Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Andy Carroll at it again

• 18-10-2010 1:44pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-tyne-11563332

What is it with this lad?
    - arrested for assaulting a woman in 2008
    - arrested for 'glassing' a man outside a nightclub in 2009
    - broke Steven Taylor's jaw in a row over an ex-girlfriend
    - training-ground bust-up with N'Zogbia
    - sent home from an England U-19 squad

Now he has to live with Kevin Nolan as part of his bail conditions. Oh, and he tried to get a goal against Wigan by blatantly handling the ball into the net.

Should someone like this be allowed to represent their country?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

dont like Andy Carroll

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,416 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Professional athlete is extreme nutjob shocker. News at 11.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

markesmith wrote: »

Now he has to live with Kevin Nolan as part of his bail conditions. Oh, and he tried to get a goal against Wigan by blatantly handling the ball into the net.

Heard it on SSN, he seems to get into quite a bit of trouble alright, he must have a short fuse and probably doesnt take kindly to getting abused by opposition fans on nights out.

No excuse for his behavouir though.

Bit in Bold : Why not, if hes good enough then I dont see why not, but IMO he is not good enough, a few goals at the start of the season and the media loved him and hyped him up, hes decent but a regular Internaional starter he is not IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

Good player.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

gavredking wrote: »
    Heard it on SSN, he seems to get into quite a bit of trouble alright, he must have a short fuse and probably doesnt take kindly to getting abused by opposition fans on nights out.

No excuse for his behavouir though.

Bit in Bold : Why not, if hes good enough then I dont see why not, but IMO he is not good enough, a few goals at the start of the season and the media loved him and hyped him up, hes decent but a regular Internaional starter he is not IMO.

Neither is Wayne Rooney on current form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,139 ✭✭✭flanzer

Chances are he's blown his England chance at this stage. Wonder is he related to the Carrolls in Mullingar??!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

orourkeda wrote: »

Totally agree with ya, but if it comes down to who you want to pick on ability and past performances Rooney wins hands down.

Capellos biggest problem is picking players that are in form, you cant always pick the 23 most in form players, sometimes you have to gamble on your stars doing something.

On topic, Carroll can be a decent player if he knuckles down, he has the attributes to make it as a good striker that would be very difficult to play against.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Oh the fun they'll have together.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

so big fúcking what!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,982 ✭✭✭Degag

Lol, i hope Kevin Nolan agreed to have him stay with him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

That is one of the funniest bail conditions I have ever heard. Poor Kevin Nolan, how did they manage to arrange that?

Warper wrote: »
    That is one of the funniest bail conditions I have ever heard. Poor Kevin Nolan, how did they manage to arrange that?
    Well, i presume that Nolan stood up for him in court and offered to let him stay with him to keep him from going to jail.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

What does that have to do with anything?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,521 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

So when is the Nolan/Carroll sitcom coming out?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 685 ✭✭✭Carlos_Ray

Well its England. He'd be one of the more well behaved in the squad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

why shouldnt he?

you dont have to be a nice guy to be a footballer, its what you do on the pitch that matters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

Innocent until proven guilty ftw!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,068 ✭✭✭Bodhisopha

dsmythy wrote: »
    So when is the Nolan/Carroll sitcom coming out?

Tynefeld.

Tee hee hee...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,821 ✭✭✭Dr.Winston O'Boogie

Seems Kev Nolan has set up a Twitter to keep us up to date with him and Andys living arrangements...

http://twitter.com/#!/KevinandAndy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

niallo24 wrote: »
    Seems Kev Nolan has set up a Twitter to keep us up to date with him and Andys living arrangements...

http://twitter.com/#!/KevinandAndy
    Oops I was about to say Andy hit me with a suckerpunch on FIFA. Not the best time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Apparently Carroll's car has been torched outside Nolan's house.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭markesmith

You know you're no good when you're getting life advice from Kieron Dyer:
    http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/football/teams/newcastle-united/8077605/Dyer-warning-for-Carroll.html

• Registered Users Posts: 275 ✭✭TopBombing

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Apparently Carroll's car has been torched outside Nolan's house.

New Range Rover. I'd hate that!!
    Andy Carroll had his brand new car torched yesterday evening after parking it on the drive of Kevin Nolan's home in the upmarket Northumberland village of Ponteland.

Carroll, who was bailed by magistrates to live with Newcastle's captain and his young family after being charged with assault on Monday, bought the chrome plated Range Rover earlier this month to celebrate signing a new, lucrative, five-year contract at St James' Park.

Packed with gadgetry it included a games console in the backseats but went up in flames shortly after 7pm yesterday when Nolan's garage door was also daubed with obscene graffiti relating to Carroll. Shortly afterwards police and fire fighters arrived at the scene.

This morning the garage door was covered by a sheet and security guards patrolled the property's perimeters.

Carroll, a 21-year-old England under-21 striker, must live with Nolan, a married father of two, until 10 January – the date his case was adjourned until. Newcastle's centre forward was charged with assaulting Laurie Henderson, an ex-girlfriend, in Ponteland during the early hours of last Sunday morning but will deny the offence and claim self defence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

....and again:

http://www.mirrorfootball.co.uk/news/Newcastle-s-Andy-Carroll-injured-in-six-hour-30-Jagerbomb-bender-Exclusive-article666569.html
    England soccer star Andy Carroll was left in agony after a drunken fall from a casino bar stool at 5am, it was claimed yesterday.

Carroll, 22, had just ordered 30 “Jagerbombs” – a potent mix of spirit Jagermeister and Red Bull energy drink – for himself and 15 pals.

Next day the £20million striker’s club, Newcastle United, announced that a thigh injury would rule him out of at least three games.

The Geordie – who picked up an injury in United’s match against Spurs on December 28 – was on a six-hour bender until 6.30am on December 30 at Aspers Casino in Newcastle.

As well as FOUR Jagerbombs, 6ft 4in Carroll downed TWO pints of Fosters and around SIX bottles of Peroni.

Witnesses saw him slump down with his head in his hands after the Jagerbombs and one Peroni. Then all of a sudden he perked up, alert, “like a meerkat”.

He stood up on the leg rest of the stool which tipped over. He then smashed against the floor of the bar area and was clutching his leg, shouting out in pain.

But his mates stood around laughing as Carroll lay in agony.

Shortly afterwards his female companion was seen massaging his leg at the roulette table – where he fell off another stool.

Then he limped off to a private function room, where he downed five more Peronis and sang on the karaoke machine before finally leaving alone at 6.30am. The following day, United boss Alan Pardew told journalists about an injury.

Carroll apparently reported his injury after the Spurs game. But it was decided not to make that injury public until it had been properly assessed.

That assessment was done on December 29, before Carroll went to the casino. The club doctor has examined Carroll regularly since then and a source close to the player said the doctor would dispute the injury being made worse. But gambler Simon Cook, 28, who witnessed the second fall in Aspers, said: “I could not believe his behaviour. He was absolutely hammered.

“When I went back to work my mates were telling me how he was going to sit out three games because of an injury. I couldn’t believe it. I knew how it really happened.”

Carroll, who has just signed a new, £27,000-a-week, five-year contract, has been a regular at Aspers this season.

Carroll was with United captain Kevin Nolan at Aspers after the Toon’s 5-1 win over Sunderland in November.

He went on another huge bender on December 7 – the day after manager Chris Hughton was sacked.

Carroll is currently on a “mid season” break in Dubai and due back this week. He will take a fitness test on Thursday to see if he will be fit for next weekend’s match against Sunderland.

Newcastle United declined to comment on the incident last night.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 4,726 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gonzovision

Seems to be playing alright this season though.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

He sure does, he's a great player. He says he plans on staying with Newcastle for life....gone in the summer I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Not if hes missing matches.

You have 12 years at maximum earning/playing ability why in the name of jaysis do english/irish players feel the need to go on benders mid season. fs plenty of time to do it when you 30 odd.

Reckon if he wasnt a nutcase he would be playing for one of the top four. very tidy player doesnt lose the ball much.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,787 ✭✭✭Jayob10

30 jagers between 15 people, 6 bottles, 2 pints?????
    c'mon hes hardly George Best

Must try harder Andy :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭bamboozling

Perked up like a meercat! Brilliant!

dreamers75 wrote: »

You have 12 years at maximum earning/playing ability why in the name of jaysis do english/irish players feel the need to go on benders mid season. fs plenty of time to do it when you 30 odd.

Reckon if he wasnt a nutcase he would be playing for one of the top four. very tidy player doesnt lose the ball much.

Paul Gascoigne MKII, without half as much talent obviously. He's a very good player though, but his off the pitch antics will catch up with him sooner or later. He's going to hit the wrong lass or glass the wrong fella someday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,146 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Person gets drunk, falls over, but actually does no harm to anyone.

Who cares?

A lot depends on context but if he had been ruled out for 3 games BEFORE his night out, then it's not really a big deal...

Paully D wrote: »
    Paul Gascoigne MKII, without half as much talent obviously. He's a very good player though, but his off the pitch antics will catch up with him sooner or later. He's going to hit the wrong lass or glass the wrong fella someday.

Dunno tbh Carroll is a very good english player, biggest thing i noticed about him was when newcastle defending he can pick the ball up in his own box and try create a chance for himself by playing it out well. Very tidy on the ball something most english players lack he has the ability to play a ball rather than smash it long.

And he can score too, i think hes a top four player (sorry its 3 now) he could easily fit in on the pitch at Man u/Chel/Arse. Dunno if their managers would touch him tho

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 4,726 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gonzovision

I'd like to see him at Chelsea, but it would take silly money for any club to buy him.

Its Newcastle, they probably have a buyout clause where they give you money.

767.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,778 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

It's hardly fun then though. Can't see the problem with players going out enjoying themselves so long as they don't over-do it.

THFC wrote: »
    It's hardly fun then though. Can't see the problem with players going out enjoying themselves so long as they don't over-do it.

Agree to disagree on this, dont think any professional player should ever do any damage to themselves when they being paid the amounts on offer. Its only irish/english players who do it and the odd homesick Brazilian. My opinion it shouldnt be tolerated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭Pinturicchio

Agree to disagree on this, dont think any professional player should ever do any damage to themselves when they being paid the amounts on offer. Its only irish/english players who do it and the odd homesick Brazilian. My opinion it shouldnt be tolerated.

And the odd Romanian who beats up waiters on nights out then refuses to train. And the odd German who sneaks girls into his club's training ground in the middle of the night to use the jacuzzi. :p

• Registered Users Posts: 4,068 ✭✭✭Bodhisopha

He stood up on the leg rest of the stool which tipped over. He then smashed against the floor of the bar area and was clutching his leg, shouting out in pain.

But his mates stood around laughing as Carroll lay in agony.

Hahaha!

It really wouldn't. Mike Ashley would sell his granny if he could.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

A nothing story; pontificating tabloid rag at it again. A young man who makes 5 figures a week goes on a night out around Xmas time, has a few drinks, falls over and it's reported on like he's a child molester.

I'm sure no staff member of the Mirror has ever dared touch a drink, and I'd imagine their Xmas party was a pizza and a viewing of Toy Story. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

flanzer wrote: »
    Chances are he's blown his England chance at this stage. Wonder is he related to the Carrolls in Mullingar??!!

he do well in the horse outside video

wouldnt even need a spar bag

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,386 ✭✭✭d22ontour

His personal life > your opinion of said life.

Ah would you stop if I was a pro footballer on 10000's a week on be out on the lock enjoying it feck what other people think.

Why shouldnt it be tolerated? Its their job, all the rest of us go out drinking midweek and weekends and its tolerated. If you can play well and score goals who cares. I hate this "you cant drink" mentality at all levels of sport. It would put me off playing team sports, if I want to go out I go out no manager would stop me with his "no drinking" rules.

12 years maximum? I won't bother, i'd be up all night naming players to prove you wrong.

Ah would you stop if I was a pro footballer on 10000's a week on be out on the lock enjoying it feck what other people think.

Why shouldnt it be tolerated? Its their job, all the rest of us go out drinking midweek and weekends and its tolerated. If you can play well and score goals who cares. I hate this "you cant drink" mentality at all levels of sport. It would put me off playing team sports, if I want to go out I go out no manager would stop me with his "no drinking" rules.

eh... 'Cos if you go out on the lash constantly, and therefore be hungover in training, therefore not perform as well as you could, you'd be out of a job and not earning 10,000s a week?

As it was said to Spiderman, with great powers come great responsibility. You've all the time after you retire from football (at the grand old age of 35!) to go on the lash and play catch up with your life. And there should be a lot of it left at that stage.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭The_Hustler

Degag wrote: »
    12 years maximum? I won't bother, i'd be up all night naming players to prove you wrong.

He said 12 years at maximum earning/playing ability

• Registered Users Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭markesmith

The guy's a scumbag.

Still...I'd love to see him at Spurs. The perfect target man, good positioning, excellent workrate...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,161 ✭✭✭✭M5

Another slow news day for the mirror then :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

The guy's a scumbag.

Still...I'd love to see him at Spurs. The perfect target man, good positioning, excellent workrate...

Ah the Mirror. Always good for a chuckle. Nonsense story.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,630 ✭✭✭steelcityblues

He will go down the Stan Collymore road of not living up to his potential - mark my words!