Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Win an iPhone4 thanks to 3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,014 ✭✭✭Colm!

What is the funniest thing to have happened to you and your phone?

My phone is like a magnet for the strange and bizarre things in this world.
    Yet the funniest thing to happen to me is by far the highest of this.

I'm just a teenager, aged 16.
    This all happened around a year ago.

May 3rd, 2009. Phone starts ringing. Private number. Left it ring out.
    Called 171 a while after. Picture this. A twelve year old eejit, drunk at 3 O'Clock in the afternoon, threatening to kill me. I knew the guy, but I did nothing to aggravate this kid. I have no idea where he got my number. I still don't have any clue what the hell was going on.
    I'd type out what he said, but the swear filter would have a field day.
    Call the guards? Be worried? NAH. I just couldn't stop laughing.
    It happened again two days after.
    And two days after that.
    And a week after that, two days after that.... I got these voicemail messages when I was on holiday in portugal, when I was in Irish college with friends, etc.
    Every time, I called 171, got a friend to listen in. We couldn't stop laughing.

Every time it got funnier. He yelled at me for being protestant (I'm an agnostic in a catholic family), he told stories about how he "cracked my head off a bike" (I cycled past him once I think), I couldn't understand half of what he said "huurrru mumble mumble mumble ****ING mumble mumble mumble BASTARD mumble mumble FAT **** *maniac laughter*"

I was losing faith in my generation. But my god, it was hilarious.

Day after day. Week after week. It continued. Four months of this.

And lads, let me tell ye, it was some laugh.

And if you're wondering if the kid did anything.. I'm still alive, am I not? :P

• Registered Users Posts: 516 ✭✭✭sophie1234

not once but twice this has happened! first time at a party had a few drinks went to the toilet when i went to stand up off the toilet pull up my trousers out falls my phone into the unflushed toilet! i had to flush it before taking it out!
    next day went and got a new phone...4 days later it happens again! i havnt worn the trousers since! i got a new phone insurance and it never happened again! but twice in one week really took the biscuit!

• Registered Users Posts: 562 ✭✭✭jwcurtin

We were in school and we had a free class with no teacher! I moved from my usual spot and took my iPod with me to listen to. What i didn't realise was that i left my phone in my bag (everyone knew it was in my bag, and on many an occasion it had been hidden on me). The class idiot, on the sly picks my phone out of my bag, and drop kicks into the lockers! I laughed my head off thinking it was his phone, my face dropped when i copped that it was my N73, without a scratch on it:)

I now keep my HTC Legend in my pocket:)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,624 ✭✭✭Thor

Lost a phone at a festival once, sounds lame and pretty standard thing to happen to anyone at a festival.

Ended up finding the exact same phone there but it wasn't mine!!

also this was no popular phone. It was a Panasonic something another(can't even remember the name).

Anyway, Decided to try and find the owner of the phone i found and i couldn't. The Sim had a pin and there was no numbers stored on the phone. So i just kept it.

So it was a weird but really funny situation i was in.

Now what are the odds the guy who found my phone, lost the one i found!!! It could of happened.

• Registered Users Posts: 67 ✭✭kim_possible

I was with a friend queing for the toilet in a well known Dublin niteclub, after a long wait we reached the front of the line (hooray!):rolleyes:
    In desperation, as I hurried into the cubicle, my phone fell out of my jeans pocket and into the (relatively clean) public toilet!!!:eek:

I had to think should I pee or rescue my phone.... I rescued the phone!

However, after resusation in the airing cupboard it came to life- but it just wasnt the same!

The next Saturday, after learning my lesson re: public toilets, I handed my friend my phone for safe keeping [whilst i used the facilities]... but we missed hands and the screen smashed on the phone.

The phone was dead.:(
    Doomed from that fateful night in the niteclub.... RIP the phone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,824 ✭✭✭Qualitymark

At a Quaker meeting, when the contemplative silence was broken by my ringtone - sirens and a tense American voice going "Police have identified the maniac killer known as Slitface..."

Eyes popped open, swivelled to me and closed again, while I tussled with my pocket to get it out and mute it, my scarlet face lighting up the surrounding gently smiling faces with closed eyes.

• Registered Users Posts: 172 ✭✭markwho

Okay, need to set the backing for this story. I was 17 when this happened, met my girlfriend at the time, about two months before this happened in oxegen, where I lost my virginity to her.
    Anyway, one day when I was at work, I left my phone in the office and unbeknownst to me, the lads decided to change her number to one of their numbers. And this wouldn't have worked for only at the time, the girlfriend texted me the night before saying she forgot to bring her charger up to college and her battery was about to go, and she wouldn't be able to text me til Friday. Now the lads knew this, only because they were reading my texts on my phone. Which worked out brilliantly for them.
    So anyway, that night I get a text, hows things etc. I got a loan of a charger of my friend. So i'm thinking sweet and then we end sexting. And this went on for days. Some of the things they said "we should take the tent and bring it out the back just like at oxegen", and me fully well believing it was her. They let it out that it was them on the thursday. I nearly killed them. Never was i so embarrassed in my life

• Registered Users Posts: 321 ✭✭louloumc89

You know when somebody gets your number and they find it the funniest thing in the world to call you and listen silently? About a year and a half ago I started getting these phone calls, it was so annoying. It went on for about six months and at one point I seriously considered going to the police. Prank calling is one thing, but they always seemed to do it when I was on a night out. My house mates were even freaked out! Almost every night we went out they'd call me, how did they always know when I was out! I started looking around the night clubs to see if I could spot my stalker..it was really weird!

Anyways, so I was at home one day taking a break from band practice, and sure enough a phone call came. Carolyn, one of the girls in my band tells me to hand her the phone. Now my housemates had all screamed down the phone at the stalker, threatning the police and claiming to have friends at the network, but nobody pisses off Carolyn so I quickly handed the phone over. To my surprise she answered, listened silently for a second and hung up. She then held down a button to the side of the phone and the phone began ringing again..incoming call, private number. Pity nobody had told me about the handy self call activation button when I got the phone. Needless to say it all pieced together in the end, I hold my phone in my hand a lot on nights out, or have it jingling around in my purse, hence the stalker calls on a night out! Mortofied or what? Funny though... At least I didn't go to the gards over it!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭martineatworld

First year in college, was only a few weeks in and I was still getting to know the campus. Anyway, had to use the toilet, ended up in this really quiet one in a part of campus I wasn't usually in. Sat down on the seat as ya do and took out the auld phone to send a text. There was sfa reception so I started waving the phone around looking to get that elusive one bar. All of a sudden, it falls out of my hand and seperated into 3 pieces- the phone, the back and the battery. Pick up the phone and the back immediately and I seen the battery in the next cubicle as I bent down so I instinctively go to grab it. All of a sudden I hear a banging on the cubicle side and this voice screaming...

"GET YOUR F***ING HAND AWAY FROM MY C**K YOU DIRTY ****!"

Mortified. I didn't leave the cubicle for half an hour. Turns out those toilets were known for that kinda thing!

• Registered Users Posts: 321 ✭✭louloumc89

Ahh this story needs a metion. My usb stick was really small and got full every ten seconds, so I started using my phone for storage as it had 8gbs mini sd card. Genius right? I was using it away for storing files and pictures and what not. So anways I transfered courses in college last year, starting in with a bunch of 2nd years I didn't know. Straight up we get a little photoshop assignment and I'm doing a presentation of my work. I go up plug in my phone, drivers all perfect, delighted with myself, still a bit nervous standing in front of a class I don't really know yet. I go to the computer and click on the phone, open up the mini sd card, and there's all my files and folders. I hear one of the lads snicker and look up to my horror...I should mention I'm in a band, we're called Very Angry Girls, VAG for short. Right up there on the projector screen, in front of the class and the lecturer, is a bunch of folders, 'VAG PICS' 'VAG SHOTS', 'VAG', 'VAG 2'. HORRIFIED I muttered something about the name of my band being Very Angry Girls and went on to do my presentation. Stupid phone with its 8gbs. Needless to say I went out and bought a usb stick for college stuff!

• Registered Users Posts: 344 ✭✭DJKendo

I was front of the crowd at Jay-Z at MSG when I threw my phone up onto the stage with the camera on. He took a picture of the crowd on it, and then handed it back to a steward with a picture of his view!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭JayoFella

well here is my not so funny story witch you will all probably find funny at my expense, one time me and a few of the lads were over in the park and we said we would have a game of football yano as lads do so we had a little 5 a side game and during the match we all put are phones keys jackets etc behind the goal ( so we don't brake them, wait for the irony) so were all having a laugh and then suddenly one of the boys shouts "Jay he has your phone" and i turn around and there is a lil pit bull running around the park with my phone in his mouth i didn't know what to do " ahhhgggggg" i ran after him but what could i do its a pitbull but eventualy the owner f the dog got my phone off her and says " thats what happpens when you leave your phone lying around" i'm guessing the dog had done it before :( well hay at least i didn't drop it down the toilet like the rest ha
    r.i.p phoney :(

• Registered Users Posts: 100 ✭✭Fatgoogle

While taking a poo, i was texting and had my phone resting on my leg. After a particularly big one my phone sliped of my leg into loo. After some umming and arhhing, i finally reached in and for about the next 5 mins tried to fish it out, but couldnt get it. Phonless and my hand was disgusting.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭bryaner

Dropped mine in the urinal (pissed) then thought it was great craic pissing on some other lads phone duh. :o

• Registered Users Posts: 927 ✭✭✭Irishder

Bought a new phone, my 3 year old wanted a "look" and thought it was great fun to throw in into puddle. Had to return to the shop 5 mins after i bought it and re-buy the exact same model.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 crockettink

Hey Darragh,

Dave Lee here. Well the scene is oxygen 2009 and i was chilling with the coolest peeps in the world......my amigos. Not gonna lie there were a few brews being drunk here and there, but responsible drinking of course.
    We were on our first day there and we were half way through our day, and i was half through my daily 84 toilet breaks(my bladder shrinks to the size of bacteria when i break the seal after a few brews). Anyway my buddy Dougal and I were on the way down to the porta-loo's(Trying to be respectable on our first day and stay away from the bushes/fences.....). He real name is Derek but we call him "Dougal" because he is bit of a bimbo......ok I'm being nice when he shakes his head you can here his two brain cells rattling about.
    Anywho I noticed a girl on the way down who was a wedding singer at his brothers wedding, she was an amazing singer, and she happened to be an albino which made me remember her. Dougal spotted her too and when we got down to the loo's he goes: "Did ya see your wan back there?" to which I replied: "Ya, the albino is it?" and in his angry/intelligent face shouts back at me: "No you fool she's Irish ya thick f*&K!!!". He taught i was on about her nationality. I burst into a fit of laughing and couldn't stop as i entered the porta-loo. Now bear with me coz this gets a little graphic, I have a thing with the porta-loos where i try to put a layer of toilet tissue on wat has been put in the bowl already, if ya get me. Which thankfully saved the day a little.
    Anyway after i got over my literal fit of laughter i had to ring my other buddy, Ron, about this story. Anyway while dialling his number, shhhhlong in one hand and beautiful Motorla V3x in the other, my hand had a post fit convulsion(nothin to do with drink.....) and unfortunately it wasn't the shhhhlong hand and the V3x went tumbling towards the floor(not the bowl). I tried to catch it with both hands, releasing Davy junior. I had no doubt i was gonna catch it, but I was wrong. I deflected the phone off my hand into the bowl, no sh*t(excuse the pun!). Now it did land on my little layer cushion of inversoft but the damage had been done by me already. Hands free davy junior had me covered in my own urine and now my phone too. I did manage to get the phone out scat free but it I and the phone were mentally scarred. Needless to say we had two priceless stories for our fellows tenants when we returned to camp.
    Anywho please please please consider me for the phone, i could never afford one and it would make my October 22nd and pretty much my whole year, I'm just gonna go out there and say this, it would make my decade! :P

Thanks Dude,
    Laters!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 CaseyKins

Last year my brother(aged 10 at the time) had some of his friends over.
    I had just come in the door from a long day a college and just dropped my bag,ipod and phone on the kitchen table and headed into the living room to watch TV. My mom came in and said she was going out for a while and for my sister and I to keep an eye on the boys.
    Well, about 5 minutes later I could smell this weird metallic/burning smell - I ran out to the kitchen to find my phone in the microwave and my brother and his friends running out the door and up stairs!

Apparently they were just curious to see what would happen to a phone in the microwave! :rolleyes:

Thank god the dog was in the living room with me...

• Registered Users Posts: 703 ✭✭✭obliviousgrudge

I was stadning outside the cinema one day and I was leaning up against the railings when something landed right on my phone, all over the screen and the buttons, I didn't know what it was at first, but soon realised it was bird poo. Of course this promted laughs from all of my friends, but it took me ages to get all the poo out from between all the buttons.

Although, looking back on it, it was kind of funny.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Registered Users Posts: 5 odemspeyslad

I don't like talking about this story cos its fairly embarrassing (although not to my friends) and still makes me angry. We were on a class trip in some caves down in Clare. We were walking across a bridge in the caves when a bat flew out. I got such a fright a little pee escaped and enough got on my phone to cause some damage. However, them bats weren't finished with me yet. As i was checking my phone, another bat flew out causing me to drop my phone off the bridge, never to be seen again. Maybe someone will find it in a few hundred years and it might still work!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 tenacious_zep

It was 2009.

I had come back from what must have been the worst busking night in the history of busking. Some lad had dropped trowel and tried to poop in my case while I was taking a cigarette break. Not the best night. Luckily someone gave him a root up the arse, and he fell over and shat himself on the street beside the case. He was wearing a blue cowboy shirt, and a pink cowboy hat. Macho Macho Man.

I ran off afterwards, to eyre square in Galway, just up the road from where I was busking. The night was ok, and I decided to have a coffee and a jam. There, I met three fella's, playing with a phone, and laughing to themselves. They liked the music and came over to me, and we started chatting. They had found this phone, lying on the street, about a half an hour earlier. They rang the last dialled number, and was put through to the original owner of the phone, who positively profaned until his vocal cords gave way because he believed in his inebriated state that they stole it. So, instead of telling them where he was, he hung up and said "I'm coming after ye"

Naturally, these guys didn't take kindly to being called thieves, so they decided to sell the phone to me, for e2, and as a busker, I had plenty of them coins, so I accepted, laughing, and we started looking through his phone videos. They found 7, 4 of which were home made pornography videos of himself, and one taken pretty recently, of someone handing the camera phone to a friend so he could do a dance against the pole. He was wearing a Pink Cowboy hat and Blue Cowboy shirt. I said I knew where he was.

So, we jaunted off to the police station, knowing full well he had ended up there, and sure enough, as we arrived, he was exiting a squad car with the gardai. We handed him his phone and went "here ya go, cowboy" and he got a little angry, but realising who I was, shut his mouth and got brought into the police station, phone returned to its rightful owner, albeit with 3 confused gardai asking us what it was first.

And thats the funniest story about a phone I have, and technically it was mine, for a period :)

• Registered Users Posts: 9 xxGrainnexx

It was a few years and I was running home from my neighbour's house with my phone in my hand. Halfway there I tripped and me and the phone went flying!After I managed to pick myself up and dust myself off I went in search of the phone, which was scattered around the place! It took a while but I finally managed to recover the all of it, some of which had flown over the ditch into a field! I put it all back together and miraculously it worked. Good ol nokia 3310!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 21 thelagg2000

My mam is 75 years old and I thought it was time she entered the 21st century.So I bought her a prepaid mobile phone and showed her how to call someone,answer the phone(forget texting?)and how to charge it when the red battery light came on.Fantastic I hear you say,so I called her the next day on the new mobile to see if all was going well,after a few rings she duly answered after a bit of fumbling.She sounded a bit flustered so I said are you ok?she said she was fine and the phone was great but how in the sweet name of jesus did I know she was in Tesco,s.I rest my case and give up????:D

• Registered Users Posts: 392 ✭✭mrskinner

In my school the Principal was on the school stage giving the annual Prize Day speech and started by reminding everyone present to take out their phones and turn them off. We all did this.

We then sat back to listen to a talk from the President.

Two minutes into this speech there is the loud sound of a mobile phone belting out a Tom Jones song. We are all tut tutting and shaking our heads at this outrage.

Then the Principal's face gets very very red as he struggles to remove his phone from his pocket and turn it off!

Everyone starts laughing at this interruption. It makes it a night to remember.:D

• Registered Users Posts: 6,949 ✭✭✭Cherry Blossom

I was the only girl on a work night out and as the beer flowed a few of the lads were getting quite tipsy. One in particular was getting a load of text messages from the girlfriend (whose name is the same as mine), most likely checking how drunk he was by his replys. He announces that she's getting very cranky and is heading off to the mens where it's quiet to give her a ring. A few minutes later my phone beeps and it's a multi-media message from the same lad. I open it up and it's a photo of himself in the toilet cubicle, naked as they day he was born and standing to full attention :eek:. The text says 'I miss you this much!' Well I had my drink comming out of my nose and everything when I saw that :pac:. You would think I would have done the ladylike thing and said nothing, but being the only female there and having taken the brunt of the 'what is it with women when you go out for a drink without them?' conversation from the same lad and a few others, and having had a few drinks myself I thought it was only fair to share it with everyone else :D. I thought about sending him a smart reply but decided against it as he might have done a runner and spoiled the rest of the nights entertainment so I waited till he came back wondering what everyone was laughing at. I looked him straight in the eye and said I know you were only gone a few minutes but I missed you too and gave him a wink. The place erupted with laughter but it still took a minute for the penny to drop. He ended up leaving to go home in embarassment after checking everyone elses phone to make sure nobody had the picture and all the evidence had been deleted. He hasn't lived it down to this day :p

• Registered Users Posts: 96 ✭✭Felim_Doyle

Mine is not a funny story and I can't beat some of the howlers posted here so far but it is a nice one.

I live in the UK but travel home quite a lot and, on this occasion, was home to visit my mother in St. Vincent's Hospital in Dublin. I wear 'cargo pants' with multiple pockets to carry all of my junk around with me and this can lead to confusion sometimes.

While fishing around in several pockets for funds to pay a taxi driver, I dislodged one of the three mobile phones I was carrying (each has its own purpose: UK personal, IE personal, UK work) from its pocket. I didn't notice until much later and I assumed that I had left it somewhere in my parent's house where I was staying. I phoned it from their cordless phone and walked around the house listening out for it but heard nothing.

When I couldn't find it, I sent a text to it containing my parents' home number. The phone rang immediately and it was the driver from Sandymount Taxis to say that he had my mobile. Unfortunately he lives in Kildare and I was travelling back to the UK the following morning. I said to drop the phone off at my parents' the next time he was passing but he insisted that I could not go back without my phone.

Fair dues to him, he got up early the following morning, drove up from Kildare and arrived at my parents' house a few minutes before I was due to leave. I gave him the few spare Euro I had left as a token thank you but I can't express how much I value such excellent service.

Top tip: All of my phones are labelled with contact details but, for privacy reasons, on the inside in the battery compartment. No doubt the taxi driver would have found this eventually and I think it's something that everyone should consider doing.

• Registered Users Posts: 188 ✭✭conormccarthy92

after losing a bet , i have five one euro coins superglued on the back of my brick . would'nt say no to an iphone 4 .......

• Registered Users Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

cant think of anything funny thats happened but I did manage to go snorkeling with my phone in my shorts pocket for almost an hour - only to realise what I had done as I walked out of the sea.

Nokia N97.... RIP !! (this only happened in September....am reduced to an old Nokia 6230 until I can afford a new one!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭TrustedApple

buying a knock off iphone and telling everyone that it was a real iphone no outher iphone was a pan

• Registered Users Posts: 8,584 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

New Years Eve a few years ago we were having a party in the house and the craic was in full swing with a heap of people there.

We were out in the back garden chatting away and I walking over to my friends when all of a suddenly something happened. The whole place went silent and it was like I'd been shrunk to 2ft tall. My arm pits were now level with the ground. I was perfectly vertical, yet I couldn't move. It turns out I'd completely forgotten about the 4ft hole in the back garden (no idea why it was there or how it came to be there) and walked right into it. Not in a stumbling fashion, but like something you'd see in a roadrunner cartoon where the coyote goes over the manhole and just drops.

I managed to drag myself out of the hole, soaking in stagnant water from feet to chest and then I remember it, my brand new phone. It had fallen out of my pocket and landed right at the bottom of the hole. Back in I went to salvage it, holding my breath as I felt around until I got it.

It was now a lovely, stagnant-water smelling brick and I headed off to shower while everybody took the complete p*ss out of me

Another funny, yet scary at the time thing to have happened to another phone I owned was back in 2003. My grandfather had passed away the month previous and I was working when I got a text message. I took a look at it only to find it read: "All's well, so what time will you be up at?". It was from my Grandad. I was shítting it, I won't lie. I rang my Dad who broke his hole laughing at me and told me he'd recently decided to finally own a mobile phone and took my grandad's old one. He was responding to a message I'd sent Mam asking how she was feeling and they knew I'd be home for dinner :o