Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Do you ever get your name called out on the radio?

• 17-10-2010 12:14am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭

I often hear people being called out on the radio by name especially on the weekend and it got me thinking do that many people listen to the radio when their out having the craic??

Never done it myself nor do I know anyone who has but each to their own and all that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

It is ridiculously easy to get your name called out on Tipp FM
    Send a text in and you are pretty much guranteed to get announced.
    Well driving from Nenagh to the the Ragg near Thurlus at weekends, may as well text in while you are gettting there, it's a bit of a drive.

Won an ipod on Off the Ball of Newstalk once, that's a national station now.
    Producer rang me up after the show.
    Brilliant :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

How'd you mean?
    Like "this song is dedicated to John and Mary"
    or
    "Guards would like to speak to John in relation to the robbery of porn last weekend"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I texted Adrian Kennedy once calling his co presenter a prick and he read it out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

I was at work one day and LMFM was on (sadly), heard my name get called out as the winner to something, but it wasnt me :mad: some other tit had the exact same name. What are the odds :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,409 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

Had a few texts read out on Sean Moncrieff show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

the best texters are the ones that text into sean moncrieff on newstalk.
    pope marmalade, the earl of rochester, sniffles mcgonigle, the desperate housewife and so on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭GAAman

I did once, was taking my little sister to a Dublin match we were in a taxi and the radio was on. I was talking to the driver and half heard a message announced "wants to thank her brother for taking her to the Dubs match" and i turned around to my sister and said "now isnt that nice someone thanking their brother for taking them to the match!!"

It was my sister who had txtd in :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭chordtype

I've had Russell Brand call out my name a few times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

KeithM89 wrote: »
    heard my name get called out as the winner to something, but it wasnt me :mad: some other tit had the exact same name. What are the odds :(

well that sort of makes you a tit too no :o

Saila wrote: »
    well that sort of makes you a tit too no :o

Touché :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

I sent newstalk a text calling Ken Earley a bollocks and they read it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭jay-me

But I mean on a Friday and Saturday night when your out having the craic:confused: Why would you be listening to the radio??

jay-me wrote: »
    But I mean on a Friday and Saturday night when your out having the craic:confused: Why would you be listening to the radio??

says the guy at home on the net.
    oh wait...

says the guy at home on the net.
    oh wait...
    I'm in work.:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Never on the radio, but my picture was on The Den four times on my birthday.:cool:

Coulda been cos me parents knew a fella in RTÉ.:pac:

baz2009 wrote: »
    Never on the radio, but my picture was on The Den four times on my birthday.:cool:

That was the worst part of that show, - i hated it so much id turn over to 'live at 3' then turn back :mad:

baz2009 wrote: »

Reminds me of the Beano:rolleyes: The amount of times I sent in comics and pictures to them that never came up in an issue:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

KeithM89 wrote: »
    That was the worst part of that show, - i hated it so much id turn over to 'live at 3' then turn back :mad:

I'd still finger Thelma Mansfield

orourkeda wrote: »
    I'd still finger Thelma Mansfield

You spelt 'derek davis' wrong :D

I'm in work.:P

send in a text saying hello to all of us then!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Had rick o'shea read out a txt, and tom dunne read out my name as a winner of a hot press year book.

send in a text saying hello to all of us then!! :D

Yeah sure why not for the sh1ts n giggles:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 George Porkchop

I'm only the gnome and I do always be on the radio singing with my guitar for all my fans in west and north west of Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,550 ✭✭✭Min

I had loads of people in Radio 1, 2FM and today FM read out my texts.

Just persist, stalk them with texts :p

I don't give my full name...am I disqualified? :p

• Registered Users Posts: 2,723 ✭✭✭Cheap Thrills!

I've spoken on this particular radio show a few times but I always gave a false name, I wouldn't go on air unless they agreed to that!!! Another time I won a big competition but I think only gave my first name. I am very shy in RL !!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Do you ever get your name called out on the radio?
    Yes. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

I text Sean Moncrief when he had Emma Ledden as a gust on his show. I told him that Emma Ledden was number two on my list. The had a 20 minute discussion about my list and the concept of lists.

Good times

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭Thomas828

Let's see... the first time I heard my name on the radio was back in 1996 on BBC Radio 2.

I've had my name mentioned on UCB radio, BFBS radio and on Amazing Radio. In fact I won a CD from UCB earlier this year.

My solitary life has been made easier by text messages, especially as I've got unlimited free texts this month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,420 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

I had my name read out on Radio Australia and got Brown Sugar by the Stones played on Radio Warsaw a lifetime ago. Happiness is just a Short Wave away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

I've had it called out once and that was last year. I was staying late in work and just had the radio for company. I called in with a request and they played it and said hi. :)

I think it was FM104? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭squeakyduck

I had my name called out on spin for the "good news guys" part of the show. I was just after finishing my thesis that day so it was my good news. Got to talk on air too! YAYY! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Yes on the BBC World Service. None of your Tipp Fm shiiite here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Fúck the radio, I had my name called out on echo island. Twice :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

mike65 wrote: »
    Yes on the BBC World Service. None of your Tipp Fm shiiite here.

Whats wrong with Irish radio?:confused:

I've texted quite a few times to Irish radio stations on traffic snarl-ups, i'm sure there are people out there saying Novena's for me right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Loads of times on the radio, tv, internet on the sports section :p

Oh that little bit of bother in court a few years ago got me in the media, soon sorted that out tho :D

A few times.

When Gareth O'Callaghan presented the afternoon show on 2FM about 7/8 years ago someone e-mailed a virus hoax into him, stating it as fact. I then e-mailed a comprehensive message to prove it was fake. He read it the next day and I got a call from a classmate in school saying "that was you, wasn't it?"

During the summer I also texted into Colm and Lucy one morning about 3D movies (I can't see them and was giving an explanation why). Seconds after sending it their researcher called me back, asking me to go on and talk to them but I was on a train so declined the offer.

My brother also texted Will Leahy about pet names, revealing my mother's pet name on air. I didn't hear it but she called me, assuming it was me that sent it.

My friend was also talking to Ryan Tubridy on his second show.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Karsini wrote: »
    A few times.

When Gareth O'Callaghan presented the afternoon show on 2FM about 7/8 years ago someone e-mailed a virus hoax into him, stating it as fact. I then e-mailed a comprehensive message to prove it was fake. He read it the next day and I got a call from a classmate in school saying "that was you, wasn't it?"

During the summer I also texted into Colm and Lucy one morning about 3D movies (I can't see them and was giving an explanation why). Seconds after sending it their researcher called me back, asking me to go on and talk to them but I was on a train so declined the offer.

My brother also texted Will Leahy about pet names, revealing my mother's pet name on air. I didn't hear it but she called me, assuming it was me that sent it.

Well now I have to ask, what's your mothers pet name?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Does a V/O guy saying it count ? :D

Well now I have to ask, what's your mothers pet name?

Haha, she got a perm in the 80s and earned the nickname Worzel Gummidge. It stuck... the perm is long gone but she often gets called Worzel without even thinking!