Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Coup under way at Liverpool FC

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Leiva

This is not a coup as far as I'm concerned , if anything it's bringing a coup to an end that's been going on at LFC for years now.

Someone please escort G&H to the desks and get them to clear them out .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,328 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

I'm not a Liverpool fan, but I am delighted there is a very real chance the H&G cancer will be gone soon!
    Hopefully the sale is swift and H&G's hands are so badly burnt that they'll never be able to stomach even watching football again.
    I'd love if some part of the deal involved every Liverpool fan getting a shot against them with a football from 12 yards to wipe the smugness off their faces.
    Moving on I hope this new deal really is in the best interest of the fans, and not just a stepping stone in order to get H&G out! I'm not a fan of American owners in football, and I am especially not a fan of owners of multiple sporting ventures. For investment in Sport I think it should be a case of putting all your eggs in 1 basket.
    Either ways I hope it works out well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

I'm not a Liverpool fan, but I am delighted there is a very real chance the H&G cancer will be gone soon!
    Hopefully the sale is swift and H&G's hands are so badly burnt that they'll never be able to stomach even watching football again.
    I'd love if some part of the deal involved every Liverpool fan getting a shot against them with a football from 12 yards to wipe the smugness off their faces.
    Moving on I hope this new deal really is in the best interest of the fans, and not just a stepping stone in order to get H&G out! I'm not a fan of American owners in football, and I am especially not a fan of owners of multiple sporting ventures. For investment in Sport I think it should be a case of putting all your eggs in 1 basket.
    Either ways I hope it works out well.

Man, i'd love that. Just replace football with gun and 12 yards with 1 yard and that'd be even better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

I really hope this works out for Liverpool, and that it allows the club to regain its pride, dignity, and most importantly its soul.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,917 ✭✭✭JimsAlterEgo

if G&H can refinance can they still retain ownership?

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,503 Mod ✭✭✭✭spockety

The board can, and have been blocking any attempts to refinance.

Presumably on the basis that it would be bad for the company.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,917 ✭✭✭JimsAlterEgo

spockety wrote: »
    The board can, and have been blocking any attempts to refinance.

Presumably on the basis that it would be bad for the company.

I get that but if RBS debt is cleared by them surely RBS influence is gone then? I am probably misisng the obvious :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

if G&H can refinance can they still retain ownership?

Not by the looks of it. Outnumbered on the board and RBS seem to be against it. They've burnt whatever bridges they had left yesterday.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

I get that but if RBS debt is cleared by them surely RBS influence is gone then? I am probably misisng the obvious :confused:

Well yes, if the debt is cleared, RBS have no interest in us anymore.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

Jaysus lads feel like bawling so I do, for the love of all that's holy New England Sports Ventures, please don't be like the other pair.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭yom 1

Wow, I didnt think I'd wake up this morning to see the board accepting a bid that came to light late last night. Hopefully, subject to all the legal issues, G&H are gone. And it'll be only too right that they get nothing for their "investment" in the club.

I wont welcome NESV with open arms to the club and will reserve judgement for a while. If they can clear the debt and work from there it will be a start. But this is an investment company who are trying to buy Liverpool at a knock down price of the debt loaded on the club. We've been lied to before about not putting debt on the club, starting stadium work, investing in the team etc etc. Until we see the real workings of the new owners only then can we accept them, but as someone already said it will take at least 12 months to see their real plans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,910 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

There is no money to be made on lfc without a new stadium. And its probably cheaper than ever to build one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,153 ✭✭✭everdead.ie

Good Luck lads hope this goes through

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

There is no money to be made on lfc without a new stadium. And its probably cheaper than ever to build one

Ultimately this is the case, Anfield can't be refitted and now is the time to build with costs so much lower now than 3 years ago.

The acceptance of the deal by the board (the bit that matters) is hopeful. H&G will now consult their lawyers, one trusts the advice Broughton got from Slaughter & May was money well spent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,942 ✭✭✭missingtime

The Yanks are dead! Long live the Yanks!3

Edit: Live blog here on the guardian website: http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/b...merican-owners

I've thown my two cents worth in and it'll get deleted probably. ;) I'd sooner it was kept free of comment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,415 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

fingers-crossed_sxc-776014.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

mike65 wrote: »
    I've thown my two cents worth in and it'll get deleted probably. ;) I'd sooner it was kept free of comment.

You say there should be no **** and WUMs on that blog yet in the same sentence you call folk chavs.

Way to instigate the very thing you don't want.

I know but I couldn't help myself there are some professional whoppers out there. Luckily you don't get infractions on the Guardian.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,072 ✭✭✭✭event

everyone should be following @tariqpanja on twitter for this lads

Paperwork signed apparently, from Twitter.

G&H keeping quiet since the statement last night.

event wrote: »
    everyone should be following @tariqpanja on twitter for this lads

Yet, that's were I got that. Seems to be an excellent source.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,630 ✭✭✭The Recliner

Delighted that Statler and Waldorf are gone

Wary of the new crowd but at least hopeful that the club can move forward and without a billionaire investor can do so with some integrity remaining/regained

Hoping for a new stadium and the club to be self sufficient, anything won after that is a bonus though some decent football being played would be nice

@tariqpanja

Hear immediate plans to alter #LFC management. Unlikely NESV will announce a new chief exec or other management changes right now.

Thats a ref to the board not Hodgson! Broughton will of course take his leave as his role will be over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,910 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

@tariqpanja

Hear immediate plans to alter #LFC management. Unlikely NESV will announce a new chief exec or other management changes right now.

Thats a ref to the board not Hodgson! Broughton will of course take his leave as his role will be over.

I read it as:

- immediate plans to change manager
    - unlikely to announce board changes right now

Hmmm if thats the case I'd be a little concerned as crap as things have been a new owner dropping in a new team manager could be no help at all. Purslow hired Hodgson is Purlsow going to sanction his dismissal so quickly? If so who's lined up? Not Sven! Martin O'Neill (cough)?

edit tweet update -
    Sorry crucial dropped word in last tweet. NO immediate plans to change management structure. Phew! Perils of tweeting

So ignore the threat of MON! :pac:

I read it as:

- immediate plans to change manager
    - unlikely to announce board changes right now

He corrected it later.

No immediate plans to change manager.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,369 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

good God, may this be the light at the end of the long dark tunnel.

never has the phrase 'better the devil you know' been such a lot of ****.

i almost don't care what NESV are like (i do, but you know what i mean!), because they can't possibly be any worse, and i'd have the bonus of never having to look at the smug faces of Hicks and Gillett ever again.

in fact, as soon as this is done, we should put a swear filter on H***s and G*****t, just so i don't have to see their names anymore.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,528 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Hmmm if thats the case I'd be a little concerned as crap as things have been a new owner dropping in a new team manager could be no help at all. Purslow hired Hodgson is Purlsow going to sanction his dismissal so quickly? If so who's lined up? Not Sven! Martin O'Neill (cough)?

Sven's just joined Leicester City AFAIK

Best and worst list for Baseball team owners (check out who is where)

http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/2009/baseball/mlb/05/08/mlb.owners/index.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

Despite my utter hatred for all things Liverpool, reading about this deal this morning brought a smile to my face.
    Any deal which clears the long-term debts of the company and puts it back to being a football club is something that should be welcomed enthusiastically by all fans.

PHB wrote: »
    Despite my utter hatred for all things Liverpool, reading about this deal this morning brought a smile to my face.
    Any deal which clears the long-term debts of the company and puts it back to being a football club is something that should be welcomed enthusiastically by all fans.

It should also be encouraging to other clubs that are in, or not too far of being in bother.

Early days yet, but his track record isn't the worst.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,879 ✭✭✭budgemook

Hopefully this will turn out to be a best case scenario.

Get rid of debt and be able to buy player without having to sell to buy.

Keep club profitable.

New stadium.

Not having a Man City style sugar daddy.

Continuously qualify for Champions League (starting next year?).

Challenge for the title (not straight away).

No more doom and gloom. No more laughing stock.

Hodgson pulls it out and team starts playing well and getting results.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Just popping in from the Chelsea thread lads, hope all goes well and ye get the owners and results ye want form this deal. Liverpool as a club and city and as one of the best supported clubs in the world deserves better. Hopefully its a truning of the corner for ye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭bluefinger

Best and worst list for Baseball team owners (check out who is where)

http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/2009/baseball/mlb/05/08/mlb.owners/index.html

From that article seems we're getting a serious upgrade. Spend wise I know we're not going to be on the level of City/Chelsea but at least we'll be competitive again.

bluefinger wrote: »
    From that article seems we're getting a serious upgrade. Spend wise I know we're not going to be on the level of City/Chelsea but at least we'll be competitive again.

Fook being like City and Chelsea!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭bluefinger

budgemook wrote: »
    Fook being like City and Chelsea!

yeah. money doesn't make you happy. :cool:

(remembers to do lotto)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 450 ✭✭thelongfellow

I'm loving what Broughton had to say today about it being written into two companies that he could only change the board.

Yanks in, Yanks out, Yanks shaking it all about.

I'm loving what Broughton had to say today about it being written into two companies that he could only change the board.

Yanks in, Yanks out, Yanks shaking it all about.

Broughton's interview was good. Let's hope he has the integrity that it seems like he has.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ziggy

ziggy wrote: »

According to the Broughton interview with LFC, that shouldn't be a problem. There will be some debt but not bad debt. Normal, regular debt :)

Hope hope hope

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,370 ✭✭✭✭8-10

Can the owners block the sale of LFC to New England Sports Ventures?

Well, we have to win the court case. So effectively yes, if they win the court case they can block the sale. But then we may have one or two other thoughts in mind as well.

I like that last line! And the way he delivered it. I'm confident H&G can't win. Now all we need is Henry to bring in Terry Francona to replace Roy Hodgson!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 393 ✭✭PFL

Webchat underway at;

http://www.liverpoolecho.co.uk/liverpool-fc/liverpool-fc-news/2010/10/06/liverpool-fc-live-blog-with-echo-sport-editor-john-thompson-boston-wbz-s-thomas-killilea-100252-27414920/

with Liverpool Daily Post & ECHO sports editor John Thompson, TJ Killilea from Boston TV station WBZ and Liverpool Daily Post & ECHO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,003 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

Keep club profitable.

New stadium.

Not wishing to rain on anyones parade but I think those are pretty unrealtic aspirations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,305 ✭✭✭DOC09UNAM

The Muppet wrote: »
    Not wishing to rain on anyones parade but I think those are pretty unrealtic aspirations.

Dude, this morning means a lot to a lot of liverpool fans, can you at least give them a day or two before you go talking shít again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Keep club profitable.

New stadium.

So instead of having someone come in who effectively buys your debt you would rather a situation where debt is bought out with that?

Intriguing.

DOC09UNAM wrote: »
    Dude, this morning means a lot to a lot of liverpool fans, can you at least give them a day or two before you go talking shít again.

Nice, I'm only saying It unrealistic to expect the amount of investment thats needed to be put in with no debt involved but your right todays not the day for that really , we'll need to see the details of the deal before going into that.

Xavi6 wrote: »
    So instead of having someone come in who effectively buys your debt you would rather a situation where debt is bought out with that?

Intriguing.

It's the usual head in the sand stuff TBH, it's funny really, Yanks Out, OOHH yanks in.

Xavi6 wrote: »

Intriguing.

What? I'm saying not having a man city style sugar daddy is best case scenario i.e. I don't want one.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,855 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

It's the usual head in the sand stuff TBH, it's funny really, Yanks Out, OOHH yanks in.

Speaking of head in the sand, you should just go any worry about your own bloody yanks and don't be worrying about ours, and being as smug as you usually are.