Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The door-to-door / commission-only jobs thread (super dooper mega merge)

• Registered Users Posts: 44 louiseamd

I was recently speaking to a person who employs sales people on commission only. He puts commission only in his adverts, yet he still gets plenty of CVs. So either people aren't reading his adverts properly :) or many people really are ok with commission only as long as they know the score upfront and don't feel they're being tricked.

Yeah but here's the thing, there are people out there desperate for work and they'll take anything going. But the reality is that these places do in fact have a high turnover of staff and the amount of brainwashing that goes on is like a freakin' cult!!! It is a disgrace. The whole concept is glorified begging and you have to be really demanding to get your sale. The folks are trained to basically guilt-trip the person into buying make-up or signing up to airtricity or sky. They'll tell you initally that you will be managing your own office in 6 months. The reality is that you have to "high roll" 3 days in a row to get promoted. It is difficult to sell to people when the entire nation is forced to tighten its belt. AND THAT IS THE REALITY. In a nutshell: They make it out to be the greatest job in the world, but if something seems to good to be true, it more than likely is!!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 499 ✭✭sendit

louiseamd wrote: »
    Yeah but here's the thing, there are people out there desperate for work and they'll take anything going. But the reality is that these places do in fact have a high turnover of staff and the amount of brainwashing that goes on is like a freakin' cult!!! It is a disgrace. The whole concept is glorified begging and you have to be really demanding to get your sale. The folks are trained to basically guilt-trip the person into buying make-up or signing up to airtricity or sky. They'll tell you initally that you will be managing your own office in 6 months. The reality is that you have to "high roll" 3 days in a row to get promoted. It is difficult to sell to people when the entire nation is forced to tighten its belt. AND THAT IS THE REALITY. In a nutshell: They make it out to be the greatest job in the world, but if something seems to good to be true, it more than likely is!!!

Thats what really p***** me off about places and people whi run companys like it. They get someone ealse to do all the work wile they sit back and do f*** all. Companys like this i think for a start should be paying expences for travel and could have a certen amount of the cold calling done before hand

• Registered Users Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭tatli_lokma

Applying for a job, then being called for an interview in the "marketing company" and then going out on an "observation day" to shadow one of the guys sell sh*t in a bag to naive people door-to-door is a scam. They leave out vital pieces of information to the folks who wish to work in these companies.

also, how can you 'interview' someone for a self-employed job???? I don't get that. Very misleading

• Registered Users Posts: 207 ✭✭vikingdub

Delancey wrote: »
    Some people who did these jobs and left after a few days have reported they were not paid for the sales they did make - apparently this was to cover '' training costs '' - the list of sins is seemingly endless.

They should lodge a complaint with the Rights Commissioners under the Payment of Wages Act, see http://www.lrc.ie/viewdoc.asp?m=&fn=/documents/work/NewForms/PaymentWages.pdf for forms.

All deductions, other those required by statute, PRSI, PAYE, USC, should be set out in the contract of employment. If you have not received a contact of employment, make a 2nd complaint to the Rights Commissioiners under the Terms of Employment Information Act http://www.lrc.ie/viewdoc.asp?m=&fn=/documents/work/NewForms/TermsEmploymentInformation.pdf

You could also contact NERA, the employment rights body.

I strongly recommend that anyone who finds themselves being exploited in this manner lodge a formal complaint, too many people let it go which means that these rogue employers are pocketing a fortune that they have stolen from their employees.

sendit wrote: »
    The job i was talking about has now gone back to commission only on the FAS website. I taught commission only jobs couldn't be posted on the FAS website though?

Also this job you need your own transport with no expence paid and its all cold calling. What ever about it being commission only you'd think theres companys should eather have to pay travel expeneces or set up meetings with people who have already shown an interest in the product
    When you say commission only, do you mean that you are in fact self employed?

What does the contract of employment state with regard to remuneration?

Do you invoice for payment?

Can you give the link to the job on the FAS website?

• Registered Users Posts: 34 lizzyxox08

Theres one from Dublin City Centre.

http://jobs.ie/ApplyForJob.aspx?Id=1115141

Like on that job advertisement above it says the payment is between €350 and €600 a week.

Like surely they cant get away with saying things like that can they, they are giving people the impression that you are guaranteed to be earning at least 350 plus a week, which is not true. there is no set wage, basic wage, nothing like that! Its entirely commission based. In all the months i was there I dont think I ever earned even close to €350 and even if i did, how could they predict how much commission I ( or anyone else) was going to earn before i/they had earned it and put it on their job adverts on the internet??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭Delancey

Those ads are a hoot ! I love the way they give the impression that only a lucky few get to interview stage and even fewer get the ' job ' - fact is anyone can get a job with these outfits , they're just looking for cannon fodder.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Mr andersondub

I used to work in a door to door sales company on north brunswick street or church street in dublin, back in 1996/7. I think I stayed there for about a month. Hard, hard work. Never earned very much.
    Anyone else work for that company?
    Anyone remember the name of that company?

Delancey wrote: »
    Those ads are a hoot ! I love the way they give the impression that only a lucky few get to interview stage and even fewer get the ' job ' - fact is anyone can get a job with these outfits , they're just looking for cannon fodder.

Something i think is very funny with the last link i posted up is it says ''Fantastic opportunity for selling green electricity to domestic houses'' If its such a fantastic opportunity how come they dont tell you want company it is?

This is the strangest of them all though

http://www.jobs.ie/ApplyForJob.aspx?Id=1098258

• Registered Users Posts: 118 ✭✭Clearpreso

If you wanted to do a job like this could in theory just apply to the company directly?

For example, I get lads trying to sell, say, Airtricity at my door all the time. They obviously only get a cut of the commission, another cut goes to the "boss". If you were a really good sales person could you not just contact the Airtricity sales department and ask to be a freelance door to door sales person?

Let's say that Airtricity pay Cobra, or whoever €200 per sign up, and usually the door to door guy gets half, and half goes to the boss. What if you, as the door to door guy said you'd do it directly for them, but for a reduced rate of €150 or 175.

Would cutting out the annoying middle man be an option? Not as if the management of these companies contribute much to the process?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,743 ✭✭✭✭degrassinoel

I recently posted here about looking for work-from-home jobs, among the replies i got i recieved a pm from someone offering this exact job which i've found today on the Fas website.

https://jobbank.fas.ie/servlet/Watis?SESS=-1707353503_7&SERVICE=CRITERIUMBROWSE&TEMPLATE=WWW_JS_VAC_CRITERIUM_BROWSE.HTM&ROW=9&BACK=TEMPLATE%3DWWW_JS_VAC_CRITERIUM_OVERVIEW.HTM

Is it just me, or is this a scam? I mean the website itself, you can discern what the site is from the contact email address - seems to be severely out of date and cheaply made.

sendit wrote: »

That link does not work but I think you may be referring to this
    Ref. JOB-608005 based in Kildare

It is commission only and on further enquiry, I establised that it is not a job, it is a self employment opportunity. Door to door selling, no employment relationship, you would be a self employed sub contractor and will need to take care of your own tax and PRSI, you will only be able to pay self employed PRSI which does not entitle you to Job Seekers benefit. As there is no employment relationship you cannot claim the protection of any of the employment legislation.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭freeze4real

Clearpreso wrote: »
    If you wanted to do a job like this could in theory just apply to the company directly?

For example, I get lads trying to sell, say, Airtricity at my door all the time. They obviously only get a cut of the commission, another cut goes to the "boss". If you were a really good sales person could you not just contact the Airtricity sales department and ask to be a freelance door to door sales person?

Let's say that Airtricity pay Cobra, or whoever €200 per sign up, and usually the door to door guy gets half, and half goes to the boss. What if you, as the door to door guy said you'd do it directly for them, but for a reduced rate of €150 or 175.

Would cutting out the annoying middle man be an option? Not as if the management of these companies contribute much to the process?

I've actually thought of that but who in airtricity would you contact.

it doesn't change the fact that its still door to door selling.

• Registered Users Posts: 250 ✭✭Radiotower

I replied to an ad on fas for a sales job, didn't say it was commisson based only but I got a phone call and met the boss man for the area. You are basically self employed looking after all your own PRSI and tax. I said I'd give it a go eventhough I never had any sales experience except for selling the local football club blotto tickets!!

Got half a day training and was let at it. Liked the idea of been self-employed or as he said "you're your own boss" but after day 1 it was a barrage of text messages looking for where you were, how many calls you had made, how many sales, how many call backs, etc, etc.... I only done it for a week or two - not my idea of been self employed. Worst Job Ever!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 silvershark

I'm sure its just easier for the company to deal with one man and let him sort out all his door to door guys instead of them having to deal with loads of their own salespersons.

Hm

Being self employed or self employment is working for one's self.

so if you one is interviewing you for a job or if you are applying for a job its means you are not self employed.

A plumber/carpenter who starts of his own business is self employed.
    He never interviewed himself for the job.

what I'm trying to say is if you are going for an interview for a job post especially like this you are not self employed.

Although there are some characteristics of jobs like that of self employed e.g you are the boss of yourself for majority of the day( 6 out of 8hrs ) But you must get the sales.

please correct me if I'm wrong.

I actually taught about that myself. From what iv heard Airtricity let anyone nd anyone sell for them

• Registered Users Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭tatli_lokma

Hm

Being self employed or self employment is working for one's self.

so if you one is interviewing you for a job or if you are applying for a job its means you are not self employed.

A plumber/carpenter who starts of his own business is self employed.
    He never interviewed himself for the job.

what I'm trying to say is if you are going for an interview for a job post especially like this you are not self employed.

Although there are some characteristics of jobs like that of self employed e.g you are the boss of yourself for majority of the day( 6 out of 8hrs ) But you must get the sales.

please correct me if I'm wrong.

this is the point I was making earlier - how can you 'interview' to be self employed?
    but in fact yes, you most definitely are self employed - you must register as Self employed with the tax office, and pay your own PRSI and submit your own tax returns. This is where the 'scam' lies. By saying you are 'interviewing' someone you imply you are employing them, but you are not. Basically you are working as a sub-contractor to the agency.
    They get the contract from airtricity or whomever to sell their product. they then farm this selling work out to sub-contractors. Were they to make this clear from the outset, that wouldn't be so bad. And if they were to say to people here's the deal, off you go, sell, submit your own tax returns etc and bill us for your sales, well whilst still not a job I would like, it would suit some people.

the problem is that although you are self employed, you are herrangued, tormented and badgered all day. Whatever you sell isn't enough. when you look for your payment for the sales you did make, there is always some reason why 'expenses' or 'training' need to be deducted. When you take into account the fact that they want you phoning and texting them every five minutes, your phone bill alone negates a lot of the money you make. But of course, they don't provide any compensation for this, as you are 'self employed'.

Basically, they want you to work for them, do what they want, make money for them, but they don't want to offer you any legal protection of being employed and where possible they don't want to pay you at all. Hence being 'self employed' yet answerable to someone else.
    It is a total scam, very misleading and underhand IMO

Fair enough, this works for you but what about the extremely high turnover of staff in these marketing companies?? I am speaking from my own experience. When I was working there, it was like an emotionally abusive relationship as they were telling me not to talk to my parents and who to socialise with. My trainer was a young Hitler, she was a complete and utter fake, telling me to keep up the good work while telling everyone else that I was extremely difficult to train and only gave me a days notice when I was due to go away for a week with the company. While I was away, she told me that I was not to speak to my parents( this was after work) as my parents had informed me about all of the nasty things that were written about the company. I was really upset to learn that I was working for a complete scam where the people at the top take money off the guys at the bottom from each sale and that this was what they were training me to do. I grew more concerned and my trainer told me that it wasn't for me, I was not allowed to be in a bad mood even if I was. I ended up broke from the trip as I had to pay for all of my food and my travel expenses, we dodn't even know where we were staying until last minute for crying out loud!!! Genuine jobs websites ahould not advertise these positions as they are not jobs, in a job you get paid to work, you also work to live not live to work. Working a 60-70 hour week for the money you get is slave labour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 archyrich

Fair enough, this works for you but what about the extremely high turnover of staff in these marketing companies?? I am speaking from my own experience. When I was working there, it was like an emotionally abusive relationship as they were telling me not to talk to my parents and who to socialise with. My trainer was a young Hitler, she was a complete and utter fake, telling me to keep up the good work while telling everyone else that I was extremely difficult to train and only gave me a days notice when I was due to go away for a week with the company. While I was away, she told me that I was not to speak to my parents( this was after work) as my parents had informed me about all of the nasty things that were written about the company. I was really upset to learn that I was working for a complete scam where the people at the top take money off the guys at the bottom from each sale and that this was what they were training me to do. I grew more concerned and my trainer told me that it wasn't for me, I was not allowed to be in a bad mood even if I was. I ended up broke from the trip as I had to pay for all of my food and my travel expenses, we dodn't even know where we were staying until last minute for crying out loud!!! Genuine jobs websites ahould not advertise these positions as they are not jobs, in a job you get paid to work, you also work to live not live to work. Working a 60-70 hour week for the money you get is slave labour.

If youre not making the money you want to, then dont stick with it. I do so Im happy enough.. the least ive ever made is just under €300 and I was pretty upset with that. To be honest your leader sounds like a bit of a psycho... i would have had trouble sticking around if mine was like that.

The reason why there is such a high turn over is because its just not for everyone.. some people really enjoy the buzz of the sale and the office in the morning, just chatting to people. some dont. some people arent willing to work hard. where else could a non qualified 20 something year old have the oppurtunity to earn over 600 a week? i say 600 instead of a grand because its a realistic number.

How long did you stick it if you dont mind me asking?

vikingdub wrote: »
    They should lodge a complaint with the Rights Commissioners under the Payment of Wages Act, see http://www.lrc.ie/viewdoc.asp?m=&fn=/documents/work/NewForms/PaymentWages.pdf for forms.

All deductions, other those required by statute, PRSI, PAYE, USC, should be set out in the contract of employment. If you have not received a contact of employment, make a 2nd complaint to the Rights Commissioiners under the Terms of Employment Information Act http://www.lrc.ie/viewdoc.asp?m=&fn=/documents/work/NewForms/TermsEmploymentInformation.pdf

You could also contact NERA, the employment rights body.

I strongly recommend that anyone who finds themselves being exploited in this manner lodge a formal complaint, too many people let it go which means that these rogue employers are pocketing a fortune that they have stolen from their employees.

Iwould suggest going on to the Department of Social Protection website and there is a list of terms of wihat an actual self-employed worker does in his/her job, regarding working hours, tax, payment etc. Contrast that to the terms of a "self-employed" worker in any of these marketing companies.

archyrich wrote: »
    If youre not making the money you want to, then dont stick with it. I do so Im happy enough.. the least ive ever made is just under €300 and I was pretty upset with that. To be honest your leader sounds like a bit of a psycho... i would have had trouble sticking around if mine was like that.

The reason why there is such a high turn over is because its just not for everyone.. some people really enjoy the buzz of the sale and the office in the morning, just chatting to people. some dont. some people arent willing to work hard. where else could a non qualified 20 something year old have the oppurtunity to earn over 600 a week? i say 600 instead of a grand because its a realistic number.

How long did you stick it if you dont mind me asking?

+1.
    Not everyone can do this job.

were i worked majority of the guys had no degree but they got moneyt at least 250 a week plus commission.

there's a chap i know who was on the dole, had no degree or what so ever but he could talk. AFAIK he's the top seller there.

why do we form our own marketing company run by boards members.

I'd love to see if anybody with take this up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭allibastor

Iwould suggest going on to the Department of Social Protection website and there is a list of terms of wihat an actual self-employed worker does in his/her job, regarding working hours, tax, payment etc. Contrast that to the terms of a "self-employed" worker in any of these marketing companies.

guys, is this not getting to be a moot point at this stage. the various scams these companies do have been well documented here in various posts. prime time has done various investiagtions into them. everyone in the country and thier mother has been called on by these people.

these companies should be looked at from a governement level as it is true what was said above about being self employed and how the interview process, tax returns and expense system works. any self employed person i have ever known has also the option to negotiate thier rate before work starts and to do the work on thier own terms, so long as it is completed acording to the contract of employment. the fact these companies do not even offer contracts should set alarm bells off to everyone, how can a company hire and fire a self employed person with no paper work involved or no paying of employer prsi, or even logging how manhy employees work in the company.

these companies should be reported en masse to the various government bodies and shut down.

thanks,

• Registered Users Posts: 3 bell1980

"If anyone can share specific, factual (not emotive) information about the company, or even about other companies operating from the same address, feel free. But stick very firmly to FACTS.

And please remember that just because a certain type of job is unpopular, that doesn't make the company "dodgy". There are people who make a living doing commission sales - and some of them even like what they do.

/moderation."

I have worked there myself, it is sales in shopping centres, events and petrol stations, not door to door. They specialise in events sales. All these post, I am assuming are from people who actually never worked there. I have made good money and learned loads. Sales it's not for everyone, but in todays economic situation it's a good experience and I am glad I didn't allow your posts to influence me and not even go for an interview. Complaining and judging it's always an easier option. I gave it a go and I don't regret it, even I'm back in college now. Love. Bell.Cheers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭omahaid

Looks like there is some movement across the water in relation to these types of operations

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-14254978
    bbc wrote:
    Customer watchdog Consumer Focus Scotland has called for an end to doorstep sales by energy companies, amid concerns people are being misled.

The organisation has published a survey indicating nine-out-of-10 people who bought energy products in this way would never do so again.

The call came after Scottish and Southern Energy halted all of its doorstep sales activity in the UK.

Consumer Focus Scotland has called on other energy companies to do the same.

Scottish and Southern has said commission-based doorstep selling was "no longer an effective way" to gain customers.

In May, the energy giant was found guilty at Guildford Crown Court of tricking people into switching from their existing energy firms, between September 2008 and July 2009.

The court found its sales agents had used misleading sales scripts when talking to people on their doorsteps.

A total of 1,878 adults across the UK were questioned by TNS Omnibus for the Consumer Focus survey.

Four per cent of those surveyed said they had a positive view of doorstep selling by energy companies, while 92% said they would never again buy energy-related products on the door.

'Pandora's box'
    Consumer Focus Scotland deputy director Trisha McAuley said: "The end of the road has been reached on cold-call energy doorstep sales in Scotland.

"This industry has an appalling track record of mis-selling at people's homes and has had over a decade to change.

"Assurances from energy firms that they will get better simply aren't good enough - unless the problems with doorstep selling are tackled, and firm protections put in place, customers in Scotland will continue to lose out."

Ms McAuley also warned a "Pandora's box of mis-selling" could also be opened with the roll-out of smart meters in homes.

Consumer Focus said all of the UK's "big six" energy companies must voluntarily end doorstep sales immediately for a three-month period to look at alternatives, or energy regulator Ofgem should force them to do so.

Im just going to point out somethings i the ads for some of theses jobs

This one is taken from the FAS jobs site

JM Energy Savings represent a major green electricity supplier in the rural areas of Cork and Kerry. We currently have a fantastic opportunity for selling green electricity to domestic houses in the rural Tralee area. Key responsibilities are to achieve targets, explain products, cover specific area in your sales territory and cold calling to get new customers. Skill qualifications needed are: self-motivated and target driven, full drivers licence and have your own transport. Sales experience is an advantage but we are willing to train motivated applicants. Successful candidates will be responsible for making their own Tax returns to the Revenue Commissioners.

Salary: €Commission based
    Number of Positions

Contract Type
    Permanent

Days, Hours & Start Date
    Days per week: 5
    Hours per day: 8
    Hours per week: 40

Start Date: Immediate

Experience Required:
    No Experience Required
    Transport:
    Transport is required for this position

The things in bold.

First why is the company not named? In the CPM jobs they say if its Eircom etc. If its such a ''fantastic opportunity'' surly the should have no problem with naming the company.

It says you'll be selling in rural areas and need your own transport that you would think would cost alot in terms of petrol etc witch isn't really made clear.

It says you have to do your own Tax etc witch would make you self-employed yet is has a number of days you work plus hours to work, surely it would not be the case if your self-employed? Also having to do your own Tax etc is another cost you pay yourself.

So really what they want is for you to do all the work pick up all the costs wile they pay you a tiny part of the over all sale. All in all not sure a fantasic opportunity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 123 ✭✭longpuck

Another company a friend of my applied for a job with called i think Abbey Sports Wair might be wrong there. Anyway it was a commision only sales job and the work the rep was expected to do was crazy.

Like most of them had to pay your own expences, tax etc. There was ment to be one rep in each county in Munster and they were to cold call to every single school before they started back, now theres no way one person could do that. Also cold call every sports club they could get to. He was told with in 6 months he would be making a grand a week off of it but even that wouldn't be enough for the amount of work you would have to put in. Facter in that you'd be competeing with O'Neills etc you would have no hope.

The people who start companys like this well i dont know what words to used to describe them really, they expect the people to do every single thing wile they sit back and make a huge amount of money off even only 3/4 sales.

The thing alot of them say about the travel aswell is you can clame it back at the end of the year witch isn't much good when you've spent most of your wages over the year on petrol