Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The "OFF AIR" Thread! (off-topic /general banter)

• 10-10-2010 3:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭

Hi folks,

At the suggestion of a regular user of the forum, we've decided to put up an "Off Air" thread.

This is so that the little community that's building up here on the Radio forum can have a place to chat, get stuff off your chest and generally mess about without having to specifically be on the topic of radio (although you can talk radio here if you want).

It's a similar idea to the off-topic threads you'll find on other forums (fora?) ... e.g.: photography, pro wrestling, etc.

So... go for it... knock yerselves out :)

Enjoy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,647 ✭✭✭✭Fago!

It's fora btw.

And your welcome for this thread suggestion.

Anyone about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

Fago! wrote: »
    It's fora btw.

It's not :P

Good.

Yes, it was Fago, everyone... blame him.

2899778557_8a4991e632_o.gif

*cheesy dj voice*

thanx mate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Good idea this. People always think this forum is too negative. Well now we can get to know each other.

If we lose to Slovakia tonight we're as good as out of contention for Euro 2012.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

well this is going to kill the liveline thread stone dead :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

o/

Hey gang, what's crackin'?

We playing tonight?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,393 ✭✭✭AnCatDubh

If we lose to Slovakia tonight we're as good as out of contention for Euro 2012.

We had a poll in work today of 3 people - one said we'd lose, one said we'd win, and the other claimed we'd have a draw.

I didn't go to paddypower.com straight after :(

ps - lovin the name of this thread 050.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

:mad: :mad: Robbie Keane what are ya doing tonight??? :mad: :mad:

Robbie Keane is a cabbage!

so's your face

I know you are but what am I?

Anyone around?

shhhhh... brand new Reeling in the Years is on RTÉ One at 7.30pm!

Was it any good?

Of course it was! It's Reeling in the Years!

Yeah but reeling in the years some times.............. naaaaaaaah it's always good. <3 reeling in the years.

I just realised it's a bank holiday next week. I hate bank holidays because the radio sucks ass. All the good djs have a day off.

/pished off :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Plowman

Yeah the naughties. Haven't seen it.

It's awesome. Began as a time filler, now it's a behemoth of the RTE schedule.

Well it only started on Sunday... but it's already looking like keeping the standard high, - which is great :)

I often try see if someone I know's on it. Not yet :(

An average of 400 jobs a DAY were being CREATED in 2000... taxes were being cut, everything was just plain super, and Charlie McCreevy was letting the good times roll!

I miss that time. When I was ten.

jaysus :( I was living in Australia, and fago was only 10. When *i* was ten, the eurithmics were still being called the eurithmitics.

Jaysus... I was 23 and working as a professional web developer in 1999/2000...

Times shore doooo change... yup!

Lads what were t-rex's like back then?

it'll happen to you Fago! one day ,soon, when you don't feel any different to the way you feel now, someone will say something like "I don't remember, I wasn't born till 2010" and you'll feel the cold hand of time on your shoulder.

But teebz, I'll be a cool suave old guy what wears a suit and a trilby hat, gambles, hangs out in jazz bars..... the silver fox they'll call me.

That's assuming I'll make it past 21 :pac:

Anyone about?

Jesus is watching you.

JesusIsWatchingYouMasturbate.jpg

I didn't ask what he was watching you DO... :P

He can watch and film it if he wants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

It's fora btw.

Anyone about?
    Anyone around?
    Anyone about?

Oi, Needy McNeederson, get some real friends :cool:

:pac::pac:

:rolleyes: And I had such high hopes for this thread... :rolleyes:

Bard wrote: »

based on.....? :D

Sorry...have I lowered the tone? :pac:

tbh wrote: »
    based on.....? :D

the quality and intelligence of our regular posters of course! :)

Sorry...have I lowered the tone? :pac:

not at all!

Oi, Needy McNeederson, get some real friends :cool:

:pac::pac:

Slag! :pac:

Slag! :pac:

Y'see, ibarelycare? It's Fago! that lowers the tone around here :P

Shouldn't he be banned for personal abuse?? :mad::mad::mad:

:P

Shouldn't you be banned for back-seat modding? :P

...touche.

/shakes fist at Bard

It's true.

Nope!
    Shouldn't you be banned for back-seat modding? :P

Yep!

And now you're doing it yourself, Fago!

I know the rules are a little more lax on this thread, but that just refers to the topic of conversation needing to be about radio, really... everyone stop suggesting that other people should be banned (even in jest!) and we'll be grand, thanks ... :)

BTW... TOM JONES AND MICHAEL FLATLEY ON THE LATE LATE TONIGHT... ZOMG!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 17 stevo5

Dublin radio is full of unfunny people trying to be funny while playing the same songs over and over

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

stevo5 wrote: »
    Dublin radio is full of unfunny people trying to be funny..........

At least it reflects the audience it serves then.

Lapin wrote: »
    At least it reflects the audience it serves then.

miiiOW!