Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

decking lighting

• 13-10-2010 1:01pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭

hi guys

been asked to put lighting in decking,had a look today and its already wired for 10 lights,what are peoples thoughts on which lighting to install eg:GU10,led's etc

thanks guys

• Registered Users Posts: 834 ✭✭✭indie armada

personally i prefere mains fittings that take gu-10 lamps. these fittings can take various types of lamp including cfl, led and colour changing.
    if the bulb blows then you just replace it. with the led fittings if they blow you have to replace the whole fitting so if you do go for these buy a well known brand in case you have to get one at a later stage.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭maxamillius

was thinkin mains myself indie,convenience of install aswell no traffos etc!what would ya recommend in the lines of gu10?

would recomend you buy the best quallity fitting you can afford. the usual brands will allways pop up like robus, aurora, sgd and lumilux. there are various types but most a stainless steel. you drill the appropriate size hole on the deck with your hole saw slot the fitting down securing it with the screws supplied. the better quallity fittings have like a cup that sits flush to the deck and the fitting slides in and out of that. they come with up to a meter of rubber flex which obviously has to be terminated in an ip rated box, preferably with the boxes filled with sealing solution or resin to completely seal the joint.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭maxamillius

thats grand mate cheers,actually had a look at robus fitting earlier think it was cfl,said it was a cold cathode,not to sure what that meant,think it was 24 plus vat!probably go with them,thanks a lot for advice!

24-30 euro per fitting is about right. call into your wholesaler and ask them to plug one into a safety block to give you and idea of the colour and output. some of the other lads on here could fill you in on propper protection at the board ect. hope ye get sorted. :)