Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Woops! Minister lets slip a potential €4.3 billion in savings

• Closed Accounts Posts: 879 ✭✭✭dunsandin

Cmdr Keen wrote: »
    If we don't, evryone pays the ultimate price of being poor...

Jesus man, what don't you get! Have you been laid off, benefits cut or something? If thats the case, I have sympathy for you... but don't let your anger descend into rubbish! Doesn't help anyone

Reallly? I somehow doubt everyone will suffer. You are right about descending into rubbish though, please stop it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭bobblepuzzle

dunsandin wrote: »
    Reallly? I somehow doubt everyone will suffer. You are right about descending into rubbish though, please stop it.

I can't stop you descending into rubbish... much as I would like to... just not possible... you have my sympathy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭LevelSpirit

You can feck off and suffer for anglo on your own Level, I won't be joining you willingly.

You better emigrate then. You have to pay your taxes if you live here. Dont let the door hit you on the way out.

You are suffering for Anglo though, everyone is... so your point is null
    Am I really? How am I suffering??? It affects me not a jot. In fact, a recession benefits me greatly. So again, you are wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

A quick sharp shock is needed instead of many more cuts every year.

Levy of 5% - Everyone is included, no matter what their income.
    Reduce social welfare payments by 5%.
    Remove tax relief on rent.
    Remove mortgage interest relief.
    Have a Property tax.
    Water charges.
    Put road tax onto fuel instead - Enough to double the current road tax take (they know how much fuel is sold in a year).
    10c tax on a pint.
    10c tax on cigarettes.

Half TDs salaries while we are running a deficit.

We all suffer together.
    All sorts of people will cry foul.
    People will get over it.
    Job done.

You do know how much this debt is? We'd have to have full employment and then a load more migrant workers to begin to pay it back. Thing is, were in a recession. We just bailed Anglo in a recession. €86bn doesn't come from five percent levies on 1.5 million workers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Amhran Nua

"NAMA" was something that couldn't be avoided.... without NAMA, at this stage we would have no banking system.... and in a lot worse state than we are
    Debt for equity swap, look it up, its what every country in the same position has done in history, and what should have been done here. Why do you think we have the red braces brigade openly mocking our clueless Minister for Finance?
    Banks certainly have failed :eek: Lehmans for example, look at what that did to the world!
    The US has closed hundreds of banks in the meantime. Save the party political broadcast for the next Árd fheis. If you can manage to peel An Taoiseach off the hotel room floor in time to deliver it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭Ouijaboard

In the US, upwards of 100 banks have failed and been allowed to fail. Anglo was a private entity, with private profits. Suddenly it became a Public entity with public losses. Because people are goldfish, the theory was spun that Anglo was "systemic" and could not be allowed to fail, and so the state(us) stepped in to absorb the losses-losses that belonged to private shareholders and private bondholders, with, not matter how much the spin doctors would like us to believe, no systemic value to Ireland.
    If you are a student of history, cast your mind back to the last country that did what we have done - it was Japan, at the end of its last property bubble. The Japanese have since described their Govts actions as utterly wrong. It led to a massive transfer of wealth from the public purse to private coffers and apart from the huge damage the bail-out caused (and is still causing) to the Japanese economy, it did nothing to help Japans economy, in fact it set Japan back decades. We have been led into the same economic cul-de-sac, and it is a case of foolish history being repeated.

This is a brilliant post! Pity the opposition could not have been so clear and consise when we were arguing over the merits of bailouts!
    Live by the sword, die by the sword! The fall of Anglo should not have been presented to us as nuclear winter and for that I will never trust FF again.

The laws of capitalism should have been allowed operate without interference and we would have recovered much faster. I still can't really believe the Irish people fell for the spin the government put on it. We love to pride ourselves on how smart we Irish are, wheras the reality is we Irish arent very smart at all.

Some saw through it but I agree with the sentiments that the Irish media in general and the RTE six one news FF mouthpiece in particular have a lot to be responsible for!

squod wrote: »
    You do know how much this debt is? We'd have to have full employment and then a load more migrant workers to begin to pay it back. Thing is, were in a recession. We just bailed Anglo in a recession. €86bn doesn't come from five percent levies on 1.5 million workers.

I think you'll find it will make more of a dent in the deficit than the pussyfooting around that is going on now.

Well spotted though. We are in a recession. Recessions dont last forever. Really - they dont.

You better emigrate then. You have to pay your taxes if you live here. Dont let the door hit you on the way out.
    So you are saying that I will have to raise my prices to my clients to cover the extra expense, fair enough. How does that affect me? This is getting sillier by the minute. You are argueing high finance from a PAYE mindset. And you guys have the solution to our economic problems!!!! Good luck with that. I'm going nowhere, I will just end up owning more - I'm on the other side, in a recession, I do better, in a boom, I do worse, but still pretty good.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭Grimreaper666

It has to be said that some posters only come on here to discredit people with valid points. It looks like FF has it's own little network of spindoctors on here talking a serious amount of sh!te. I'd hate to be on a sinking ship with ye lot, ye'd be partying on as the ship sinks but no doubt FF will look after ye too.

So you are saying that I will have to raise my prices to my clients to cover the extra expense, fair enough. How does that affect me? This is getting sillier by the minute. You are argueing high finance from a PAYE mindset. And you guys have the solution to our economic problems!!!! Good luck with that. I'm going nowhere, I will just end up owning more - I'm on the other side, in a recession, I do better, in a boom, I do worse, but still pretty good.

You're not the brightest spark. That statement is just laughable on so many levels. Go back to business 101 and come back when you've figured it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

Irish sovereign debt riskier than Iraq's - report :eek::eek::eek:

http://uk.news.yahoo.com/22/20101007/tts-uk-sovereign-ireland-cds-ca02f96.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭KINGVictor

I for one, won't be holding my breath. RTE is only a mouthpiece for FF spin. I wouldn't believe a word they have to say ever again.

But the fact is the RTE report on innovation shows that an indigenous Irish company created a software that is creating value in a country's paramedic responce to emergencies...that is not a spin..it is a fact!!

There have been policy failures..no doubt!...but have you considered the positives and extraploted the benefits for Ireland.

Its not just about critisising, it will be nice to offer solutions as well.

It has to be said that some posters only come on here to discredit people with valid points. It looks like FF has it's own little network of spindoctors on here talking a serious amount of sh!te. I'd hate to be on a sinking ship with ye lot, ye'd be partying on as the ship sinks but no doubt FF will look after ye too.

In case you havent noticed we are al on a sinking ship with them.
    No point in sitting back saying "I didnt put the hole in the ship, so im not helping to pump out the water".
    Make FF and their green lapdogs walk the plank. But you still have to man the pumps.

I think you'll find it will make more of a dent in the deficit than the pussyfooting around that is going on now.

Well spotted though. We are in a recession. Recessions dont last forever. Really - they dont.
    Your right, they don't last forever. I have been through a few, and I know they don't last, but a lot don't. The laugh is that now the Irish people want nothing to do with property. Heres the news. Now is the time to buy property. When the arse really falls out of it in six months will be even better. You have to realise that to many people, a recession is when they get rich. Things are cheap. BUT, they govt will shaft the average joe to ensure the big guys don't lose out. In the late 90's, I got out of the UK recession by a whisker, and made an absolute killing, so I LOVE recessions. But I am aware enough to know that they are a catastropy for the man in the street who does not know how to cope. I am a coper, but I hate seeing the Gvt rob the people to benefit their buddies - they are not robbing me, they are robbing you. You need to open your eyes.

KINGVictor wrote: »

Good point. Listened recently to a bloke who started another company to manufacture a product here, instead of importing from the far east.

And?

As have been many statements.... there is a very clear distinction between reality and cuckoo land in this thread
    On my facebook page there's a picture of my Home. It pretty much answers anything you can spin at me.

Post the link... let us see your achievement...

And?

FFS. We're in a recession, as is most of Europe. The huge volumes produced in the far east have dropped off and for some products the cost of manufacture has risen accordingly.
    For some it's as cost effective to manufacture here as import goods from abroad.( My 'you're Ireland, you're call' idea BTW.)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

Unfortunately looks like no matter what your position is employed, unemployed, public sector or private sector, old or young these elite as they like to call themselves are going to inflict years of pain on us all. It might be crap this year but it will continue to be crap for many years to come. These so called public representatives have failed the people they were elected to represent with their arrogance and ineptness and on that basis I call for a revolution.:mad:

But the fact is the RTE report on innovation shows that an indigenous Irish company created a software that is creating value in a country's paramedic responce to emergencies...that is not a spin..it is a fact!!

There have been policy failures..no doubt!...but have you considered the positives and extraploted the benefits for Ireland.

From what I can see it's only very specialised companies are making money in this climate not run of the mill businesses. I would say the ratio is about one specialised for every hundred or so run of the mill businesses. We only hear about the one specialised one and not the other hundred, who are the back bone of the country and are in dire straights due to the banks pulling the plug on them and the high costs in this country.

Unfortunately looks like no matter what your position is employed, unemployed, public sector or private sector, old or young these elite as they like to call themselves are going to inflict years of pain on us all. It might be crap this year but it will continue to be crap for many years to come. These so called public representatives have failed the people they were elected to represent with their arrogance and ineptness and on that basis I call for a revolution.:mad:

Your right, they have been absolute wreckless idiots... nobody I think disagrees with that... but the recovery plan is sound, and needs to be implemented fully eg NAMA, if we are going to recover

That's another <insert bold word> statement. The people who made these decisions were some of the most intelligent and best educated people you could find. Who had some of the most expensive advisers in the world looking after them. Seriously, you'd have to be kidding with that statement. They knew what they were doing.

but the recovery plan is sound
    So sound the ratings groups keep downgrading us. Brilliant plan, there.

Are you Brian Lenihan, Brian, Is it yourself?????

Amhran Nua wrote: »
    So sound the ratings groups keep downgrading us. Brilliant plan, there.

It doesn't happen overnight ffs... please sit in the corner facing the wall... you'd be more intellectual after that I'd bet... that opinion has descredited you, congrats!!

Im going slightly off the point here but answer me this question, my 5 yr old son came home today with a high vis vest given to him in school as part of an NRA programme to teach kids to cross the road safely and obviously be seen then I saw the the manufacturers label made completely in the U.K. and I reckon this scheme is nationwide. So basically why are we as a country probably paying a fortune to have high vis vests made for kids who do not need them. I bring my son to the bus stop every morning and collect him when he gets home hes in primary school so tisnt pitch dark when he travels to school anyway. Why if its an initative for our country are these vests not being made in Ireland.

It doesn't happen overnight ffs... please sit in the corner facing the wall... you'd be more intellectual after that I'd bet... that opinion has descredited you, congrats!!
    Listen champ, communicate back to party HQ that the positions of Messrs Lenihan, Cowen and company in the history books is secure. They will be writ large in the history of this and all nations as an outstanding example of how not to govern a country. And they'll be joined in the gallery by all of the civil servants and bankers who felt that looking out for number one was more important than looking after their responsibilities. And when NAMA is pulled down around their ears, I hope they remember they heard it here first.

Im going slightly off the point here but answer me this question, my 5 yr old son came home today with a high vis vest given to him in school as part of an NRA programme to teach kids to cross the road safely and obviously be seen then I saw the the manufacturers label made completely in the U.K. and I reckon this scheme is nationwide. So basically why are we as a country probably paying a fortune to have high vis vests made for kids who do not need them. I bring my son to the bus stop every morning and collect him when he gets home hes in primary school so tisnt pitch dark when he travels to school anyway. Why if its an initative for our country are these vests not being made in Ireland.

Answer me this: Do you have the cost for this project? How do you know it wasn't paid for years ago? And you seem to think that you don't want these vests, which puts your child more at risk

Not only that but our government are out sourcing printing, among other things, to nothern Ireland, the UK and Spain instead of keeping the business in Ireland, even if it is more expensive they'll get it back in taxes and VAT anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Because the government, the UK & the NRA are all in cohoots together to try & get as many children as possible to walk to & from school in the dark & to get run over by cars in a bid to save money & help the economy.

It's simple economics. We have to pay for NAMA some way.

Because the government, the UK & the NRA are all in cohoots together to try & get as many children as possible to walk to & from school in the dark & to get run over by cars in a bid to save money & help the economy.

It's simple economics. We have to pay for NAMA some way.

I think you should try the Conspiracy Theory forum... you might meet some new friends

I already have lots of friend.

Bet you do...

Obviously you're a regular there yourself...............

Answer me this: Do you have the cost for this project? How do you know it wasn't paid for years ago? And you seem to think that you don't want these vests, which puts your child more at risk

Chill out Im just responding to your lets grin and bear it mantra tis a discussion after all. My question is do all children in primary school need high vis vests paid for by the NRA with government assistance that are made in the UK. This is a waste wouldnt it be far better to assist people in covering the real costs of having children in school like books uniforms etc.

CMDR KEEN(Brian) would you ever have a word with Biffo, and tell him to pull his socks up, he is acting like a culchie bowsie, and we need a bit more from our leader - tell him that at your next cabinet meeting - and best of luck with the treatment(though don't you have better things to do than posting on boards, your portfolio:D and all that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭KINGVictor

That's another <insert bold word> statement. The people who made these decisions were some of the most intelligent and best educated people you could find. Who had some of the most expensive advisers in the world looking after them. Seriously, you'd have to be kidding with that statement. They knew what they were doing.

That is a classic example of over simplification.

So you think that being highly educated and surrounding yourself with the most knowledgable advisors will necessarily lead to zero-errors/mistakes....

only occurs in lala land!!

That is a classic example of over simplification.

So you think that being highly educated and surrounding yourself with the most knowledgable advisors will necessarily lead to zero-errors/mistakes....

only occurs in lala land!!
    Or the private sector. Not Ireland Inc though. It's La La land meets Narnia at the mo.

What the fuck is Ireland Inc? I've only ever heard politicians use it & it really bugs the fuck out me. It sounds like a complete bullshit term that some FF goon misheard at a economics convention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

What the fuck is Ireland Inc? I've only ever heard politicians use it & it really bugs the fuck out me. It sounds like a complete bullshit term that some FF goon misheard at a economics convention.

Ireland Inc - I think refers to the shower of conniving 8astards that landed us all in the sh1te!.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

May I ask your alternative to NAMA?

No NAMA?

they had to get involved to stop the situation reaching a point were our very own sovereignty would be at stake...

Sovereignty at stake? What sovereignty? We certainly have no financial sovereignty now, or political sovereignty for that matter. That all died when the ‘sheep’ were bullied and fooled into voting for Lisbon

• Registered Users Posts: 241 ✭✭Paddycrumlinman

The people of Ireland have no idea how good they have it at present. Living in Luxury at the moment. Come December and next Easter to Summer there will be a different story.

People say dig deep ect ect BUT the cost of living in Ireland is still so very high. Come the next Budget, those earning $200 per week on welfare should expect to live on a whole lot less. Remember the ECB are keeping close tabs on the Irish Budget and if the cuts that are necessary are not cut the ECB will push to make it happen.

Come 2011 the People of Ireland are going to have a whole lot less money in there pockets let alone being able to pay the necessities to keep on surviving, particularly welfare recipients. Unfortunately, it has taken a situtation like this for the public and private sectors to take actions and cut people out of their pay roll.

In the Short term its going to be chaos, long term when retailers realise that no one has money to buy anything, prices will come tumbling down so the populis will be able to survive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

Sovereignty at stake? What sovereignty? We certainly have no financial sovereignty now, or political sovereignty for that matter. That all died when the ‘sheep’ were bullied and fooled into voting for Lisbon

Yeah it's so annoying now that our corporation tax has been raised by the EU and that I've been drafted into the EU army to get paid €1.24 an hour to force everyone to get abortions

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭Noreen1

EU Rules. Tenders have to go out to all EU countries, and the best price/quality quote must be accepted. It's why you see so many UK firms repairing roads etc.

Noreen

Noreen1 wrote: »
    EU Rules. Tenders have to go out to all EU countries, and the best price/quality quote must be accepted. It's why you see so many UK firms repairing roads etc.

Noreen
    Can you link to the relevant legislation or agrement please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭Noreen1

Amhran Nua wrote: »
    Can you link to the relevant legislation or agrement please.

I read it in a local newspaper report. The question was raised by a local county councillor. He wondered why council workers were being laid off when Northern firms were being granted contracts for roadworks. He was told it was because of EU legislation.
    I no longer have the newspaper in question - I read this somewhere between 1 and 2 years ago. (rough guess). If you want to look through the archives of either the "Donegal News" or "Derry Journal" - the article will be in one or other of them. Sorry, I don't have an online subscription to either, so, I can't provide a link.

Noreen

Ok, from reading posts in this thread and others, 3 things are crystal clear.

1 : Everybody wants someone else to take all the pain instead of themselves. As long as someone they can push the burden onto someone else, they are all for cuts of all sorts to them.

2 : Some people want us to stay in dire straits because it gives them something complain about on the internet.

3 : Everybody in Ireland is a fully trained and experienced economist now.

• Registered Users Posts: 357 ✭✭fearcruach

Who to blame for this mess makes no difference at this stage.

We're heavily in the red and we're all going to have to dig deep to turn things around. Saying that the bankers or the rich or whoever should pay changes nothing.

I thinks its pretty funny that the ones who complain about leaving huge debts for our children are the least likely to try and pull together to sort this mess out