Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pushed or Pulled Thoughts on this

Options
2»

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 8,196 ✭✭✭Crumble Froo

Great thread. I am probably the last person of all my mates in school who woulda moved. I work in the care sector generally, so always plenty of jobs back home, plus I loved my job, my hours, my clients, my friends, my hobbies, the food, the place, the sports, the language. I loved living in Ireland and everything was beautiful in life.

So I was almost entirely pulled, rather than pushed.

But I couldn't live in Ireland after living here. With the exception of no hurling/camogie, and a few price/money issues, I think just about everything here is generall better, as far as I'm concerned.

• Registered Users Posts: 569 ✭✭✭jonnybravo

Working in New Zealand at the moment and I would say I was pulled away. Left a secure job in Ireland to go working and travelling. Miss Ireland alot and can't wait to get home once I finish working and travelling. I can see the attraction for some people living away from Ireland but I'd miss my family, friends, dogs, weather (suits my white pasty skin) and the Irish lifestyle and culture in general to live away permanently.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,523 Mod ✭✭✭✭BossArky

My story:

Growing up in Ireland I was always interested in tales of foreign lands. I knew I wanted to travel and see the world once I was finished with school, etc. I just didn't know how this was going to plan out given that I was just a young'un.