Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Your Type of Holiday

• 15-10-2010 1:13pm
    Registered Users Posts: 156 ✭✭

Interested in what people do for there annual leave/holidays, what type of holidays they go on. I have done all sorts of holidays but find sailing holidays bloody class. I go on Tall Ships mostly and have sailed around most of Europe.

What sort of holidays are you interested in 80 votes

18-30 holidays to resort, booze, puking, bad food and the odd ride
    0% 0 votes
    I like to see the country around these resorts but stay away from the puking and bad food
    18% 15 votes
    I like big metropolitan cities with my partner
    16% 13 votes
    Interailing is my thing
    27% 22 votes
    Big adventure holidays (sailing, tornado chasing)
    7% 6 votes
    Anywhere cheap, I dont care
    13% 11 votes
    I spend my annual leave doing voluntary work i.e scouting
    3% 3 votes
    Family Holidays
    1% 1 vote
    Driving Holidays
    6% 5 votes
    I'll go anywhere I am not too pushed regarding cost or location
    5% 4 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭strokemyclover

Easy Sailor!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,900 ✭✭✭Quality

Too much hard work for me sailor boy..

give me sun, sea, sangria and sexy time and thats a holiday for me!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I don't really like resorts. Usually when I holiday abroad I spend a few nights in different cities

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

What do you mean the odd ride?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,257 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

Should be a multiple choice poll. I'd say a mixture of driving and metropolitan cities with my wife.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Sykk wrote: »
    What do you mean the odd ride?

something to ride on i guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

That's not the best poll Captain Birds Eye

• Registered Users Posts: 263 ✭✭not1but4

Went on a lads holiday a few years ago to Salou for two weeks. NEVER AGAIN nearly killed myself at the end of it.

Next time I went on holidays with a different group of friends, went to a tiny town in Portugal and we where the only ones who spoke Engish. Trying to order food was a lot of fun. Also went surfing and did a tour around the out back. Great craic.

Never going to them resort ever again!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Kimono-Girl

i love theme parks! i've been to some of the biggest in the world! :D

for the foreseeable future it's family holidays though! but they are fun too! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

irish-stew wrote: »
    something to ride on i guess.

Should have bolded odd. Jaysus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

Last year and this year, I spent what little holidays I have at home... reading, gardening, pottering about the house fixing the little thing you never really get round to doing.

I have to say, they were the most relaxing and satisfying holidays I ever had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

18-30 holidays to resort, booze, puking, bad food and the odd ride

This :cool: :p

Went to Crete this year and that was pretty much what happened for the 2weeks.

• Registered Users Posts: 337 ✭✭pearliefan

Where does a skiing holiday fall?? Under 'Adventure holiday'? Because that's my ideal holiday!! :)

OP if you've done everything else try some touring on bicycles, you won't regret it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭cynder

Family holidays with my hubby and 3 kids, Going to egypt in May all inclusive and seeing the pyramids, taking my mom with me too.

I do like going to alton towers with my eldest daughter(11), her dad hate the rides and heights, but i love them.

Would love to go white river rafting in canada and skiiing but that will have to wait till the little ones are bigger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

Love going on road trip type holidays, all around the place. Like to stick to rural type areas.

Best holiday I've ever been on was with my family a few years ago in Vermont, U.S.A.
    The most amazing place I've ever seen!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,046 ✭✭✭✭bnt

I normally try to "go native", stay in the city and use public transport etc., which has had an interesting side effect. Every time I've been to a foreign city, I've been taken for a native and asked for directions etc. It even happened in Malaga this year, when a Spanish girl asked me about the train timetable - in Spanish - this despite being an area with a lots of British and German tourists.

(Friends took out a timeshare down the Costa Del Sol this year, so I actually did the "tourist" thing for the first time ever, lazing on the beach and cruising down the highways in a rented convertible. :cool: )

Ye Hypocrites, are these your pranks
    To murder men and gie God thanks?
    Desist for shame, proceed no further
    God won't accept your thanks for murder.

―Robert Burns

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Asphyxia

Definitely interailing :D you get to see a whole country or some main places in lots of countries :D Staying in hostels are fun and you can meet some great people along the way. I don't just like sun holidays I want to see everywhere! My main dream is to travel around Asia but I have to save a lot first unfortunately :(

I love to see the sights, eating the food, going shopping, meeting the people and check out the night life (I can't stay on the beach the whole time I would go mad) it's nice to get away with a group or even your partner still not brave enough to venture anywhere on my own :)

I have a few places lined up for next year nothing special just France, Manchester and Italy... so excited to just get out of Ireland :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Missing one on the poll: Trail hoilidays.

Trailing down Egypt's Nile, China's Silk route or the paths and buildings of the Inca's - thats my holidays.

• Registered Users Posts: 263 ✭✭not1but4

..alton towers...

...white river rafting..

Done both with the white water rafting most recent being a true paddy I forgot to put on sun cream and got completely burned :rolleyes: even though I didnt fall out of the raft I opted to go down some of the rapids without the raft which resulted me smacking my tail bone off a big rock :(

Next thing I have to do is interrailing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I detest being sergeant majored around a holiday to do activities and visit shit.

I'm a philistine: I'm always happier to holiday in a major city and aimlessly stroll around soaking in the feel of the place; shopping and idling in cafes and bars.

• Registered Users Posts: 156 ✭✭Mankyspuds

That's not the best poll Captain Birds Eye

I am just trying to get an idea of what people do is all. What do you do on your holidays? Do you spend your time dishing out sarky comments on public forums whilst skyping your Evony Clan buddies from your parents attic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

I like city breaks the most, I think. But as cheesy as this is, as long as I'm with people I love, it's all good. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

eoin wrote: »
    Should be a multiple choice poll. I'd say a mixture of driving and metropolitan cities with my wife.

Ditto, metropolitan cities, driving and eoins wife

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Mixture of adventure and road trip type holidays. I don't drink, so booze holidays are out and am not couldn't be arsed sitting in the sun all day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

Either sun sea sand and sangria holidays or just relaxing ones that aren't any holiday in particular...or just a city break kinda holiday love sight seeing! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

I love city breaks, four or five days in a city like New York (Manhattan mostly), Reykjavik, Paris, Barcelona etc for sight-seeing and shopping.

For a proper holiday however I love a proper sun holiday, somewhere a bit upmarket, either a villa with a private pool or a small tropical island with lovely beaches giving good privacy, not much to do except read good books, eat good food and drink nice wines or beers.

My worst nightmare is an 18-30s clubbing 'Yay, we're all havin' it large coz we're so mad!' holiday in a tacky resort with nothing but chav-types getting plastered and young ones screaming and shouting on their way home from 'da clubs' at 4 in the morning. Urgh!
    /shivers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 283 ✭✭mikerowsopht

Mankyspuds wrote: »
    Interested in what people do for there annual leave/holidays, what type of holidays they go on. I have done all sorts of holidays but find sailing holidays bloody class. I go on Tall Ships mostly and have sailed around most of Europe.

are you from D4 ? lllllllloooooooiiiiiiikkkkkkkeeeeee ya know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Prefere city breaks to sun holidays, but the last "holidays" i've been on have been as a scout leader, so i voted that.

are you from D4 ? lllllllloooooooiiiiiiikkkkkkkeeeeee ya know?

quite the opposite mate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

Ever since I went interrailing on my own when I was 20 it's the only way to travel. Spent 5 weeks wandering around different cities and countries sometimes going days without speaking except to order food. Then in the good hostels meeting some great people from all over the world and partying like crazy. I loved that trip more than anything.

Since then I've done eastern Europe with friends and Croatia too. Generally don't book ahead or plan so if someone tells you about a nice place you can just head there in your own time. No matter where I've gone I've always found a bed so wouldn't even think to book ahead anymore.

Despite being in 23 countries I still haven't been out of Europe so I have to sort that out but I'm a useless saver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

I love road trips, especially living where I live now. An hour north and I'm in the mountains, full of beautiful scenery in the summer and skiing in the winter. An hour south and its the desert.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,847 ✭✭✭HavingCrack

Been on one lads holiday-eugh, never again, I got seriously bored of lying by the pool and drinking after one day.

Visiting cities in autumn and winter is my preferance over heat funnily enough.

Oh and skiing of course :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 110 ✭✭chiefbrody1974

Mankyspuds wrote: »

"Sailing holidays are bloody class, oh hurrah!!!" slaps his frat boys on the arse, ohhhhh, kinky, - said with franky howard type voice!!

but seriously, Im going to new zealand in december for a month, abel tasmin, marlborough etc. Its my first holiday to the southern hemisphere. Ive been to mexico, barbados, greek islands and then all the usual other pulling resorts, ahhhhh my twenties!!!!!

But so far my favourite holiday ever was hiring a car and driving accross sardinia to Costa smeralda, google it, it's beautiful. Beaches that would wipe the carribean out. Plently of boats too, you would love it if you like sailing. I like beaches but not the ones on the med, cramped with dickheads and full of poxy pub laden prominades!! (hope i spelled that right)!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

Holidays that involve doing something as opposed to sitting around by a pool. If I go to a foreign country, I want to see that country. Not a small, square kilometer of it.

"Sailing holidays are bloody class, oh hurrah!!!" slaps his frat boys on the arse, ohhhhh, kinky, - said with franky howard type voice!!

but seriously, Im going to new zealand in december for a month, abel tasmin, marlborough etc. Its my first holiday to the southern hemisphere. Ive been to mexico, barbados, greek islands and then all the usual other pulling resorts, ahhhhh my twenties!!!!!

But so far my favourite holiday ever was hiring a car and driving accross sardinia to Costa smeralda, google it, it's beautiful. Beaches that would wipe the carribean out. Plently of boats too, you would love it if you like sailing. I like beaches but not the ones on the med, cramped with dickheads and full of poxy pub laden prominades!! (hope i spelled that right)!!

LOL on the Franky Howard. New Zealand is suppossed to be kickass from what I hear. Deffo on my to do list. Only do the sailing lark for the heavy seas, mad adrenaline rush.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

Dónal wrote: »
    OP if you've done everything else try some touring on bicycles, you won't regret it.

and on that note where's the option for other :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

Family holidays with my hubby and 3 kids, Going to egypt in May all inclusive and seeing the pyramids, taking my mom with me too.

I do like going to alton towers with my eldest daughter(11), her dad hate the rides and heights, but i love them.

Would love to go white river rafting in canada and skiiing but that will have to wait till the little ones are bigger.
    DO IT
    I went in Colorado, it was brilliant. It was 40 degrees as well, so the water was refreshing.
    I want to explore America, it's so big and diverse. I have to say I love cities, and I despise the cold-hot weather all the way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,617 ✭✭✭Cat Melodeon

Would also like an option for other!

I like holidays in places that are well off the tourist trail. We're lucky to have made a lot of friends when we lived outside of Ireland who still invite us to visit them in their home countries. Best trip doing this was a month in Kazakhstan. We stayed with our friend in his mum's flat, met & socialised with his friends. They took us mad places, we climbed glaciers, went driving off-trail, hiked along the Kyrgystan border, stayed at a Soviet-era space observatory, hiked out in the desert, hung out in local bars and cafes, had a very very good time that we couldn't possibly have had without our friend.

I'm not really into 'adventure' holidays (I'll hike but I'm a bit too scaredy for anything beyond that or horse-riding). Staying in a crowded resort would be hell on earth. Went on a week long holiday with friends a few years ago and the whole week was like 3am outside Coppers, but with the sun shining and slightly more (burnt) flesh on display.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

it comes down to who im going with really.

With the lads, yeah its get off your face for a few days, but id do things during the day too. Did tenerife and ibiza this year (nowhere tops ibiza). did vegas last year with them-amazing.

With someone else or a small group, city breaks or backpacking would be my choice. get to see the sights, culture, tours etc and "sample" the local beers at night. I brought my late mother to New York and Rome,2 places she dreamt of going, saw absolutely everything whereas if i was with the lads a few mornings would have been lost to hangovers.

next up.....asia,oz,south america.dying to do a 2 week big kid holiday in florida though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭losthorizon

I like to go away, see and do things. So, for me two weeks in a resort would drive me crazy.

The two most outstanding places ive been were Iceland and Chile.

However having travelled all over the place I think everywhere is interesting.

The Friendliest People - the Bosnian Muslims

From a historical point of view the Central European cities of Budapest (and Hungarys a great country), Vienna and Prague cant be beaten. Germany is just beside them which you could go back to again and again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,565 ✭✭✭southsiderosie

I either like to go really heart-of-the-city urban or super rural - like no internet, see-all-the-stars off the grid rural. One of my better trips involved both: 4 days in the Amazon where there were no roads, only rivers, and we had to take a boat upstream for an hour to get to the little eco-hotel, followed by 4 days in Rio on Copacabana beach.