's stalling.