Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Promotions' Thread ***Info, News & Results***

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭FFPW_Dean

Tommy Ref wrote: »
    Almost 600 I believe. Hes no longer with IWW he can however be seen at Wrestling.IE shows

Official Attendance was 675 I believe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Bingo1 wrote: »
    I saw an advert in the Sunday World at least twice. That's how I knew about it. The Sunday World is the only newspaper I buy. If it had been in the Independent I wouldn't have seen it.

I suppose the fact that the venue only holds a little over 200 would restrict the amount of money you could afford to spend on advertising. The local papers are probably a lot cheaper to advertise in.

When IWW run a show in Drogheda, or NLW in the small theatre in Naas they don't advertise in the Dublin papers either. Which is a shame because with the new motorway you could get to Drogheda quicker than some parts of Dublin and the same with Naas.

When I was buying the ticket (€21) I asked why it was so expensive and the girl said the ticket was actually €18 and the theatre add on an extra €3 towards a building fund or something.

However it was well worth the money and I can't wait till next time.

A quick post on boards costs nothing. I'm sure I'm not the only fan (especially internet fan) who would have relished the opportunity to see Steamboat's son in action.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 Bingo1

flahavaj wrote: »
    A quick post on boards costs nothing. I'm sure I'm not the only fan (especially internet fan) who would have relished the opportunity to see Steamboat's son in action.

So it's my fault that you didn't see Steamboat?

Bingo1 wrote: »
    So it's my fault that you didn't see Steamboat?

Of course not, you sound like this man:

Gene_Snitsky_cropped.jpg

Bingo1: "Its NOT my fault!!!"

Was the show advertised on any internet message forums etc is all I'm asking? Considering thats where you're likely to find a target audience most likely to know who Steamboat Jr is and who'd be likely to make the effort to go see him, I thought a few ads on such fora would be a no-brainer.

When I asked was it advertised, the answer I received was "ads cost money." To which I replied that it costs nothing to throw a few post on message boards such as this. If i've inadvertently missed such ads, I apologise.

But to think that me enquiring as to why the show wasn't better advertised (I presume people who run these shows LIKE to make as much money as is possible?) is in some way insinuating that its your fault personally is beyond ridiculous and comes across as rude and a bit touchy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭cinder

wow 21 euro is lot to paying for an indie wrestling show in this day and age. i don't care if ricky steamboat jr. is on it (who's only had a handful of matches anyway) that is too expensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭The Cannibal

You could get tickets for TNA's Bound For Glory on the day for 20 dollars if you paid and that's way less in Euro for their supposed Wrestlemania. I think their top tickets weren't too much more expensive.

that's good value on tna's part. anyone know the rathoath attendance?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭IwWInfo

IwW held a show in Portlaois last night which played host to a title change! Scotland's Jason Rotanda defeated Zero Gravity Champion LA Warren to become the first non Irish wrestler to hold the ZG Championship.

34i4upd.jpg

Whilst LA Warren used questionable tactics throughout his ZG Championship reign he is still the longest reigning ZG Champion ever & while get his rematch against Rotanda at the next IwW Show. Congratulations to Jason as we know he will do a great job as champion & will wear the belt with pride.

25/10/09

Working Class John overcame Captain Rooney

Jason Rotanda defeated LA Warren to become Zero Gravity Champion

Jason Rotanda & Working Class John beat LA Warren & Captain Rooney were had Jason been pinned he would of lost the ZG Championship

Mandrake retained his IwW Int. Heavyweight Championship against The Supermodel in a 2 Out Of 3 Falls match

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 ICWInfo

IRISH CHAMPIONSHIP WRESTLING.
    FRIDAY 30TH OCTOBER,
    HACKETSTOWN COMMUNITY CENTRE,
    HACKETSTOWN CO CARLOW,
    DOORS 7PM, BELL TIME 7.30PM,
    TICKETS 5 EURO.

Irish Championship Wrestling holds its debut show this Friday night with all proceeds going to St Johns Daycare Centre, Hacketstown. Best of luck to all involved.

ICWInfo wrote: »
    FRIDAY 30TH OCTOBER,
    HACKETSTOWN CO CARLOW,
    TICKETS 5 EURO.

Irish Championship Wrestling holds its debut show this Friday night with all proceeds going to St Johns Daycare Centre, Hacketstown. Best of luck to all involved.

Who's on the show?

Joey Cabray, Bingo Ballance, Sean 'Maxer' Brennan, Paddy Marrow to name just a few..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭eamonnq

How long would it take to get to Hackettstown from Newlands Cross on a Friday evening ??

About 45mins to an hour tops. You wont be hitting much traffic.

IRISH CHAMPIONSHIP WRESTLING

This is just a reminder that IRISH CHAMPIONSHIP WRESTLING will be holding its debut event in Hackenstown, Co. Carlow. All the proceds will be given to the St. Johns Day Care Centre and with tickets costing only five euro its garunteed to be your best value for money.

IRISH CHAMPIONSHIP WRESTLING boasts a roster made up of the best Irish wrestlers on the scene today.Established stars such as :

Joey Cabray
    Bingo Ballance
    Paddy "Suicide Machine" Morrow
    Sean "Maxer" Brennan
    & Conor Hurley to name a few, will all be involved in the action which takes place tomorrow night (Friday the 30th of October).

We all hope to see you there in what we hope will the first of many IRISH CHAMPIONSHIP WRESTLING events.

Quick Recap:
    FRIDAY 30TH OCTOBER,

HACKETSTOWN CO CARLOW,
    TICKETS 5 EURO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,284 ✭✭✭Gerard.C

Who is Conor wrestling?

At this time it is unknown who will be up against who, it could be anyone of the talents on hand....why not attend with tickets costing only five euro and the proceds going to charity,its sure to be a great night of entertainment featuring some of Irelands top stars along with a mix of new talent.

However if you happen to be unable to attend, results shall be posted in this thread the following day.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

good luck to all in ICW, good to see a new Irish promotion debuting, hopefully it can do things right and be a success.

At this time it is unknown who will be up against who, it could be anyone of the talents on hand....why not attend with tickets costing only five euro and the proceds going to charity,its sure to be a great night of entertainment featuring some of Irelands top stars along with a mix of new talent.

However if you happen to be unable to attend, results shall be posted in this thread the following day.

Cant afford the train bai, ye come to Tipp or Cork and ill be there with bells on!

Gerard.C wrote: »
    Who is Conor wrestling?

You.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭Luas Lane

Does anyone know if any bus goes from Dublin to Hacketstown. Checked CIE but they dont go. Just wondering if any others go there??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 takerv1

FFPW_Dean wrote: »
    This Belfast Wrestling Academy is a bit of a joke in my opinion. The beginner classes are being run by a guy who has wrestled for a year in PWU & had about 4 matches in that time, he goes by the name Joe Ward & has no business teaching anyone to wrestle. He's assisted by Chad Kingston, both are no longer associated with PWU I am told.

However, here's the catch, the Thursday sessions are being run by Machine/Bonesaw of Wrestling.ie & UCW fame, who in my view is one of the better wrestlers in Northern Ireland & has some knowledge in the field of wrestling, however he only does these classes with non beginners.This Belfast Wrestling Academy is a bit of a joke in my opinion. The beginner classes are being run by a guy who has wrestled for a year in PWU & had about 4 matches in that time, he goes by the name Joe Ward & has no business teaching anyone to wrestle. He's assisted by Chad Kingston, both are no longer associated with PWU I am told.

not disrespect to the trainer(s?) of ffpw but ive been training for bwa for well over a month now and i found it more comfortable, professional and friendly than ffpw's school.
    i think probably the best place in ireland to find training is NI by far.
    i'm not trying to bash anyone but your school didnt seem to have any sort of setup and everyone seemed to be training everyone. this is just my opinion
    besides this i was told i could go home whenever i wanted which indicates that there is no dedication involved (again my opinion)
    and any TRAINED PRO that has contacts with the machine is worth being trained by

Why are you quoting your own post? Never seen someone argue with himself on the internet before. And why are you attributing your own post to FFPW Dean???

that was a mistake on my part i just registered here
    the second post is the real one from me and that quote was from ffpwdean

if you look back a number of pages its there and besides i sorted the problem with the two posts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭FFPW Office

Just a reminder to all potenial trainees... FFPW are offering training next month free of charge to all new trainees. Anyone who wishes to come down should contact us at info@fightfactoryprowrestling.com. Cheers.
    takerv1Quote:
    Originally Posted by FFPW_Dean viewpost.gif
    This Belfast Wrestling Academy is a bit of a joke in my opinion. The beginner classes are being run by a guy who has wrestled for a year in PWU & had about 4 matches in that time, he goes by the name Joe Ward & has no business teaching anyone to wrestle. He's assisted by Chad Kingston, both are no longer associated with PWU I am told.

However, here's the catch, the Thursday sessions are being run by Machine/Bonesaw of Wrestling.ie & UCW fame, who in my view is one of the better wrestlers in Northern Ireland & has some knowledge in the field of wrestling, however he only does these classes with non beginners.This Belfast Wrestling Academy is a bit of a joke in my opinion. The beginner classes are being run by a guy who has wrestled for a year in PWU & had about 4 matches in that time, he goes by the name Joe Ward & has no business teaching anyone to wrestle. He's assisted by Chad Kingston, both are no longer associated with PWU I am told.

not disrespect to the trainer(s?) of ffpw but ive been training for bwa for well over a month now and i found it more comfortable, professional and friendly than ffpw's school.
    i think probably the best place in ireland to find training is NI by far.
    i'm not trying to bash anyone but your school didnt seem to have any sort of setup and everyone seemed to be training everyone. this is just my opinion
    confused.gif
    besides this i was told i could go home whenever i wanted which indicates that there is no dedication involved (again my opinion)
    and any TRAINED PRO that has contacts with the machine is worth being trained by

If you were a previous trainee at our school may I ask your name?

Is there actually anywhere in Ireland for new guys to cut their teeth anymore?

Just looking at IwW and they use the same 5 or 6 guys on their shows now and every other promotion seems to use the 4 or 5 guys that come with the AWR crew. CPW and Northside are both gone seemingly, so does that leave the FFPW friends and family shows as the only place for new guys south of the border to break in?

Just seems like there are only about a dozen guys getting regular bookings anymore. Used to be that every promotion had at least a dozen guys unique to their promotion, never mind on the scene overall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭FFPW Office

We're currently working on that, it annoy's us that we have trained some really decent young lads and there is no scene in this country at the moment for them to break into. We have plans in place for early 2010 to change that, but nothing concrete yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 flexkidd

Any one see this clip of a tv show with mandrake http://tripmedia.org/devastation

Dragon Gate: Barcelona

10/30

Ryo Saito & Genki Horiguchi b Ronin Rider & Zack Sabre Jr.

Lee Flynn b Barricade

Noam Dar b Colin McKay

First Time Dream Ever Match-Up
    Shingo & Dragon Kid b The Young Bucks

Four Nations Cup - 4 Way Dance
    Sean South b El Generico, PAC & Mandrill

- PAC b Mandrill
    - El Generico b PAC
    - Sean South b El Generico

Mike Quackenbush b Paul Tracey

Naruki Doi & Masato Yoshino & BxB Hulk b CIMA & Susumu Yokosuka & Kagetora

Big win for Sean South there. Congrats on the booking, I'm sure it was a good couple of matches for the Irish lads.

Results from IRISH CHAMPIONSHIP WRESTLING's debut event:

Sean "Maxer" Brennan def Justin Shape

The Omen def Paddy "Suicide Machine" Morrow

Harry Hardshaw def Dahmer and JC Williams (Triple Threat)

Bingo Ballance def Conor Hurley

Sean "Maxer" Brennan & Paddy Morrow def The Omen & Justin Shape

ICW would like to everyone who purchased tickets for the event which helped to raise close to 1,000 euro for St. Johns Day Care Centre.

ICW would also like to thank everyone who voluntarily gave their time and effort to help make last nights event a succes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 NI Nightmare

Results from PWU's show on Friday 30th Oct

JDP defeated Danny Butler
    Los Locos defeated RSA
    Kev Rocks defeated Rodd
    The Renegades defeated Dave "shooter" Lennox and Tucker
    Tron defeated Damien Corvin

A fancy dress number 1 contenders battle royal was held, it was wond by a participant dressed as the scream killer, Tron emerged from the back to congratulate the winner. However as he was leaving the "killer" jumped him from behind attacking him with a 2x4 and unmasked as Corvin.

Dragon Gate: Barcelona

10/30

Ryo Saito & Genki Horiguchi b Ronin Rider & Zack Sabre Jr.

Lee Flynn b Barricade

Noam Dar b Colin McKay

First Time Dream Ever Match-Up
    Shingo & Dragon Kid b The Young Bucks

Sean South b El Generico, PAC & Mandrill

- PAC b Mandrill
    - El Generico b PAC
    - Sean South b El Generico

Mike Quackenbush b Paul Tracey

Naruki Doi & Masato Yoshino & BxB Hulk b CIMA & Susumu Yokosuka & Kagetora

Big win for Sean South there. Congrats on the booking, I'm sure it was a good couple of matches for the Irish lads.

We mentioned Sean South's big win to PAC at the UK meet and greet and he had some very complimentary words for him. Great to hear.

Also apparently the SHINGO/Kid Vs Bucks match from this show was supposed to have been sensational. Defginitely will be getting this show when it comes out, for this and to see the Irish lads.

FFPW Irish Stars out & about this past weekend:

Pro Wrestling Ulster, Malone Rugby Club, Belfast, Friday 30th October:

´Glam Rock Superstar´Kev Rocks def Rodd

Dragon Gate European Invasion, Night 1: Barcelona, Spain, 30th October:

Lee Flynn def Kazkanuezez

´Supersonic´ Sean South def El Generico, PAC & Mandril (21:46)

´Lightning´Mike Quackenbush def ´Lord Of The Manor´Paul Tracey

448 Attendance (source: http://dgusa.puroresufan.com/)

SWA Spain, Mangaroom, Barcelona, 31st October:

´The Israeli Icon´Noam Dar def Sean South

Jorge Catalina 'Asa De Picas' def ´Lord Of The Manor´Paul Tracey & Mandril in a 3 Way.

Lee Flynn won the main event rumble

Notes:

Kev Rocks scored bragging rights over former tag team partner Rodd in a well matched contest at PWU´s October 30th Event, this win surely puts the rarely defeated Rocks in contention for the PWU championship some time in the near future.

Also on the night of October 30th Lee Flynn returned to Spain to wrestle former student Kazkanuezez in an SWA exhibition match on the first day of the Dragon Gate European tour, Flynn picked up the victory with his vicioius Flynnton Bomb, much to the chagrin of the Spanish crowd.

On the same night, Sean South would face his biggest test to date as he took on PAC, El Generico & Mandril in a 4 way international challenge. South came out the victor finally eliminating El Generico following a superkick & Straight South combination in a fast paced match. Prior to this PAC had eliminated Mandril with a shooting star press & Generico had eliminated PAC with a Brainbuster.

In the penultimate match of the evening Paul Tracey clashed with the 'Master Of A Thousand Holds' Mike Quackenbush in a fine technical wrestling display from two of wrestlings best teachers. After a solid 18minutes of action 'Quack' was able to cradle 'The Lord' for a 3 count.

The following evening SWA Spain presented a night of action at the Mangaroom in Central Barcelona.

Noam Dar managed to score an upset victory over Sean South in a halloween hardcore match which seen South throw everything at Dar including snakes (whether they were alive or inanimate is debatable) in a horrifying effort to keep the 16 year old prodigy down. Finally after the aforementioned snake attack, Dar reversed a brainbuster attempt to score victory.

Paul Tracey was also victim to an upset loss as he was defeated by Jorge Catalina, the owner of SWA in a 3 way match also involving Mandril.
    Tracey was unluckily caught in a northern lights suplex shortly after nailing an impressive moonsault on Mandril.

On October 29th Sean South was able to participate in a special training seminar with Mike Quackenbush which specialised in the lucha libre style which Quackenbush teaches at the Chikara Wrestle Factory.

On October 31st & November 2nd the Trainees of SWA participated in training sessions coached by ´Highlander´Colin McKay of the Scottish Pro Wrestling Academy & Sean South of Fight Factory Pro Wrestling. All involved are said to have enjoyed the sessions & learned a lot.

FFPW Would like to remind all potential trainees that training is available free of charge for the month of November (now with added Lucha goodness).

Photos of all above shows will be posted when they become available/found.

Lee Flynn. Is he a northie or a southie?

Not entirey sure if you mean is he from NI or ROI or if he´s a Northsider of a Southsiser so I´ll just tell you he was born & raised in Ashington, Near Cabra, in North Dublin

Yeah, I meant did he come from the Dublin scene or the North scene. Just haven't seen his name on the updates before so I was curious.

For anyone interested Steve Muldoon, owner of Sports Entertainment Wrestling (aka wrestling.ie) was on the NI news part of GMTV this morning talking about the promotion and his nomination for NI's young entrepenuer of the year. He was accompanied by a short clip of in ring action by myself, JC Wiliams and the Executioner.

Some fan pics from Irish wrestlers on tour this past week (credit Sergio De La Torre)

13639_1238733578234_1526112398_2232312_681301_n.jpg

Sean South prior to action

13639_1238733298227_1526112398_2232305_2263666_n.jpg

Lee Flynn Claims victory

13639_1238733818240_1526112398_2232318_5497065_n.jpg

Paul Tracey in control of Mike Quackenbush

13639_1238734338253_1526112398_2232331_561118_n.jpg

Sean South brawls with Noam Dar during Halloween Hardcore

13639_1238734418255_1526112398_2232333_7318388_n.jpg

Paul Tracey takes a breather as Mandril beats down Jorge Catalina

Holy ****, is that Sonic and Knuckles wrestling gear? You get 10 awesome points if it is! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 146 ✭✭Rawm2008

it so is, very sexay, southy you are a **** when it comes to gear you know that.

Is there any official line from IWW on Sheamus' recent successes in WWE? Are they still bitter towards him or have they buried the hatchet? Remember the furore on here the day the story broke he wasn't working there anymore? That was some craic.

Results from IRISH CHAMPIONSHIP WRESTLING's debut event:

Sean "Maxer" Brennan def Justin Shape

The Omen def Paddy "Suicide Machine" Morrow

Harry Hardshaw def Dahmer and JC Williams (Triple Threat)

Bingo Ballance def Conor Hurley

Sean "Maxer" Brennan & Paddy Morrow def The Omen & Justin Shape

ICW would like to everyone who purchased tickets for the event which helped to raise close to 1,000 euro for St. Johns Day Care Centre.

ICW would also like to thank everyone who voluntarily gave their time and effort to help make last nights event a succes.

Any vids or pics from this?

What's the story with ICW, it just kinda sprang up out of no where. Are ye going to tour the country? Will ye have regular shows? Will ye make Conor Hurley yer World Champion?

Gerard.C wrote: »
    Any vids or pics from this?

What's the story with ICW, it just kinda sprang up out of no where. Are ye going to tour the country? Will ye have regular shows? Will ye make Conor Hurley yer World Champion?

I wonder what was the attendance? Must've been decent if they made a grand?

1000 divided by 5 = 200 people, but they said nearly a thousand so I'd say in the 180's to 190's.

I thought it'd be more given that wrestlers/venues/other costs would have to be paid first?

To raise that amount for charity I assumed the wrestlers were actually working for free. Who knows.

Good point. I'm sure ICW INfo will give us the attendance when hes on next.

A short Spanish documentary following Lee Flynns opponent in the build up to Dragon Gate in Barcelona. Not much to listen to unless you speak Spanish but some interesting footage.

anyone know if any irish promotions are running shows in november or december?

PWU have a show booked for the 18th of December, however there maybe another before then.