Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is Limerick a safe place to stand out?

1235»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,515 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

:confused: - I think it should be fairly obvious from my previous post that I belong to neither group.

You have your experiences, I have mine. I can't say why I see trouble and you don't. Good for you though.

Yeah I agree. If you think I implied that statement was true then you need to re-read my post. I said I spend an enjoyable few hours in the city every Saturday. I also happen to usually see some minor incident or once or twice get hassled for change outside a cafe. Not really a huge deal to me.

I have re read your post and it still isn't obvious that you belong to neither group, you identify two different schools of opinion, you then regale us with examples of negative events including being afraid to walk down numerous streets, having junkies roar abuse at you etc, possibly placing you in one of those schools, which was why I asked you to clarify which one...

I'm convinced that people in this town see a young fella in a tracksuit and tight hair cut and immediately expect something unsavoury to happen, when a lot more often than not, nothing ever does...this is a result of numerous factors, one of those factors I alluded to in an earlier post in this thread.

I'm probably a little too much on the defensive but it is a result of reading too much rubbish about our city

• Closed Accounts Posts: 925 ✭✭✭say_who_now?

Freiheit wrote: »
    More often than not if I have a liquid outside I get someone asking me for money or cigarettes (and I don't even smoke),none have ever attacked me but it isn't very nice and one can never be sure. This is especially so the further up O Connel St I go,around the White House (lovely bar) it's very bad....

The OP's question wasn't so much "Is Limerick a safe place to stand out... side a shop with a coffee?", I think they were more referring to the fact that if you look unusual or "stand out from the crowd", and judging from some of the posts in this thread, I'm beginning to think it's nearly not safe to be a scumbag in Limerick as they seem to be the only ones that are "standing out"! :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 203 ✭✭MHalberstram

I have re read your post and it still isn't obvious that you belong to neither group, you identify two different schools of opinion, you then regale us with examples of negative events including being afraid to walk down numerous streets, having junkies roar abuse at you etc, possibly placing you in one of those schools, which was why I asked you to clarify which one...

I'm convinced that people in this town see a young fella in a tracksuit and tight hair cut and immediately expect something unsavoury to happen, when a lot more often than not, nothing ever does...this is a result of numerous factors, one of those factors I alluded to in an earlier post in this thread.

I'm probably a little too much on the defensive but it is a result of reading too much rubbish about our city

A little too much? Seriously you are reading way too much into what I am saying.

Let me spell it out for you. I am hardly equating a few minor issues with Limerick being a "warzone". Some people make it out to be like that, I am saying that I only see a few issues when I am in town and they DO NOT SPOIL MY DAY. I avoid certain streets because I'd rather not have to walk past the junkies begging on Cruises Street for example. It's not like I am saying I wouldn't walk down there without a flak jacket. Some people would have you believe that Limerick is lethal day or night, and if you want an example just read the kind of stuff that Raiser comes out with.

I pointed out some minor negatives in an effort to illustrate the kind of thing that I would like to see improved about our city. The kind of thing that the "Limerick is perfect" camp choose to ignore. But they are hardly serious enough to give you the impression that I was implying that Limerick was a "warzone".

If that is what you believe then you and I have vastly different criteria for what constitutes serious crime.

So just to reiterate - I am in the middle of those camps. Limerick isn't perfect but it is certainly not as bad as some people would have you believe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,903 ✭✭✭zulutango

Who is in the "Limerick is perfect" camp? Haven't noticed any posts on here suggesting that it is.

Jesus H. Christ...I give up. You people just seem to be looking for an argument.

I said to myself this morning I'd go "scum spotting" (could make that a sport actually, reminds me of the way I used play "car colors" as a child!). I'm just after coming down Cruise's Street and aside from a busker in the doorway of the now closed down Game shop, there wasn't a junkie or a dodgy looking person in sight! Passed through Supadrug, onto William street and into Dealz, still nobody, passing by Champion Sports, one chap in a dodgy tweed cap and tracksuit. Standing outside Penney's now waiting for the rain to cool off and I think I'll give up on this game as it's not proving very fruitful, not to mention I just can't be àrsed actively looking for people who clearly don't stand out as much as some posters in here would have you believe! I'm disappointed now! :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

I said to myself this morning I'd go "scum spotting" (could make that a sport actually, reminds me of the way I used play "car colors" as a child!). I'm just after coming down Cruise's Street and aside from a busker in the doorway of the now closed down Game shop, there wasn't a junkie or a dodgy looking person in sight! Passed through Supadrug, onto William street and into Dealz, still nobody, passing by Champion Sports, one chap in a dodgy tweed cap and tracksuit. Standing outside Penney's now waiting for the rain to cool off and I think I'll give up on this game as it's not proving very fruitful, not to mention I just can't be àrsed actively looking for people who clearly don't stand out as much as some posters in here would have you believe! I'm disappointed now! :(

Ah, so you've never had to use the other entrance to Arthurs Quay, in order to avoid a group of teen scum, openly smoking dope at the entrance, or the same with Penneys or anywhere on Cruises street either?

Also, Insect Overlord doesn't seem to see that a woman shopping alone in the city centre would feel far more intimidated and be far more likely to be intimidated than several hundred gay people taking part in a mayoral and gardai escorted parade.:rolleyes:

What was it ye were saying about feeling safe in Limerick. Jesus, the way you're so quick to jump down the throats of anyone who voices an honest opinion that doesn't paint Limerick in a favourable light is juvenile. Its no wonder Limerick city is dying. It must be a case of 'see no evil, hear no evil, speak no evil'

I was in Galway today, what a joy to have a wander around a city and a Penneys branch that isn't over run with skanks who think they own the place. No intimidation, nobody bothering anyone else and not a whiff of dope, in fact the only substance being abused on the streets was one sad old wino drinking outside a shop. It wasn't until I got to the bus station and saw the scumbags with tattooed necks making life uncomfortable for other commuters that I could even make a comparison between Galway and Limerick. No surprise that they were getting the Limerick bus.

Unemployment me arse, theres many a lazy skank/scumbag happily enjoying life on benefits in Limerick. There's a world of difference in people being unemployed through no fault of their own and generations of lazy n'er do wells who wouldn't work to warm themselves. Then again why should they when the state gives them a winter fuel allowance. I'm done with this thread.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,909 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

I'm done with this thread.

Great, you've saved me the job of telling you to stop soap-boxing. You made your point over the weekend. Several times. The wanton exaggeration was getting tiring. Thanks in advance for not posting in this thread again.

Reading back over this thread in its entirety is rather interesting and pretty depressing. We're all from Limerick but I can't help but feel that anyone expressing their own negative opinion about Limerick just gets ganged up on here.

You know, whether some of you like it or not, Limerick has a bad name and it is not all down to some conspiracy in the media either. It would be great if we could all post here about how wonderful Limerick is but the reality is that there are problems in the city that need to be addressed.

When we can't even tolerate other people's opinions on the city, based on their actual experiences living here, then what hope do we have of ever coming up with some constructive solutions to our problems?

• Registered Users Posts: 208 ✭✭Cityslicker1

There is always loads of skangers hanging outside pennys especially on Saturdays. Also William street seems to be riddled with them especially outside centra. The bus stop there serves UL and somewhere else where a lot of skangers seem to go(not sure where the stop serves). I think if they moved the bus stop somewhere else and maybe left the UL bus stop outside centra it wouldn't be as bad. It's embarrassing when students from outside Limerick have to wait for the bus with total skobes stuffing their faces with Golden Grill chips with Tatoos all over their necks & faces with the accent. Walking down William Street makes me feel like I just steeped onto the set of Shameless.

Reading back over this thread in its entirety is rather interesting and pretty depressing. We're all from Limerick but I can't help but feel that anyone expressing their own negative opinion about Limerick just gets ganged up on here.

You know, whether some of you like it or not, Limerick has a bad name and it is not all down to some conspiracy in the media either. It would be great if we could all post here about how wonderful Limerick is but the reality is that there are problems in the city that need to be addressed.

When we can't even tolerate other people's opinions on the city, based on their actual experiences living here, then what hope do we have of ever coming up with some constructive solutions to our problems?

That's the important part of your post right there MHalberstram. Nobody should feel ganged up on or to intimidated to share their actual experiences of Limerick City in here, there's even another thread on what we can do to improve Limerick City, so we all recognise certainly that Limerick City has enough problems without exaggerating the negative stereotypes like some other posters have done here in this thread.

If you exaggerate the issues, and then try to use that to wedge in your other issues into the discussion, people then find it hard to take you seriously.

If we are to stay on topic, the discussion is about "Is Limerick a safe place to stand out?".

Part of me wants to ask the rhetorical question "Is ANY city "safe" to stand out if you are perceived as different from the majority of it's inhabitants?". I have to say in this regard, Limerick City on an average day or night is perfectly safe to stand out in. If I may use one example-

The other day I was coming home from the city centre with my wife when I was met by a middle aged man wearing a turqouise hot pants and vest. I'd seen him around the city before in a long three quarter length coat so tbh seeing him wearing this rather fetching ensemble DID raise and eyebrow, and if I'm being completely honest- a stifled smile! :D

But what actually surprised ME was when he saw me on the crutches and says "I'll pray for you to get better"! Without even thinking about it I said "Thanks man!", not realising what I'd said till I spotted the reaction on my wife's face! But this guy thought nothing of it and seemed to go on perfectly happy about his day. So I would imagine if I were to ask him next time I meet him "Do you feel Limerick City is a safe place to stand out?", his answer would probably be "Yes, I do!".

That's the important part of your post right there MHalberstram. Nobody should feel ganged up on or to intimidated to share their actual experiences of Limerick City in here, there's even another thread on what we can do to improve Limerick City, so we all recognise certainly that Limerick City has enough problems without exaggerating the negative stereotypes like some other posters have done here in this thread.

If you exaggerate the issues, and then try to use that to wedge in your other issues into the discussion, people then find it hard to take you seriously.

See that is the thing though, one persons reality is another persons exaggeration. There are areas in Limerick that can be massively different within a very short distance of each other. I happen to live in a nice quiet area but have worked in the complete opposite. It is like two different planets. Experiencing the other side of Limerick at its worst was a real eye opener, that no tv show can compare to. You have to experience the violence and intimidation and fear first hand before you can truly understand what it's like. As a result of it, I now tend to notice more of the same, things that I might have otherwise ignored or simply not noticed.

You would be surprised at the naivety of some people walking the streets who have never experienced the above. They'd miss things right in front of their nose.

As for standing out in Limerick, you'd probably get more smart ass remarks than you would in other cities for looking different to others.

See that is the thing though, one persons reality is another persons exaggeration. There are areas in Limerick that can be massively different within a very short distance of each other. I happen to live in a nice quiet area but have worked in the complete opposite. It is like two different planets. Experiencing the other side of Limerick at its worst was a real eye opener, that no tv show can compare to. You have to experience the violence and intimidation and fear first hand before you can truly understand what it's like. As a result of it, I now tend to notice more of the same, things that I might have otherwise ignored or simply not noticed.

Well if I may be allowed qoute another posters recent contributions to this thread-
    Ah, so you've never had to use the other entrance to Arthurs Quay, in order to avoid a group of teen scum, openly smoking dope at the entrance, or the same with Penneys or anywhere on Cruises street either?

I mean, come onnn, I've used both entrances to Arthur's Quay many times and never saw anyone teenager or otherwise "opely smoking dope at the entrance", much less outside Penneys or Cruises street! That assertion was just beyond ridiculous! As for experiencing intimidation and fear at first hand, well I have done, just not down in Limerick.

Take a look at what the poster says about Galway-

I was in Galway today, what a joy to have a wander around a city and a Penneys branch that isn't over run with skanks who think they own the place. No intimidation, nobody bothering anyone else and not a whiff of dope, in fact the only substance being abused on the streets was one sad old wino drinking outside a shop. It wasn't until I got to the bus station and saw the scumbags with tattooed necks making life uncomfortable for other commuters that I could even make a comparison between Galway and Limerick. No surprise that they were getting the Limerick bus.

More ridiculous hyperbole and exaggeration, simply to try and reinforce their point. Whereas all you need to do is take a quick look in the Galway forum to see that the city has now had to hire a private ambulance company to ferry drunkards to the hospital at night, and many more examples in there too if you were to read some of the threads! The same can be said for the Cork and Dublin forums too- "good areas and bad areas, city centre degenerating, etc, etc" ad nauseum.

A friend of mine from Dublin is over in New York at the moment and loving it, single girl in her 20's, now do I need to spell out what New York is like? or Miami?
    You would be surprised at the naivety of some people walking the streets who have never experienced the above. They'd miss things right in front of their nose.

By that same token though, one could be just as dismissive and say that you would be surprised at the paranoia of some people walking the streets who have experienced the above and base their whole mentality around the negative aspects of Limerick City, heightening their fears to ridiculous and unreasonable proportions! I wouldn't consider myself naive by any means, I would consider myself to have quite a balanced perspective of Limerick City.
    As for standing out in Limerick, you'd probably get more smart ass remarks than you would in other cities for looking different to others.

Come on now, that's another ridiculous assertion with no basis in fact whatsoever! You'll get as many smart ass remarks as you would anywhere else. The more you stand out, the more you draw attention to yourself, most people couldn't give a fiddlers, but there will always be someone with an inferiority complex that'll try to be a smart ass.

As I said from the beginning- Limerick has it's issues, but exaggerating them to the degree some posters have done in here is quite literally "beyond the pale".

Well if I may be allowed qoute another posters recent contributions to this thread-

I mean, come onnn, I've used both entrances to Arthur's Quay many times and never saw anyone teenager or otherwise "opely smoking dope at the entrance", much less outside Penneys or Cruises street! That assertion was just beyond ridiculous! As for experiencing intimidation and fear at first hand, well I have done, just not down in Limerick.

Take a look at what the poster says about Galway-

More ridiculous hyperbole and exaggeration, simply to try and reinforce their point. Whereas all you need to do is take a quick look in the Galway forum to see that the city has now had to hire a private ambulance company to ferry drunkards to the hospital at night, and many more examples in there too if you were to read some of the threads! The same can be said for the Cork and Dublin forums too- "good areas and bad areas, city centre degenerating, etc, etc" ad nauseum.

A friend of mine from Dublin is over in New York at the moment and loving it, single girl in her 20's, now do I need to spell out what New York is like? or Miami?

By that same token though, one could be just as dismissive and say that you would be surprised at the paranoia of some people walking the streets who have experienced the above and base their whole mentality around the negative aspects of Limerick City, heightening their fears to ridiculous and unreasonable proportions! I wouldn't consider myself naive by any means, I would consider myself to have quite a balanced perspective of Limerick City.

Come on now, that's another ridiculous assertion with no basis in fact whatsoever! You'll get as many smart ass remarks as you would anywhere else. The more you stand out, the more you draw attention to yourself, most people couldn't give a fiddlers, but there will always be someone with an inferiority complex that'll try to be a smart ass.

As I said from the beginning- Limerick has it's issues, but exaggerating them to the degree some posters have done in here is quite literally "beyond the pale".

You just don't want to accept what other people see in this city. I'd agree with everything Pumpkinseeds has said as I have witnessed it myself, many a time. Your vigorous denial of everything negative in this thread and attempt to dismiss it as exaggeration leads me to suspect that you have an agenda here, either you have a business in the city like a previous serial denier of these things on here or you are connected with I Love Limerick or one of the other crowds whose favourite pastime is to brainwash people into thinking Limerick is "amazeballs"

Oh and my last statement is far from exaggeration, in fact it is backed up by other posters in this thread. Read bullets post if you want.

You just don't want to accept what other people see in this city. I'd agree with everything Pumpkinseeds has said as I have witnessed it myself, many a time.

So you've witnessed both these situations have you?

Really? Because I'd be more than willing to accompany you to Arthurs Quay and Penneys and have you point them out to me! Or even let's take a trip to Galway on me and we'll see can we spot anyone from Limerick? I never wear tracksuits and I have no tatoos?
    Your vigorous denial of everything negative in this thread and attempt to dismiss it as exaggeration leads me to suspect that you have an agenda here, either you have a business in the city like a previous serial denier of these things on here or you are connected with I Love Limerick or one of the other crowds whose favourite pastime is to brainwash people into thinking Limerick is "amazeballs"

I can assure you I have no agenda other than to encourage reasonable debate on the issue. I am self employed and run my business from home, so if that counts as a business in the city, then technically you are correct. As for your assertion that I am in any way connected with Richard Lynch's pet project- I'd nearly report your post for insulting me! :D I can assure you I have no time whatsoever for that which I regard as nothing more than a self promotional vehicle for one man, nor any other individuals or associations that actually DO promote Limerick or as you put it-

"whose favourite pastime is to brainwash people into thinking Limerick is "amazeballs"".
    Oh and my last statement is far from exaggeration, in fact it is backed up by other posters in this thread. Read bullets post if you want.

I read bullets post, and in their own words-
    bullets wrote: »
    Plenty of other Negative experiances with very few Postive ones! (but I'm a the glass is half empty type of guy)

This would suggest to me that bullets is actively looking for the negative aspect in Limerick City.
    Interestingly enough a very weird thing I've noticed about
    Limerick Knackers/scumbags is they seem to be scared sh1tless of openly camp and flamboyent gay people as if being gay was something Contagious they tend to run a mile.

A bit contradictory don't ya think, especially given the OP that started this thread!

You may have people that have never ever ever had a bad thing happen to them and you have others that have had nothing but bad luck.

And this could be applied to anyone in any city in the world!

Oh and by the by- bullets post was made over two years ago! ;)

I've said what I've wanted to say. I think there is no longer much point in continuing posting on issues affecting people in Limerick as I no longer find the conversation here to be tolerant or constructive. I've contacted a mod with suggestions.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,909 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

I've said what I've wanted to say. I think there is no longer much point in continuing posting on issues affecting people in Limerick as I no longer find the conversation here to be tolerant or constructive. I've contacted a mod with suggestions.

We're going to take our time to talk over your message in detail. It's probably going to take a few hours to look back over the last few months of relevant threads properly. Bear with us and we'll try to put a few ideas together for feedback, etc as soon as possible.

Until then, folks, I'm going to close this thread. It's 2 years since the OP was posted, and the point about standing out seems to have been forgotten entirely.