Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Squats your PR???

• 04-10-2010 12:14am
    Registered Users Posts: 73 ✭✭

So here's a story of the wee moo's journey to lifting heavy things at a competition - hopefully in February...

here's where it begins....

current pr's

Squat - 100
    Deadlift- 110
    Bench- 55

training plan is to do cycles of 3 training days;
    1. deadlift and bench
    2. squats and core work
    3. whatever I feel in the humour for

and im planning on, starting from today, adding in some cardio, do a 10km run once a week. i predict this, after happening today, wont be reappearing in the training log for a while. Im not one for the elements - I prefer a treadmill and havent got easy access to one at the moment.

Skin Folds - 95m

Im currently in a 'fat before christmas' competition where I want to turn those numbers to 59 and ill log my progress on that...or otherwise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,660 ✭✭✭G86

Haha it's a tad strange when you recognise someone simply from their lift numbers!!!:pac:

Wasn't your squat 95kg like 2 weeks ago? Fair play! I'm still quite sickened though...; you're smaller than me, AND squatting way more. If you get a 120kg DL anytime soon I might just have to kill you.....:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭Will Heffernan

G86 wrote: »
    If you get a 120kg DL anytime soon I might just have to kill you.....:p
    What...like this you mean?
    040nu.jpg

Aw maaannnn!!!!!!!! No fair!
    :p

• Registered Users Posts: 73 ✭✭Mooo

its the laser beams that come from my eyes that gives me all my power

So there we go... stats have changed, Deadlift has moved from 110-120kg. Im hoping it moves up a bit more the next time i test. I was running the previous day. God. I'd test everyday if I could. Reps are boring :)

Sunday
    Some cardio, first day back running since June, ran about 9.5km and walked half a kilometre.

So the training for Moooo-nday looked like this
    IP warm ups x2
    Deadlift:
    40x5
    60x 5
    70x3
    80x3
    90x1
    100x1
    110x1 (repeated x 4)

Elevated Split Squats
    5 sets of 8

Benching -
    20x8(2)
    30x8(2)
    35x5 (4)... it was supposed to be for 5 sets but theres no point lying.
    I got bored.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭gymfreak

Mooo wrote: »
    God. I'd test everyday if I could. :)
    Really?? Are ya sure?
    So there we go... stats have changed, Deadlift has moved from 110-120kg
    Stats were impressive before,..now they are just crazy! Keep it up!

gymfreak wrote: »
    Really?? Are ya sure?

Stats were impressive before,..now they are just crazy! Keep it up!

i work completely on instant gratification and positive reinforcement. If I dont have someone shouting at me or im not testing then theres just no fun. someone tell me where to find it.

My bench blows. I'll have to start working on it moreso than once in a blue whenever I feel like it moon.

I'll have to go back to higher rep training :(

we should have a girls training session! get some pink weights going

i work completely on instant gratification and positive reinforcement. If I dont have someone shouting at me or im not testing then theres just no fun. someone tell me where to find it.
    Yup, can see where your coming from..
    note to self: get good results and I'll like testing..sounds simple
    we should have a girls training session! get some pink weights going

• Registered Users Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭JJayoo

Great deadlift, cool pic as well.

im brutal at keeping a training log! im worse at following programmes and horrendous at tracking... i'll keep trying...

so in that three week gap that i neglected the blog..

training became brutal, i went from 106mm to 85mm in a month. not a very good idea for training. really good for supporting fatigue, weakness and crap training. gave up on dieting, eating everything and getting back on track.

last week I did a deadlift and bench session, a squat and core session and a bodybuilding session. Yesterday is the only training that i can remember so...

10 min warm up on treadmill 10km-12.5km

IP warm up

Squats
    Warm up (40 x 8)2
    (60 x 6) 2
    (70x3) 2
    (80 x 3) 2
    (90 x 1) 6

..there is no logic to my training.

Elevated split squats
    5 sets of 8

dumbell rows
    10 x 8
    12.5 x 8 x2
    15 x 8 x 3

Tricep extensions
    10kg plate - 5 sets of 8

Lunges
    10 steps x 5 with 2 x 8kg dumbells

Bicep curls
    6kg x 8
    8kg x 8 5 sets

Treadmill
    -gradient of 9 at 6km p/hr for 10mins

sprint intervals
    30 seconds at 16.5-17km
    1 1/2 minutes at 6km

5 sets.

Warm down.

im brutal at keeping a training log! im worse at following programmes and horrendous at tracking... i'll keep trying...

so in that three week gap that i neglected the blog..
    Glad to see ya logging again! Naturally I find it more interesting to read girl's logs:)Ya get used to logging real quick and it's actually realy helpful for those of us with a **** memory! Handy when ya want to look back.

Here's a quick question...
    Lunges
    10 steps x 5 with 2 x 8kg dumbells
    Why the 8kg dumbells? I'm guessing it's just an accessory exercise but why not heavier, seeing as you can squat crazy numbers?..just curious:)

1. Im not known for consistency or logic in my training
    2. for the amount of lunges i was doing it was all my pinnies could handle
    3. my training is an enigma.
    4. i will be going back to the IP programme asap.

1. Im not known for consistency or logic in my training
    2. for the amount of lunges i was doing it was all my pinnies could handle
    3. my training is an enigma.
    4. i will be going back to the IP programme asap.

Jaysus, your like the polar-opposite of me..I'm all for stucture and consistency:pac::pac:

to quote the infamous heffernan talking about my 'programme' "your training is dumb and worse, its dumb in a non-IP facility"...its true that training took place unsupervised in an outside gym, i went wild.

IP warm up x 2

Deadlifts

40kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    60kg x 3
    60kg x 3
    70kg x 3
    80kg x 3
    90kg x 3
    90kg x 3
    90kg x 3
    90kg x 3
    90kg x 3
    95kg x 3.... just to see if I could. A bit messy on number 3. (a bit = very)

Bench
    20kg x 8
    20kg x 8
    30kg x 6
    30kg x 6
    30kg x 6
    35kg x 6... had to leave as the gym shut... boo...

Fats: 87 mm.. up by 2mm. Weight 68.7kg. 20.2% bf.

Forgot to update that my squat PR is 105kg - that was from about a month/ six weeks ago.

Squat Day

IP warm up x 2

Squats:
    40kg x 6
    40kg x 6
    60kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    70kg x 3
    70kg x 3
    80kg x 3
    80kg x 3
    80kg x 3
    80kg x 3

upper body warm up with bands

Dumbbell Rows:
    10kg x 8
    10kg x 8
    12.5kg x 8
    12.5kg x 8
    15kg x 8
    15kg x 8
    17.5kg x 5
    17.5kg x 5
    17.5kg x 5
    17.5kg x 5
    17.5kg x 5

Tricep extensions:
    7.5kg x 5
    7.5kg x 5
    7.5kg x 5
    10kg x 5
    10kg x 5
    10kg x 5

Bicep curls:
    5kg x 10
    5kg x 10
    7.5kg x 8
    7.5kg x 8
    10kg x 5
    10kg x 5
    7.5kg x 5

45 degree back extension
    5 x 12

...my training looks long.. its really not.

Note for next week: squats up by 5kg
    triceps the same/ more volume
    dumbbell rows up by 2.5kg
    45 degree back extensions in each session.
    stop testing every week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

nom nom nom volume.

'stuff

sorry what?

sorry what?

I was trying to convey some sort of encouragement while attempting to communicate a love for high volume training.

It came out a bit arseways.

i need all the encouragement i can get even if i dont understand it!

i'll explain it.

"Nom Nom Nom" is the sound you make when you're eating.

I like to eat.

=> eating sound + {whatever} = i like this

' Stuff

is an abbreviation (or possibly a contraction?) of "Good Stuff"

I should just go back to posting pictures of cats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

You don't need to shorten the phrase 'good stuff' for god's sake.

well, wheres the cat?

You don't need to shorten the phrase 'good stuff' for god's sake.

5124178814_74326a697c.jpg

i really should be training tonight .... **sigh**

Deadlift, bench and everything else day

Deadlift
    40kg x 6
    40kg x 6
    60kg x 6
    60kg x 6
    70kg x 6
    80kg x 3
    80kg x 3
    90kg x 3
    90kg x 3
    90kg x 3
    90kg x 3
    90kg x 3

100kg x 1
    100kg x 1
    100kg x 1
    110kg x 1
    115kg x 1 (this was the ugliest deadlift ever seen in I.P)

Tricep Extensions
    7.5kg x 5
    7.5kg x 5
    10kg x 5
    10kg x 5
    10kg x 5
    10kg x 5

Bicep Curls
    7.5kg x 8
    7.5kg x 8
    7.5kg x 8
    10kg x 5
    10kg x 5
    10kg x 5

45 degree lower back extension
    5 x 12

Dumb bell Rows
    10kg x 5
    12.5kg x 5
    15kg x 5
    17.5kg x 5
    17.5kg x 5
    17.5kg x 5
    17.5kg x 5
    17.5kg x 5

Bench
    20kg x 12 warm up set
    30kg x 8
    30kg x 8
    30kg x 8
    35KG X 5
    35kg x 5
    35kg x 5

Med Ball throws
    5 x 20

Farmers Walk
    48kg x 40m metres x 5
    -great for working on my grip!

Bridging
    3 x 3minutes

Elevated split squats
    5 x 8

oh things are starting to get sore now...

37785_416427285255_187950175255_4499276_1679129_n.jpg

sounds like i have to do thousands of lunges and not with 8kg

115kg x 1 (this was the ugliest deadlift ever seen in I.P)

I saw this...

It kinda looked like one of mine - and that's bad:pac: But hey feck it, you still got it!

Deadlift day

ip warm up x 2

foam rolling

Deadlift
    40kg x 8
    40kg x 8
    60kg x 6
    60kg x 6
    70kg x 5
    70kg x 5
    80kg x 3