Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

General UFC Chit Chat/News

• Registered Users Posts: 11,470 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

It's awful if true but Dana White exaggerating/lying?? Well I never....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭adamski8

Just watched beyond the octagon from a week ago with them interviewing manuwa and gustafsson. My god they are more than useless. The inane questions were so cringey and terrible.
    Dan hardy is pretty decent on the programme.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,318 ✭✭✭p to the e

Dan Hardy did an Ask Me Anything thing on Reddit.

http://www.reddit.com/r/IAmA/comments/1wkp2g/i_am_ufc_fighter_dan_hardy_ama/

• Registered Users Posts: 732 ✭✭✭Xlami

Ush1 wrote: »
    It's awful if true but Dana White exaggerating/lying?? Well I never....
    http://fansided.com/2014/01/31/sam-sicilia-comments-julianna-pena-injury/#!t4HQr

There's the other side. Your judgement?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,808 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

Is Brock coming back or was overeem mistaken?

• Registered Users Posts: 471 ✭✭OrgasmicBaz

I doubt Brock will ever come back, He's in a story line now in WWE which will lead up till Wrestlemania. So his contract might be up after that. Be interesting to see what happens in the next few weeks

• Registered Users Posts: 11,932 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

Dtp1979 wrote: »
    Is Brock coming back or was overeem mistaken?

How can someone who doesn't like to be hit in the face, who ensures his sparring partners don't hit him in the face, want to come back to MMA, it baffles me how people think he'll be back.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭JJayoo

More likely Overeem wants to make some big money in the wwe.

Fatal 4 way match

Lesnar, Overeem, Batista & Bobby Lashley :P

• Registered Users Posts: 19,193 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Oh wow!

Anthony Johnson is back in the UFC.

He's fighting Phil Davis at UFC 172. A good match up IMO.

Let's just hope he makes weight!

http://mmajunkie.com/2014/02/anthony-johnson-returns-to-ufc-meets-phil-davis-at-ufc-172-in-baltimore/

• Registered Users Posts: 23,858 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

delighted he's back but i'd like to have seen him come
    back as hw
    awful tough fight to come back to though

• Registered Users Posts: 17,570 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Will Chope vs Diego Brandao confirmed. A TUF winner is a big step up for somebody who is 0-1 in the UFC

• Registered Users Posts: 39,335 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Oh my, Thiago Silva, what have you done now?

Jaysus!!!

He always was a bit of a head banger tho

• Registered Users Posts: 2,318 ✭✭✭p to the e

He's certainly not the best fighter in the UFC but he's definitely the scariest looking. Rumours abound that his wife was having an affair with Poppovitch. We'll see whether it was true or not. I'd say he's looking at some serious jail time.

Looks like he will be palling with Josh Rosenthal soon

• Registered Users Posts: 12,330 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

Looks like he will be palling with Josh Rosenthal soon

Maybe Josh can "prescribe" something to mellow Silva out a bit...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭dave1982

You need balls to have a standoff with a swat team, saying that you have to have bigger balls to bang Thiago's wife:eek:

0207-thiago-silva-mug-shot-1.jpg

Attempted murder charges thrown out of court

http://www.tmz.com/2014/02/07/ucf-star-thiago-silva-arrested-for-attempted-muder/?adid=sidebarwidget-tmzsports

• Registered Users Posts: 39,335 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

dave1982 wrote: »
    You need balls to have a standoff with a swat team, saying that you have to have bigger balls to bang Thiago's wife:eek:
    Popovitch is a bit animal himself.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭Hoki

Lads how come the Ufc is not on BT tonight ? Is it because of this Fight Pass ? Continuing to pay for BT sports when they don't have every event is becoming less desirable now.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,752 ✭✭✭Mr Blobby

Hoki wrote: »
    Lads how come the Ufc is not on BT tonight ? Is it because of this Fight Pass ? Continuing to pay for BT sports when they don't have every event is becoming less desirable now.

UFC isn't till next week.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭Hoki

That could be it alright :)

• Registered Users Posts: 12,808 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

Hate when that happens

• Registered Users Posts: 107 ✭✭Mattyz69

UFC sign EFC Heavyweight champ Ruan Potts on a 6 fight deal.

Big opportunity for him, lets hope he can deliver and keep the division interesting.

Bodes well to Henry Fadipe if he can get the title and get a couple more wins under his belt!!!

Just after been looking at the UFC schedule there, its going to be a very busy few weeks. They have 6 cards over the next 6 weeks

UFC 171 card stands out from the rest

Welterweight Johny Hendricks vs. Robbie Lawler
    Welterweight Carlos Condit vs. Tyron Woodley
    Lightweight Diego Sanchez vs. Myles Jury
    Welterweight Jake Shields vs. Hector Lombard
    Light Heavyweight Ovince St. Preux vs. Nikita Krylov
    Welterweight Kelvin Gastelum vs. Rick Story
    Women's Bantamweight Raquel Pennington vs. Jessica Andrade
    Featherweight Dennis Bermudez vs. Jimy Hettes
    Welterweight Sean Spencer vs. Alex Garcia
    Lightweight Renee Forte vs. Frank Trevino
    Flyweight Will Campuzano vs. Justin Scoggins
    Middleweight Robert McDaniel vs Tor Troeng
    Featherweight Daniel Pineda vs. Robert Whiteford

• Registered Users Posts: 19,193 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Is that the running order? If so, Sanchez v Jury looks very out of place on the Main Card.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭dave1982

big fight for Woodley, winning that gets him a title shot?

Sad to see Hendricks fighting for a vacant title, probably won't mean as much to him now if wins against Lawler.WW belt would be more about taking it from GSP I think.

As far as i know yes, but got it from Wikipedia so it can be unrelaible at times

• Registered Users Posts: 12,437 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

Interview with Stefan Struve on Beyond the Octogon now on BT Sports 2