Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

FAI Cup Semis & League of Ireland football this weekend, 15-17 Oct 2010

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,964 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Personally I'm afraid of all the bogball and stick fighting fans who invade Dublin every summer and spend their whole time in Dublin enjoying themselves while complaining about the place.

Idiots who think goiong to watch a sports event means its compulsory to wear a cowboy hat (FOREIGN!!!FOREIGN!! and colonial culture!!! :eek: ) with a poxy piece of string in their county coulours (the counties of Ireland were drawn up by the Brits-GAA west Brit b*stards!!!! :eek: ).

Please save me from these freaks!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,235 ✭✭✭iregk

j1smithy wrote: »
    No one has answered my the question as to why LOI fans have to be segregated.

Have you been to any LOI games before?

Reason I ask is that in Tallaght there is no segregation between the fans with the exception of Bohs and Pats. The rest sit in the away section but there are no gardai between them and the home fans so its not segregated.

You've also not been to many GAA matches. A Wicklow Wexford game I was at 2 years ago had crowd segregation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭antomorro-sei

Thats a fairly pathetic interview from the chairman.

He's a fairly pathetic bloke tbh. But thats for another day :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

He's a fairly pathetic bloke tbh. But thats for another day :)

Cmon now anto, dont knock the man who comes out with gems like this (2 weeks ago)
    Jonathon Roche also told them that next season Rovers arent going to take an allocation of tickets for any away game because of the way their supporters are treated. Roche said that Rovers were keeping some clubs going with their big travelling attendances and that if they didnt take tickets for away games then some clubs would feel it in their pocket. They hope that this threat will result in the supporters getting better treatment from security

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

dreamers75 wrote: »
    Cmon now anto, dont knock the man who comes out with gems like this (2 weeks ago)

Maybe you should only give us a few hundred then.

Just so you're not planning your budget around two games a season.

stovelid wrote: »
    Maybe you should only give us a few hundred then.

No 700 and put back up the fence behind the shed, keep all rovers fans in it. Problem solved.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,697 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

No 700 and put back up the fence behind the shed, keep all rovers fans in it. Problem solved.

Has Inchicore survived the sustained attack on Tuesday? Is the rebuilding process finished yet?

It looked no different going through it today than last Thursday

• Closed Accounts Posts: 605 ✭✭✭j1smithy

iregk wrote: »
    Have you been to any LOI games before?

Reason I ask is that in Tallaght there is no segregation between the fans with the exception of Bohs and Pats. The rest sit in the away section but there are no gardai between them and the home fans so its not segregated.

You've also not been to many GAA matches. A Wicklow Wexford game I was at 2 years ago had crowd segregation.

I have been to LOI games, granted not in a while but I've been to some. I went to a few in Dalymount not long after I moved to Phibsboro. Didn't really like what I saw in terms of quality of football on the pitch and the general atmosphere in the grounds (felt hostile) so I stopped going.

I have been to plenty of GAA games too, though rugby is more of my game and have never seen enforced segregated support at a GAA match. I have never seen a line of stewards protecting no-mans land at a GAA game.

I just had a look again at the video from Oriel park incident and have noticed some of the supporters giving "Combat 18" type salutes when the gardai are trying to hold them back. Has the far right infiltrated football support in this country too?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

I just had a look again at the video from Oriel park incident and have noticed some of the supporters giving "Combat 18" type salutes when the gardai are trying to hold them back. Has the far right infiltrated football support in this country too?
    Oh ffs.

WUM.

dfx- wrote: »
    Has Inchicore survived the sustained attack on Tuesday? Is the rebuilding process finished yet?

It looked no different going through it today than last Thursday

Is this the rovers version of hearts and minds?

I do like this guys version tho.
    John Connolly, chairman of Tallaght Hoops, a Rovers supporters group, played down the incident. He said: 'I can tell you I was standing there with my wife and kids and we saw nothing out of the ordinary. The same thing happened last friday between Sligo Rovers and Bohemians, they went on the pitch to celebrate there. It happens every single match at Croke Park. Obviously, they shouldn't be on the pitch but the emotions got the better of them. But this is making a mountain out of a molehill.'"

Add in the fact that you got 1200 tickets for members and season ticket holders and yet over 200 people were on the pitch heading for the pats fans(i dont count the happy fans who celebrated then jumped back into the shed).

Nothing will change with Rovers, the scum will still run amok and be let away with it and the fans will plead ignorance as if it never happened.

CiaranC wrote: »
    Oh ffs.

WUM.

I'm no wind up merchant. Perhaps you can explain to me what the punching the air salute means, because the last time I saw it was when the England fans tried to dismantle the upper east stand in Lansdowne Road.

Perhaps it has another meaning but as far as I know that gesture is associated with the far right.

I do like this guys version tho.
    The incident has been overblown.

No one got hurt and there were no arrests. Proper stewarding and policing would have easily prevented it. Stewarding and policing which doesnt come cheap to St Patricks.

That said, we definitely have a problem. Its difficult to know what to do about it, and sometimes I wonder if the will to sort it out exists in the club. As someone who wants the club to grow and develop even further, this is immensely frustrating.

As ever, the only major casualty of nonsense like this is the public image of Shamrock Rovers Football Club.

I'm no wind up merchant. Perhaps you can explain to me what the punching the air salute means, because the last time I saw it was when the England fans tried to dismantle the upper east stand in Lansdowne Road.

Perhaps it has another meaning but as far as I know that gesture is associated with the far right.
    Too scared to go to Tesco, too scared to go to Dalymount, maybe you should bring your mammy to hold your hand, lol. God help you if you had to go to a major Derby in Europe or South America, youd pee your little pants.

Im done with you chiefo, obvious troll is obvious.

No, I was just wondering how accurate your foreboding claim of "stay away from Inchicore tonight" was. Also I know you were in fear of your life, but did you manage to hear Rovers fans on the Camac shouting to get off the pitch from your gantry position. Would only be a couple of metres away..

Too scared to go to Tesco, too scared to go to Dalymount, maybe you should bring your mammy to hold your hand, lol. God help you if you had to go to a major Derby in Europe or South America, youd pee your little pants.

Im done with you chiefo, obvious troll is obvious.

Calling me a troll is the easy way out. I see how you didn't explain the apparent neo-nazi salutes the supporters were giving at Oriel park when the gardaí were trying to push them back.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2010/0504/dundalk.html

See them for yourself

That's actually laughable.

The incident has been overblown.

Hasn't really been overblown at all IMO. I honestly think its not just what happened in Richmond on tuesday, its all the other events in recent months/years that are starting to catch up.
    As ever, the only major casualty of nonsense like this is the public image of Shamrock Rovers Football Club.

Having that real nice chap as a chairman doesn't help tbf. Also, him not condeming certain elements of your support doesn't help either.

It's weird, like, one minute the whole Tallaght Rovers thing looks great, new fans, happy atmosphere etc, and then it just gets ruined again by that element that yous have. Think yiz need to sort it out, and stop sweeping it under the carpet or blaming others for the incidents.

And yeah, I know, before you say it. Pats fans are no angels too.

...chairman...
    Thats untrue and libelous, I suggest you take it down.

Sweep that under the rug too, eh?

I've seen enough of him to know what he's like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,395 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

lmao at the lad afraid to go outside when football is on.

Neo-Nazi Salutes? :D:D:pac:

Oatesy23 wrote: »
    lmao at the lad afraid to go outside when football is on.

Neo-Nazi Salutes? :D:D:pac:

Have you read what I wrote, I said I felt unsafe and would generally avoid Phibsboro when there was a game on because I don't want to get caught in a running battle with thugs and the guards. Its called avoiding trouble.

Did you watch the report I linked? Perhaps you can explain the air punching ala Combat 18 as seen in the video??

avoid Phibsboro when there was a game on because I don't want to get caught in a running battle with thugs and the guards.

Man, that'd never ever happen.

This.

This.

Lads, ffs. I can think of far more dangerous things than calling someone a hooligan on an internet forum. Like, running 80 yards to pelt bottles at kids, perhaps?

Man, that'd never ever happen.

Ok maybe that might not happen, but I've seen lads get seven shades of shite getting kicked out of them outside the SC. I've seen passers by get spat at as well. Its just hassle I wanted to avoid.

Look, the way I see it is. Just go to a game. Guarantee you, you'll enjoy it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Once again I feel I should point out that there were no injuries, no arrests and this entire thing is being overhyped by those with an axe to grind against the club, the league and the game of football in Ireland.

Should it have happened? No. Should those involved in trouble (on both sides) be banned? Of course, but lets get a bit of perspective here. Liverpool fans are being stabbed, attacked and battered about the place by Italian fans right now in Napoli and yet that doesn't seem to have caused as much outcry on the football forum as a few dozen kids throwing shapes and empty coke bottles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭TangyZizzle

Have you read what I wrote, I said I felt unsafe and would generally avoid Phibsboro when there was a game on because I don't want to get caught in a running battle with thugs and the guards. Its called avoiding trouble.

Did you watch the report I linked? Perhaps you can explain the air punching ala Combat 18 as seen in the video??

Are you for real? I watched the video, I can think of plenty of times Iv seen crowds of people doing that.. and not just at football, at heavy metal concerts for a band fronted by a black dude. Ffs, get a grip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭bohsfan

I had a look at the video a few times- it's hard to distinguish much but all I can see are some people pumping fists up in the air, a pretty standard motion really among people who have allowed themselves to get worked up.

I'm not in any way excusing those people in the video. That kind of carry on should not be tolerated. But comparing their arm motions to 'Combat 18 type salutes' is way over the top and more than a little sensationalist, in my opinion

Like, running 80 yards to pelt bottles at kids, perhaps?

The first bottles came from the home stand. Just like the fact that bottles were thrown from the home stand in Oriel too but nobody cares about anything except the actions of our scrotes. I for one would be far more happy discussing the shortcoming of a small section of our support if other clubs (specifically Pats, Shels and Sligo) were not so blatant in their constant attempts to ignore wrongdoing elsewhere and constantly highlight misdemeanors on our side. It's only inevitable that it leads to defensiveness.

On the subject of pitch fights. Looks like Richmond wasn't the only place there was a bit of handbags at...(nicked from ultras forum with thanks)..

http://www.independent.ie/sport/hurling/bourke-stays-cool-to-deliver-decisive-blow-for-sarsfields-2383707.html

A generally poor game, played out in front of 6,826 spectators, finished in ugly fashion with a melee on the pitch after the final whistle and referee Seamus Roche appeared to be jostled as he tried to restore some order.

Floored

The final whistle sparked joyous celebrations from Thurles Sarsfields players, officials and spectators alike but one of their supporters was floored on the pitch before a bout of pushing and shoving broke out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭bohsfan

I felt unsafe and would generally avoid Phibsboro when there was a game on because I don't want to get caught in a running battle with thugs and the guards.

Feeling unsafe is fair enough. If you don't feel safe then avoid the area- nothing wrong with that. But insinuating that there are running battles between thugs and gardai in Phibsboro is again pretty sensationalist.

I have been to plenty of GAA games too, though rugby is more of my game and have never seen enforced segregated support at a GAA match. I have never seen a line of stewards protecting no-mans land at a GAA game.

Ever seen a ref getting attacked while trying to leave the pitch with a Gardai escort?

Are you for real? I watched the video, I can think of plenty of times Iv seen crowds of people doing that.. and not just at football, at heavy metal concerts for a band fronted by a black dude. Ffs, get a grip.

There is a difference between a crowd at a rock concert enjoying themselves, and a rioting football crowd thats being held back by police.

As regards stovelids post, would the GAA forum not be a more appropriate place for that, rather than a thread about the cup semi final? If its for comparison, its not comparing like for like, Intercounty GAA is the top flight of GAA, not club level, which has different problems - family rivalries and old scores to settle etc. Not excusing it, and the people that did that will be identified and hopefully sanction taken against them.

One can't help thinking of the difference between the last game of last season as well:

Pats win and stay up in the premier / Pat's supporters get on the pitch and approach the shed = zero comment and hand-wringing on this forum.

Rovers win and knock Pats out of the cup / Rovers supporters get on the pitch and approach the home end = comments and hand-wringing from all clubs on this forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Not just that but the season we were relegated they beat us in Inchicore and decided to invade the pitch and celebrate in front of us with one particular clown waving his 'I 8 Rovers' shirt about. Nothing said then either.

The rovers crowd must be commended then for keeping their cool then.

Although I can't recall that, I imagine thats when Rovers were at a low ebb, and only the true supporters were attending? They're flying high in the league and perhaps more recently they've began to attract a new more unsavoury crowd in addition to the stalwarts?

As regards stovelids post, would the GAA forum not be a more appropriate place for that, rather than a thread about the cup semi final? If its for comparison, its not comparing like for like, Intercounty GAA is the top flight of GAA, not club level, which has different problems - family rivalries and old scores to settle etc. Not excusing it, and the people that did that will be identified and hopefully sanction taken against them.

ali.jpg

ali.jpg

Not the case at all. As I said I'm more of a rugby person. I have no problem with the so called "garrison games" :p. If I did I've picked an awful place to live, squeezed between Stamford Bridge and Craven Cottage.

One can't help thinking of the difference between the last game of last season as well:

Pats win and stay up in the premier / Pat's supporters get on the pitch and approach the shed = zero comment and hand-wringing on this forum.

Rovers win and knock Pats out of the cup / Rovers supporters get on the pitch and approach the home end = comments and hand-wringing from all clubs on this forum.

Pats got on the pitch and celebrated with the players. There's a video I think.

Not that it really matters or anything.

Pats got on the pitch and celebrated with the players. There's a video I think.

Not that it really matters or anything.

Now you are just doing what you accuse Rovers fans of doing, sweeping your problems under the carpet. I suppose Pats fans werent throwing shapes at the Maldron last week either. Dont be a hypocrite.

I'm not though. We've banned loads over the last few years. I know this because I know the lads personally.

However, Pats fans didn't charge at the Shed last year.

Anyway, I'm not commenting anymore on this thread. G'luck.

thread - course -run

We have banned loads of people wouldnt call them fans, they only ever show up at rovers/linfield games. These are thugs from our catchment area I and others acknowledge that and our club/POB has banned a lot of people from Richmond. But we do acknowledge we have problems with people going to certain games. Every other game we play has no problems home or away.

Rovers have a problem infested within them they know it but do nothing about it or the usual "it was bigger boys made us do it" " they started it" "was outside the ground" "never happened"

Same ****e every time but thats the problem its not isolated it happens all the time not just in Grade A games but little games.

The Maldron incident you mention was 2 fold one was some rovers broke the cordon ran towards the luas and there was some scuffles, the 2nd was the main part of our vocal crowd leaving the ground and giving it loads "1 nil and you ****ed it up" etc meant more scuffles as the police could not contain both sets of fans.

The only problem there was your security let us out at the same time then held you on the road, **** all do with Pats or Rovers fans we both have issues us minor you major but at a grade A game we should not be allowed leave the ground at the same time.

10,000 people attended 2 matches showcasing the every brilliant aspect of the LOI, 5000 people bought tickets for a match in 48 hours, everything that happened on and off the pitch during those games was ****ing awesome, no way in hell anyone who doesnt go to matches would ever want to miss anything like that ever again but your fans ****ed it up (to tune of Little Lion Man).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

I'm sat here laughing at the suggestion that there are Combat 18 types in the LOI.:D

You aren't employed by TV3 or the Mail by any chance?:pac:

dreamers75.

Rovers played their part, but the kind of hyperactive nonsense like "stay out of Inchicore tonight" and that 200 people were down the Pats end is bull****. And so is the 'of course Pats lads reacted' bull****. Pats fans threw the first bottle, they enticed Rovers fans over for an ambush of bottles and they ran on the pitch. Pats had no stewards at all at the Pats end.

Ignore it all you like, focus on Rovers all you like, but don't expect Rovers fans to humour you.

I was in the shed that night and they advanced on the shed taunting the occupants. I can dig up the thread in question but I think one of the pats regulars on here actually praised the rovers support for not rising to the provocation.

I, for one, would be more willing to discuss our 'problem' more rationally if there wasn't a clear agenda in magnifying our issues and ignoring those of other clubs. At least here isn't as bad as fool.ie but it still exists. The enemies of the LOI lap it up too as evidenced by the thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 804 ✭✭✭paulcorr

I'm sat here laughing at the suggestion that there are Combat 18 types in the LOI.:D

You aren't employed by TV3 or the Mail by any chance?:pac:

Rovers fans young, old, male, female pump their arm and shout "Rovers Rovers Rovers" it has no combat 18 meaning its just a chant thats all and the pumping of the arm fits in with the chant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,470 ✭✭✭TheBigLebowski

The pats fans came right up to the 18yd line throwing shapes and all the usual shite on the last day of the season (very similar to the rovers boyos the other night). The difference between that and the other night was that the rovers fans on that occasion last season didn't react whereas the pats fans clearly did. A young lad did jump the fence last season to confront the pats fans until he realised he was on his own and the rest of the crowd were telling him to cop the fuck on. There was a few pats fans commending the rovers fans last season for not reacting to the pats pitch invasion and rightly so.

Listen, we can go with this nonsense - pats fans blaming rovers, rovers blaming pats fans and everyone blaming the guards. As is usual in these situations, the truth lies somewhere in between with none of the parties being completely blameless. Obviously the fact that the rovers fans went on the pitch was the start of it, but the vast majority were there to celebrate with the players, just as the majority of pats fans last season were doing the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Indeed, the kids who ran down in front of you didn't start ****ing things into the crowd!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

dreamers75.

Rovers played their part, but the kind of hyperactive nonsense like "stay out of Inchicore tonight" and that 200 people were down the Pats end is bull****. And so is the 'of course Pats lads reacted' bull****. Pats fans threw the first bottle, they enticed Rovers fans over for an ambush of bottles and they ran on the pitch. Pats had no stewards at all at the Pats end.

Ignore it all you like, focus on Rovers all you like, but don't expect Rovers fans to humour you.

This is what sums up the Shams. Absolute scum, even non LOI fans know it, yet posts like this just ignore what Shams are all about.

The Pat's fans 'enticed' the Shams fans down!!! :rolleyes: Jesus f*cking Christ, that's pathetic!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 804 ✭✭✭paulcorr

monkey9 wrote: »
    This is what sums up the Shams. Absolute scum, even non LOI fans know it, yet posts like this just ignore what Shams are all about.

The Pat's fans 'enticed' the Shams fans down!!! :rolleyes: Jesus f*cking Christ, that's pathetic!!

Who the hell are Shams you keep going on about ?