Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

need advice/info re redundancy please!!!

Options
  • 17-10-2010 8:08pm
    Registered Users Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

I posted here recently trying to find out if I was entitled to holiday pay and was advised that I may be entitled to redundancy pay too.

Id like to explain the situation here to get peopls opinions before I do anything about it as I have left my last place of employment on good terms and would prefer to try keep it this way.

First off I am having a tough time getting my holiday pay off my employers but I am persevering with it.

I worked as a part time employee for a business in the tourist industry (seaside amusement park) for almost 3 years. My hours would vary grately throughout the year, some weeks I would have no hours, other weekends I might have 6 hours and other weeks (during the peak season in summer when I worked full time) I would have up to 35 hours or so.

I never received formal notification that my job was coming to an end but basically we were aware that it was going to happen since July/August and I worked my last day at the end of September. Since then I have been trying to pursue my holiday pay and have not mentioned anything about redundancy pay.

Any advice or info would be really appreciated as this is worrying me quite a bit...

:)

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 2,734 ✭✭✭Newaglish

Despite the fact that you worked part time and irregular hours, you will be entitled to redundancy if a genuine redundancy situation exists.