Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Neighbours stealing your wifi.

• 21-10-2010 8:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭

Anyone ever experience this?

I had the security turned off because I was too lazy to put in a few letters and numbers on the lodgers pc, and I couldn't find my postits. It was just easier to turn it off.

Earlier today the router was reset twice within 20 minutes. I couldn't access the setting because it said that a local user or Admin was doing stuff. I assumed that it was the lodger.

A few minutes ago I was notified that there was a conflicting ip address on my LAN. The lodger was out, so I checked the client list. Turned out that there were two iphones belonging to the people from two doors up connected to me.

Has anyone ever confronted wifi thieves? If so, how did it work out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

Terry wrote: »
    ...because I was too lazy to put in a few letters and numbers...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,112 ✭✭✭flyton5

Confront them Terry...bring your crazy lodger with you...that'll sort them out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

your laziness knows no bounds.

btw, the way I see..if you don't put a password on it then it's free for the taking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

InTheTrees wrote: »
    It was mostly the postit thing. I couldn't find anything to write the key down on.
    Laziness too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Dude, just enable WPA. Or.. if you really wanted to be mean - setup a MITM attack, log their e-mail credentials and e-mail them with their own e-mail address saying "WIFI Thieving bastard."

• Registered Users Posts: 755 ✭✭✭mr kr0nik

if you are confronting them make sure you can back it up with proof.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,257 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

SV wrote: »
    btw, the way I see..if you don't put a password on it then it's free for the taking.

Maybe not free for the taking, but you can't complain if it's taken!

"Well, everyday when i go to work i leave my door wide open with all my posessions in clear view. I came home today and some of them had been STOLEN!! :O "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,397 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

Do this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

did you ever throw thsat guy out of your place, just sayin..

dlofnep wrote: »
    Dude, just enable WPA. Or.. if you really wanted to be mean - setup a MITM attack, log their e-mail credentials and e-mail them with their own e-mail address saying "WIFI Thieving bastard."
    I had to set it to WEP. The lodger's adapter won't recognise anything above that. It's old.

Also, I wouldn't know how to do the above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,775 ✭✭✭Spacedog

They are not theives if you choose to operate a free open wifi base station, any more than they would be theives if you set up a table in the middle of the street, put your wallet on it and a sign saying 'free money'.

If you set security and they bypass it (easily done) then you have a reason to be annoyed, otherwise you can blame no one but yourself and have no symphaty from me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

MrStuffins wrote: »
    Maybe not free for the taking, but you can't complain if it's taken!

"Well, everyday when i go to work i leave my door wide open with all my posessions in clear view. I came home today and some of them had been STOLEN!! :O "

or

its like wheeling your tv out onto the street, switching it on and then complaining when people stop and watch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Kimono-Girl

It was mostly the postit thing. I couldn't find anything to write the key down on.
    Laziness too.

tut tut terry! tut tut! :eek:

free wireless is just that free wireless, if you don't want me using it on my iphone lock it up ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

I would class wifi without WPA free for the taking. Can't blame them for your laziness really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Ban them from Pro Wrestling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

OisinT wrote: »
    Do this

That's 100% win.

Saila wrote: »
    did you ever throw thsat guy out of your place, just sayin..
    Not yet.
    He's been behaving himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,429 ✭✭✭✭star-pants

Could find out their names, then change the name of the wireless to 'I'm on to you X' that might freak em out a little

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

and if you're with eircom.... there's s4dd.yore.ma/eircom

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

I had the security turned off because I was too lazy to put in a few letters and numbers on the lodgers pc, and I couldn't find my postits. It was just easier to turn it off.

Earlier today the router was reset twice within 20 minutes. I couldn't access the setting because it said that a local user or Admin was doing stuff. I assumed that it was the lodger.

A few minutes ago I was notified that there was a conflicting ip address on my LAN. The lodger was out, so I checked the client list. Turned out that there were two iphones belonging to the people from two doors up connected to me.

You do know you of all people cannot be pissed about this...... ;)

Not yet.
    He's been behaving himself.
    That's all well and good, but they have their own internet.
    I know its theirs because the address is part of the SSID.

Why connect to me when you have your own internet?

It doesn't make sense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

star-pants wrote: »
    Could find out their names, then change the name of the wireless to 'I'm on to you X' that might freak em out a little

I fail to see how tampering with his radio will alter anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

show us yer postits

and if you're with eircom.... there's s4dd.yore.ma/eircom

I am with Eircom, but only because they are the only ISP who provide a reliable service where I live.

Kiera wrote: »
    You do know you of all people cannot be pissed about this...... ;)

I don't know what you mean.
    I was once between IPSs, so my friend across the road allowed me to connect to him.
    Nothing wrong with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

That's all well and good, but they have their own internet.
    I know its theirs because the address is part of the SSID.

Why connect to me when you have your own internet?

It doesn't make sense.

Quoting yourself-now that doesn't make sense! :pac:

star-pants wrote: »
    I know exactly who it was.
    I've lived here for most of my life. They have lived two doors up for all of their lives. Christ, I remember them being born.

It was quite easy to figure out who it was.
    D****-ipod and R*****-ipod.
    Sherlock Holmes wasn't needed. :)

Edit: It could have been iphone. I can't remember. I'm a bit tipsy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

I am with Eircom, but only because they are the only ISP who provide a reliable service where I live.

I don't know what you mean.
    I was once between IPSs, so my friend across the road allowed me to connect to him.
    Nothing wrong with that.

LMAO. Okies :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

cut and paste the address i left into the address bar and see how you get on!

alwaysadub wrote: »
    Quoting yourself-now that doesn't make sense! :pac:
    It really doesn't. I can't remember who I wanted to quote. I'd delete it, but I can't be arsed.

Absurdum wrote: »
    show us yer postits
    I still can't find them.

cut and paste the address i left into the address bar and see how you get on!

I'm well aware of that, but it only applies to the old Netopia 2247's. I'm not using one of them.
    I'm using the new zyxel one they supply. It's secure enough when you enable the security, but it's a piece of **** otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

I didnt understand half the terminology so far. This grumpy foreign lad came a year ago, plugged in a thing, theres a flashing box in the corner and thats all i know.

My laptop has been turned on successfully everyday since then. Id hate for the neighbours to get involved. Am i protected?

/all innunedos intended...seriously i what do need to do to stop the neighbours free for all'ing with my connection?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭AskMyChocolate

I confronted one. I told her if she wanted to have a go on my wyfii she'd better take it up with my missus. My missus then informed me that she was her wyfi and it had been going on for years and if I had a problem I could take it up with her husbandi. He had no more an idea that this was going on than I had. So he punched me in the eye.
    The Guards arrived and said "i-i what's the problem lads?"
    "Aah nothin Guard, it just seems that everyone is so PC these days"
    Will ye have a Jameson?
    Aye.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Terry, sort that sh!t out, they could be downloading any kind of sick stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

Used to have the issue until we named our network as follows:

84177488.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Nothing wrong with that.
    Ah, the Ross defence.

"We were on a break!"

anniehoo wrote: »
    I didnt understand half the terminology so far. This grumpy foreign lad came a year ago, plugged in a thing, theres a flashing box in the corner and thats all i know.

My laptop has been turned on successfully everyday since then. Id hate for the neighbours to get involved. Am i protected?

/all innunedos intended...seriously i what do need to do to stop the neighbours free for all'ing with my connection?
    There are ways of bypassing all security if you know what you are doing and have the proper hardware, software and knowledge.

Most people have none of that.

The following depends on who your ISP is.
    For Eircom type 192.168.1.254 into your address bar. The default password is broadband1.
    Other ISPs are usually 192.168.1.1 or 192.168.0.1 or 192.168.100.1. Google it if you can't find the relevant one. Search for the name of the router and the ISP.
    The password is normally "password"

Or you could just ask the housemate.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

:mad: some bástard neighbour just blocked his internet connection :mad:,now i cant use my iphone because i have no credit,his house is getting bricked

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

pmcmahon wrote: »
    :mad: some bástard neighbour just blocked his internet connection :mad:,now i cant use my iphone because i have no credit,his house is getting bricked

you so smart!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

SV wrote: »
    you so smart!

thanks baby,wanna make out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,666 ✭✭✭✭ted1

if they have their own wifi they may be connecting accediential by auto connecting to open wifi.

Upload a shít load of horse porn, then stick on a password. Win, although you may need to use eye bleach afterwards (depending on your "tastes")

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

I have a truly **** router. My neighbours also have truly **** routers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,152 ✭✭✭✭Berty

Change your Router name to

"Your Kids are FUGLY!!!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

You're ****ed if they dl childporn, it's your network, your internet, your name on the account. Seriously pass word your wifi.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

I have a little patch that will tell me anyone that is unlawfilly using my Wifi.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

My folks (BT UK) wi-fi split itself into a private and a (pay)public hotspot got pretty shocked when i thought BT were trying to charge me for using their wi-fi (its simple opt out thank fck)

There's programs (a certain linux build actually) that makes it "relatively" easy to hack wireless and do numerous other potentially nasty things designed for testing security.

My brother's Eircom modem got hacked about a year or two ago, he knew nothing about the SSID exploit. Told him to change his key and he's been fine since. He thought it was the neighbours who did it and said his connection was back to full speed after changing the key.

Me on the other hand, try breaking my 5 GHz WPA2-AES network. :) Most cheaper laptops and mobile phones can't even see it.

Berty wrote: »
    Change your Router name to

"Your Kids are FUGLY!!!"
    I'd do that, but they're both in their early to mid 20's and living with their parents. Neither have kids.

Thaedydal wrote: »
    You're ****ed if they dl childporn, it's your network, your internet, your name on the account. Seriously pass word your wifi.

I never actually though of that.
    Now that you mention it, I do have a shady neighbour* who is quite paranoid about people seeing what he has on his pc. He steals weakly encrypted Eircom signals. One of my other neighbours* did time for having kiddie porn on his computer. I don't know if he was actually caught with it on his hard drive, or if it was just a monitored download. Either way, he was in his early 60's when he went down and is half dead now after being released. I only heard about the kiddie porn after he was released.

* when I say neighbours, I mean all of those in my estate of 106 houses. It's a close knit community.

Those stealing my wifi are only 2 doors down. The kiddie porn accused are too far away to pick up my signal.
    In saying that, I see your point.

Anyway, it's protected now.
    I'll have to get the lodger to buy a new wireless adapter. The current one only supports WEP.
    I'll just tell him that the CIA are monitoring WEP encrypted signals or something. Then I'll be able to use WPA-PSK2.
    Or I could just drill a hole and run a cable up to his room and turn the wifi off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭Teutorix

dlofnep wrote: »
    LoL did this to my sister once, really freaked her out. Although she wasnt stealing my wifi.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 462 ✭✭Btwndeyes

the people from two doors up connected to me.
    is ur router a satellite or something???