Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Neighbours stealing your wifi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

Thaedydal wrote: »
    You're ****ed if they dl childporn, it's your network, your internet, your name on the account. Seriously pass word your wifi.

He's not really - if somebody sees that child porn or explicit material like that is being downloaded then they'll be able to see the IP address & MAC address of the device which downloaded it.

Worst comes to worse - Terrys HDD is seized and even though the guards find nothing on it, his reputation in the area where he's spent most of his life is left in tatters, branded a paedophile he's forced into exile in Cavan with all the other weirdos....

That or he stays, fights long and hard to clear his name, writes a prize winning novel on how he overcame the injustice bestowed on him, which later is adapted to film, helping Geoff Goldblum finally win an Oscar for his on-screen portrayal as Terry

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,204 ✭✭✭FoxT

Quote:
    Originally Posted by Thaedydal viewpost.gif
    You're ****ed if they dl childporn, it's your network, your internet, your name on the account. Seriously pass word your wifi.

He's not really - if somebody sees that child porn or explicit material like that is being downloaded then they'll be able to see the IP address & MAC address of the device which downloaded it.

Most internet access points use NAT. The IP & mac address will be of your DSL or Cable box.

a little bit of encryption is good - WEP or WPA...but need to back it up with Mac address filtering. This does need maintenance from time to time but is pretty easy to do.

- FoxT

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Change your SSID to I'M ON TO YOUSE CHEAP CUNTS WITH THE IPHONES RIGHT?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

FoxT wrote: »
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Thaedydal viewpost.gif

Most internet access points use NAT. The IP & mac address will be of your DSL or Cable box.

a little bit of encryption is good - WEP or WPA...but need to back it up with Mac address filtering. This does need maintenance from time to time but is pretty easy to do.

- FoxT

That won't matter to the ISP he has a contract with he's responsible for what is dl via his account and terms and conditions with them.
    Piss them off enough by breaking the terms and conditions and they will blacklist you and you can be blacklisted with all the ISP in the country.

AGain it's his home network it's up to him to make sure it is secured.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,617 ✭✭✭Cat Melodeon

Neighbours stealing your wifi

Anyone else open the thread thinking their affair had been rumbled?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

Anyone else suspect that this thread is all part of some elaborate ruse to gain evidence should Terry require it in court in the future? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

I just did a scan now and it seems my neighbours have wifi with no password at all

I'm using it right now :o

But the connection isn't as fast as what I have already so will stop now in a second.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I know somebody that left his apartment one evening and nearly tripped over somebody crouching in the hall with a laptop. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

That won't matter to the ISP he has a contract with he's responsible for what is dl via his account and terms and conditions with them.
    Piss them off enough by breaking the terms and conditions and they will blacklist you and you can be blacklisted with all the ISP in the country.

AGain it's his home network it's up to him to make sure it is secured.

Didn't know that tbh cheers.

By violating the terms I assume you mean through downloads - isn't that just Torrents for the moment? Or would rapidshare/megaupload/hotfile etc. be monitered also??

PaulieC wrote: »
    Didn't know that tbh cheers.

By violating the terms I assume you mean through downloads - isn't that just Torrents for the moment? Or would rapidshare/megaupload/hotfile etc. be monitered also??

Check your T&Cs, every isp keeps a record of every site you visit and every download and ever data packet you pull via their service. If they ever have cause to look at the logs and find you in breach then your in breach and they can throw the book at you if they wish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

It is your responsibility to secure your own network.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭Teutorix

Check your T&Cs, every isp keeps a record of every site you visit and every download and ever data packet you pull via their service. If they ever have cause to look at the logs and find you in breach then your in breach and they can throw the book at you if they wish.
    No they dont. Eircom might but its not common practice for an ISP to monitor every single packet of data.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 doubletalk

Teutorix wrote: »
    No they dont. Eircom might but its not common practice for an ISP to monitor every single packet of data.
    Course they don't none of them do. If anything illegal goes on the guards or whoever supply the ip address and date and time. The ISP identify the person that way. Think someones been watching too many movies :)

If I was the op I'd think twice before confronting anyone. Most iPhones are set up to find and connect to networks automatically . If there's no security they probably weren't even aware they were on your broadband. Especially if they have their own broadband

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,397 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

Just fúcking secure your network... it's not that hard. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

OisinT wrote: »
    Just fúcking secure your network... it's not that hard. :rolleyes:

Not as easy as that.

People who have subscribed to the Eircom Network and have been issued with a secure wep key but unknown to them there are two types of generated key codes that are at large that can hack into their systems without them knowing and steal their wifi.

Not as easy as that.

People who have subscribed to the Eircom Network and have been issued with a secure wep key but unknown to them there are two types of generated key codes that are at large that can hack into their systems without them knowing and steal their wifi.
    Third party router, not that hard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

a lazy moderator of boards.ie tut tut

the shock of it all is too much

I'm awaiting the court case where Terry is brought in front on the courts n allegations of downloading child porn and the likes and poor Terry's life dissipates into an abyss of nothingness :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 194 ✭✭dumb_parade

Im not married myself, but it i was i'd make sure no one stole my wifi

:facepalm:

Already done... and done better!

• Registered Users Posts: 194 ✭✭dumb_parade

:facepalm:

Already done... and done better!

Its a competition now is it? :)

AH is just a gigantic competition of wit.

yes:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,986 ✭✭✭Craguls

I had this problem myself awhile back, in a state of deluded paranoia I changed my password to something extremely convoluted and hard to remember.

Don't make the same mistake I did!

All Isp have to keep the logs of all data transactions going back 3 years.
    In Keeping with the EU directive.

32002L0058

Directive 2002/58/EC of the European Parliament and of the Council of 12 July 2002 concerning the processing of personal data and the protection of privacy in the electronic communications sector (Directive on privacy and electronic communications)

http://eur-lex.europa.eu/LexUriServ/LexUriServ.do?uri=CELEX:32002L0058:EN:HTML

http://wiki.vorratsdatenspeicherung.de/Transposition#Ireland

Third party router, not that hard.

Will Eircom tell its any of its potential / suscribing customers about 3rd Party Routers?

I doubt it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

Terry wrote: »
    neighbours stealing your wifi

thats not on they should at least pay for her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

Dey tuk r wifi! :mad:

I tried to stop myself

Will Eircom tell its any of its potential / suscribing customers about 3rd Party Routers?

I doubt it.
    If people were anyway educated about informations technology then they would know themselves. That said the majority of people dont even know the basics of this stuff.

I do know that the Internet is not something that you just dump something on. It's not a big truck. It's a series of tubes.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f99PcP0aFNE

For anyone who dosent know the quote :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭Bob Z

I have a little patch that will tell me anyone that is unlawfilly using my Wifi.

Tell us more

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,367 ✭✭✭Rabble Rabble

doubletalk wrote: »
    If I was the op I'd think twice before confronting anyone. Most iPhones are set up to find and connect to networks automatically . If there's no security they probably weren't even aware they were on your broadband. Especially if they have their own broadband

well said that man.

My iPhone picks up free (password-less) wifi first, as a matter of course. Since free wifi in the UK is generally useless - I have never seen a "Free Public WiFi" signal ever work - that means my iPhone actually stops working periodically on a train, or in a car, unless I tell it to forget the crap free networks, or turn wifi off, and go back to 3G.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 doubletalk

I doubt it.
    Wifisecurity is your responsibility. No point blaming evil eircom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

Has anyone ever confronted wifi thieves? If so, how did it work out?
    Design some hugely elaborate intricate and entirely plausible plan to exact your revenge in an entirely over the top veangeful manner then watch as the dosh rolls in for the sale of the film rights. Go with the playing yourself option for the full financial whack. You will have to act quick to get it in time for this Halloween season and get the action figures sorted for Christmas.

TERRY - the emotion picture

Mr.S wrote: »
    Those networks you see that are called "Free Public WiFi" are usually just peoples computers pretending to be a access point, then they try and get all your personal info when your connected!

OP - secure your network, its your own fault. Anyone that sees a free open network is going to connect to it.

So if you use a public wifi how do you protect your self?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭Pdfile

Anyone ever experience this?

I had the security turned off because I was too lazy to put in a few letters and numbers on the lodgers pc, and I couldn't find my postits. It was just easier to turn it off.

Earlier today the router was reset twice within 20 minutes. I couldn't access the setting because it said that a local user or Admin was doing stuff. I assumed that it was the lodger.

A few minutes ago I was notified that there was a conflicting ip address on my LAN. The lodger was out, so I checked the client list. Turned out that there were two iphones belonging to the people from two doors up connected to me.

i think its time to blang on their bed room window naked at 4 in the morning, asking to pop their rape cherrys as thats what their doing to your Bandwitdh... ( mind you if they where doing something productive like watching porn you cant complain but yeah )

Bob Z wrote: »
    Tell us more
    Cisco Network Magic will tell you quite a lot about what is going on in your neighborhood including those that are leeching off your wifi. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

Didn't read the whole thread, so probably already said.

1. iPhone user is probably got it set to autoconnect. So they may be unaware they are on your router. They could actually have wireless set up on their house.

2. You leave an open router and got a couple of iPhones connecting. Personally you got lucky. Password that baby up and switch to WPA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,879 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

How much can they be downloading on their iPhones anyway? They're hardly gettin 50Gb worth of torrents!

Also, a 10 character password isnt that hard to remember when its 11:11:11:11:11, or A1:B2:C3:D4:E5. You'd be surprised how many you'll find with them password!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,813 ✭✭✭BaconZombie

1. They are not "Wifi Thieves".
    2. If you don't fecking secure you wifi they it's your own fecking fault.
    3. ...........
    4. Profit.
    Anyone ever experience this?

I had the security turned off because I was too lazy to put in a few letters and numbers on the lodgers pc, and I couldn't find my postits. It was just easier to turn it off.

Earlier today the router was reset twice within 20 minutes. I couldn't access the setting because it said that a local user or Admin was doing stuff. I assumed that it was the lodger.

A few minutes ago I was notified that there was a conflicting ip address on my LAN. The lodger was out, so I checked the client list. Turned out that there were two iphones belonging to the people from two doors up connected to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,813 ✭✭✭BaconZombie

The MAC get dropped at the first router and it replaced by the Routers { modem for people } MAC.

Also the IP of the client is only know to the router and internal network.
    PaulieC wrote: »

Worst comes to worse - Terrys HDD is seized and even though the guards find nothing on it, his reputation in the area where he's spent most of his life is left in tatters, branded a paedophile he's forced into exile in Cavan with all the other weirdos....

That or he stays, fights long and hard to clear his name, writes a prize winning novel on how he overcame the injustice bestowed on him, which later is adapted to film, helping Geoff Goldblum finally win an Oscar for his on-screen portrayal as Terry

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

I'd go with the MITM attack, then hack their facebook and anything else you can get into and start posting some really sick stuff!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

well said that man.

My iPhone picks up free (password-less) wifi first, as a matter of course. Since free wifi in the UK is generally useless - I have never seen a "Free Public WiFi" signal ever work - that means my iPhone actually stops working periodically on a train, or in a car, unless I tell it to forget the crap free networks, or turn wifi off, and go back to 3G.
    Hobbes wrote: »
    Didn't read the whole thread, so probably already said.

1. iPhone user is probably got it set to autoconnect. So they may be unaware they are on your router. They could actually have wireless set up on their house.

2. You leave an open router and got a couple of iPhones connecting. Personally you got lucky. Password that baby up and switch to WPA.

Yeah. It was most likely that scenario.

Anyway, it's password protected now. Panic is over.

Cisco Network Magic will tell you quite a lot about what is going on in your neighborhood including those that are leeching off your wifi. :p

Is there any freeware software that is similiar?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

steve06 wrote: »
    hack their face

completely ott

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Johro

Ain't the key usually printed on the bottom of the router?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,815 ✭✭✭imitation

If your wifi is not protected then its fair game really. I'v seen a few legal discussions on it, I can't remember what country its in effect, but if you access open wifi your not breaking the law, but if its password protected and you crack it is.

People will think your a weirdo if you confront them about open wifi, password protect it, or if your feeling like fun just do that redirect thing, and pick something particularly odious that they get redirected to, like Brian Cowens website.

The MAC get dropped at the first router and it replaced by the Routers { modem for people } MAC.

Also the IP of the client is only know to the router and internal network.

What does all that mean?

Bob Z wrote: »
    What does all that mean?
    They can only trace your kiddie porn watching back as far as your internet router. So you are fúcked if other people are watching it on your connection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

I used to steal my neighbours' wifi when I lived in an apartment block.

Serves them right for not having it protected