Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RTE's Champions League Coverage

• 15-10-2010 3:28pm
    Registered Users Posts: 4,629 ✭✭✭

I see this Wednesday they are once again snubbing Spurs to show Man U vs Bursaspor?

I have to say the lack of coverage giving to us since we qualified is nothing short of disgusting, total lip service. There's been no analysis from their much vaunted "panel" on Tottenham. they showed the goals from the Twente match and talked about Man U after it ffs.:mad:

In these recessionary times some of us cannot afford Sky anymore.

Most neutrals would rather watch Spurs vs inter on Wednesday in any case , RTE are a disgrace imo.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,776 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

I think setanta ireland are showing the match anyways. I'm disappointed as well like, hopefully they'll show our match at home vs Inter but I somehow doubt it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

RTE will always show the game that will get the most viewers, nothing to do with bias or being a disgrace.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,322 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Get more people to support Spurs.

If RTE show the Spurs game and ITV have Man United, RTE's viewing figures would go down the toilet. People don't want to watch them. If United are playing, United fans will watch it in the hope of watching them win, while Chelsea, Arsenal and Liverpool fans will watch hoping to see them lose.

Not many people care about Spurs.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,153 ✭✭✭everdead.ie

It's frustrating and I actually remember an article after our last match when a guy was going round London trying to find a pub showing the spurs v twente game and outside of Haringey they were all showing Utd.
    But it's just supply and demand really

• Registered Users Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭Dublin Spur

mike65 wrote: »
    RTE will always show the game that will get the most viewers, nothing to do with bias or being a disgrace.

But they are not a commercial channel they are a service provider

I think it's embarressing for them that they will show Man Utd game before all the others.

It just shows how small time they are.

**** them

• Registered Users Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭WesternZulu

I think it's embarressing for them that they will show Man Utd game before all the others.

**** them

I know it's a spurs form but if thats the way you want RTE to go, then they should show the best tie of the night, regardless of it being a premiership team or not involved.

I know as a neutral a few weeks ago i would have loved to see AC vs Ajax but thats never going to happen on RTE as they will always hold a candle to the English teams. It is after all a guaranteed way of getting viewing figures.

You cannot say RTE are biased towards united/arsenal/chelsea, complaining because they don't show Spurs...they want viewers.
    If they did not care and it was all about purely football then we would not see much of the English teams till the knockout stages.
    I wish they did it that way.

• Registered Users Posts: 858 ✭✭✭RichMc70

There's only two teams who get serious coverage in the irish media and that's Man U. and Liverpool. Has been the same as long as I can remember.

To be fair though, the british media isn't much better. If you have Sky Sports and ESPN you could see virtually every Man U game live throughout the whole season. It all stems back from the munich air disaster IMO.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

**** them

If they are a service provider Shane they should be spending their €1m PL budget on the national league. That they don't is due to commercial considerations, more people want English football.

The same reasoning explains their choice of United over Spurs.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,032 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

Lads, he'll just have to get used to it. There have been plenty of times when Arsenal have been completely snubbed by all the terrestrial channels, nevermind RTE and trust me, if ye don't come out of this tie favourably, ye'll be glad Dunphy isn't there to lambast ye. United, Liverpool and now even Chelsea seem to get a preference. I'll be watching the Spurs game anyway, should be good.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,153 ✭✭✭everdead.ie

One thing I have been delighted by is both games seemed to be far better then the united game so far hopefully that continues :)

• Registered Users Posts: 535 ✭✭✭WHL

The game is being shown live on ITV. I am fairly sure that UPC show that channel and if you have Sky (without sport) you can pick it up through Other Channels. As for me, looking forward to watching it on HD on my Freesat TV :)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,734 ✭✭✭Mr. Guappa

I remember RTE showing an United second-string in a meaningless final group game a few years back, with plenty of meaningful fixtures to choose from. RTE will show whatever match gets ratings, which means United 99% of the time - it's similar for Liverpool. If we were playing the same night as Chelsea/Arsenal there is a better chance they would have shown a couple of our games.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭yiddo59

Like it or not man u are the biggest supported team in Ireland so RTE will always show them. Personally I couldn't give a toss what channel Spurs game is on as long as it's available on some channel.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,395 ✭✭✭Hatch99

yiddo59 wrote: »
    Like it or not man u are the biggest supported team in Ireland so RTE will always show them. Personally I couldn't give a toss what channel Spurs game is on as long as it's available on some channel.

• Registered Users Posts: 126 ✭✭Jmcc001

yes lads the match is on utv :D better pundits if u ask me i cant take the sh1t they have on rte

if any of youse need the codes for itv on sky let me know

• Registered Users Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭tippspur

Jmcc001 wrote: »
    yes lads the match is on utv :D better pundits if u ask me i cant take the sh1t they have on rte

if any of youse need the codes for itv on sky let me know
    Is the Inter game on ITV 1 for def jmcc001 ?

• Registered Users Posts: 535 ✭✭✭WHL

It is on ITV. Saw it advertised during the week. I think that the build-up is on ITV4 from 7pm and coverage on ITV1 starts at 7.30
    COYS

• Registered Users Posts: 246 ✭✭Hearvee

http://liveonsat.com/LJsport_foot_uefa_CL.php

liveonsat.com has Inter-Spurs listed on ITV1 and UlsterTV, so that's good enough for me.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,629 ✭✭✭golfball37

No harm letting RTE know all the same.

I sent a stinker to complaints@rte.ie and got a response that they forwarded it on to Sports dept.

Unless we let them know they'll do nothing about it.

Thieir premiership highlights on Saturday showed a stat that ALex McLeish has never beaten one of the big 4 ffs, what big 4 would that be???:mad:

golfball37 wrote: »
    Thieir premiership highlights on Saturday showed a stat that ALex McLeish has never beaten one of the big 4 ffs, what big 4 would that be???:mad:

It doesn't include Spurs.

L'prof wrote: »
    It doesn't include Spurs.

I like your posts on the SF, but I suggest you read this forum charter in full.

Ta.

golfball37 wrote: »
    No harm letting RTE know all the same.

I sent a stinker to complaints@rte.ie and got a response that they forwarded it on to Sports dept.

Unless we let them know they'll do nothing about it.

TBH, you should man the fúck up.

I like your posts on the SF, but I suggest you read this forum charter in full.

Ta.

The charter specifically says that I can't confirm the fact that Spurs aren't considered to be part of the big 4? Give me a break! His post was ridiculous, maybe I should have expanded a bit, but I didn't think his post deserved that.

L'prof wrote: »
    The charter specifically says that I can't confirm the fact that Spurs aren't considered to be part of the big 4? Give me a break! His post was ridiculous, maybe I should have expanded a bit, but I didn't think his post deserved that.

Taken to PM.

• Registered Users Posts: 284 ✭✭Wendell Gee

Found this elsewhere on boards
    Hope it is still valid
    I've them a while
    Tuning in extra channels: BBC, ITV, Ch4, E4, More4 (and now FIVE)

The following channels are now all available via satellite FTA (Free To Air), meaning no card is required, just tune it in and you can watch away. (The many UK regional variations are also available and are found generally on the same frequencies as the Irish versions).

Channel Name Frequency Polarisation Symbol Rate F.E.C.
    -
    BBC ONE NI 10.773 H 22000 5/6
    BBC TWO NI 10.803 H 22000 2/3
    BBC THREE 10.773 H 22000 5/6
    BBC FOUR 10.773 H 22000 5/6
    BBC HD 10.847 H 22000 5.6
    -
    UTV 10.906 V 22000 5/6
    ITV 2 10.758 V 22000 5/6
    ITV 2+1 10.891 H 22000 5/6
    ITV 3 10.906 V 22000 5/6
    ITV 3+1 10.906 V 22000 5/6
    ITV 4 10.758 V 22000 5/6
    ITV 4+1 10.832 H 22000 5/6
    ITV HD (see * below) 11.428 H 27500 2/3
    -
    Channel 4 10.714 H 22000 5/6
    Channel 4 +1 10.729 V 22000 5/6
    Channel 4 HD (see below) 11.798 H 29500 3/4
    E4 10.729 V 22000 5/6
    E4 +1 10.729 V 22000 5/6
    More 4 10.729 V 22000 5/6
    More 4 +1 10.714 H 22000 5/6
    Film 4 10.714 H 22000 5/6
    Film 4 +1 10.714 H 22000 5/6
    -
    FIVE 10.773 H 22000 5/6
    FIVE USA (see below) 10.964 H 22000 5/6
    FIVE USA +1 (see below) 10.964 H 22000 5/6
    FIVER (see below 10.964 H 22000 5/6
    FIVER +1(see below) 10.964 H 22000 5/6

• Registered Users Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭keane=cock

Found this elsewhere on boards
    Hope it is still valid
    I've them a while
    Tuning in extra channels: BBC, ITV, Ch4, E4, More4 (and now FIVE)

The following channels are now all available via satellite FTA (Free To Air), meaning no card is required, just tune it in and you can watch away. (The many UK regional variations are also available and are found generally on the same frequencies as the Irish versions).

Channel Name Frequency Polarisation Symbol Rate F.E.C.
    -
    BBC ONE NI 10.773 H 22000 5/6
    BBC TWO NI 10.803 H 22000 2/3
    BBC THREE 10.773 H 22000 5/6
    BBC FOUR 10.773 H 22000 5/6
    BBC HD 10.847 H 22000 5.6
    -
    UTV 10.906 V 22000 5/6
    ITV 2 10.758 V 22000 5/6
    ITV 2+1 10.891 H 22000 5/6
    ITV 3 10.906 V 22000 5/6
    ITV 3+1 10.906 V 22000 5/6
    ITV 4 10.758 V 22000 5/6
    ITV 4+1 10.832 H 22000 5/6
    ITV HD (see * below) 11.428 H 27500 2/3
    -
    Channel 4 10.714 H 22000 5/6
    Channel 4 +1 10.729 V 22000 5/6
    Channel 4 HD (see below) 11.798 H 29500 3/4
    E4 10.729 V 22000 5/6
    E4 +1 10.729 V 22000 5/6
    More 4 10.729 V 22000 5/6
    More 4 +1 10.714 H 22000 5/6
    Film 4 10.714 H 22000 5/6
    Film 4 +1 10.714 H 22000 5/6
    -
    FIVE 10.773 H 22000 5/6
    FIVE USA (see below) 10.964 H 22000 5/6
    FIVE USA +1 (see below) 10.964 H 22000 5/6
    FIVER (see below 10.964 H 22000 5/6
    FIVER +1(see below) 10.964 H 22000 5/6

was valid when i tried it last season. was about to search it when i seen someone post about the codes for itv

• Registered Users Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭irelandspurs

YID ARMY :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭mickman

TBH, you should man the fúck up.

bit of respect for forum members please

mickman wrote: »
    bit of respect for forum members please

You keep banging that drum, good lad...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭mickman

You keep banging that drum, good lad...

dont see why you should call for respect for all spurs players if you cant respect your fellow forum members