Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Win an iPhone4 thanks to 3

• Registered Users Posts: 378 ✭✭conical

I'd been going out with my then girlfriend for only a month or so.
    One day, when she didn't answer her mobile, I recorded a voicemail (...bad idea)...

It went like this:
    "Heya, just ringing to see if you want to meet up this evening? so call me back when you can. I love you...oh crap! I mean...no I don't...eh...uh...d'oh" [hastily hangs up]

She saved the message, played it to all her friends, and laughed at me for weeks. :o

• Registered Users Posts: 123 ✭✭matrixroyal

back when mobiles were new, we used to go to my grandparents home and when we were all in the sitting room I would ring the house phone from the mobile phone in my pocket, Grandad would get up and go out to the hall to answer it but I would hang up just as he went to pick it up. We used to keep it going for hours and have him wound up to 90 and he never suspected us ( even though we were purple from laughing ) because it never crossed his mind that someone could make a call without a landline phone. Ah the innocence of it all.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭Africa

Was at a comedy show in Vicar street at one stage and was sitting in the front row along with two friends, but one of our friends had not being able to come even though we had told her weeks before, at the last minute decided not to come.

Dara O Briain played through some of his set for a while but soon noticed this and took note of it, eventually asking me why there was a free seat there right at the front row.
    Basically i reeled off that she was not able to come tonight but didnt give the reason why, so the he decided that he would take my phone, call her on stage, putting her on loudspeaker (and so microphone) and all just to embarass her for leaving a front row seat open! Didnt even feel one bit embarrassed as I feel I contributed to the fantastic night we had then :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭dak

I play keyboards and occasionally I record a song that I am playing and use it as a ring tone on my phone . I then tag the song to a particular caller so I know straight away who is calling me. I couldn’t find my phone at home recently so I asked the wife to ring it ….I had a Horslips song tagged to my wife’s incoming number . We had a laugh when she realised the name of the song was “Trouble with a capital T”

• Registered Users Posts: 193 ✭✭kaisersoze

I had wanted an iPhone 3G forever, and had saved for ages to get one! I decided I would buy a second had one and set about googling second hand iphone for sale!
    Finally found one and met a guy in city centre. Handed over the 400e and went off as happy as you like!
    Got back to work that afternoon and went to the toilet with it in my shirt pocket.

I bent over to lift the lid! And Yes! It slipped out of my pocket and into the jax :eek:

I stood there in horror to watch it lose all sense of life! :(

Someone later told me that putting it in rice or silica gel would do the trick. All nonsene. So I know have a reminder of the 400e sitting at home as the most expensive paper weight I'm ever likely to own :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 086dubdublin

I once decided to paint the cover of my phone in purple nail varnish which I thought looked great!!

went to make a phone call...couldn't hear a thing the person was saying....so I went to my phone shop and started giving out saying it wouldn't work and they then pointed out I have nail varnished over the ear piece...whoops!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭Joseph

My phone was stolen once, the guy who stole it obviously went through my picture messages and saw one from my girlfriend - he decided to text her and try to meet up with her. She agreed. Except when he arrived at the agreed place it was the gardai he met at the front door!

• Registered Users Posts: 22,358 ✭✭✭✭Esel

Had an OD'ing bitch in the car one night. Tried to called my dealer - no credit! Sent him a Call Me. He didn't. She coded. For IBM. Before she died.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users Posts: 531 ✭✭✭muffinhead

A few years back when mobile phones were still new, my dad was convinced the radiation from them would fry his brain so refused to use one unless it was a last resort.

I decided to prove him wrong. I told him, if the radiation could cook his brain through his [rather dense] skull then it could easily cook an egg. So as an "experiment" I left an egg rested on my mobile and told him to give it an hour and see if the radiation would cook it.

On the sly, I switched it for a hard boiled egg. When he came back to test it, he cracked the shell to find the egg had cooked through. On seeing the evidence, he gave me the smuggest of looks. It was like a eureka moment for him - his theory was proven.

I later confessed that the experiment was just a trick however it was a good two years before he used a mobile again :D .

• Registered Users Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Scuid Mhór

when i got my second phone (sony ericsson v630i), it was the first phone i ever had that could record sound so i used to mess around with it a lot, recording monologues and stuff. one day, i was looking after my sisters while my parents were out and i don't remember what exactly happened but the recording reveals:

- shouting from everyone before you hear my voice over everything else saying, 'that's it!'

- a scream similar to that from the film psycho.

- a dull thud as something smashes onto something else. as soon as the thud comes down, the screaming stops.

nobody remembers what happened but damn, it's still pretty funny to think about.

• Registered Users Posts: 303 ✭✭thefishone

A good few years ago,new years eve,few pints in me,had to visit the toilet for a sit down.All going fine until I stood up and the phone fell in the toilet,hadn't flushed yet...standing there watching it sinking into the brown stuff/wet toilet paper,what to do,what to do,well it was the most expensive thing I had ever bought,hadn't even owned A Tv at the time,so dived in to save it...and save it
    I did,however,just could never bring it near my face and about 4 weeks later,it made a nice present for someone:o

• Registered Users Posts: 180 ✭✭LittleLebowski

Well..... One day close to Christmas I was in Marks and Spencer’s on Grafton Street buying my mother a satin night dress for her Christmas present as that’s what she asked me for. Took a friend with me for moral support as snooping around the women’s department looking for a nighty is not my idea of fun.
    Found the night dress and proceeded to the checkout to pay and get the hell out of there. Unknown to me my friend had that day changed my ringtone to ''Its Raining Men'', (Something which he later regretted). So there we are cueing to pay and I notice the woman on the till keeps looking at me. Didn’t know what was going on but starting to get paranoid and sweat. Next minute the phone goes off which is bad enough but unknown to us the reason the woman was looking at us is because we were standing in a line for the fitting rooms holding up a long satin night dress so it wouldn’t touch the floor.
    Needless to say it was the most embarrassing thing to ever happen to me and my stupid friend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 251 ✭✭Ald

stock-photo-cartoon-illustration-of-a-credit-card-mascot-character-talking-on-a-mobile-phone-51469159.jpg

Last year, tried to contact cousin to tell her our aunty died. Got a few texts back from her. I told her she had had a heart attack, taken by ambulance to hospital and never recovered. Was terrible. So went on anyways. I said how I was going to miss her sense of humor and inappropriatness at worst of times. She was a funny woman!

Anyways, I told cousin, called Caroline, I'd get back to her with arrangements about Aunty Bridie. So texted her next day with arrangements which were ***** Funeral Home, Kilkenny.

Then, got text back from Caroline asking me why Aunty Bridie from county Donegal was getting buried in Kilkenny.

Turns out the person with two digits wrong in the number I was texting was also called Caroline and also had an Aunt called Bridie who she hadn't seen in a while and shocked to hear died!

Random story but true!

• Registered Users Posts: 737 ✭✭✭christo82

A couple of years ago, my 'friends' thought it would be funny to change my outgoing voicemail message to "The person you are calling is no longer living. To send your condolences to the family, please leave a message after the tone". I found it quite funny at the time, but looking back, I had applied for several jobs around that time and never got a call back so maybe...

PS Make sure you change your password for your voicemail from the default.:D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭lorweld

A few years ago my friend was at a funeral of a poor lad who had been knocked down and killed. The church was fairly full as the dead lad was only young. During the sermon the priest was giving, some young fellas phone began to ring. That was bad enough but what was even worse was his ringtone was ' I get knocked down but I get up again you're never going to keep me down'. My friend said that most of the congregation were purple in the face from trying not to laugh. My friend also said that the dead lad would have loved it and would have been highly amused by it.

• Registered Users Posts: 534 ✭✭✭neaideabh

Once I got a brand new Nokia 3210. I was more hyped about the faster game of snake on it! I was heading out one thursday night whilst in college. Was about to leave for the taxi into town, but decided to have a leak before hand. While standing there doing the natural thing... someone rang me. I answered and was talking to them for a bit. Theen hung up. well... pressed end call then attempted to place my phone in my hoody pocket. Off course it missed and dropped straight into the bowl i had been leaking into to.

So went to get it out. did so. then realise what it had been dropped into!!! so decided to rinse it off under the tap!

• Registered Users Posts: 5 TillHavis

I was at a function and giving a speech, five minutes into the speech my phone rang it was my boss. I told him I was busy and would ring him back. He was annoyed and I think he thought I was trying to avoid him. Later the same day I was in town and spotted my boss and his wife walking down the road coming towards me, in an effort to avoid them I pretended to be on the phone, I smiled at him and his wife and signaled I was on the phone, as he passed my phone rang; to make matters worse I broke down laughing. He didn't find it very funny however and since that day every time he see me talking on my mobile he gives me a funny look.

• Registered Users Posts: 161 ✭✭jfrmbray

Is it just me or does nearly everyones story involve dropping their phone into the toilet?

Heres another one anyway; I set my mate's alarm as a porno, knowing he was taking grinds in the institute the next day. This particular lad is quite dozy so it (apparently) took him about 15 seconds to realize what was going on and who this *ahem* sound was coming from. The poor guy was only 17 at the time, and if anyone doesn't know what the institute is like; full of very hot, studious girls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 crockettink

:eek: Hey guys when do we find out who won the comp?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,611 ✭✭✭david75

i'd bloody love to win this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

Is this still open?

Darragh what's the story, I got the PM this morning saying I won and to give my bank details and addresss etc to pay for the P&P to get it to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 f chopin

don't be stupid. don't give any bank details over the web

f chopin wrote: »
    You're not serious? :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 327 ✭✭St._Andalou

They're drawing the winners today, apparently. Relax, there's plenty of time. And no, don't send your bank details over the web. Report the user that asked for them to admin.

Bonito wrote: »
    Is this still open?

Darragh what's the story, I got the PM this morning saying I won and to give my bank details and addresss etc to pay for the P&P to get it to me.
    f chopin wrote: »
    You're not serious? :(
    They're drawing the winners today, apparently. Relax, there's plenty of time. And no, don't send your bank details over the web. Report the user that asked for them to admin.

Sorry lads, I was just adding some mild humor to the mix for all those anxious for the results. (Myself included.)

Apologies, I thought ye would have gotten the joke. :o

• Registered Users Posts: 49 LiquidSquid

Probably late as you said we had to enter before the 22nd but I'd love to tell my little mishap anyways.

Back around 6 months ago, when the "Swine Flu" was in fashion, shall we say. I became sick with the illness and kept violently vomiting and was bedbound for around a week and a half. (10 days)

When I felt like I was going to get sick, I would rush to the bathroom to throw up, but this was becoming very strenuous as I felt weaker and weaker as was lying down in bed.

I then decided to get a bucket to get sick into, it was actually a blue mop bucket :P , but anyways, I had my phone lying on my chest when I felt like I was going to get sick. (I did), I turned over to get sick into the bucket and low and behold, the phone fell into the bucket with a large splash. (Did I mention that there was Dettol and Water in the bucket?).

I was so embarressed when I had to ring the phone company (Nokia) to find out what I could do.

They ended up telling me to put the phone in a bag of dry rice and funnily enough, this solved the problem but my phone has never been the same.

Don't get me wrong, the phone still works, I can just still smell the dettol. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 327 ✭✭St._Andalou

Sorry lads, I was just adding some mild humor to the mix for all those anxious for the results. (Myself included.)

Apologies, I thought ye would have gotten the joke. :o

Lol, apologies. My fault!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 whelanmark70

The suspense is killing me..
    darragh, who won the iphone?:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 dimejinky9

I was a bit merry one night and was loudly bemoaning the loss of my phone, and turned to my friend and asked had he seen my phone?

he slapped my hand, where it had been hiding the whole time. never liked that phone. He was shifty.

• Registered Users Posts: 493 ✭✭irelandjoe

Shortly After I got my new phone and Shortly after the birth of my daughter I was reading my Twitter timeline while I was Gathering up the Babies bottles after a long day in the office. Grabbed the bottle and proceeded to the Sink in the untility room where I wash them. I placed all the bottles into the sink which I had prefilled with nice warm soapy water. I headed back to the kitchen to get my phone to continue reading my tweets and realised that I could find my phone. then like a large flash of lightning, I realised what I had done.

I dashed into the utilitity room and there at the bottom of all the soap and bottle was my phone bubbling out of the headphone jack :eek:

I had grabbed my phone with the bottles as it's like an extention to my arm and thrown the whole lot into the sink !!!!!!! What a fool.

Anyway why is it Funny?.

A Week in a dry and warm place and 10 mins in the oven!! got it working like a Dream !!!! (Godbless you Google !!!!)