Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The door-to-door / commission-only jobs thread (super dooper mega merge)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 Kaffir Boetie

Thanks Delancey. Yeah they dont seem to be in with the cobra crowd. But like you say its along the same lines. The interview is next week so ill wait and see what happens. Love to hear back from AppleTart or whatever that posters name was, if he went for the interview.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Leedsunitedfan

hi i was working for them. It absolute broke my spirit so i had to leave and return to poland. It is not a 'scam', as you do actually get paid. But it is commission only so if u dont get a sale you dont get paid.

Also you start at 12pm and you knock on the doors until 9pm, 6 days a week. So you cannot have social life while you working there.

The boss receives €150 from airtricty for each sale, he pays you 10% of this which is €15 and he keeps €135 for himself. There is a team up to 50 people out selling each day, so the boss is drive a bmw and very very rich from this he makes thousands Euro every day but the sales reps make €100 or €200 most in the week, a person on the outside looking in might call it "Exploitation". but the guys work there dont see this as they are told keep working and keep recruting more people so you can become a team leader and become an office manager then become a person that has your own office but of course this does not happen. The boss just keeps getting new staff make as much money off them as he can, then they leave and he get more people, again and again, etc etc...

I will not say dont go for interview, or dont take this job. you must decide for youself. But any question you like, ask me.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 350 ✭✭CRM Ireland

Hahahah I love it when someone posts up about a company when its their only post. Being the paranoid type, I assume its a competitor.

Regarding Billsave, I can tell you a lot about them. One of the directors is a personal friend of mine. By the way, the BMW the previous poster is referring to is a 2002 3 series.....hardly an expensive car!

Also, the 150EUR quote that Airtricity pay them per sale is a complete fabrication. They wish that Airtricity would pay a sum anywhere in the 3 figures! Id love to know where you got this figure from? Hearsay? The payment structure from Airtricity to the agency would certainly never have been discussed to ANY sales reps under any circumstances.

Its true that you get paid on commission only. You are deemed as being self-employed and you will not have tax or national insurance looked after, you must do that by yourself. Like any similar job, the amount of money you can make is dependant on how good you are at converting people over to Airtricity. If you are not able to convince someone to save money on a product they already have, in a gloomy economy, then door to door sales certainly isnt for you. It can be a gruelling and tough experience, but it can also be a very rewarding experience. If you stick the course, you will certainly develop some skills which you can put to good use in the future.

With Billsave you will always be paid. It certainly is nothing like the COBRA structure. In fact, many reps at Billsave came from those kind of companies after the brainwashing they received there wore off.

Go to the interview and see what you think. Look at what other people are making there and try it for a few days. If its not for you, then just stop and dont waste any more of your time. There isnt any point dragging your heels from door to door with your sad face on, youve no chance of selling anything!

Good luck whatever you decide to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Leedsunitedfan

If you read the first paragraph on my post you will see I say "It is not a scam". I am not competor or against this company I am just giving and tell my experience from it.

Everyone says the bosses are paying €150 for each sale from airtricity, its not me stating this as a fact I am repeating what all sales guys i worked with said.

And also if you read my whole post to the end, you would have see that I say "im not saying dont go the interview or not take the job, its up to yourself"

PS: If you are personal friend with the Boss, how can your opinions about the company be listened to by people hear who want to know? English is not my first language but i can tell you to go the dictionary and search for the word "Biased"

And if you friend is the one with the bmw he is actually a really genuine nice guy, and good to work for. The others boss is like what my English girlfriend would call "a smarmy git"

Everyone saying it doesnt mean its true. Had you stayed longer then you probably would be telling new people that the bosses get 150 per sale and they would take that as fact. Thats just typical of the sales environment.

Just because Im a friend of the director doesnt mean that people shouldnt listen to me or consider my advice. It makes no personal difference to me if anyone works for Billsave or not. Had I not disclosed that I knew the director, then it could be considered that I was trying to hide something.

You've already stated that working there "broke your spirit". This tells me that youre not cut out for direct sales. You should never have hung on as long as you did, no job is worth having if it breaks your spirit. I dont know your personal circumstances, so perhaps you hung in there for as long as you could because you didnt want to quit. Although your resolve is to be commended, the harsh reality is that you had already lost and the chances of you getting any sales was decreasing with each passing hour and each negative response from the doors.

If you asked any guys who made over 100 euros that day how they felt, then theirs would be a very different story. That is the nature of sales. Its a harsh world out there in the direct sales industry and it takes a certain person with a specific skillset, and a very thick skin to survive. For your average person its an awful job, often seemingly impossible. For the natural salesman, its easy. Ive had literally hundreds of people out in the field training with me personally. Even people who have done sales for years and who thought they knew it all and that I, as a much younger person, wouldnt be able to show them anything new. Eventually, as they struggled and their wages suffered, they would see that i was consistantly achieving great results. They would eventually concede and ask me if I they could observe me on a few doors to see what I was saying. I was aware that a lot of people were suspicious of my results and thought I must be telling lies, or exaggerating savings. When they went out, afterwards they would become really good friends and they were shocked to learn that I was saying pretty much exactly the same as what they were saying, the stuff you get taught in the training. The difference was in the manner in which I was delivering it, with charm and charisma. When I watched them, they said the same words, but they rarely made eye contact with the customer, they were stuttering nervously and came across as rather desperate. To be honest, scripts can be taught, body language can be taught, but its very difficult to be able to teach someone to give it 100% and to be able to make an instantly natural connection with a complete stranger. Was there ever, at any stage, while you were knocking on the doors that you truly believed these people were going to sign up with you? Or did you just hope that you would get lucky and have a chance to at least pitch them?

I believe that the one thing that all the top sales guys have in common, is that belief that they will absolutely close that sale. If you dont believe in what you are doing, how can you expect a total stranger to believe in you?

I went off on a little rant there, sorry about that. It is true however.

By the way, your English is pretty impressive, so dont give up on living in Ireland or the UK if you dont really want to live in Poland, there will be a job out there for you if you keep looking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 Kaffir Boetie

Well, after reading the latest posts on this thread & also doing my own bit of research, I am defo going to give this company a miss. I've applied for a job in my local starbucks, its only minimum wage but at least ill have guaranteed wage every week.

You will also have delicious free coffee everyday. Every cloud has a silver lining! Next time Im passing, I will come in and look for a freebie :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭closeline

Have an interview with ACT in a few days time. Is it a waste of time going for it.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Thinking of applying for one of these 'jobs' and basically extracting the urine in the interview for pure faeces and giggles and to see if they will invite me to the 2nd 'interview'.

Imagine the scene in Trainspotting where the 2 boys are forced into doing interviews to keep their dole up, I'm thinking of putting in a performance similar to that.

I'll have plenty of time to kill in August and there's one of them just down the road from me.

Basically an experiment into just how desperate they are to 'hire'.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,631 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

pithater1 wrote: »
    Thinking of applying for one of these 'jobs' and basically extracting the urine in the interview for pure faeces and giggles and to see if they will invite me to the 2nd 'interview'.

Imagine the scene in Trainspotting where the 2 boys are forced into doing interviews to keep their dole up, I'm thinking of putting in a performance similar to that.

I'll have plenty of time to kill in August and there's one of them just down the road from me.

"My pleasure... In other peoples leisure" :D:D:D

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

pithater1 wrote: »

Jokes on you if you get brainwashed and end up 'working' for them. :pac:

A girl I know works for one of these (friend of a friend). When she started I remember being told how great she was at her job and how well she was doing. Works in admin for them now, got promoted quickly (probably because she stayed for more than 5 days) and actually gets sent away on holidays etc got a free trip to Australia earlier in the year. Never really spoke to her about it, I wouldn't be able to hold back if I started talking about the brainwashing etc

• Registered Users Posts: 38 innominat

I like a fool went to an interview today.
    I googled the address they gave me and found TMS Consultancy. A real company.
    The interview was with TMC consultancy a marketing group. I never noticed the difference as I think I misheard the name on the phone.
    Similar names and at the same address I feel they are being dishonest. When you google you find a legit company. Alarm bells rang when the girl in reception would not tell what the job was about, just like I read in this thread.
    I was going to walk out but I waited and had the "interview" which was just a 3 minute talk with a manager who was 20 minutes late. They want me back for next interview which is door to door like the thread said.
    Wasted a day but could be worse.

• Registered Users Posts: 526 ✭✭✭OnTheCouch

Would like to share a few experiences I had with these door-to-door companies. I would like to state I have no connection to any other company (I am currently unemployed) and this review is purely subjective. Consequently I expect some people will not agree with what I have to say. However, the experience left such an impact on me in such a short space of time that the temptation to write about my period with them was just too great to resist.

The bottom line for me personally would be to avoid these outfits like the plague. Good points have actually been made in a couple of previous posts which would go against the general tone of this review, but the reality is that in my opinion, unless you are a wonderfully naturally-gifted salesman, have a sensational work ethic, or simply have no qualifications (none of which fitted my description), this sort of job simply will not work out for you in the long term.

I worked for this particular company for around six weeks a few years ago. With hindsight I am surprised I stayed even that long. As many people have alluded to, door-to-door is not mentioned in the job description. After having recently acquired a Master of Arts, I was finding it fairly hard to get a job and as a result was prepared to do anything, even though door-to-door would really have been at the back of the queue were I a deity handing out sought-after jobs! I was also actually fairly determined to do well, being young and keen, even though the position went against all my basic instincts. Naturally enough in the first two weeks I was hopeless, and the only sales I made were with the help of my instructor. I was reassured many times however than this was a natural process and even the guys at the very top had gone through this.

To give the company their dues (I don't want this review to be completely one-sided), the vast majority of people there were very friendly and quite willing to go talk through selling problems with you. This may have been a way of lulling you into a false sense of security of course, in case one might have got disenchanted. There was this very cheesy-American style two hour session from 11 am onwards where those who had done well in previous outings all received raucous high-fives from everyone present. Inspirational stories of how entry-level guys became owners of their own companies and even millionaires within a few years were commonplace. The seemingly never-ending days were drawn out yet further later on by rituals of dancing round a room and witnessing the highest achiever on that day 'ringing the bell.' Those among you who may happen to see the similarities with brainwashing tactics utilised by religious cults would not be far wrong. We were even invited to conferences where further images of tangible success were demonstrated in front of our disbelieving eyes in the form of speeches by and interviews with former neophytes who 'at one stage were in exactly the same place as you were.'

The obvious hitch in this whole process was however that I simply wasn't improving, even after the two-three week 'feeling your way' stage had elapsed. And at the risk of stating the obvious, when you are only being paid on commission and making perhaps one sale a day at best, the financial realities soon start to hit home. Worst still, the job starts taking over your life. First of all, there was considerable peer pressure to work on Saturday from all concerned with the company, for fear of not being promoted, or being seen as a slacker. Secondly it seemed that even on Sunday there was some football tournament or something that was being organised by your colleagues that you should participate in, if nothing else but to keep up good camaraderie between workers. Last but not least it came to the stage that you started over-analysing every bad day you had. This had the end result of you thinking that the sole reason you didn't make any sales that day was the extra half an hour you stayed up or the final pint you squeezed in the night before (although in the latter case...). There was also a lot of socialising with people from work, which can obviously be a good thing, but when you see these people from 11 am to 10 pm, you start to feel like the homo sapiens version of a homing pigeon.

After the fifth week I really was at the end of my tether. It was slowly starting to dawn on me that the company would not be my Stairway to Millionaire Heaven and that my gut feeling that spending many long hours walking around fairly sketchy areas, being hassled by brazen neighbourhood youths, having no protection from the elements (umbrellas were seen as being intimidating to potential clients) was not the best way to get ahead in life may well have been right. Plus I was having to pay for the privilege, as transport costs were bizarrely enough not included! I realised that I was actually losing money, despite not returning home until 11 pm most nights. But most of all, I was trying to do something which I deep down abhorred, that being trying to sell items to people in their own homes, in many cases using tactics that bordered on the intimidating (verbal if not physical) and general bully-boy behaviour. The sense of relief when walking home after finally telling them enough was enough was overwhelmingly invigorating. Nonetheless I do feel I have to add that I jumped before I was pushed, I had received one or two warnings by that stage that my sales figures were woefully short of expectations and if I'm being realistic I would have lasted a day or two more before a parting of the ways would have become inevitable.

A few probable life-long consequences have resulted from this stint. But let us begin with the positive. Sitting in front of my television on a cold night at 6 pm the day after resigning was unexpectedly joyous, as I knew that my former colleagues would only be warming up at that stage for the final few key hours of the day. I have also become a lot less gullible after the experience and would never be as naive in the future. Unfortunately I also believe I have become more cynical and less inclined to be trusting of people unless I see concrete reasons or examples for doing so. Since this time I have also developed a serious mistrust of anyone involved in the sales business, which I am aware myself is irrational but I cannot seem to shake this implanted seed in my subconscious. Worse still, I also tend to be extremely curt at best with anyone who should dare darken my door in the vain hope of selling something. Ironically enough, most people I encountered in my time knocking on doors were actually fairly friendly. It is this last part which fills me most with regret. For this alone I would give these companies a very wide berth, as the whole thing is just a scam, unless you are one of those three aforementioned categories of individuals.

• Registered Users Posts: 15 Daninho

Hi all from a new user.

Having worked for one of the Cobra Group (now Appco) offices a couple of years back I decided earlier to check up on how some of my old comrades were getting on and I stumbled across this thread. I have read all posts on this one (yea, took a while!) and so I thought I'd throw in my tuppence worth for the benefit of the many unfortunate jobless who are considering taking the leap into 'direct marketing' and are looking to this forum for some advice.

The first point I feel I have to make is to say that I can not conscientiously agree with the classification of these outfits as 'a scam'. To use the term 'scam' implies that somebody is trying to deceive you into investing into an empty scheme with the sole intention of taking your money for their own benefit, which isn't actually the case here. With that said, I wholeheartedly agree with all those who bemoan the lack of clarity regarding working hours and conditions, the expenses that you will incur while chasing the dream and the cult mentality involved in these companies where everybody is led to believe they will be making a small fortune in a matter of months. At my interview I was not told what I would be actually doing, just a lot of wiff-waff about sales/marketing and the amazing opportunity for progression. The most serious lack of disclosure in the early stage though is that you are not made aware that you will be regarded as self-employed, which can cause a lot of hassle for the unwitting victim, but hey, that's not Cobra/Appco's problem is it? This really is dishonesty and deceit of a nasty sort.

I spent almost a year doing it and so I really know what it's about, I don't just speak from hearsay in other words. Door-to-door sales is not easy by any means and most will find it very difficult. It does come naturally to some and they will make a lot of money at it on a regular basis (until they start training people) as I have witnessed myself but I was not one of those. I wasn't bad at it but to be perfectly honest I lacked the ruthlessness (or had too much of a conscience) to prioritise my own short term benefit above the genuine interests of the people I was being told to get to sign up at just about any cost. We weren't told to get signatures by dishonest means but we were given the tools with which to manipulate people so they thought they actually needed what I was selling, which wasn't cheap, even when I knew they probably didn't really.

It was great the first week, I made €900 and thought I was on to a winner. Unfortunately I never hit that target again in the 11 months I was there, indeed there were many weeks when I didn't make a penny along with most people in the office at the time. But of course that wasn't anything to do with the fact that we were going to the same doors every month trying to sell a €1300 product to the same people who were almost driven to tears having told us already (once, twice, three, four times) that they didn't want it or couldn't afford it - it was because we were being negative!!! That theory fell on it's face when the organisation sent some big guns to show us how it was done yet they went home with very similar results. Having made 'leader' fairly early I soon discovered where my initial luck had come from when I found myself being told to set up sales for newbies to show them how lucky they had just gotten by landing this dream job. What really got me in the end though was when I got sick to my stomach of having to advise people who already had jobs that this was a better one, when all the while I was making nothing and I know for a fact that my 'Owner' and even their boss above them were making naff all too (as was borne out in the clapped out cars they and all other owners were driving). To be honest, I feel sorry for those who are still at it since I left as I have discovered they are no further forward but still won't admit to themselves that this is a pipe dream that only serves those at the very, very top. They are basically nice guys but it's the nice guys who suffer.

I could continue but I'm trying not to go on too much, believe it or not! It should be said however that there are a few separate and seemingly respectable organisations mentioned among these posts which have nothing at all to do with Cobra/Appco. I don't know anything about them but I have concluded from reading earlier posts that not every 'direct marketing' company out there comes under this umbrella so it is for anybody considering a position in a company to find out for themselves the situation regarding that outfit.

I know that there are a lot more of the Cobra/Appco companies operating now than there were at my time and under different guises but the names of the companies associated to the one I describe are not hard to find and their practices will be pretty much identical.

In conclusion I would say that I have no motive whatsoever for posting comment here other than to share my experience with those desperately looking for a job and wondering if a commission only post is worth trying. If you don't mind doing 10-14 hours a day, 6 days a week (I often did) and don't mind stomping around in circles in the rain and the dark telling people about the great interest in this great offer you have, possibly taking nothing home at the end of the week and still looking after your own tax/insurance affairs then maybe it's for you.

Peace.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,655 ✭✭✭El Inho

Just finished doing this job for the summer. There is a lot to be said working doing the job. I was working for a subsidiary of Appco. This is my brief account of what to expect etc.

1. You are an employee. No matter what they say. Don't forget that.
    2. The job has countless benefits. Confidence boost, great Independence building experience etc.
    3. The money, if you are good, is pretty good...but be smart with your money.
    4. Be prepared for brainwashing. There is alot of this crap unfortunately. The job itself has the potential to be very rewarding, and a bit of craic, but a lot stuff put me off it. Like going to big events known openly as 'rallys'. The whole thing got a little freaky. I was happy I was just getting in and out with some money.
    5. The product makes a difference. I wouldn't work in many of the areas, but i worked securities which actually was a decent product, and something I felt in no way bad about selling. Plus I didn't employ dirty tactics, so all my sales were made with a clear conscious.

It's a tough job to summarise. Would I like to see a family member do it? No. A future child? No. But would I recommend it to a friend? Yes.

Your life disappears in this job. It's grand for a summer, but I lost contact with friends, and came did a lot of damage to myself and the woman which has be fixed since leaving. If you do the job smart, you can make money for a few months and get out. Nothing worse than seeing the poor souls in the job who can't make sales, but are so caught up in the success stories that they can't see their own shortcomings. Sales is not for everyone, but unfortunately they won't tell you that because it costs them nothing to have you in case you make the odd sale.

They are great at making you feel good at it. The promotions are ridiculous. I went from FR to Leader, Sector Leader and running road trips (which is like running an office) in 2 months. Much faster than people who had stagnated for a year. I already know as I type this that they made me feel proud of this 'achievement'. The comma's are for this reason. the promotion i received progressively saw me come in earlier, go home later, earn no extra money what soever and just feel more important.

As you can see from this, my feelings on the job are mixed. Great experience, but a certain feeling of pity for those who view it as a career. Don't get me wrong, if you are focused, and willing to make serious sacrifices for the next few years, you have a chance of making it up the ladder. But never for get that ladder is adjacent to a pyramid. The words were never uttered in the office, but the entire thing is a pyramid.

I left the job on good terms, knowing I may want to go back and make summer money again some time. I know I will make money, because I'm good at it. But there is just a certain amount of knocking on doors and trying to sell this one product any person can do.

If anyone ever has a question on this kinda job, pm me...I'd be more than happy to answer anything. If any of the high up people are reading, don't take this as a threat. As mentioned I would recommend anyone to try this job out. I just believe people once they get into the job could be treated better.

ES.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,909 ✭✭✭Agent J

Hi El Spearo & thanks for your experience.

I'm kinda confused. One the one hand you practically admit that it's a pyrimad scheme & on the other you you'd recommend it to your friends.

Really?

You seem to be good at sales so it suits you but i assure you that you are in the minority of people applied by these types of jobs. These aren't even jobs. You're technically a subcontractor most of the time.

To anyone else. These jobs are variants on the Multi level marketing premise which just use a product to disguise the true nature of the Pyrimad scheme. It's about making money for those at the top & having a high churn of employees.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,655 ✭✭✭El Inho

Agent J wrote: »
    Hi El Spearo & thanks for your experience.

I'm kinda confused. One the one hand you practically admit that it's a pyrimad scheme & on the other you you'd recommend it to your friends.

Really?

You seem to be good at sales so it suits you but i assure you that you are in the minority of people applied by these types of jobs. These aren't even jobs. You're technically a subcontractor most of the time.

To anyone else. These jobs are variants on the Multi level marketing premise which just use a product to disguise the true nature of the Pyrimad scheme. It's about making money for those at the top & having a high churn of employees.

Yeah...even in the fallout of leaving im torn...

For me and several friends, we all made a lot of money for summer work..

this is the best description i had for the job..

i could laugh at people in other summer jobs as we made a fortune, but more importantly we can laugh at those who view this as a career...

i've seen plenty run themselves into the ground in the job...just i was successful

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭allibastor

I just looked into a company called CMS acquisitions down in Limerick. I find it funny its based out of the same office as MKM direct, PMD and all those other ****e door to door companies. I guess ladder didn't make as much of an impression as he thought down in limerick

• Registered Users Posts: 75 ✭✭statomosh

whenever some one gets there own office they change the brand name.ladder is based in dublin now,paying his lads a basic wage under the mkm name.cms is the usual perdm bull****,paying just commission.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭allibastor

statomosh wrote: »
    whenever some one gets there own office they change the brand name.ladder is based in dublin now,paying his lads a basic wage under the mkm name.cms is the usual perdm bull****,paying just commission.

Oh, didn't realize he moved up and out of Limerick completely. Does he really pay a basic wage also, fair plat if he does. Yeah i actually got taking to a guy i know who works near there in Limerick. its the exact same set up as before, a couple of the same lads still work there. I think your mans name starts with a C and ends with a ris.

• Registered Users Posts: 75 ✭✭statomosh

he is gone from there as far as i know.

• Registered Users Posts: 312 ✭✭irishjig69b

These companies are a disgrace. I have had two interviews recently with 2 different companies. Neither mentioned door to door in the job description and then in the interview they said it will be a bit of door to door. Me being the fool that I am accepted but when I thought about it further and read other peoples views online about the jobs I didn't bother turning up for either of my first days work. I don't know why I even applied for the second company. Shocking hours too. 12-8 mon-fri and 10-6 saturday. How can they get away with it!! Jobs.ie should be ashamed of themselves allowing false advertising by companies and letting these companies take over the Marketing/Sales section of their site. I'm sure I am not the only one who fell for this

jobs.ie have 100s of these waste of time jobs it makes them look good with 1000s of jobs most if not all are bolix

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭Delancey

jobs.ie have 100s of these waste of time jobs it makes them look good with 1000s of jobs most if not all are bolix

+ 1

I certainly have lost any confidence in Jobs.ie - these ads plus all the non-existent jobs they advertise means the whole site is a waste of time.

• Registered Users Posts: 133 ✭✭strokeslover

Jobs.ie certainly is a huge waste of time IMO!

• Registered Users Posts: 6 mrlemonsqueezy

I finished college over a month ago and decided to get myself a job.. I decided I would go down a different route to what my field of study was in. I decided I would go for a door to door sales job in a company named "Simple Sales and marketing"

I worked flat out everyday, so did everyone else in the office. There was a great atmosphere and everyone was happy and working well. This was due to them having an actual job in this economic climate.

Things however drastically changed in a short period of time. Cracks began to show. We were being paid 45 euro a sale on commission basis. My first week I made 7 sales, got paid for 3 and 1 failed. Where did the other 3 go??? Hmmmmm?.

This is when me as a person of intelligence went hmmmm, somethings not right here.... Hey everyone are ye getting paid what ye should be? No we're not.......

Long story short. Anyone that thinks of going for a job in "Simple sales and marketing, please think twice.. This goes for the office in Cork, Dublin and Galway. <SNIP> Allegations Removed </SNIP>

<SNIP> Names Removed </SNIP>

Please listen to me. The office went from 20 people to 5 people in the space of 1 week because of the <SNIP> dealings going on in the office.

If you ever join a company and you come across these 3 names I can assure you that you will not get paid properly.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,311 CMod ✭✭✭✭Nody

More suited in this thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

Thread moved from Consumer Issues and merged into megathread

dudara

• Registered Users Posts: 6 mrlemonsqueezy

I finished college over a month ago and decided to get myself a job.. I decided I would go down a different route to what my field of study was in. I decided I would go for a door to door sales job in a company named "Simple Sales and marketing"

I worked flat out everyday, so did everyone else in the office. There was a great atmosphere and everyone was happy and working well. This was due to them having an actual job in this economic climate.

Things however drastically changed in a short period of time. Cracks began to show. We were being paid 45 euro a sale on commission basis. My first week I made 7 sales, got paid for 3 and 1 failed. Where did the other 3 go??? Hmmmmm?.

This is when me as a person of intelligence went hmmmm, somethings not right here.... Hey everyone are ye getting paid what ye should be? No we're not.......

Long story short. Anyone that thinks of going for a job in "Simple sales and marketing, please think twice.. This goes for the office in Cork, Dublin and Galway.<snip>

• Registered Users Posts: 21,256 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

mrlemonsqueezy, I have snipped some of your post. You can not sign up here and make potentially libellous statements.

• Registered Users Posts: 312 ✭✭irishjig69b

El Spearo wrote: »
    Yeah...even in the fallout of leaving im torn...

For me and several friends, we all made a lot of money for summer work..

this is the best description i had for the job..

i could laugh at people in other summer jobs as we made a fortune, but more importantly we can laugh at those who view this as a career...

i've seen plenty run themselves into the ground in the job...just i was successful

so if u were soooooooooooooo good at it why u leave??? and how much were u gettin per week??? and tell us what u were selling?

MOD-NOTE: Please don't use text-speak on boards.ie Thank-you.