Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Manchester City v Newcastle United (Kick Off: 1.30pm)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,169 ✭✭✭JohnnyRyan99

What... the fudge!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Nice finish, shit defending

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,161 ✭✭✭✭M5

I prefer the mask! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,490 ✭✭✭Ordinary man

great goal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,153 ✭✭✭everdead.ie

1-1 shaping up to be a good game

Edit Delighted for Houghton :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,854 ✭✭✭Beekay

No mask:(

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 4,726 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gonzovision

Good goal, City poor at the back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

Get in there my son.......all my rivals with Hart or Toure in their FF teams woooooo.

Edit: and a yellow card ahahaha. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,021 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Magnificent goal, I love watching Guttierrez play.

Justice

rarnes1 wrote: »
    Justice

Still a soft penalty to atone for

Perch = Weak link

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,251 ✭✭✭The Walsho

Charlie wrote: »
    What foolish logic.

My judgement of that tackle wasn't based solely on the reaction of the Newcastle players. But generally when a tackle is dangerous, the opposing team's reaction is a decent indicator. Foolish logic is the "his leg is broken, so the tackle must have been bad".

Harper, Ben Arfa and now Colo......

Barry u ****ing asshole

Need to get Colo off fast

Lol Campbell

How do City fans rate Gareth Barry?

I remember he used to be an exciting left back/winger who scored a good few goals. Now he's a pretty dull player.

"newcatle shop and the pensionable end"

lol, we signed one player over 25, campbell

Stupid by Tevez there he took the bait

Think we'll sea a red or two here.... NOt been a dirty game by any means, a few silly yellows

Not a fan of this ref at all

Xavi6 wrote: »
    He gave ya a fairly soft Peno though

wait till he gives us a soft pen and see how you feel then :P

finicky to say the least

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭bazual

Lovin the start of Tiote's Toon career.

lol, what is yer man screaming a barton?

Fine set of vocal chords on Joe Hart there anyway.

De Jong tackle is at 1.30.

Now I don't see it as a bad tackle as 99 times out of 100 nothing comes out of these things. This was unfortunate and certainly not a 'Karl Henry job' as has been suggested already.

He gave ya a fairly soft Peno though

Exactly, he's been crap.

That tackle started outside the box for me anyway.

Jonas and Jose Enrique have been excellent together

Playing The Smiths in the stadium during half time. Good lads City.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,815 ✭✭✭Charlie

Now I don't see it as a bad tackle as 99 times out of 100 nothing comes out of these things. This was unfortunate and certainly not a 'Karl Henry job' as has been suggested already.

bollix mate.

I told you that he was going to take out Ben Arfa's leg as well as win the ball, and the replay shows that. It may not be as dramatic as henrys, but it is a reckless as it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭thorbarry

I dunno, fair enough he got the ball with his left leg, but it was his right leg that came in and got and got Ben Arfa. It was pretty bad, but thats just my opinion, he sliced through him

thorbarry wrote: »
    I dunno, fair enough he got the ball with his left leg, but it was his right leg that came in and got and got Ben Arfa. It was pretty bad, but thats just my opinion, he sliced through him

Momentum going through, how can De Jong just stop himself going forward? Also he didnt go in two footed he has his right leg tucked in, unfortunate outcome and i hope Barfa makes a full recovery, horrible injury to suffer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

He most definitely meant to "let the player know he was there". No need to follow through with his other leg. Any benefit of the doubt is cast aside given the player we are talking about. Not surprised tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,778 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

OMFG!!! Just saw the De Jong tackle! How many incidents like this has he gotten away with!?

Kinda happy he stayed on tho - in my ff....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,021 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Momentum going through, how can De Jong just stop himself going forward? Also he didnt go in two footed he has his right leg tucked in, unfortunate outcome and i hope Barfa makes a full recovery, horrible injury to suffer.
    His right leg doesn't stay down, it goes up in the air.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Bad tackle by De Jong.

he got the ball with his left and swung his right, nothing to do with momentum

I think its unfortunate more than malicious myself. Im more pissed off about the absolutely ridiculous penalty (from a decision perspective), reminds me of the last time we played when exactly the same thing happened to Habib Beye...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,480 ✭✭✭✭cson

De Jong plays in a certain way and I can say with a certain conviction that I'll be surprised if Ben Arfa is the only player to come out of one of his tackles with a serious injury.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Not bad thus far. Playing some nice stuff. Bit of a soft penalty but those are the breaks I suppose.

Personally I didn't think anything wrong originally with De Jong's tackle. Looking back on the replay, it looked a bit reckless. If I didn't have the luxury of looking at a replay, I'd find the tackle to be ok tbh. Just unfortunate.

Pity about Colo coming off.

Very worried about the high line we're playing though. Getting caught too many times.

City have been sloppy thus far in passing. Long may it continue. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

He knew well what he was doing, imo.

Archimedes wrote: »
    He most definitely meant to "let the player know he was there". No need to follow through with his other leg. Any benefit of the doubt is cast aside given the player we are talking about. Not surprised tbh.

A defensive midfielder who puts in more tackles than anyone else in the team?

Interesting stat - 62 games, 0 red cards in all competitions for City.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,014 ✭✭✭✭titan18

I know this might be unfair but had that been the majority of players in the league,I'd say it's unfortunate but this is De Jong and that isn't his first and won't be his last time where he goes in like that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Dangerous stupid tackle.

1423: HALF-TIME Man City 1-1 Newcastle
    Phil Dawkes' HT snap-shot: "Despite losing Hatem Ben Arfa to a serious injury in the opening five minutes, Newcastle have been the better side at Eastlands - and City leave the field to boos."

Boos :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,480 ✭✭✭✭cson

I think you'd even agree Xavi that its a stat drenched in luck more than anything.

Jasus routlege is brutal

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,648 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

He also played in 1 world cup final and didn't get sent off, doesn't make it right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭digme

lifeless game :(

Jonas has been great this Newcastle team looks ten times the team that went down.