Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

General UFC Chit Chat/News

• Registered Users Posts: 435 ✭✭SevereMMA

Apparently Frank Mir is going to step in

• Registered Users Posts: 11,932 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

Posted a few pages back about a new 45,000 capacity boxing arena in Vegas but think something else happened in the thread and it was missed.

You think UFC will start using it? Will more than double there income in gate reciepts and is due to be opened in May

MrStuffins wrote: »
    Cain v Bigfoot is not happening according to this article
    SevereMMA wrote: »
    Apparently Frank Mir is going to step in

Cain v Mir interests me a lot more than a Cain/Bigfoot bout

• Registered Users Posts: 12,437 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

scudzilla wrote: »
    Posted a few pages back about a new 45,000 capacity boxing arena in Vegas but think something else happened in the thread and it was missed.

You think UFC will start using it? Will more than double there income in gate reciepts and is due to be opened in May

I don't see why they wouldn't use it. It would make sense if it's a decent arena. Is it located in the heart of Vegas?

• Registered Users Posts: 39,325 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Dean09 wrote: »
    I don't see why they wouldn't use it. It would make sense if it's a decent arena. Is it located in the heart of Vegas?
    It's probably just off the strip. I imagine Pac-man Mayweather will hold out for its opening. No reason why its not availible to the UFC

• Registered Users Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭JJayoo

Cain v Mir interests me a lot more than a Cain/Bigfoot bout

I hope Mir has learned from his last fight with Big Nog and tries to move the fight to where he is strongest, instead of insisting on keeping it standing.

No other heavyweight comes close to his combination of submission game and size. It would be very hard for any fighter to find suitable training partners to prepare for Mir on the ground.

Mellor wrote: »
    It's probably just off the strip. I imagine Pac-man Mayweather will hold out for its opening. No reason why its not availible to the UFC

Yeah, that's why they put the fight back apparently, to wait for it's opening.

Can't find much about it on Google apart from the stock "45,000 Boxing arena opening in May"

• Registered Users Posts: 140 ✭✭MisterCadbury

UFC website hacked

Some group called Underground Nazi Hacker group

WEIRD:eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭dave1982

Due to their support of the copyright law

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,126 ✭✭✭✭calex71

Anyone catch pro elite 3? Nice to see Lenne Hardt still doing intros :)

• Registered Users Posts: 19,193 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

So, after internet dudes attacked the UFC website over their support for SOPA, Dana White got a bit carried away and started challenging them to do it again and saying he wasn't afraid of them etc.

In response, someone posted Dana's phone number, social security number and his currrent and past addresses onlne.

Whoops :pac:

The Reem charged with battery
    Top UFC heavyweight contender Alistair Overeem has been charged with one count of misdemeanor battery following an incident in a Las Vegas casino soon after his UFC 141 bout this past month.

According to the "Las Vegas Review-Journal," Overeem is slated to appear in court on Feb. 21, and if convicted, he faces a maximum of six months in county jail and a maximum $1,000 fine.

MMAjunkie.com (www.mmajunkie.com) had been unable to confirm the long-rumored incident in recent weeks.

Local law-enforcement officials told MMAjunkie.com no arrest was made, and Wynn officials declined comment.

However, according to the newspaper's report, Overeem, who defeated Brock Lesnar at UFC 141 in Las Vegas on Dec. 30, was at Wynn Las Vegas a few days later. According to a citation issued at 3 a.m. on Jan. 2, Overeem pushed or shoved a woman in the face, "causing her to stagger back."

Overeem wasn't technically arrested and instead was summoned to court. He's retained famed Las Vegas defense attorney David Chesnoff for the case and maintains his innocence, according to the report.

Overeem (36-11 MMA, 1-0 UFC), a former Strikeforce champion who was released by the organization and quickly signed by its sister promotion, made his official UFC debut at UFC 141 at MGM Grand Garden Arena. By knocking out ex-champ Lesnar (for his 11th straight win), he set up an upcoming heavyweight title fight with current champ Junior Dos Santos, who's healing from a knee injury.

No date has been set for pay-per-view blockbuster, but UFC president Dana White recently mentioned Memorial Day weekend or Fourth of July weekend as possibilities. Both shows are expected to take place in Las Vegas.

Even though he wasn't actually arrested and these charges have yet to be proven (and despite the fact if he shoved a woman she'd do more than stumble), i'm gonna say........ In Before someone says "Woman Beater" and/or it's dirivitives or "No excuse......."

• Registered Users Posts: 29,832 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

Ah Jaysus, waited how long for his explosive UFC debut and this happens! I take it if he does get charged, he is automatically out of the UFC?

sheehy83 wrote: »
    Ah Jaysus, waited how long for his explosive UFC debut and this happens! I take it if he does get charged, he is automatically out of the UFC?

I wouldn't imagine why?

Chael Sonnen was charged and convicted of Money Laundering and UFC never let him go.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,832 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

Oh yeah, well anyway I'm mad to see him fight JDS so hope this doesn't affect it.

• Registered Users Posts: 732 ✭✭✭Xlami

Lorenzo tweeted about a meeting in Paris today. Could be looking at a summer card in Paris. Be interesting to see what sort of card they put on.

• Registered Users Posts: 516 ✭✭✭Jayo_M

Xlami wrote: »
    Lorenzo tweeted about a meeting in Paris today. Could be looking at a summer card in Paris. Be interesting to see what sort of card they put on.

I thought Unified Rules is banned in France?

• Registered Users Posts: 944 ✭✭✭loremolis

Jayo_M wrote: »
    I thought Unified Rules is banned in France?

It'll have to be no holds barred with groin strikes then.

loremolis wrote: »
    It'll have to be no holds barred with groin strikes then.

Cheick Kongo is a shoe-in for this Main event in that case!

MrStuffins wrote: »
    Cheick Kongo is a shoe-in for this Main event in that case!

OhSnapBlackKid7478154.gif

Sad to see him go as I do like him, he seems like a nice guy, but tbh he didn't make a big impression and wasn't really good enough imo.

LINK

Joey-Beltran-New-SiteBW.jpg
    “I am truly grateful for all the opportunities that I have received from the UFC/Zuffa. I am not sad or hurt by their decision as I know that winning is the name of the game. Posting a 1-4 record my last 5 fights is unacceptable regardless of how entertaining the fights were. So this is the next chapter of my career, and one that I am excited for. You will definitely see my ugly face again so fans don’t worry and haters keep on hating.”
    “The Mexicutioner” Joey Beltran just released a statement via fightersonly.com explaining that he has been released from the UFC following his loss last weekend to Lavar Johnson.
    After starting his UFC career with an upset victory over Rolles Gracie back at UFC 109, Joey’s two-year stint with the promotion saw mixed results. He now departs from the UFC posting a 3-4 record since his debut.

• Registered Users Posts: 732 ✭✭✭Xlami

Dean09 wrote: »
    Sad to see him go as I do like him, he seems like a nice guy, but tbh he didn't make a big impression and wasn't really good enough imo.

Yeah big fan of Beltran, not technically good at all but had such heart. Don't think I've ever seen a fighter take such a beating and not be finished in the Barry and Mitrione fights. He kind of employed the Homer Simpson tactics but a very likeable lad. I've not seen his last fight but I'd love to see what it took to finish him.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,325 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Xlami wrote: »
    Yeah big fan of Beltran, not technically good at all but had such heart. Don't think I've ever seen a fighter take such a beating and not be finished in the Barry and Mitrione fights. He kind of employed the Homer Simpson tactics but a very likeable lad. I've not seen his last fight but I'd love to see what it took to finish him.
    some vicious uppercuts

Anyone who saw him getting smashed v Lavar Johnson at the weekend knew this was coming. He's never been quite good enough.

He should've tried to reinvent himself at 205 while he had the chance.

LINK
    Feb 2, 2012 - It won't take either Pat Barry or Lavar Johnson long to get right back in the cage after knockout wins within the last two weeks.
    The two heavyweight sluggers have agreed to face each other at the upcoming UFC on FOX 3 event this spring, the UFC confirmed early Tuesday morning.

Johnson (16-5) made his UFC debut at last weekend's UFC on FOX 2, knocking out Joey Beltran with a hail of first-round uppercuts. Meanwhile, Barry (7-4) returned to the win column at the UFC on FX show on Jan. 20, overcoming some early first-round troubles on the ground to KO Christian Morecraft.
    Both fighters took nightly awards for their performances, with Johnson winning KO of the Night for becoming the first man ever to knockout Beltran, while Barry won a Fight of the Night award for his comeback.
    Meanwhile, the UFC also confirmed that the previously announced lightweight bout pitting Nate Diaz vs. Jim Miller during the same show would serve as the evening's main event and be scheduled for five rounds. It is possible that the winner will become the No. 1 contender for the lightweight title, though the promotion did not confirm that.
    UFC on FOX 3 will take place on May 5 at the Izod Center in East Rutherford, New Jersey.

This should be a cracking fight! Be nice to see how Johnson does against a bit of better competition.

LINK
    Feb 2, 2012 - Thiago Silva and Brandon Vera will look to settle a previous no contest when the two light heavyweights meet for a rematch at UFC on FX 3 on May 15 in Fairfax, Va., the UFC announced late Wednesday.

At UFC 125 in January 2011, Silva punished Vera for three rounds to win a unanimous decision on the scorecards. However, it turned out Silva falsified his post-fight urine sample by providing urine not consistent with a human's. Silva was fined, suspended for one year and had his win changed to a no contest.

Silva admitted to giving a false sample to hide the presence of banned substances. He explained he suffered a back injury 45 days before the Vera fight and instead of withdrawing, decided to take injections in his back and spine.
    Silva's drug test failure saved Vera's job. Vera was cut from the UFC after his UFC 125 loss but later rehired when the news came out that Silva falsified his urine sample.

Vera (12-5) returned to action at UFC 137 in October, outpointing Eliot Marshall to a unanimous decision. Silva (14-2) will be fighting for the first time at UFC on FX 3 since his suspension.

The last UFC at the Patriot Center in Fairfax was UFC Fight Night 20: Maynard vs. Diaz in January 2010.

It'll be interesting to see how a clean Silva does in this match. He'll still smash Vera in my opinion. And then Vera will probably be on his way out of the UFC.

• Registered Users Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Tweet from Ariel Helwani
    They are bringing us to see the new open that will premiere on Saturday night. No video allowed. You'll see it on PPV. RIP Gladiator.
    Was due an update tbh

Tweet from Ariel Helwani

Was due an update tbh

It appears the UFC's famed gladiator is no more.

The UFC will debut a new 60-second opening for its pay-per-view events at this weekend's "UFC 143: Diaz vs. Condit" show in Las Vegas. It'll replace the one that's been in use for nearly a decade.

The segment, which was produced by the digital-production company Digital Domain (and sister company Mothership), features highlights from 18 of the UFC's most iconic fights.

For years, the UFC has used an opening spot that features a gladiator suiting up for battle. The clip, though, has become infamously outdated and mocked.

According to a release, Digital Domain created the one-minute spot to encompass all eras of the UFC. Fights clips will combine archival footage with "entirely imagined backgrounds" that are meant to show the evolution of the sport. Additionally, the score was created by famed film producer and music producer Hans Zimmer through his company, 14th St. Music.

"The UFC is heading into a new chapter and taking the brand to the next level," UFC president Dana White stated. "We've had the same show open for the past nine years, and with his monumental FOX deal and the global expansion of the UFC, we wanted to come up with a new show open that paid tribute to the fighters who helped us build the business and grow the sport."

A team of 20 artists worked on the clip, which debuts at 10 p.m. ET (7 p.m. PT) during Saturday's PPV broadcast.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,318 ✭✭✭p to the e

Brandon Vera out against Thiago Silva. Looks like he's looking after the money maker.

Brandon Vera has suffered an injury and will be unable to compete against Thiago Silva as originally expected at UFC on FX 3.

Promotion officials revealed the news Saturday, just two days after initially announcing the planned pairing. A replacement is currently being sought. UFC on FX 3 is expected to take place May 15 at the Patriot Center in Fairfax, Va., and will feature a middleweight confrontation between Tom Lawlor and Jason MacDonald.

Vera and Silva first met at UFC 125 in January 2011. Silva dominated the American for three rounds, badly breaking his nose en route to earning a unanimous decision. However, the result of the bout was later changed to a no-contest after Silva’s post-fight drug screen was flagged.

Silva soon admitted to taking injections containing banned substances in order to treat a chronic back injury and masking his urine sample with an adulterant to hide the evidence. The Brazilian was suspended for one year and fined a total of $33,750. He has not competed since.

Meanwhile, “The Truth” returned to action this past October, edging Eliot Marshall at UFC 137 in a contentious unanimous decision. A former heavyweight prospect, Vera has posted an Octagon record of 4-3 with one no-contest since dropping to 205 pounds.

• Registered Users Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Surprising change for Shogun O_o
    Mauricio Rua @ShogunRua
    I would like to tell that I no longer work with Eduardo Alonso,we still friends,as usually.
    Not a split I was expecting at all