Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Black bus driver gives evidence in defamation case

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Your title is racist.

The correct term is "African American"

• Registered Users Posts: 784 ✭✭✭marzic

the bus was black.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭sesna

Oranage2 wrote: »
    Your title is racist.

Maybe he's just African - since when is black a pejorative term?

Add politically correct nonsense to my list of things wrong with society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,397 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

I walked in on this case yesterday. SO stupid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Black bus driver sued

Eh, no he wasn't. He was a witness in a case where Dublin Bus were being sued.

This type of misleading thread title is a pretty poor reflection on you.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,949 ✭✭✭The Waltzing Consumer

The woman took a case against Dublin Bus not the driver.

How is the race of the driver of any importance?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Your title is racist.

what if the person in question is neither african nor american

His race is of relevance as this was the drivers defence for wrongly asking the woman - he was upset and having an off-day after suffering racist abuse earlier.

The black driver is racist and thinks all white women look the same. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Was the accused woman gibbon a chance to defend her choice of word?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Is the case happening cos I is black

What kind of jumper was he wearing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Your title is racist.

That was a joke.........................

..................Is this thing on ?!?

stovelid wrote: »

She gave him the two fingered monkey salute;

http://www.factzoo.com/sites/all/img/mammals/monkeys/baby-pygmy-marmosets.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

A BLACK Dublin bus driver told a judge yesterday that racist remarks from passengers were a "normal and daily experience" on the buses.

Olayinka Egbesakin told Dublin Bus solicitor Gerard O'Herlihy that one woman passenger had described him as "a monkey" after he had asked her if she had over-ridden her stop. He told the Circuit Civil Court he felt bad on the day it had happened and later, mistakenly, had asked another passenger, Maria Davis, if she had been on his bus earlier when the incident occurred.

He told Judge Jacqueline Linnane he immediately realised his mistake when Ms Davis, of Kilkiernan Road, Cabra West, Dublin, told him she had not been on the bus. "I was mistaken and I immediately apologised but it is part of my job to keep a check on fares," he said.

He told the court the woman who had called him a monkey earlier that day had been wearing a dress similar in colour to the outfit Ms Davis was wearing.

Mr Egbesakin told Mr O'Herlihy he had not accused Ms Davis or her friend, Caroline Laney, of anything.

Ms Davis had sued Dublin Bus in a €38,000 claim for defamation of character. She said she felt people on the bus believed she was a fare evader.

Judge Linnane dismissed Ms Davis's claim with costs against her.

hnews@herald.ie

- Ray Managh

PS: I didn't capitalise the word 'black'. That was from the site.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

stovelid wrote: »

Too soon maaaan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Olayinka Egbesakin's anagram name is OKAY SNEAKING I ABLE

Makes you think don't it.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,927 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Your title is racist.

In Dublin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

Overheal wrote: »
    In Dublin?

Thats what you get for trusting Google Maps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Johro

squod wrote: »
    Makes you think don't it.........
    Not really.

What's the deal with this amount? the 38000 euro? Not so long ago a Garda who fell on his gun (:D) sued for the same amount. F#ckin chancers.

Johro wrote: »
    What's the deal with this amount? the 38000 euro? Not so long ago a Garda who fell on his gun (:D) sued for the same amount. F#ckin chancers.

€38k = the average price of a new 5 bedroom house in Ireland in 2010.

Ahh... I see..:D

€38,092.14 is the top of the Circuit Court jurisdiction. Anything higher has to go to the High Court and costs are substantially higher (especially when you lose).

OisinT wrote: »
    €38,092.14 is the top of the Circuit Court jurisdiction. Anything higher has to go to the High Court and costs are substantially higher (especially when you lose).
    Yeah, thought so. So if you're a chancer you'd obviously go for the top amount without too much risk. She should be fined for wasting the court's time, after which she'd have to leave the court wearing a dunce's cap with 'cheap white trash' painted on it.

I heard before that a case in the High Court can cost €8,000 a day.

Beverly Cooper Flynn was caught out badly in her case against RTE in the High Court, and subsequently the Supreme Court. €1.24 million was her final bill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

4 bed 2 bath, sleeps 17
    Get away from it all

sesna wrote: »
    I heard before that a case in the High Court can cost €8,000 a day.

Beverly Cooper Flynn was caught out badly in her case against RTE in the High Court, and subsequently the Supreme Court. €1.24 million was her final bill.
    It can cost a lot more than that. Some bigger cases will have 2 solicitors (biggest chunk of the costs), 1 Senior Counsel Barristers (another big chunk) and 2 Junior Counsel Barristers (smallest amount but not cheap).

That'd be a big one, but many High Court cases cost at least €5,000 a day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,470 ✭✭✭TheBigLebowski

That was a joke.........................

..................Is this thing on ?!?

I'm amazed at the amount of people who actually thought you were serious.....

Just because people didn't think it was funny doesn't mean that they didn't get it :p

It was either a joke or a quick U-turn:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

It was a joke and it was funny.

Maybe not ha ha funny...

It was a joke and it was funny.

Maybe not ha ha funny...

I knew this thread was going to be $hit.

Why? Are all your threads this shit?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Are you the fella the holy mother gives the messages to?

Why? Are all your threads this shit?

Yeah Ive had about five. They usually flop, but not unexpectedly. :)

Speaking of which, did you get over the little tantrum you had with the delivery driver?

That newspaper article was illegible BTW. Jaysus, has the Hedild been outsourced to India or something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

You think the evil gerald being shite is new.....?

I haven't read the thing in many years.

Nodin wrote: »
    'that screeching madwoman of the Irish press' I've heard it described.

Nodin wrote: »

But.. but Claire Byrne has a regular feature in it.

Yeah Ive had about five. They usually flop, but not unexpectedly. :)

Speaking of which, did you get over the little tantrum you had with the delivery driver?

Just about. Sometimes I wake up in a cold sweat after dreaming about that day, but those nights are getting less frequent as time passes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 mblake

Yeah, thought so. So if you're a chancer you'd obviously go for the top amount without too much risk. She should be fined for wasting the court's time, after which she'd have to leave the court wearing a dunce's cap with 'cheap white trash' painted on it.
    Hi this is my mother that was in court and she is far from white trash!! The bus driver hurled abuse at her and her friend about they racially abused him that morning in a part of dublin where my mother never goes he told her he had her on camera and told her to shut up and sit down. U can understand how upset they both were as the bus was full of passengers whom my mother and her friend knew. As she got off the bus he continued to hurl abuse at my mother and she was very shaken up about it. Her side of the story wasnt brought across and she wasnt sueing for 38,000k thats just the most amount you get in the courts unless it goes to the high courts
    I wud like to her some opions on tat know u've heard her side!!

The article says the woman in question sued because others on the bus may have believed she was a "fare evader".

Also states the driver said he was mistaken and "immediately apologised" upon realising his mistake.

Are you saying this version of events is untrue ? Why was the case dismissed?

mblake wrote: »
    Hi this is my mother that was in court and she is far from white trash!! The bus driver hurled abuse at her and her friend about they racially abused him that morning in a part of dublin where my mother never goes he told her he had her on camera and told her to shut up and sit down. U can understand how upset they both were as the bus was full of passengers whom my mother and her friend knew. As she got off the bus he continued to hurl abuse at my mother and she was very shaken up about it. Her side of the story wasnt brought across and she wasnt sueing for 38,000k thats just the most amount you get in the courts unless it goes to the high courts
    I wud like to her some opions on tat know u've heard her side!!

*coughs* bullshit *coughs*

yes dont believe what u read in the paper he totally lied under oath said he apologized but he didnt and it was nothing to do with the fares thats total lies whoever abused him on that morning shudnt have totally agree i dont agree with anyone doing a days work but when they abuse people in the wrong and make a show of them for nothing is that not totally wrong??

just total ignorance!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 393 ✭✭Tom Slick

I always regarded the driver as just a part of the bus. The old ones had seperate cabs....

mblake wrote: »
    and it was nothing to do with the fares thats total lies whoever abused him on that morning shudnt have totally agree i dont agree with anyone doing a days work but

Maybe Oisin could shed some light on what this woman was suing for :cool:

I walked in on this case yesterday. SO stupid.