Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why be a moderator

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

I so want to thank this post.. but noticed it's mods only :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Go on Drav, be a rebel :pac:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

alwaysadub wrote: »

I dunno man... I can't get enough coke and hookers to cover the tab...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Havent a clue.
    Personally, I wouldnt do forum moderation if I was offered money for it. The idea of having to police an internet forum, tell people off, ban people, etc, its the height of tedium. Much better to just have a laugh. Im not a powertripper irl, and Im not one online either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭Sonnenblumen

dekbhoy wrote: »
    why would you want to moderate on a forum such as this , what are the benefits , do ya get paid or just do it for the interest in the web site:confused:

Something to do with little dicks compo :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

I dunno man... I can't get enough coke and hookers to cover the tab...

:D I'm gonna get banned now, aint I.

Bonito wrote: »
    :D I'm gonna get banned now, aint I.

You'll have to change you sig now!!:pac:

Silly me, it's €800 now not €1,000. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,673 ✭✭✭mahamageehad

Hmm was i the only one reading this thread going hmmm who are all these mods that I've never heard of!! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Most moderators are OK and do a good job. I can imagine they have their patience tested.

You do meet the odd one who's such a fool. I started a thread on After Hours last night clearly mocking the obsession some After Hours users have with the recession. Other users seemed to enjoy it. One moderator came in, "We have enough threads about the recession", missing the joke by a mile. He locked the thread. I messaged him; he didn't bother to reply.

Most of them are OK. Like I say, one or two are absolute eejits.

You're doing it wrong.
    http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=68587762

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

I think it's cos they were bullied at school, simplistic but I think an accurate deduction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,062 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

power tripping heads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

The ability to stifle dissent or have the last word is greatly prized by some sad people.
    The ability to take differences of opinion personally and readily dismiss them as "stifling dissent"/"having the last word" and make not very thinly veiled insults also appears to be greatly prized by you too. :)
    I dunno what your dictionary says, but mine describes a colleague as an associate or fellow worker, no mention of hymn sheets. I was merely using a collective noun.
    Fair enough.
    Strange this need to attribute some sort of agenda to me. I frankly couldn't care. I just think you're all mugs for working for free for someone else's benefit.
    Your opinion. I never felt exploited though - that's the key thing. :)
    All the accusations you made in the first post very much reek of shoulder chip to me.
    It's only disagreement - not trying to insult you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Kasabian wrote: »
    I think it's cos they were bullied at school, simplistic but I think an accurate deduction.
    And "They're virgins and sexually frustrated". That seems to be all the presumption boxes ticked. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,204 ✭✭✭FoxT

I want to be a mod so bad
    I want dudess to stroke my lad
    & be the best shes ever had
    I'm fat, and middle aged, and sad.

I cannot be a mod myself
    I'm 46, I'm on the shelf
    My wife wants me to wash the delf
    & keep me hands unto myself

But oh! the need to be a mod!
    To have the clout to ban!
    & see the secret moddie threads
    that only moddies can!
    I'd sign up for it in a flash
    If I was a younger man.
    - FoxT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭Cavehill Red

Dudess wrote: »
    The ability to take differences of opinion personally and readily dismiss them as "stifling dissent"/"having the last word" and make not very thinly veiled insults also appears to be greatly prized by you too. :)

I'm not sure if you're misunderstanding me deliberately, but I'll explain anyway. The 'power' (probably licence is a better term) to end a discussion entirely between others is also the power to stifle dissent and is definitely having the last word. I'm not sure what you find insulting about that. It's simply describing the modding ability in terms of freedom of speech.
    Your opinion. I never felt exploited though - that's the key thing. :)

Well, not really. The key thing is that you're working unpaid for a corporate entity. That you mightn't care that you don't get paid for the work doesn't really come into it. It's still exploitation of voluntary labour to commercial ends.
    All the accusations you made in the first post very much reek of shoulder chip to me.
    It's only disagreement - not trying to insult you.

Probably we should tease this one out. What do you think is my issue here? You keep hinting at an agenda that is unknown to me. Like I said, I really couldn't care one way or another what other people do with their free time. I'm a libertarian in that regard. If you want to work for free for someone else, I don't mind at all. I just don't understand why anyone would not seek reward for their efforts on someone else's commercial behalf.

I'm not sure if you're misunderstanding me deliberately, but I'll explain anyway. The 'power' (probably licence is a better term) to end a discussion entirely between others is also the power to stifle dissent and is definitely having the last word. I'm not sure what you find insulting about that. It's simply describing the modding ability in terms of freedom of speech.
    Dude, there is no free speach, check the charter.

Boards is a private owned not for profit company. It says what you can and can't say. It gives you a platform to voice your opinions but only within reason.

It's like if you're in my house. You're not allowed swear if you're a guest unless I say so. I will swear whenever I feel like it, though. Why, 'cause it's my house. If you no likey, there's a door.

If you no likey, there might be somewhere that allows this free speach malarky to go on.
    Well, not really. The key thing is that you're working unpaid for a corporate entity. That you mightn't care that you don't get paid for the work doesn't really come into it. It's still exploitation of voluntary labour to commercial ends.
    Some fora moderatoe themselves. If a Mod is online when something is reported a quick flick through in a new tab and a decision is all that's needed sometimes.

Granted sometimes it might go further but as the mods and some of the admins aint paid, they can take their merry time about lookin' in to things.
    Probably we should tease this one out. What do you think is my issue here? You keep hinting at an agenda that is unknown to me. Like I said, I really couldn't care one way or another what other people do with their free time. I'm a libertarian in that regard. If you want to work for free for someone else, I don't mind at all. I just don't understand why anyone would not seek reward for their efforts on someone else's commercial behalf.

They hardly do it for nothing at all. They're thanked for their input and contributions to the site.

I'd also hope/bet on when there's a mod beers a round is put on Dev for all attending.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

And then I can reopen them, It's mighty craic. :pac:

but i can backseat mod and point out you just double posted :mad: bad example good sir for us underprivileged non moderating users

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭Tech3

Why be a mod?

Cause I get more stars under my username :rolleyes:

After my last post, I began to think about why anybody would want to be a mod. In general, people do things that they either enjoy or see value in. But where is the value? This led me to thinking about why I like boards, and why I post here.
    Today in boards, I posted a photo, read some very funny threads, saw a major cameltoe fail, and made a recovery from a slightly bitchy post that I made earlier in the week. My adult, juvenile, and social synapses were all stimulated. Where else on the net can this happen?
    Why does it work so well? For me it works because it is moderated. Unmoderated forums tend to be governed by the tyranny of the lowest common denominator. They can end up like facebook, which is utterly vacuous, or they can flip to the opposite extreme, dominated by the loudest voices or polluted by trolls. Boards has plenty of loud voices, and a few trolls, but moderation curbs the worst excesses & keeps it accessible & enjoyable. On boards, I am free to rant, burp, fart, or contribute, as I see fit. I enjoy that. My wife, I am sure, is relieved that I rant, burp, and fart, in the company of others, rather than subjecting her to my worst excesses.
    Boards is a funny, otherworldly place, where much is not as it seems. Mods maintain that, while also keeping the whole plot lubricious, nutritious, and delicious.

-FoxT

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

And "They're virgins and sexually frustrated". That seems to be all the presumption boxes ticked. :pac:

I like ticking boxes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭AnneElizabeth

Honestly, who wouldn't want to be a mod... We all secretly do :P

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

for all the loose women tbh....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

You know who gets banned right? You know who all the bad girls are! :P

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,637 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

Agricola wrote: »
    Im not a powertripper irl, and Im not one online either.

I don't think I am one in real life or online either - doesn't stop me from giving something back to the community though. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭duckysauce

say you are beating them off you stud !!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,889 ✭✭✭evercloserunion

Sour grapes tbh ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 613 ✭✭✭Misanthrope

Isn't moderation considered a virtue?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

FoxT wrote: »
    After my last post, I began to think about why anybody would want to be a mod. In general, people do things that they either enjoy or see value in. But where is the value? This led me to thinking about why I like boards, and why I post here.
    Today in boards, I posted a photo, read some very funny threads, saw a major cameltoe fail, and made a recovery from a slightly bitchy post that I made earlier in the week. My adult, juvenile, and social synapses were all stimulated. Where else on the net can this happen?
    Why does it work so well? For me it works because it is moderated. Unmoderated forums tend to be governed by the tyranny of the lowest common denominator. They can end up like facebook, which is utterly vacuous, or they can flip to the opposite extreme, dominated by the loudest voices or polluted by trolls. Boards has plenty of loud voices, and a few trolls, but moderation curbs the worst excesses & keeps it accessible & enjoyable. On boards, I am free to rant, burp, fart, or contribute, as I see fit. I enjoy that. My wife, I am sure, is relieved that I rant, burp, and fart, in the company of others, rather than subjecting her to my worst excesses.
    Boards is a funny, otherworldly place, where much is not as it seems. Mods maintain that, while also keeping the whole plot lubricious, nutritious, and delicious.

-FoxT

That's a great post. Your poem was funnier (extremely funny, I thought), but that's a great one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Guill

I dissagreed with a mod once. He burnt down my house and raped my wife and her mother! Thankfully i only got a 10 day ban though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,889 ✭✭✭evercloserunion

If you found out your moderator was a transexual what would you do?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

If you found out your moderator was a transexual what would you do?

Drop the hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Guill

I'd wait until the BJ was over and ask them to leave....after i spat of course.

Folks who spit after giving head
    should reconsider, and swallow instead.
    The swallowing should be discreet
    when your partners shot is quite complete
    and he is woozy, and replete.
    To get an 'A' you kiss & lick
    even as he detumesces
    His nerve-ends will enjoy your tongue
    and, of course there are no messes!

Spitting is noisy, coarse, and rude,
    and you run the risk of being thought a prude.
    Do not fret about ingestion,
    its known to benefit digestion
    and side effects are out of the question.

- FoxT

So thats why you'd be a mod is it? To give/get bj's?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

So thats why you'd be a mod is it? To give/get bj's?

Thats an urban myth, things like that don't happen in real life.

Yeah, ye should be so lucky alright..

Speaking of mods, where's javaboy gone?!
    He's not an AH mod anymore..again.

Speaking of mods, where's javaboy gone?!
    He's not an AH mod anymore..again.
    You should get back in the loop toots, you'll get all the juicy gossip. :D

Bonito wrote: »
    You should get back in the loop toots, you'll get all the juicy gossip. :D

Aw nuts, what'd i miss? Use m.boards mostly so don't see these things. :(

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,946 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Unfortunately he has handed in the badge. Again.
    All hail Javaboy. Javaboy is dead.*

*Not probably actually dead afaik.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Unfortunately he has handed in the badge. Again.

We just spent a fortune trying to find him .. and then he legs it again??

Who ever was stealing his sambos from the AH mod fridge, I hope you're proud of yourself :mad:

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,946 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

He picked the lock somehow. I was meant to be watching him but I just kept getting drunk and farting on him.

OutlawPete wrote: »
    We just spent a fortune trying to find him .. and then he legs it again??

Who ever was stealing his sambos from the AH mod fridge, I hope you're proud of yourself :mad:

i bet he only came back for his portion of coke and hookers, then legged it when he'd had his fill :(

as the dr has alluded to, we had him chained to the floor in the basement of AH mod forum. I think he chewed his way out. Wasn't on my watch.

Sounds very perverted that. And him only a boy!! :eek:

That's the least perverted thing that happens in there I can assure you.:P

You on a real computer?

That's the least perverted thing that happens in there I can assure you.:P

You on a real computer?

Ye need more female mods!!!

No,i'm on a fake one:P
    yep, i'm back in civilisation for the weekend:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Ye need more female mods!!!

Modding on a mobile would be a tough task.

"Could a fellow mod please delete that last post, I'm walking down Shop St."

OutlawPete wrote: »
    Modding on a mobile would be a tough task.

"Could a fellow mod please delete that last post, I'm walking down Shop St."

Oh i wasn't dropping a hint!

And will you stop stalking me:P