Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Need help with installing graphics card please

Options
  • 06-10-2010 8:24pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭

Hi guys im new to upgrading so please bare with me

im trying to stick a graphics card into an old PC iv got
    when its in and I turn the PC on nothing happens,
    the fan just starts spinning at full speed
    windows doesnt load, the monitor has no signal
    and the mouse and keyboard dont turn on too

The PC is this
    Motherboard is this with 2GB DDR RAM
    and im trying to put an ATI Radeon X1950 GT 256mb AGP into it

iv been told I can use this card with my system
    iv no idea what to do

Thanks,
    Dave.

Comments

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 18,377 Mod ✭✭✭✭Solitaire

Did you plug the Molex connectors into the back of the card? You can try resetting the CMOS too but after those two things and making sure its well seated in the slot I'd say your PSU isn't up to the card - IIRC X1950GTs were pretty thirsty back in the day :o

• Registered Users Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭lmimmfn

Solitaire wrote: »
    Did you plug the Molex connectors into the back of the card? You can try resetting the CMOS too but after those two things and making sure its well seated in the slot I'd say your PSU isn't up to the card - IIRC X1950GTs were pretty thirsty back in the day :o
    Ahh they werent that bad relative to the XT anyway, according to the gpu power chart( i know now 100% accurate but still ) it shows about 40W more power than the 5200 - http://mark.zoomcities.com/images/gfx/GFXpowerchartbybrandgen.png