Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fast draw?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,909 ✭✭✭BUACHAILL

As i said, it was my opinion, which nobody listens to anyway, I have raised issues (i felt were issues) with several threads or statements in recent times, yet they still remain.

I know of people who as of this week had a few issues regarding something mentioned online.

my opinion is that the video was wrong, the majority said it was ok to be shown. majority rules.

I just hope as JG has posted does not happen here, and the PTB are the "admins", and not us or mods.
    At the end of the day, submitting a letter from a mod when applying for a pistol licence does not cut any mustard (no offence guys) So I am "in my opinion" more concerned what the PTB would think of the thread.

I'd rather be paranoid and wrong, than not be aware and proved wrong

I understand what your getting at but firstly we are all annonymous on this site, I dont think there is much taken off this site which will in anyway effect your licence !! I also like to be cautious in all of this but think you might have overreacted in this case. I have read some of your other queries and objections and agree with a lot of them !

But as you say its your opinion and I never argue with that fact, Nobody was calling you a bully for it either

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

we are not very anonymous though.........
    Ireland is too small to keep secrets

we are not very anonymous though.........
    Ireland is too small to keep secrets

Agh you just need to try a bit harder !!;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

BUACHAILL wrote: »
    we are all annonymous on this site

Far from it. Dependent on who wants to know.

johngalway wrote: »
    Far from it. Dependent on who wants to know.

its in your own hands, you decide how much or little you want people to know about you in fairness !! so if people know exactly who you are you created it

Sort of. I think we're talking about different things though. What I mean, to give an example, say I lamped a deer out of season and posted it up here. And say the Wildlife or Gardai saw it and wanted to do something about it. They could well request my IP and other details from the site, and most likely get them.

So you're correct, loose lips sink ships as was said in WW2.

But, to think that an ID on a website on the internet is untraceable is not correct.

johngalway wrote: »
    Sort of. I think we're talking about different things though. What I mean, to give an example, say I lamped a deer out of season and posted it up here. And say the Wildlife or Gardai saw it and wanted to do something about it. They could well request my IP and other details from the site, and most likely get them.

So you're correct, loose lips sink ships as was said in WW2.

But, to think that an ID on a website on the internet is untraceable is not correct.

yes fully agree and I wasnt talking along them lines !
    To shoot a deer out of season and then to post it though you would deserve to lose your licence and firearms. But thankfully that stuff doesnt happen with members of this forum :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

Just incase any anti's is looking:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

All one has to do is read your posts, where you did your driving test, where you play golf etc....

A person can build up a profile very quick.

A good friend of mine says, a clever man never posts, but reads every post ;)

And never registers...
    You registered, you gave your name on "trust" to boards.ie, you are "trusting" mods, admins etc to look into who you are.

A lot on here know who I am, and I know a lot on here, many got to know who i was from people informing them.

do not think for a moment that fellas on here who don't like you will forward your info good/bad onto others......

All one has to do is read your posts, where you did your driving test, where you play golf etc....

A person can build up a profile very quick.

A good friend of mine says, a clever man never posts, but reads every post ;)

And never registers...
    You registered, you gave your name on "trust" to boards.ie, you are "trusting" mods, admins etc to look into who you are.

A lot on here know who I am, and I know a lot on here, many got to know who i was from people informing them.

do not think for a moment that fellas on here who don't like you will forward your info good/bad onto others......

Ha Ha I like it

However even from that info you couldnt know who I am. I get your point though

That said I decided to put that stuff up so maybe I am more trusting than some. I decided who knew who I was on this site.

As for the mods having your info, if thats not to be trusted why even use the site ye know.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,703 ✭✭✭deerhunter1

Well, as I seem to be the only contributer so far who had to do an interview with a chief super to hold on to a pistol, I have more to lose than others on here if the PTB think some Irish yahoo will try the same and blow a hole in his leg.

It may not be as dangerous with a "pellet gun" however I will not bother trying to persuade others not to post.

All I can do is hope it is the video is accepted by shooters as (how not to shoot, staring an American idiot)

Hopefully so, and No your not the only person here to have an interview, I also had an interview with the Chief Super Ref my Three Pistols, not a valid point I do not think, whether you have 10 pistols or 1 if you lose it it is a lot to that person to lose.

As for the mods having your info, if thats not to be trusted why even use the site ye know.

We've gone full circle here :)

As you said, it's what you say that get's a person in trouble.

As I said, there's not much hiding on the internet.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,703 ✭✭✭deerhunter1

sfakiaman wrote: »
    The only thing faster than that is a nudist with hot coffee on his lap :D
    :D:D:rolleyes:

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

:D:D:rolleyes:

I'm guessing he/she is in level 4 security . ..................... :D:p
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

Just a couple of points:

We mods DON'T have access to anyone's 'personal' information here (log-in/registration details, e-mail addresses, etc).

CAS (Cowboy Action Shooting) isn't banned specifically and by name here, but then, neither is IPSC, and we all know where that stands.
    In the feeding-frenzy like rush to implement the ill-informed and somewhat obsessive wishes of the current Minister, legislation was framed to prohibit 'stuff we know we don't like, but can't quite describe, but we'll know it when we see it.'
    Thus we have legislation that's woolly and vague, which can be (and currently IS) interpreted to mean a ban on shooting sports that involve movement, variable round counts, puzzle solving, and an element of thinking on your feet during the course of fire.

CAS is a HUGE shooting sport around the world (and is particularly popular in Germany and Scandinavia), but that cuts no ice here under the current regime, and anyone who had any plans for getting it started up has shelved any such notions lest they suffer the same fate as the IPSC lads. In any event, there are very few (if any) suitable firearms licenced here, certainly for the pistol aspects of it, and there won't be unless/until there's a change in legislation.

Yer man in the video certainly has an impressive skill set, even given the use of blanks which reduce the necessary 'accuracy' requirement for hitting his targets, but it's enormously specialised and I certainly don't know of anyone here who'd have anything other than an academic interest in it.
    Certainly, the 'lucky ones' who managed to hold onto their pistol licences wouldn't dream of jeopardising them by engaging in the activity even if their equipment WAS suitable, which none of it is to the best of my knowledge.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

ezridax wrote: »
    Sparks, when i go to play the video i get the following message..........

What gives? It can be got on youtube.
    Crap! Sorry Ezri, no idea - it played on youtube so I thought it'd play embedded as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭Mr Mole

Looking at the video of the Olympic 25 Metre, Mr Reitz, the German competitor would have been disqualified in many other disciplines for unsafe gun handling re his waving of the gun 1.05 secs in. It just shows that safety can be breached in all disciplines.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭Bananaman

It does need to be said that the video you all started getting your collective knickers in a twist over is an exhibitionist.

There are people who drive cars around fairgrounds on two wheels - which have nothing to do with the sport of motor racing - same as there are 'trick shooters' who have nothing to do with the sport of target shooting.

It is like watching Ronnie O'Sullivan play snooker back when he was starting out - he would play so fast he would be waiting for the white ball to stop and hit it again immediately. But he won, many, many times, even at that pace. However, someone chipping a snooker ball over a blond in a bikini and into the corner pocket is not snooker - but even the purists would watch it.

Cowboy Action Shooting has also been referred to - again the original video had nothing to do with the sport of Cowboy Action Shooting (although he did compete in it - remember the video was made 24 years ago so he ain't that fast anymore!!)- the guy was wearing a Stetson but so does George W. Bush and to be best of my recollection he has never represented Target Shooting either.

Someone then later posted a video of Jerry Miculek making his record attempt of 8 shots in 1 second. That, in contrast, __was__ target shooting as he scored two hits on each of four targets. Quite a feat.
    He has also done 12 shots in 2 seconds with a 6 shot revolver, so including a reload - and that also __was__ target shooting as he scored two hits on each of 6 targets that time. Has to be said that he is one of the best, not just the fastest, target shooters in world - especially with a revolver

In my view it is unfair to compare these two as the only common denominator is firearms and we all know what it fells like to be unfairly compared to someone else purely on the grounds of having a firearm.

There is nothing wrong with being able to shoot fast - as long as you can put them in the scoring ring, which at the end of the day is the main requirement. Being able to shoot fast and not score is just a waste of time and ammo.

It is important to make the distinction between 'shooting' and 'target shooting' - In Ireland we are only allowed to do 'target shooting' so posting an example of what people do in other jurisdictions needs to be taken with a pinch of salt - especially - when it is from the USA.

B'Man

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Bananaman wrote: »
    Someone then later posted a video of Jerry Miculek making his record attempt of 8 shots in 1 second.............

I did.
    .................In my view it is unfair to compare these two ................................

Was not comparing them. I posted the video after seeing him first on Discovery and thought it would be good for others to see him. This thread was the place to post it. As per your own post it was for entertainment and nothing else. Also if you read my post (#13) you'll see i pointed out that i would like to see the CAS shooter do it at a target and how Jerry was/is a speed and accuracy shooter. Two different styles.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

Mr Mole wrote: »
    Looking at the video of the Olympic 25 Metre, Mr Reitz, the German competitor would have been disqualified in many other disciplines for unsafe gun handling re his waving of the gun 1.05 secs in. It just shows that safety can be breached in all disciplines.
    If he'd turned the pistol during that particular outburst, he'd have been hauled up on it immediately and disqualified as well. Just because ISSF jury members and ROs don't stand at your shoulder during the match doesn't mean they're absent - he would have had at least six officials watching him at that point.

Bananaman wrote: »
    There is nothing wrong with being able to shoot fast
    Did someone say there was? The only real complaint anyone had that didn't have everyone else disagreeing with them on the original video was that the cameraman was in front of the firing line.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭Bananaman

Sparks wrote: »
    the cameraman was in front of the firing line.

We don't know that - we only know there was a camera in front of the firing line.

B'Man

We can tell from the pan and zoom done during the filming from in front of the shooter.
    Given the time the video was made, it wouldn't have been remote-controlled.