Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Things in Ireland that Britain dont have?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

thee glitz wrote: »
    Síle Seoige

Pfft, they have Grainne now. I think the fcukers got the better deal!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Sticky_Fingers

o1s1n wrote: »
    Bit incorrect. Shows your age :P

What you know as 'Mighty Munch' were 'Monster Munch' here in Ireland for years.

In the 90s, Walkers started selling crisps here (They had their own Monster Munch)

To avoid confusion, they bought the rights to the name Monster Munch in Ireland.

Our Monster Munch then became Mighty Munch.

I seem to be the only person who was bothered by this :pac:
    I remember the change well but what threw me for a loop was that they have the same monsters on the packs that Mighty Munch (nee Monster Munch) had back in the day. I bought them expecting to savor their spicy goodness and was left with a pack of hard little corn things that taste like they fell out of Harneys arse. Avoid at all costs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

gurramok wrote: »
    Dunnes Stores 'because we're Irish' ;)

There's a Dunnes Stores in Leeds, Bradford and Salford.

Eye oop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Bilingual signs.

In Scotland, Wales and parts of England, yes they do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭thee glitz

Agricola wrote: »
    Pfft, they have Grainne now. I think the fcukers got the better deal!

Ah but ye still would.
    seoiges_195427t.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,450 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Higher unemployment?

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,099 ✭✭✭Dean820

They changed the name of Monster Munch? Shows how out of touch I am these days.

prinz wrote: »
    In Scotland, Wales and parts of England, yes they do.

Fair point Prinz, but Ireland has them everywhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 483 ✭✭9wetfckx43j5rg

Craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

The Guinness Quality Team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,137 ✭✭✭Balfie

meanies, also der are no clover ''shamrock'' anywhere in england,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

BrianJD wrote: »
    30 Billion Dept....

and 800 years of a chip on their shoulder.
    where is our 30 billion department
    i thought we were broke...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

1. Leprechauns
    2. shamrock
    3. Guinness
    4. horses running through council estates
    5. toothless simpletons,
    6. people with eyebrows on their cheeks
    7. men in platform shoes being arrested for bombings
    8. lots of rocks
    9. Beamish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭Thomas828

Soda bread, potato farls, buttermilk... I can count on one hand the shops in London that sell them.

We also don't have British editions of Irish newspapers, like the Sunday World or the Sunday Tribune.

YR sauce.

Miwadi.

But what do these things mean, I hear you ask?
    Yorkshire Relish, MIneral WAter DIstributers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,660 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Cars with steel wheels and hubcaps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

There's a Dunnes Stores in Leeds, Bradford and Salford.

Eye oop.

Damn u :P

How about Centra, Supervalu and Londis? :) (I didnt say Spar as they are feckin everywhere!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

bonerm wrote: »
    1. Leprechauns
    2. shamrock
    3. Guinness
    5. toothless simpletons,
    8. lots of rocks
    9. Beamish.

Ders more to oirland den dis.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,209 ✭✭✭Redzer7

Mary Harney.

It is a thing right?

gurramok wrote: »
    Damn u :P

How about Centra, Supervalu and Londis? :) (I didnt say Spar as they are feckin everywhere!)

I'm surprised we haven't had an argument over whether Northern Ireland is part of Britain, and I ain't going to start one!

So, to answer your question: not sure.

• Registered Users Posts: 505 ✭✭✭annieoburns

Cadburys chocolate MADE IN IRELAND

"sliced pan..." well they call it something different:)

Erin parsley sauce

Kimberley and Mikadoo biscuits?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

Green postboxes
    Turloughs
    Plain women considered 'stunning'
    Sunday World
    Generous dole payments
    Mountain hare
    Angelus
    Jedward
    Ghost estates
    Decent goalkeepers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Fr Ted references.

Well Im sure they have em, but they dont really get them in the glorious way an Irish person does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,596 ✭✭✭✭TheDriver

pigeon Queens Engwish...........

Distinctive Kilkenny bogger accent!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,152 ✭✭✭Cakes.

A president
    A bono
    A Me

Kimberley and Mikadoo biscuits?

Not to mention the Coconut Creams.

Someone you love would love some, Mum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,731 ✭✭✭alex73

RobitTV wrote: »
    What do we have That britain does not have?

Freedom

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭Gunsfortoys

People that try to sound like Americans.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

stovelid wrote: »
    Tedious historical obsessions with their neighbours.

... The French?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭AlexderFranke

Tithe tábhairne lán de cheol gaelach
    An saghas áirithe de láir cathrach
    Agus gan déanamh dearmad ar: An Ghaeilge agus an saol cultúrach a bhfuil baint aige léi!
    Pubs full of Irish music
    The unique style of city centres
    And not to forget: The Irish language
    and the cultural life bound to it!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

1. Leprechauns
    2. shamrock
    3. Guinness
    5. toothless simpletons,
    8. lots of rocks
    9. Beamish.

You can't get Guinness in the UK :eek::eek:

OPENROAD wrote: »
    You can't get Guinness in the UK :eek::eek:

You can't get a good pint of it in Britain.

Thats not what he said though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,577 ✭✭✭lord lucan

Not much better in many places here tbh.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

leeches as politicians
    paracites as politicians
    crooks as politicians
    gangsters as politicians
    the galway tent
    the golden circle
    anglo
    callelly
    fingers fingleton
    seanie fitz
    fas
    fianna country raping fail

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,605 ✭✭✭veryangryman

Myself and 95% of the rest put 2 and together on that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

1. Leprechauns
    2. shamrock
    3. Guinness
    5. toothless simpletons,
    8. lots of rocks
    9. Beamish.

there's many a toothless simpleton around england. or as they would say, toofless.
    one thing that's bloody hard to get in england is a nice cup of tea. i used to bring tea over with me when i was going back, and still bring it over when going to see friends.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Black puddin'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 393 ✭✭Tom Slick

Me.

Black puddin'

Available in Britain

ok, you win 1 internet.

Also, boxty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

... The French?

Everybody in England doesn't speak French and support Marseilles and PSG though. :0)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,500 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

RobitTV wrote: »
    What do we have That britain does not have?

****e infrastructure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

leeches as politicians
    paracites as politicians
    crooks as politicians
    gangsters as politicians
    the galway tent
    the golden circle
    anglo
    callelly
    fingers fingleton
    seanie fitz
    fas
    fianna country raping fail

they have the first 4, only they don't tend to re-elect them. peter mandleson, jeffrey archer, lord ashcroft and a few others being fine examples. as kent brockman said, democracy just doesn't work.

They don't have our true national drink - Poitín! Or Irish Coffees for that matter :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,302 ✭✭✭JohnMearsheimer

Thomas828 wrote: »
    Soda bread, potato farls, buttermilk... I can count on one hand the shops in London that sell them.

We also don't have British editions of Irish newspapers, like the Sunday World or the Sunday Tribune.

I really missed soda bread when I was living in Wales. One day I thought I'd try to make my own and couldn't find buttermilk anywhere....oh well.

My family used to send me over Barrys tea, taytos and Old Time marmalade. My local Co-Op sold the Irish Times, I know I could read it online for free but I liked having a physical copy of the paper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,549 ✭✭✭Noffles

Everybody with any common sense wanting to leave

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Bacon fries?????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭limklad

Brian Cowan,
    Brian Leinhan

The Entire FF Party.
    Anglo
    Sean Fitzpatrick
    Wee Daniel O' Donnell

Do I need to say more :rolleyes: