Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

140.6 deep breaths...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭interested

hang on just a second ... its like a copy and paste job on my 2012 ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭shotgunmcos

Just to stay in touch with some training I have a nice easy volume of work to do through October. Short hard turbos, 30 min runs, some swims and try not to get too fat (Planned 2012 RW 70-72kg).
    3/16 run done
    2/12 turbos done
    0/8 swims done
    weight up to 78.5kg
    About 4 hours training put down last week :rolleyes:

On the house side of things though, its all zipping along nicely :) Its looking like we might just pull it over the line in time and pretty close to budget too. All service connections complete over the weekend so the concrete footpath can be poured around the house. The driveway has been levelled and prepped for surface. Main floor tiling and 2nd fix Carpentry due to start at the end of the week all going well. After that the paint brushes can come out and its a matter of little things to tidy up.
    18 days to moving in can't wait :D Its looking like I will get into some decent winter training by mid November. Looking forward to that too
    Hopefully you will take care of sub 3 monkey in Roth and then the shackles would be off in Barca.
    :confused: eh?

interested wrote: »
    hang on just a second ... its like a copy and paste job on my 2012 ;)

Austria and Barcelona? Sub10?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭interested

Austria and Barcelona? Sub10?

yes, no respectively ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

Could be a party at this rate in Barca so:) I think thats 3 so far from here who are doing it.

• Registered Users Posts: 251 ✭✭handangeo

Right since I have started looking at 2012 I guess I'll take the opportunity to take stock of where I am, what was and what will be.

2011 Review
    The Goals were sub10 for the IM and a sub3 Marathon.
    My best efforts were 10:07:26 and 3:00:20 respectively.

I guess I can't call that a compete disaster. I expected the sub3 to come in Berlin but it didn't materialise. I spent myself early this year. I've even pulled out of the DCM pacing gig reluctantly as I need to back off for a bit. In truth I have had enough of marathons this year. I'll keep the review simple as all the detail is in the log already...

The Highs
    PBs at 10k and half marathon in the spring off base fitness :)
    Connemara :D
    First podium in a triathlon in some wild weather :D
    Some really enjoyable OW swim training in Kilkee :)
    Surviving the i3 5k swim :)
    Sub60 swim at Roth and the first 9 of the 10 hours on the course :D

The Lows
    8 minutes short :(:mad:
    DNF at the Limerick Marathon :o
    Berlin post mortem :cool:

Onwards and upward...
    2012 the year of NO COMPROMISE (no silly spring marathon attempts!).

I've decided to drop Marathons for the year. My next Marathon attempt will be spring 2013 and I'll deal with the sub3 then. 2012 is about the sub10.

A Goal #1 IM Austria
    A Goal #2 Challenge Barcelona

I think having the Marathon off my mind for the year will keep me focused on the sub 10.

B Goal #1 Improve shorter race times. I've basically done more Marathons than I have 5k -halfs so I think a bit more experience of shorter stuff would be good. Basically building a little speed early in the year and then leaving it alone for the long stuff. Picking it up again toward the end of the year. Some good results in these will help my running confidence without taking anything out of me in terms of recovery cost like a marathon effort does.

B Goal #2 Long OW swim event 5-10k. 10k if I can find one. I have a sub 3 in mind but its for a long swim rather than a marathon!

C Goals - HIM in May and a selection of other shorter triathlons

Fun Goal - Do a couple of IMRA races in the summer just for some variety.

Once the IM sub10 is done I will be back to the Marathon in 2013 with a vengence!

Winter training will kick off soon after we move into the new house :)

See you at the start line in Austria 2012 Mike :D, Just have a feeling I'll be
    chasing your tail all day! We both have the same target time I see!

handangeo wrote: »
    See you at the start line in Austria 2012 Mike :D, Just have a feeling I'll be
    chasing your tail all day! We both have the same target time I see!
    Nice one George. Not surprised by your target at all, you had a very fine run off the bike in Roth. If we get to T2 within 10 minutes of each other it could be interesting alright :)

Thats how I felt yesterday, like I was doing my first ever 5 miler. I could feel the extra weight, the stiffness in the legs, the lazyform, the extra effort to get up the hills. It was so laboured but it got done and that was that.

The turbo session afterwards beat me though. I dragged myself through it like dragging a kicking and screaming child through the supermarket, only no one was around to witness the spectacle. V02 reps, 6 of them. 3 minutes on and 3 minutes off. It was just 18 minutes of work in total but boy did it hurt. I targetted 350-360 watts but the power wasn't there to hold it for 3 minutes straight every time. I'd get to 80 seconds and take a breather before gritting my teeth to drag the other 100 secs out of my legs. I was barely on the bike for 45 minutes total but got off it soaking and wobbly. Again not pretty, I just got it done. Things will improve...

I'm avoiding the HRM for October
    Days off Biscuits: 1

Nice one George. Not surprised by your target at all, you had a very fine run off the bike in Roth. If we get to T2 within 10 minutes of each other it could be interesting alright :)

All this smackdown talk and I have'nt been on the bike since Galway - and your way ahead of me already :eek:. I 've got to find 50 minutes from God knows where, and you only need 7ish..........its going to be a long hard winter!

handangeo wrote: »
    All this smackdown talk and I have'nt been on the bike since Galway - and your way ahead of me already :eek:. I 've got to find 50 minutes from God knows where, and you only need 7ish..........its going to be a long hard winter!

Ahead?! :confused: I've a couple of turbos done but otherwise haven't been on the bike since Roth!!! The last time I got my ass out of bed for a swim was Sept 14th. My come back in the slow lane starts in earnest tomorrow morning though.... game on :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭Seres

I feel your sluggishness in those last few posts , i came here looking for inspiration , should i call back next week ;) ? Whens IM Austria ?

Seres wrote: »
    I feel your sluggishness in those last few posts , i came here looking for inspiration , should i call back next week ;) ? Whens IM Austria ?

Hi Seres, Austria IM is on July 1 2012.

And just for you...

Training yesterday:

8k run - skipped around felt great and loved it
    2.5k swim - 400/4*200/300/3*200/400 kinda made the session up during the first 400. Started off worried about my swim fitness but chose easy RTs, a steady stroke and had a suprisingly good swim
    5k row - hot in the gym. Had a young guy beside me racing my splits. I held his splits at a rate of 19 strokes per minute. He was at 30spm! He got off after a few minutes and sat on the bike behind me. I held the same split and rate for another 15 minutes...
    45 mins pilates - been a long time since I did Pilates so it was as sweaty and shaky as expected. Felt great to be back though.

A bit more positive ? :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,741 ✭✭✭brownian

Japers - savage boy. That poor young fella has gone off home to put on his mammy's dress.

Ahead?! :confused: I've a couple of turbos done but otherwise haven't been on the bike since Roth!!! The last time I got my ass out of bed for a swim was Sept 14th. My come back in the slow lane starts in earnest tomorrow morning though.... game on :)

..............Game on :eek:

Although I have some lower back and hip DOMs that I can attribute to the Pilates the other night, I feel it was rather gentle in comparison to Yoga. The Pilates focuses more on breathing and core but if you already have a decent core (as most runners would) then the benefit of Yoga may outweigh that of Pilates. For instance my mother, an uber instructor, called around yesterday evening which involved curling us into a ball as guinea pigs for her new Heated Bikram Yoga sequence! I was sweating buckets doing just one of the poses and trying to balance while laughing is impossible. Typical family visits in my life :rolleyes: Anyway, Yoga is tougher and the visit was good reminder to put yoga into my prgramme over Pilates. I bet if I skipped over this log and found the training sessions preceded by early morning Yoga, I'd find a key ingredient to working on my weaknesses for next year :) Pilates is good, but Yoga it is.

Prior to all of that, it was a dripping 45 minutes on the turbo and I struggled with it again. It was basically 2*20 min with a push to 105% for the last 5 minutes. I had to work very hard in the first rep and had to tie a knot early. I was struggling minutes into the second rep and bailed to an easy pedal. My legs were just not up to it. Perhaps it was a bit of me not being up to it too but it was definitely more physical then mental. Thankfully the next turbo is aerobic and I've a couple of days before a tough one. The HOP is not too far off and I'm dreading it. If the next session is as bad though the HOP may need to be re-assessed to a T20-30 to figure out where I'm at.

Tough turbo sessions lined up by the sounds of it Mike. I have heard the HOP is a real beast alright and one you would want to go into fresh. You might need a few knots in the rope for that one:)

I think Caz was on the verge of strangling me if I snoozed through the 20th consequtive early morning alarm :o She had the day off work so I actually got my ass up out of the scratcher and practiced the stealth approach to getting dressed. Its hard to pull off though as the only bathroom in our rented place is next to the bedroom. The Fan sounds like a lawnmower and the shower sounds like a plane taking off. As it was morning #1 I hadn't yet mastered the art of finding a pair of socks and getting dressed in the dark. The stealth operation should be less risky in the new house as I just need to get down the non creaky stairs to the wet room to change. I can then aim straight, fart and stumble about as I wish :D Thankfully I made it through this morning's mission without toppling head first into the sink as I jumped into my jeans.

I was even early for the swim session. There I was like an eager newbie, sitting in the car waiting for the doors to open. While the receptionist got organised I watched the swim squad kids finishing off their set with kick boards. They looked incredibly energetic for this hour. In stark contrast the weary parental audience were slumped over newspapers, books and each other. I admired the picture of passion, discipline and loving support in front of my eyes. I snapped out of it as two familiar faces shuffled in and made small talk. "How's your training going?", " Grand, you?", "Grand". We exchanged some equally compelling yawns and proceeded with the rest of the lemmings to our doom.

Doom is how it felt. My first group session in about a month and there would be no hiding. The fast lane was busy with the fish in a frenzy of excitement. Either there was a shark in the water or they all drank the same red bull in the changing huts. I had already opted for the more social lane anyway. Friendly it was too with polite exchanges at the wall during warm up. I was happy just to survive that. I then got the 'look'. The look that said I should be on the other side of the rope. Little do they know that my role in that chase game is usually hanging onto the tail for dear life. When I didn't move I was bestowed with the honour of leading out the lane. Yay :rolleyes:

The set
    100m negative split/200m steady - 7 sets of this

I asked what the repeat times where and despite some groans I was tasked with going off 1:50/3:40 respectively. That I did but with just 3 others holding the pace the group broke up a lot. The friendly faces had turned somewhat red and hostile ater the 4th set. As if I was the one dishing out the hurt! I was only doing as instructed and holding the times. I generally don't have that responsibility over the rope as I'm normally too red faced for any emotions or thinking. I thus allowed a bit more rest to creep in as I dared not overtake anyone. I was feeling it anyway and set 5 and 6 were dogged to say the least. For the last set a mate took over to give me a break which was nice of him (he belongs over the rope too). I was breathing heavily but being on some feet felt wonderful in comparison. My stroke rate instantly dropped by 5 strokes per length and I cooled down.

We did a fast 100m afterward but a lactic monster swam up from beneath to drag me down to the depths. I got out before the sprints started in earnest. I was very happy just to put down a main set of work.

During the set I was passed several times by a couple of people in the other lane that I had worked my ass off last winter to catch up with. I found the session tough enough for the pace we were swimming but I'm a long long way off the minimum 1:40 RTs in the fast lane. I'll be socialising for a few sessions yet... :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭RedB

I asked what the repeat times where and despite some groans I was tasked with going off 1:50/3:40 respectively.

And that's why I won't be even joining in that lane with my 2:30 repeats for some time to come! :) I did get my name on the Club Monday night sessions though so maybe I'll be able to join the group morning sessions in the new year. Until then I'll be hiding in the public lanes ;)

RedB wrote: »
    And that's why I won't be even joining in that lane with my 2:30 repeats for some time to come! :) I did get my name on the Club Monday night sessions though so maybe I'll be able to join the group morning sessions in the new year. Until then I'll be hiding in the public lanes ;)

Red the group session will bring you along faster, coupled with the tech session. Ideally for you I'd follow up your Monday night session with STL or whoever is taking it and apply what you learned on Wednesday morning. BTW I was taking the middle lane off 1:50s RTs this morning but most of the lane were actually going off 2:00-2:10. The 3rd lane probably go off 2:15 RTs. So what I am saying is just get into the lane and attach yourself to the back, its much easier to hang onto some feet anyway. So what if you get dropped and lapped by the front of the group, thats exactly what happens in the top lane. Use the lane to bring you on, not to sit in your comfort zone! I 100% guarantee it will bring you along faster than plugging away like a hero hans solo in the mad public lane ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭Seres

Although I have some lower back and hip DOMs that I can attribute to the Pilates the other night, I feel it was rather gentle in comparison to Yoga. The Pilates focuses more on breathing and core but if you already have a decent core (as most runners would) then the benefit of Yoga may outweigh that of Pilates. For instance my mother, an uber instructor, called around yesterday evening which involved curling us into a ball as guinea pigs for her new Heated Bikram Yoga sequence! I was sweating buckets doing just one of the poses and trying to balance while laughing is impossible. Typical family visits in my life :rolleyes: Anyway, Yoga is tougher and the visit was good reminder to put yoga into my prgramme over Pilates. I bet if I skipped over this log and found the training sessions preceded by early morning Yoga, I'd find a key ingredient to working on my weaknesses for next year :) Pilates is good, but Yoga it is.
    I would have to dispute that opinion , on runners having a good core , alot dont even use their core when running unless they work on building it up and then naturally engage it during running .
    I do the pilates and i find it great , ive been considering yoga but i dont want to replace it for my pilates as the pilates instructor is really good and im not to sure of the quality of the yoga classes ive been considering
    Why do you think yoga over pilates ? does A GOOD yoga class build up your core and well as increase flexibility ? what type of yoga do you do ?
    sorry for all the questions !!:)

I would have to dispute that opinion , on runners having a good core , alot dont even use their core when running unless they work on building it up and then naturally engage it during running .
    I do the pilates and i find it great , ive been considering yoga but i dont want to replace it for my pilates as the pilates instructor is really good and im not to sure of the quality of the yoga classes ive been considering
    Why do you think yoga over pilates ? does A GOOD yoga class build up your core and well as increase flexibility ? what type of yoga do you do ?
    sorry for all the questions !!:)
    Hey Seres good point on runner not engaging their core. What I meant though that running no matter what form will give you a better core than the average joe soap. I was lucky in that my mother is both the Pilates and Yoga instructor! Its not any kind of family bias either, she is bloody good at what she does and works with athletes to 90 year old with their hair in a bun and wearing pearls in their class :) I'd recommend trying yoga out anyway to see for yourself. I posted my thoughts on the difference between the 2 in the main forum but copied down below too in case it drops off the main page. The reason I favour Yoga is because of that very reason. I have a straong core and good balance according to herself but flexibility is a definite weakness. Yoga addresses core, flexibility, strength and stability for balance. The current class I do is a mix of styles but I'm leaning toward Bikram.

Pilates focuses more on breathing and centering your core to engage your movements. Without engaging your core as a fulcrum of power you just swing your limbs. The swinging being disengaged somewhat from the trunk leaves you more injury prone. Not just that but you will lose form as you tire and it takes more effort from that swinging of weighed limbs to propel you. Generating power fom your core stabilises the movements all round keeping the swinging under control. Less effort involved and you hold form longer.

So from a purely core perspective I would probably go with Pilates. An example for anyone who doesn't do core. Sit ups have been dissed in recent times as counter productive because people just swing from the head and shoulders to propel the body off the ground. The movement is too fast and under controlled. The jerking can lead to neck strain and the landing back strain. You almost use your arms more! If you were to take Pilates to mind before you do sit ups however you would concentrate on your breathing first. Rounding your belly on exhalation and drawing your navel towards your spine inhaling. Then using just that center of breathing to lift your body off the ground forces you to engage your core and the sit up is a lot slower, controlled and specific for what it should be. You feel it in your abs and obliques when you try to push every bit of air out of your lungs.

Yoga on the other hand is more of a total body workout. Your core is engaged through strength and stability rather than breathing. I used to find Pilates challenging when I started first but Yoga is a different league. It takes a strong and suple body to get into some yoga positions (there is always a more advanced version of it!) but it take real core strength and balance to hold it there. Balance is a key part of running form, especially if you subscribe to the Chi running style. As Yoga brings stability, flexibility, balance and core strength into it, I choose it as an all rounder. If I mix in some breathing focus it never fails to feel like an amazing workout.

Lastly it really depends on the instructor and style too. A good one guages his/her class and challenges accordingly.

The numbers may not look like much but is the best week I've put down since Roth 3 months ago :o and thus I went with a summary table :) I have a rough target of work to do for October and here is the progress..
    2 of 9 swims done - 22%
    6 of 12 turbos done - 50%
    8 of 17 runs done - 47%

Phase: Prep

10 Oct-16 Oct|# sessions|Time hh:mm|Distance kms
    Total|10|07:45|134.2km
    Swimming|2|01:45|5,400m
    Cycling|3|02:40|95.3km all turbo
    Running|4|02:10|28.4km
    S&C|1|01:10|Pilates, ergo 5km, mobility

Weight weekly check: 77.2kg (-0.3kg last week, -0.8kg total)

Another short easy jog and a couple of turbos over the weekend to keep me tipping over. One of which was a proper trip to the hurt locker, a VO2 ladder climb session, ouch! One of those ones that doesn't look like much on paper but is rather brutal in reality. I psyched myself up into a zone and made a better go of it than recent turbos. Easily the best session of the week for me as I pushed through a barrier I had going on last week.

2nd fix carpentry has started on the house and we are in the process of ordering paint, 165 litres of it :eek: We plan to start moving in 11 days and although a heck of a lot of work has been done, its really hard to see it being complete by then

• Registered Users Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭El Director

....alot dont even use their core when running unless they work on building it up and then naturally engage it during running...

I found this very thing happen me to me during the summer. I did a lot of extra core work and and when I went running, towards the end of the summer, it felt great when I engaged the core. I say engaged because I still had to think about it but thats all it took to happen, a quick "engage core" command and bang it just clicked in. My form/tech was much better as a result and as a result of that running felt enjoyable, less sore and more efficient.

Really enjoyed your Friday swim session log, very amusing :) It won't be long until your are hopping the lane rope and getting back up to speed-which you don't seem to have lost too much. BTW have you any race before the end of the year lined up?

I was very determined to continue on this week with the momentum of last week's training. Alas, the snooze button got me again yesterday morning and to compound the guilt I devoured 4 snowballs from the party table in work. All in all not a great start. The party tables are most annoying. It gets covered with Aldi's finest sugar products about twice a week. Any occasion will do, birthday, baby, leaving, arriving, wedding, engagement, broken toe... :rolleyes: Its also positioned conveniently so you have to pass it a dozen times an hour. I picked up a toffee on a couple of other passes too.

Still, its been 9 days since I've eaten biscuits, my worst vice by far :)

I sort of redeemed the day from a blank entry on the diary with a short brisk run in the evening. It was cold enough to see your breath so I put on full legs and arms. After 15 minutes, however I was roasting. Not cold enough yet for this get up. It was an out and back 8km. Steady for the first half and picked up on the return for a 4:20 pace average return. It was a poor enough return for the effort actually. I haven't worn the HRM for a few weeks but I felt my RPE was high for the pace. I had fully intended some stretching and core work when I got in but instead I helped Caz with dinner and then sat on the couch planning house stuff. My legs feel stiff this morning as a result. Not ideal ahead of turbo #7 this evening which is not an easy one :cool:

Our plumber had been holding the show up for the last week or so and ran out of chances yesterday, nice fella but didn't grasp the fact that we have a deadline! New fella in this morning to finish off that job. All the hard stuff was done and all, just a few pipes on the hot tank and the ware installation were the last bits before a snag :rolleyes: I'm praying for a half a day of decent weather today so the insulation lads can finish the front of the house. Inside, the place is filling up with sawdust which is a good thing :) Getting there. 12 days to go :eek:

. BTW have you any race before the end of the year lined up?
    Hey El D. The only thing I have planned is to get my ass down to the Lmerick 10 mile county championships run on St Stephens morning. I've threatened to do this for the last 3 years but have been outdone by booze, weather and booze. I've never run a 10 mile road race. The closest I got to on was driving down to Dungarvan for one 3 years ago only to be turned away due to flooding. I may as well set my stall out if I show up too so I'll go with sub65 for it..

Breakfast this morning
    Meusili with raisins, grapes, strawberries, blueberries and full fat milk :D
    Followed by 2 sugary warm jam doughnuts an coffee :o

We had company announcments and they brought out trays of warm doughnuts, I couldn't resist as I had a hunger on me after swimming.

Early swim - group session
    It was my second session back and I was looking forward to it. We were all looking at each other like Ronin as our dedicated swim coach is currently ill. 3 lanes and I opted for the middle one as still not up to speed for the fast lane. Not that any fish were about though. Without our leader we were all looking at each other for suggestions. Since I was volunteered to lead out our lane I suggested 100/200/300/400/400/300/200/100 off 1:50 RT pace. I had a sort of reluctant agreement. The fast lane don't care what the set is, they get on with whatever it is. The other 2 lanes prefer to live with 100s and 200s. I'd have listened to the groans if I had newbies on board but the faces before me were all more experienced that I so I just set off with the gang behind me. I felt good and after 75m I had clear water. 1:32 was a bit gung ho for the 100 so I reined it back and swam within myself for the rest of the set. The group broke up and I swam alone until midway though the first 400. I suddenly had a girl on my feet. A new girl with soft scottish accent had jumped in. She followed me for the rest of the set and then complimented my kick! I wasn't really aware I had one so I'll take that and it was nice to have the company too. I generally focused on trying to keep a high elbow after the catch especially in the last quarter of the 400s. I have the underwater video of Grant Hackett engrained in my mind at this stage and its the thing about his stroke that stands out to me. We did a few short fast bits before hitting the shower. 3,200m put down and I was very happy with the session.

Turbo #7 of 12
    Again I was kind of dreading it as it looked ominous on paper. 5 mins during the warm up + 3*15 mins at 100% FTP with 3 mins rest. I aimed to hold the effort at more or less 315w. The first rep was ok and I found a rhythm at about 95spm . My heart rate had climbed into the mid 160s by the end. The 3 mins easy was over in a flash though. I experimented with a bigger gear and lower cadence for the first 3 minutes of the 2nd rep but soon decided that it would sap the energy from my legs quicker. It was a tougher rep and my heart rate hit 171 for a finish. There were moments during it where I wavered to drop but told myself to trust my legs. Don't give up until they do. It was bloody hard work. The rest flew and I knew the 3rd rep wasn't going to be fun. I told myself again that as long as I was 'pushing for' the target split rather than 'hanging onto it', there was some juice there to have faith in. The feeling of pushing lasted for 9 minutes before I had to lower the rope. With 6 minutes to go my heart rate was 174 and it looked like a grim finish was in store. I tied the knot and hung on. It took immense concentration but with 5 minutes to go I knew I'd never let up. My heart rate hit 176 for a finish, just 5 bpm off max and I was wasted. Very happy to put the session down. Turbo #12 is the HOP and its looming large

• Registered Users Posts: 1,741 ✭✭✭brownian

She followed me for the rest of the set and then complimented my kick!

...you know how to impress the ladies all right. Next week - MCOS and his stroke technique, tumble turns and ability to hold his breath....:D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,075 Mod ✭✭✭✭BTH

brownian wrote: »
    She followed me for the rest of the set and then complimented my kick!

...you know how to impress the ladies all right. Next week - MCOS and his stroke technique, tumble turns and ability to hold his breath....:D

And then they hit the showers ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

I've decided to drop Marathons for the year. My next Marathon attempt will be spring 2013 and I'll deal with the sub3 then. 2012 is about the sub10.

Excellent idea, learning from your mistakes and applying the lessons.
    You'll do great, and 2013 will come round soon enough for the sub-3.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,830 ✭✭✭catweazle

My ears pricked up a bit myself with the words soft scottish accent. Very descriptive - crush alert - crush alert :D

MCOS is back with a bang.

I might pop down to Limerick for a swim with this softly spoken scottish lass:)