Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dreamweaver for Schools

Options
  • 01-10-2010 11:36am
    Registered Users Posts: 301 ✭✭

Hi all

I hope that I am in the correct forum for this query.

I am a transition year teacher who would like to teach web design to my class. I have some experience of Dreamweaver from school and college. I have also used it at camps, etc to teach young kids.

I would like to get it on around 24 computers in my school. I have checked adobe and the education version is around €180 per pack. This puts it way out of our range. Has anybody any suggestions on where/if I could source a better/cheaper deal.

I have looked at webs.com and some others but am familiar with dreamweaver and would prefer to stick with this.

Thanks in advance

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

If you want the students to have a proper grasp of web design technology, send them over to http://www.w3schools.org to learn html, xhtml and css using NotePad++ (free) and use GIMP or Paint.net (again both free) for web graphics.

Using a wysiwyg editor will provide more instant and easy, but ultimately lazy, results, with a poor grasp of the subjects.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,468 ✭✭✭Evil Phil

I think a wysiwyg editor would be a better option for transition year students. Not all of them want to be designers or developers or will have an interest in code but they will want to put things on screen.

And I'm moving this to the design forum (from development).

Have a look at http://kompozer.net/

It ain't dreamweaver, but it is free (though donations are welcomed).