Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Worst experience with a doctor?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭policarp

I wanted to be a doctor once.
    Turned out I didn't have the patience.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭ebixa82

I had to go to the doctor last week. Pretty cute GP for a change..
    She took one look at me and said "Ok, I think you need to stop masturbating"
    "Why?" I exclaimed...
    "because I am trying to examine you!" says she...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭ebixa82

La_Gordy wrote: »
    I lived in France and was having some fanny issues. It wasn't the doctor's fault or anything, but I had to get naked from the waist down (which always emphasises just how naked you are) while a doctor that looked like me da and a young lad shoved a camera up ma vadge. I cried and cried and didn't speak French well enough to explain I was just frightened.
    You should use sexier words for your snatch in future...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Probably said already, i'm too lazy to check, worst experience was the bloody bill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

My worst was when he wouldn't put his finger in my ass.

Like I'm not ****ing good enough!?1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Susannahmia

When I was 7 I was very very sick over the christmas holidays. Couldnt keep anything down not even water. Mother took me to the doctor but there was a new guy in as a replacement, he examined me and told my mother that there was nothing much wrong with me at all and that I was just looking for attention.

Stayed the same for the next two days then my mother brought me to another doctor, I was promptly rushed to the hospital for serious dehydration and spent the next two weeks in hospital. Apparently I had like 10 different viruses at once.

What kind of kid fakes it during the christmas holidsys ffs!:rolleyes:

Oh just remembered that same doctor was the only doctor on call the night my granaunt had a heart attack. Rang him up and he said he couldnt come out because he had a cold.:mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 572 ✭✭✭cowhands

Pregnant during Christmas, a doctor decided to induce me 3 weeks early as I had "Itchy Moms"...4 days of labour, in hospital all over Christmas only to be told on Christmas eve by the consultant that I shouldnt have been induced at all but now that they have started theres no going back.

Jeez thanks lads, really really wanted to be in hospital over Christmas by accident.

Made me realise that doctors are only human too and to question everything throughly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭2 stroke

****ing prostate exam,

only lasted two minutes.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

Got an x-ray on my shoulder and looked at it with the doctor. I could see that my collarbone was floating an inch higher than the other one. He could see bruises. Got second opinion, severed ligament and the shoulder is damaged for life. Ape:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

Had an ear infection for a year and a half. Got prescribed antibiotics 3 times even though they never worked and I told her that I didn't really see the point.

After four or five appointments relating to the same infection at 55 euro a pop (when I was earning below minimum wage but not entitled to a medical card) I asked to be referred to an ear specialist because it was driving me crazy at that stage. She refused, saying that wouldn't make any difference. Her quote was "I have patients who have had chronic ear infections for years, you just have to get used to it". Never went back to her again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,015 ✭✭✭optogirl

My Da has tinitis -when he went to the doctor about the constant high pitched sound in his ears he said 'Well I hope it's playing a good tune'. Charming.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 631 ✭✭✭neil_18_

when she checked my symptoms on wikipedia :eek:

Injured my back when I was 14, went to the doctor, my mother told me to make sure the doctor was aware that I'm allergic to Ponstan. So I mentioned it, and was asked what happens when I take it. Explained the symptoms, so the doctor said she'd give me this other drug instead. Mefac. My ma took a look at the prescription and went nuts. Mefac is a generic brand of Ponstan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭rainbowdrop

Oatesy23 wrote: »
    A doctor once prescribed be penicillin when my file clearly stated I was allergic to it.

I almost died.

I don't go to hospitals or doctors now unless I am dying.

I'm allergic to penicillin also, and my dozy doctor prescribed it to me, even though its on my records that I shouldn't be given it. The same doctor also prescribed adult medicine to my then 6yr old daughter. Luckily, both times the pharmacist checked the prescription and realised they were wrong.

The doctor I'm talking about is the only GP in my (small) town, so you really have no choice but to go to him, but it's well known that he is crap. People have died around here because he didn't diagnose people correctly or soon enough (cancer etc.)

He's known around my town as Dr Death or Dr Shipman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭Hasmunch

Also have a doctor known locally as doctor death.
    He is one of three doctors in a practice.
    It can be like russin roulette going in there when you are sick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,018 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Went to a doctor with severe chest pains I was getting at night. Told me I was having phantom pains - 'are sure we all imagine things like this'. No examination no nothing. Kept happening so went back a second time. Same thing I was 'imagining' them.

Went to a different doctor who asked lots of indept question, did an examination and told me I was suffering from suppressed stress which fitted right in with what was happening in my life at that time.

'Ah sure we all imagine pains like these' - moron.

• Registered Users Posts: 453 ✭✭dashboard_hula

My consultant keeps on booking me in for a tonsillectomy even though I told him that I wanted to wait until he started operating out of the private hospital in January.
    At this point, I'm on first name terms with his secretary, and I just email him going "You've done it again...."
    I'd be worried if I didn't actually feel so comfortable with him, I think he's just a bit disorganised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Worst experience with a doctor - bad reaction to a tetanus jab :( Competent doc, just terrible few days. Haven't had any experience with bad doctors, just ignorant prats higher up, especially consultants who can be equal measure obnoxious and condescending.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

optogirl wrote: »
    My Da has tinitis -when he went to the doctor about the constant high pitched sound in his ears he said 'Well I hope it's playing a good tune'. Charming.

Hahaa, brilliant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭MingulayJohnny

I try to avoid allopathic medicine as much as I can. I used to get recurring ear infections about two or three times a year as a kid. I'd be brought to the doctor and he'd just sit there talking to my da about having his phone system upgraded and about local news for about half an hour. Eventually he'd reach into his drawer and give my da this powder for me to mix with water and drink. A GP also sent my grandmother home saying she had 'indigestion' when she'd actually had a heart attack. What annoys me about GP's is that they either can't or won't try to get to the root cause of an ailment. People need to educate themselves on proper nutrition , toxins and the side effects of the medications that they are taking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 283 ✭✭mikerowsopht

I went to the doc to because of a cold but he told me to take off my top, my bra and to get my tlt$ out.

So I whipped out me t1t$ and the doc says to me, your tlt$ look at if they need weighed.

I was wondering how this would fix my cold.

He proceeded to jiggle my breasts from underneath while saying.... wwweeeeiiiggggghhhhhhhh

right awl bastid he was

• Registered Users Posts: 252 ✭✭kiad

I got raped by Dr Congo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭Johnny Bitte

I was 7 when my parents couldnt wake me Sunday morning. :(

Bundled me up to the local GP who sent me to to Portlaoise Hellhole. :mad:

Menegitis they said, may do a Lumbar Puncture
    to find out how bad. :eek:

So tell my parents to feck of cause they cant be in there for it. :confused:

lovely nurse brings me into a room and up on a table. positions me into the fetal position and tells me I cannot move. So she leans on top of me and squeezes my head and legs together. :(

Then the on call dick head takes the ****ing needle and completely misses the target, sticking it into god knows what! The screams, oh the screams! :mad:
    Then, again and a second miss. All the time I m screaming in agony. ****ing ****er.:mad:

So bent over double for the next day until the "real" doctor arrives. :(

Didn't even feel the thing go in. First guy was just training and they let him do it on he's own. :rolleyes:

Now that I think of it, how long are medical records kept?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

2 stroke wrote: »
    ****ing prostate exam,
    Username: 2 Stroke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 734 ✭✭✭twinsen

Went to the doctor with a temperature like 41. He said: "Oh its just a flu". Drink lemsip every 5 hours". Ten hours later when temperature went to 4.5 I lost consciousness, my girlfriend called emergency. Spend 7 days in a hospital.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭galah

where do I start?

went to a doctor for blood tests, suspected haemochromatosis - blood tests came back, wanted to talk to doctor, receptionist turns around and says 'ah nah, she's gone, she was only an intern'. :eek::eek::eek:

Oh yeah, and the company "doctor", who, after I complained about shoulder pain (due to strain, still dunno what caused it), told me I should giving up my job. Nice one. Suffice to say they're not the company doctor anymore.

Hubby went in to hospital with appendicitis (and spent 24 hours on a trolley, but that's a different rant) - got operated on, and had to come back 4 days later cause the fecker damaged something else while operating, and then denied responsibility.

the doctor, who, after I described hubbys symptoms the last time (he was nearly dieing, fever, badly swollen joints, chest pain, couldnt move at all and hardly breathe) and asked her for a house visit, said she couldnt come out, dragged hubby to the doctor (he crawled through the door) - turned around and said 'ah sure, why didnt you say he was THAT bad, you shouldnt have come, but asked for a callout, he needs to go to hospital straight away'. B*tch. And when I said to her that I told her that on the phone, said 'hm, a lot of people will claim that they're really ill, and then just have a cold'. WTF???

The father of a friend was diagnosed with 'tennis elbow' - and almost died of a heart attack had not a second doctor called it correctly.

Friend of mine had severe endometriosis, undiagnosed for 10 years - because you don't have proper gyno examinations here. Went to a GP to get the pill - and was shocked that I didn't actually get a 'full' check up including smear, internal ultrasound and breast exam - that's the minimum you get in other countries, from a fairly young age. Was told that they don't do that here unless there's already something wrong, because women wouldn't put up with it for 'privavcy's sake. And then die of cancer cause problems remain undiagnosed until it's too late. F*ck decorum, if it means I live longer.

ah, the memories. Now I only go to the doctor if I am close to death. Sick of the 'standards' here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Told me I wasn't pregnant, turned out I was...

50/50 innit!:D

• Registered Users Posts: 7,018 ✭✭✭conorhal

I used to go to an incredibly patronizing and arrogant fecker that exemplified poor patient care. He once answered his mobile phone mid exam, (his wife was a doctor in the practice also) and in the most condescending and impatient tone you ever heard said "well tell her that in THIS practice WE don't prescribe generics"

It left me quietly thinking to myself, since your relationship with the drug company reps you play golf with is clearly more important to you then your relationship with your patients (the people that pay for your golf club memberships) I'll be finding myself another doctor, because paying for your Lexus is in fact NOT the sole reason I’m sitting here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

Waiting in A&E for 9 hours with a broken wrist
    the system is ****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭ChainWhip

Doctor, Doctor, I feel like a pair of curtains.

"Pull yourself together"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Billy Connelly says you know you're getting old when the doctor looses interest in your balls and starts sticking his finger up your ass instead. Not looking forward to that...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

sesna wrote: »
    You didnt tell the intial doctor you were allergic to penicillin ? :confused:
    I wasn't aware of it as I was never prescribed it before then. The specialist said that the GP should have copped it when he noticed the rash and further increase in temperature..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

I wasn't aware of it as I was never prescribed it before then. The specialist said that the GP should have copped it when he noticed the rash and further increase in temperature..
    If it was your 1st time being prescribed penicillin then it wasn't the doctors fault. Only way of knowing is if you get an allergic reaction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭The After Hours Troll

**** myself in the waiting room after 3 hours. Fairly embarrassing.

• Registered Users Posts: 242 ✭✭Ghetto Cornetto

kiad wrote: »
    I got raped by Dr Congo

Oh god I'm fúcking going to hell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

Was on Holidays abroad, had a major toothache during it... went to the dentist [they're doctors too!], suggested to extract the tooth... pulls out, literally, a nasty rusty looking plier [the ones from your tool box].

I just stood up, stormed out telling em to f-- off.

• Registered Users Posts: 233 ✭✭andala

galah wrote: »
    a 'full' check up including smear, internal ultrasound and breast exam - that's the minimum you get in other countries, from a fairly young age. Was told that they don't do that here unless there's already something wrong, because women wouldn't put up with it for 'privavcy's sake. And then die of cancer cause problems remain undiagnosed until it's too late. F*ck decorum, if it means I live longer.

I hear ye. Where I come from we're used to going to the gyn from our teens, at least once a year. I was surprised learning it's not the case here. Sometimes it's only thanks to internal examination that you know there's something wrong with you (like erosion of the walls that should be burnt or frozen).

Anyway, it was hil;arious for me when I was pregnant (about 30 weeks) and demanded to be examined internally to know if my cervix is still good etc The gyn was surprised but since I insisted, he called a nurse who brought a desk lamp. I was nearly pissing myself laughing, lying on a regular bed and having the nurse hold the desk lamp to lighten my private parts. It felt weird that a country as well-off as Ireland would not have proper gyn chairs for examinations.

What always drives me mad is when I go to my gp and the examination takes about 2 minutes from the time we exchange hellos to his printing out the prescription.

We've got this joke going here that in Ireland you only get 2 kinds of medication: paracetamol or augumentin...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭AAAAAAAHHH

where do I start?

went to a doctor for blood tests, suspected haemochromatosis - blood tests came back, wanted to talk to doctor, receptionist turns around and says 'ah nah, she's gone, she was only an intern'. :eek::eek::eek:

Oh yeah, and the company "doctor", who, after I complained about shoulder pain (due to strain, still dunno what caused it), told me I should giving up my job. Nice one. Suffice to say they're not the company doctor anymore.

Hubby went in to hospital with appendicitis (and spent 24 hours on a trolley, but that's a different rant) - got operated on, and had to come back 4 days later cause the fecker damaged something else while operating, and then denied responsibility.

the doctor, who, after I described hubbys symptoms the last time (he was nearly dieing, fever, badly swollen joints, chest pain, couldnt move at all and hardly breathe) and asked her for a house visit, said she couldnt come out, dragged hubby to the doctor (he crawled through the door) - turned around and said 'ah sure, why didnt you say he was THAT bad, you shouldnt have come, but asked for a callout, he needs to go to hospital straight away'. B*tch. And when I said to her that I told her that on the phone, said 'hm, a lot of people will claim that they're really ill, and then just have a cold'. WTF???

The father of a friend was diagnosed with 'tennis elbow' - and almost died of a heart attack had not a second doctor called it correctly.

Friend of mine had severe endometriosis, undiagnosed for 10 years - because you don't have proper gyno examinations here. Went to a GP to get the pill - and was shocked that I didn't actually get a 'full' check up including smear, internal ultrasound and breast exam - that's the minimum you get in other countries, from a fairly young age. Was told that they don't do that here unless there's already something wrong, because women wouldn't put up with it for 'privavcy's sake. And then die of cancer cause problems remain undiagnosed until it's too late. F*ck decorum, if it means I live longer.

ah, the memories. Now I only go to the doctor if I am close to death. Sick of the 'standards' here.

Your last two paragraphs don't add up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

AAAAAAAHHH wrote: »
    That's 'cause they're words, not numbers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭galah

AAAAAAAHHH wrote: »

sorry, should have mentioned that I only go to doctors IN IRELAND when i'm close to death. I continue to get my routine gyn checkups in Germany.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

sorry, should have mentioned that I only go to doctors IN IRELAND when i'm close to death. I continue to get my routine gyn checkups in Germany.

I can confirm my wife is in the same position. She had some gyn issues recently and the standard of care was appalling. She keeps a bag packed now for a quick run to the airport for a flight to Germany for medical treatment in future.

The doctors aren't the problem though, it's the entire health system and 'administration' red tape BS is. The equipment is appalling too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Worst experience was a prostate exam.....wouldn't mind I only went in with a swollen ankle :p:D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭fakearms123

Iain speaks frantically into the phone, 'My wife is pregnant, and her contractions are only two minutes apart.'

'Is this her first child?' the doctor queries.

'No, you idiot.' Iain shouts. 'This is her husband.'

Doctors told me they would perform routine bronchoscopy on my Mother. The ****ers killed her. She never came out of the room. But Im going after the Cnuts. They better believe that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭policarp

Never going again.
    The nurses held me down while the doctor went through my pockets.

First can of Dr. Pepper, disgusting stuff altogether.

Tastes like someone put the cherry side of a Double-Dip into
    a bottle of Cadet Cola.