Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Chilean Miners thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,925 ✭✭✭th3 s1aught3r

They are miners, so my guess is that they were mining.

Sky News really go into detail these days

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,611 ✭✭✭david75

Chilean miners to visit the Dail after their release so they can advise Brian Cowen on how to get out of a ****ing big hole before Christmas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

dvpower wrote: »
    No way. They've been sitting around doing fcuk all for the last month.

Well, if it's good enough for the public sector...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭darragh16

Sky News really go into detail these days

Slow news day combined with round the clock coverage... I do like the "Miners Rescued" counter that is in the top corner though, just incase we can't read the yellow ticker at the bottom of the screen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

I hear all the miners have been fighting over who'll be the last Juan left

It's a pity you can't fast forward live TV.

As far as TV goes, this is fairly dull.

Needs an explosion or two to liven things up.

Sky News tend to over sensationalize boring news stories...

darragh16 wrote: »
    Slow news day combined with round the clock coverage... I do like the "Miners Rescued" counter that is in the top corner though, just incase we can't read the yellow ticker at the bottom of the screen.

Sensationalist Tabloid Media
    Dont get me wrong, I hope all these guys get out alive and well
    But I see Sky News as a TV version of the right wing newspapers

When they send own the capsule for the first lift, what's the chances of David Blaine coming out in it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 360 ✭✭greenmachine88

None of this would be possible if it wasn't for

MAN POWER

aren't we great?

Thats the problem with Chilean miners.... they can never seem to find a door.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

MAN POWER

aren't we great?

This is sooo much better than the Ireland match ...

MAN POWER

aren't we great?

None of this would have happened if it wasn't for

MAN FAIL

We aren't that great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭Jakob

Not much happening yet. Hopefully Gazza turns up with some chicken and a few cans and a fishing rod.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 360 ✭✭greenmachine88

None of this would have happened if it wasn't for

MAN FAIL

We aren't that great.

but who else will go mining, women? ha unlikely!

Half expecting Bertie to appear down there with the "latest on the big match"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

They should have the count from sesame street count them out. "one minor, ha ha ha, Two minors, ha ha ha"...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,705 ✭✭✭Mr Trade In

Is anyone else hoping it goes wrong just to make it more interesting,guy reporting for sky has made so many mistakes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,589 ✭✭✭baldbear

A professor of mining? Well holy god. He hasn't a clue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭Revolution9

ScumLord wrote: »
    They should have the count from sesame street count them out. "one minor, ha ha ha, Two minors, ha ha ha"...

Good idea, but all this talk of long shafts and minors is way too vulgar for news television

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,705 ✭✭✭Mr Trade In

Good idea, but all this talk of long shafts and minors is way too vulgar for news television

It is day 69, they must be checking the shaft goes both ways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

48 HOURS to get them out!!!! Ah jeasus :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

Davina Mccall would have a field day...

Florencio Avalos, you are the first miner to be evicted, you have 30 seconds to say your goodbyes, I'M COMING TO GET YOU!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,013 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Is anyone else hoping it goes wrong just to make it more interesting,guy reporting for sky has made so many mistakes.

Well there's your mistake- watching it on Sky. C'mon over to BBC and Tim Wilcox.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,118 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Well there's your mistake- watching it on Sky. C'mon over to BBC and Tim Wilcox.

I think Tim forgot that it's fricking cold at night and left his thermals in the hotel, as the other guy keeps on making comments about him being cold.

robinph wrote: »
    I think Tim forgot that it's fricking cold at night and left his thermals in the hotel, as the other guy keeps on making comments about him being cold.

Yeah it's a Chile night alright. Come on the Miners!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 266 ✭✭THall04

Sky News have a "Miners Rescued" counter....currently 0 of 33.....classy.

Seriously though , if this was closer to home , in Ireland or Britian, there would probably be less piss taking comments /comparison to an old Simpsons episode /idiots hoping it will all go wrong for the sake of a more interesting story.

These are real people....33 fathers/uncles /brothers....just because they're in a country thousands of miles away dosen't make their lives less relevant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 112 ✭✭google faps

Sky minercounter still reading zero.
    Get the finger out hole descender, grab and ascend guys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭IrishZeus

THall04 wrote: »
    Sky News have a "Miners Rescued" counter....currently 0 of 33.....classy.

Seriously though , if this was closer to home , in Ireland or Britian, there would probably be less piss taking comments /comparison to an old Simpsons episode /idiots hoping it will all go wrong for the sake of a more interesting story.

These are real people....33 fathers/uncles /brothers....just because they're in a country thousands of miles away dosen't make their lives less relevant

Yes, its truly chilling when you think about it... :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 112 ✭✭google faps

How many paedos opened this thread and left disappointed, I wonder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,013 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

robinph wrote: »

Hah I think you're right, he does look fairly frozen. Seriously though I have flicked over to Sky the odd time and it's just woeful. While I find Tim Wilcox a very amiable reporter Matt Frei is annoying but they make a good team.

I wonder what Wilcox is thinking. He's been there for 3 weeks doing all the ground work, Frei is only in the country a few days and he's the main presenter tonight!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,941 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Theres 3 minutes of my life wasted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Corsendonk

Hah I think you're right, he does look fairly frozen. Seriously though I have flicked over to Sky the odd time and it's just woeful. While I find Tim Wilcox a very amiable reporter Matt Frei is annoying but they make a good team.

I wonder what Wilcox is thinking. He's been there for 3 weeks doing all the ground work, Frei is only in the country a few days and he's the main presenter tonight!

Not as bad as Charlie Bird throwing the tantrum over northern Ireland and trying to steal Tommy Gorman story!! And him not him not having a clue about the story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,883 ✭✭✭smokedeels

Sky minercounter still reading zero

Have Sky set a "pass rate" or is it all or nothing?

Apparently, the miners are getting eye-wear to protect their subterranean eyes from the sun, they've become molepeople.

Is the capsule on its way down for Florenco?Is it nearly at the bottom?
    Your man on sky news would put you to sleep.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,694 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

darragh16 wrote: »
    Are they gettin overtime for this?

I think they originally were told by the company that they wouldn't be paid and possibly have lost their jobs if they got out...:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Corsendonk

Anyone think that the miners will come up wearing Chile flag jumpsuits? You can never have enough Chile flags!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 293 ✭✭TT09

It's like a mission on lemmings the way sky are broadcasting it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Be deadly if a miner jumped out and said:

I'm an innocent man. I spent 9 weeks in a mine for something I didn't do. I watched my father whine in a Chilean mine for something he didn't do!

dfx- wrote: »
    I think they originally were told by the company that they wouldn't be paid and possibly have lost their jobs if they got out...:eek:

The company are bust i think. They have no money left or so they claim.
    Christ i should be in bed!

• Registered Users Posts: 590 ✭✭✭chelseavera

Get on with it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

I only heard about this crap today, am I living in a hole in the ground?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

I've eaten all my popcorn at this stage .. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,982 ✭✭✭Degag

Jaysus, that tunnel looks small. If i was stuck down there i 'd be in trouble!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,369 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

What the feck

They are still doing tests?

I thought the fella was coming out when I saw the tube.

Why am I staying up for this? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 293 ✭✭TT09

There making a meal of this

Oatesy23 wrote: »
    What the feck

They are still doing tests?

I thought the fella was coming out when I saw the tube.

Why am I staying up for this? :pac:

Thats what i was thinking! But i'll suffer it out now at this stage.
    Whys this lad going down? To be a live test dummy? I hope the miners don't eat him and send up his bones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭Jakob

screenshot20101013at030946.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,369 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

You'd think they'd stick some pizzas and beer in the tube with yer man for the miners that are staying in there the longest.

Have they been eating canned food for 3 months?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

They probably need a drip, not a pizza.