Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Pulled over by a bike cop...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,317 ✭✭✭✭Raam

Coronal wrote: »
    You're not meant to be acknowledging them at all ;)

Oh yeah :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,143 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

So what makes cycle lanes slow?

Pedestrians. Dogs. Bins. Poles. Joggers. Parked cars. Poorly designed junctions which require stopping and/or kerb hopping to merge. Stopping to fix punctures caused by all the glass. Stopping to argue with pedestrians who think you're riding on the footpath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭Coronal

I see.

I can see clearly why many are dangerous.
    Also, isn't it illegal to cycle on the footpath? (this amuses me because many cycle lanes are on foot paths now)

Cycle lanes are slow because they tend to get painted (on the footpath) around obstacles like bus stops, driveways, left turns, etc. Couple that with the fact that they're generally not wide enough to legally overtake somebody and that leaves them being quite slow.

It is illegal to cycle on the footpath. However, if there is an official sign marking the beginning of a cycle lane then you must use it, regardless of where it has been built/painted. Many lanes don't have this sign, so you are not obliged to use them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

Haha, another Irish solution...

Many of the cycle lanes/tracks/paths in Munich City are pretty much the same as described here. On the path and up and down at driveways. I find them incredibly annoying and a complete pain to use.

Add to that the fact that the streets are always lined with cars so cyclists are effectively screened from the drivers. I've been pulled over here for cycling on the road, and I know a guy who was fined for it.

I only just noticed that you are in Munich :)

My bro lives there and I've been over a bunch of times and done quite a bit of cycling around there.

I'm not convinced that cyclists in Munich City have it any better than here. However, they do have some nice roads out in the countryside which are separate from cars.

Raam wrote: »
    Many of the cycle lanes/tracks/paths in Munich City are pretty much the same as described here. On the path and up and down at driveways. I find them incredibly annoying and a complete pain to use.

Yeah but atleast pedstrians have to stay out of them over there.

They do and they don't, depending on who you meet. Many of the lanes are only safe to use if you are faffing about doing 10kph.

I see.

I thought I read that cyclists have the right of way though, basically meaning you can cream any pedestrian that gets in you way?

Pretty much. Officially, yes, pedestrians must stay out, but there are always some stumbling out of a pub/restaurant/not paying attention.

I find it somewhat worse here, as you don't really have the option of using the road in the city due to the speed of the cars. They get very annoyed if you're on the roads, as do the traffic police.

OTOH, the countryside is beautiful :) And once you get out south, the view of the Alps is stunning.

I see.

I thought I read that cyclists have the right of way though, basically meaning you can cream any pedestrian that gets in you way?

I'll defer to a higher authority on that one.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,227 ✭✭✭rp

Has mandatory use not recently been repealed in Germany, for safety reasons?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,306 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

thebullkf wrote: »
    so speed...not safety comes first?? cycling past someones driveway is no more dangerous than walking past it.

every cyclist should know better.
    Please explain the purpose of a bike lane if one has to go at walking pace, to ensure that he doesn't hit a car as it emerges from it's drive, stopping on the footpath to check for cars?

rp wrote: »
    Has mandatory use not recently been repealed in Germany, for safety reasons?

Reading it here is the first I've heard of it. I don't think so. There are still plenty of their blue signs about the place and it was only about a month ago that I got pulled over for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

The primary rule of the road, numero uno, the rule upon which all other road laws are based, is that you must use the roads in a way that you do not represent a danger to yourself or other road users. You are perfectly entitled to ignore a road traffic law if adherence to the law would present danger to yourself or someone else.

This is the basis on which I choose to not use the vast majority of off-road cycle tracks in this country, because to do so would present a larger and unreasonable danger to myself than cycling on the road. I will generally use on-road cycle lanes because they're usually no different to cycling on the road.

If the N11 has such a problem with cyclists in the bus lane holding up busses, then rip up the cycle tracks and widen the bus lane. Problem solved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

Why do cyclists hate using cycle lanes?

Is it just because of the condition the Irish ones are in?
    I see.

I can see clearly why many are dangerous.
    Also, isn't it illeagal to cycle on the footpath? (this amuses me because many cycle lanes are on foot paths now)

In terms of condition, slowness and why some people refuse to use them, have a look at these pics.
    Photo 221 to 240 are of the specific section that the OP had an issue with. From 240 onwards, the lanes are quite good and easy to use.
    http://picasaweb.google.com/luckyiguess/BikeLanesCherrywoodToDublinToCherrywood?authkey=Gv1sRgCP2j3qyo_YLd5wE#5509464855875589746

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭chakattack

Overature wrote: »
    your the guy who holds up ever damn bus and vehicle in that lane, i know its in bits, but its for buses and taxies

If a slower moving vehicle is impeding your progress -> check your right mirror, check your blind spot, indicate and overtake where there is space and it is legal to do so. No big deal.

Reading it here is the first I've heard of it. I don't think so. There are still plenty of their blue signs about the place and it was only about a month ago that I got pulled over for it.
    They intended to repeal it back in 1997, but left a loophole in the law, allowing local authorities (Behoerde) to put up mandatory use signs for exceptional circumstances. These exceptions had become the rule, so there was an amendment made last year that removed some of those (although the local authorities has been slow to react and change the signage).

Here's a handy page, although it doesn't seem to have the Sept 2010 amendments.
    This page discusses the amendments, and interestingly points out the problem of falsely signposted cycle track - nothing special to Ireland, then.
    Another interesting point it makes is that if you have well designed cycle paths, you do not need to make their usage mandatory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭Highway_To_Hell

who in their right mind could say it is safe to put a cycle lane right through a bus stop, this is an accident waiting to happen (even at slower speeds)

1-232.JPG

http://picasaweb.google.com/luckyiguess/BikeLanesCherrywoodToDublinToCherrywood?authkey=Gv1sRgCP2j3qyo_YLd5wE#5509465330119529170

-Chris- wrote: »
    Photo 221 to 240 are of the specific section that the OP had an issue with. From 240 onwards, the lanes are quite good and easy to use.
    http://picasaweb.google.com/luckyiguess/BikeLanesCherrywoodToDublinToCherrywood?authkey=Gv1sRgCP2j3qyo_YLd5wE#5509464855875589746
    From my understanding of the law, from 221 to 237, you would be breaking the law if you cycle on the footpath on this section, as the sign clearly specifies the bus lane as shared use with cycles (ROTR, page 180, top left). Only from 237, is there a clear and legal cycle track sign (RUS009).

BTW, if the OP was pulled on this section, perhaps a complaint to the Guards would be in order?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,038 ✭✭✭penexpers

who in their right mind could say it is safe to put a cycle lane right through a bus stop, this is an accident waiting to happen (even at slower speeds)

The picture before this one shows a yield sign before the bus stop. If I was using that cycle lane and I saw a bus pulling in, I might use my common sense and stop and wait until the bus has left the stop before continuing on.

penexpers wrote: »
    The picture before this one shows a yield sign before the bus stop.
    The picture before this one (231) clearly shows that you would be breaking the law to be on the path at that point, pavement graffiti notwithstanding. Picture #232 shows what seems to be the bottom half of a UK-type shared-use sign, but that has no meaning in the Republic of Ireland.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,393 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

http://picasaweb.google.com/luckyiguess/BikeLanesCherrywoodToDublinToCherrywood?authkey=Gv1sRgCP2j3qyo_YLd5wE#5509465330119529170

A few weeks ago I was up in the big smoke there and I was cycling in the bus lane. There was a load of people at the bus stop so I decided I would go onto the cycle lane after the stop. Fúck head in the bus starting beeping at me, despite the fact he was about to stop 100 metres ahead to let on a lot a people. DB drivers seem to have calmed down in the last year or so as this was the only time one beeped at me and none seem to have had the urge to see how close they could get without knocking me over. Back on subject, those random lines were only put down to keep the tree huggers happy as a bit of a gesture.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,037 ✭✭✭✭Stark

DB drivers seem to have calmed down in the last year or so as this was the only time one beeped at me and none seem to have had the urge to see how close they could get without knocking me over. Back on subject, those random lines were only put down to keep the tree huggers happy as a bit of a gesture.

Had one brush off me yesterday at speed because I had the cheek to cycle through the Red Cow interchange. They're as aggressive as they ever were imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Morgan

well then i'm afraid i can't help you. if you use the road-use the rules of the road.:)
    well again. i can't help you.
    rhetoric my dear voodoo.

I kinda stopped reading after these.

Translation: "I know I'm wrong but I really want to keep this discussion going".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭Mosiki

Comforting to know how our taxes are being spent - stopping cyclists on their commute, as the bankers drive past in their limos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,805 ✭✭✭✭tomasrojo

Another interesting point it makes is that if you have well designed cycle paths, you do not need to make their usage mandatory.

I made this point to Roisin Shortall before the last general election. I was emailing her to ask whether Labour would consider rescinding the mandatory-use legislation. She thought rescinding would not be a good idea, because -- and I quote -- cyclists would have "carte blanche to use the road".

Her plan to deal with unsafe lanes was never made clear to me.

tomasrojo wrote: »
    I made this point to Roisin Shortall before the last general election. I was emailing her to ask whether Labour would consider rescinding the mandatory-use legislation. She thought rescinding would not be a good idea, because -- and I quote -- cyclists would have "carte blanche to use the road".

Her plan to deal with unsafe lanes was never made clear to me.

Carte blanche! Was she planning on repealing all road laws wrt to cyclists?

I got the strong impression she had no idea how the law applied to cyclists, in Ireland or elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,143 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

No, she was going to give us all blank cheques. Sounds like a great idea. Vote Labour for free money!

Lumen wrote: »
    No, she was going to give us all blank cheques. Sounds like a great idea. Vote Labour for free money!

I can finally get that third set of deep section wheels I so crave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,169 ✭✭✭✭ED E

There are at least three bus stops on the cycle path on Nutgrove avenue. Its a nightmare around rush hour when there can be like 15+ people waiting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 266 ✭✭bytey

did he mention he was also stopping motor cyclists and mopeds
    from using the cycle lane in return ?

stupid dumbass Wiggum

too scared to fight real crime .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,112 ✭✭✭Blowfish

Gah! How the hell are we expected to celebrate commuter race wins? A wry smile?
    It doesn't say you can only remove hands to change gears/signal, only when doing it. This means you can wave/fingerbang etc. with one hand as long as you are changing gears/signalling with the other.

Stark wrote: »
    Had one brush off me yesterday at speed because I had the cheek to cycle through the Red Cow interchange. They're as aggressive as they ever were imo.

If you got the reg or even bus number and time of day, please report it soon and insist that cctv footage is taken from the bus immediately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,037 ✭✭✭✭Stark

It was the 51b at about 6:15. Would have probably been the one that left Grange Castle at 17:45. Is there much involved in making a complaint? Can I just send an e-mail or do I need to ring them and send letters and stuff?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,141 ✭✭✭Doctor Bob

Picture #232 shows what seems to be the bottom half of a UK-type shared-use sign, but that has no meaning in the Republic of Ireland.

Really?

From the Department of Transport's Traffic Signs Manual (Chapter 5):

cycleway_signs.jpg

I could agree that the sign has been widely mis-applied - specifically, its use seems to be the norm rather than only 'in exceptional circumstances' - but it's not a 'UK-type shared-use sign'.

This thread is depressing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭-PornStar-

-Chris- wrote: »
    In terms of condition, slowness and why some people refuse to use them, have a look at these pics.

Jaysus, that truly is awful. The few good sections are shared with pedestrians. And the rest of it would surely require a mountain bike, in order to ride in any sort of comfort/safety.

-PornStar- wrote: »
    Jaysus, that truly is awful. The few good sections are shared with pedestrians. And the rest of it would surely require a mountain bike, in order to ride in any sort of comfort/safety.

Probably with 2.5" wheels and 29ers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭Bunnyhopper

Probably with 2.5" wheels and 29ers.

Dutch Commuter Bike:
    bat_olddmens_3spd_globlk.jpg?__SQUARESPACE_CACHEVERSION=1212601971693

Irish Commuter Bike:
    7576?$Display$

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭Bunnyhopper

Doctor Bob wrote: »
    Really?
    Is there any legislation or SI that actually mentions RUS 058? Is the Manual itself sufficient legal basis for the use of the sign? I'd have thought that it shouldn't be in the Manual without some prior statutory basis, but then this is Ireland (and I don't know what the exact status of the Manual itself is).

I think monument asked through FOI about the use of that sign and Dublin City Council couldn't tell him what the legal basis of it is.

EDIT: This is the post - but it refers to a slightly different sign.
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=66688893#post66688893
    This thread is depressing.
    Very...

Really?
    I could agree that the sign has been widely mis-applied - specifically, its use seems to be the norm rather than only 'in exceptional circumstances' - but it's not a 'UK-type shared-use sign'.
    Do these signs have any legal basis? I cannot find them in the ROTR (2007 edition), nor in any Act or S.I.

Stark wrote: »
    It was the 51b at about 6:15. Would have probably been the one that left Grange Castle at 17:45. Is there much involved in making a complaint? Can I just send an e-mail or do I need to ring them and send letters and stuff?

Don't bother with Dublin Bus. Go to the Gardai at the nearest station to the incident and ask to report a case of dangerous driving. Don't let them fob you off with putting it into the "system" for investigation. Insist that they retrieve the footage immediately or any charges will be cancelled lacking evidence.

If you think he sideswiped you to teach you a "lesson" I think it is reasonable to want to "press charges". If you feel strongly enough about it and think that the video will back you up then I think you should. This sort of thing really pisses me off, I can live with an innocent mistake but not with intentionally endangering someone.

Maybe Brayblue can offer some advice if he's reading?

RUS058 and RUS058CL, as far as I know, do not appear in any legislation or statutory instruments. They certainly don't appear in the mandatory-use legislation (SI 274/1998, I think it is).

They also use the wrong sign all the time, even if the signs had a legal basis. They keep using the Shared Space version, even when there is a painted cycle track.

Also, somewhat off-topic, why did they settle on "cycle track" as the word for all cycle facilities? "Cycle lanes" and "cycle tracks" are usually two different things.
    The term cycle track / cycle path (UK) or sidepath (USA) refers to a footway- or sidewalk-type structure, for cyclists only, alongside (not on) a carriageway (UK) or roadway (USA).

[...]

The term cycle lane (UK) or bike lane (USA) refers to a lane, for cyclists only, marked on an existing portion of a carriageway (UK), roadway or shoulder (USA).

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Segregated_cycle_facilities

Is there any legislation or SI that actually mentions RUS 058? Is the Manual itself sufficient legal basis for the use of the sign? I'd have thought that it shouldn't be in the Manual without some prior statutory basis, but then this is Ireland (and I don't know what the exact status of the Manual itself is).
    Do these signs have any legal basis? I cannot find them in the ROTR (2007 edition), nor in any Act or S.I.

Apologies for the delay, but my, um, sources were a bit awol.

What I've been told since this discussion is that, from the courts' perspective, the legislation and SIs are the only show in town, and you're right, the sign isn't in either of them. However, the Traffic Signs Manual is being revised at the moment, and should be out before christmas. Its status won't change, but I understand that there will be accompanying legislation/SIs to back up the bits of the TSM that aren't currently covered already, including, yes, the shared use sign.

I'll let you know if I hear any more detail.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

As long as mandatory use is repelealed, as promised, at the same time, I won't mind.

el tonto wrote: »
    As long as mandatory use is repelealed, as promised, at the same time, I won't mind.

Sources remained tight-lipped on the matter of mandatory use repeal, saying only That would be an ecumenical matter before running to hide in some nearby bushes.

So it won't be repealed, I'd guess. This government will be gone soon anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭cdaly_

If it's a matter of a Statutory Instrument it may survive the government. The SI will get signed in by the next minister...