Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

5 Top Tips for Bringing the Kids to School

• 22-10-2010 10:02am
    Registered Users Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭

These especially apply if your children attend St. Senan's National School in Enniscorthy:

1. Don't Exert Yourself

If you live within a 10 minute walk of the school don't even contemplate walking, take that car.

If there's parking on the less busy outskirts that require you to walk don't use it.

Whatever you do drive that car up as humanely close to the school entrance because physical exertion in this day and age is a major no-no.

2. Uphold your Right to the Road

If there are kids trying to cross the road to hell with them. You paid your road tax and you have the right of way so drive on and run over those little feckers if you have to.

3. Be Creative in how you Park your Car

Don't be afraid to put the entire car up on the foot path. Those small kids and people pushing buggies are well capable of walking out onto the busy road in order to navigate their way around your car. Get all 4 of those wheels up on that mo'focker'

If the footpaths are too narrow to take the entire car then don't be afraid to double park.

These practices might be totally illegal but not to worry... when's the last time the Traffic Warden or Gardai showed up and started issuing fines?

4. Don't pass up those Opportunities to Socialise

Spot a friend approaching you in the opposite direction in their car... don't pass up that opportunity to stop the car in the middle of the road, roll down the window and have a chat... the 20 cars behind won't mind in the slightest... it's the recession... they don't have a job to get to.

5. The World is your Ashtray

A smoke first thing in the morning is as good for you as porridge. Don't be afraid to flick those cigarette butts out the window for all to see... most of these young kids will end up smoking anyway so it's best we do our most to encourage them at as early an age as possible.

Smoking is good for the economy and what it generates in taxes and duties probably out-weighs what is spent on treating the illnesses it is responsible for.

Even if those kids don't end up smoking... the illegal littering of our locality is strongly encouraged and let's face it... those ash trays in your car were actually designed to hold coins.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,270 ✭✭✭Chiparus

Someone needs to cut down on the caffeine. :)

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

If you havent already got access to Ranting and Raving, op, you need it. :)

You also need to remind school run drivers that NO PARKING signs do not apply to them. After all, theyre only going to be five minutes and its not like its in the way, is it? And when your in a line of traffic, and there are no spaces, and all those cars are waiting in a row behind you, dont park at all, just let your kids get out in the middle of the road, then get everything out of the boot, ooh, and then, nearly forgot, shut it, then come back because they forgot to give you a kiss, and yes, of course you should stay and wave till they are at the gate. Youre allowed to do that when youve got kids you know, other people are just too impatient.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Parking in the bus stop by parents on school runs is also permitted,and when they eventually finish dropping off/picking up the kids pulling out into traffic without looking or using indicators and general common sense is also allowed.
    I hate driving through town at school time but sometimes have to-it's not good for the nerves.I agree that 90% of people leaving kids to school live within walking distance yet insist on driving and parking as near as possible to the gates-some would drive into the classroom if they could.A few clamps and fines wouldn't go astray.If I parked in Market Square the way parents park around schools (Hello St. Aidans) it would cost me a fortune in fines but seeing as it's near a school it's fine to block the roads.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭RKQ

People love to park on the footpath even if the car park is empty.
    Shoe leather is expensive, freash air is to be avoided and lets not let the acid rain on our little ones.

No lets keep them warm, dry, fat and unfit. Sure they'll be able to drive themselve to hospital went they are older. :)
    Why is heart disease so high in Ireland? I've no idea....

• Registered Users Posts: 271 ✭✭Ryan T

There are some people around here that need to get a grip and relax.

If the 20 minutes of traffic at school time is the only thing thats stressing them out they have very little to be worrying about.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭jpb1974

Sounds like you know a fair bit about relaxing with a grip there Ryan T :D

• Registered Users Posts: 271 ✭✭Ryan T

Nothing like it friend !!!!:D

• Registered Users Posts: 248 ✭✭Ozzie

Saw a "lady" stopped at St. Aidans Traffic lights the other day as the kids came out from school. She allowed the lights to change from red to green at least 3 or 4 times whilst waiting for her kids to get into the car, causing a tailback to Pettitts and beyond. A Garda car happened to be in the traffic behind her. He got her moving and pulled her in around the corner for a right rollicking I hope!

I have to say that the parents who park around that school are the most selfish shower ever. They are seriously obstructing traffic and little kids are running out from between cars all the time. Haven't the council allowed free parking in the big car park opposite Pettitts during school drop-off / pick-up time. But then again I suppose it's all of 50 yards away!

In my day (not that long ago) we all cycled to school and home for lunch, back to school and home again. No wonder there's an obesity problem.

• Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 3,584 Mod ✭✭✭✭St Senan

Ozzie wrote: »
    Saw a "lady" stopped at St. Aidans Traffic lights the other day as the kids came out from school. She allowed the lights to change from red to green at least 3 or 4 times whilst waiting for her kids to get into the car, causing a tailback to Pettitts and beyond. A Garda car happened to be in the traffic behind her. He got her moving and pulled her in around the corner for a right rollicking I hope!

I have to say that the parents who park around that school are the most selfish shower ever. They are seriously obstructing traffic and little kids are running out from between cars all the time. Haven't the council allowed free parking in the big car park opposite Pettitts during school drop-off / pick-up time. But then again I suppose it's all of 50 yards away!

In my day (not that long ago) we all cycled to school and home for lunch, back to school and home again. No wonder there's an obesity problem.

The council did allow parking in pettits car park but the guy who measured the parking spaces should learn how to use a measuring tape. Regarding the Market I know the stall holders are only there once a month but when they are there they don't give 2hoots about parents trying to get parking before 9am. At the moment we have a pedestrian crossing about 5 foot from a major junction at pettits which is an accident waiting to happen. This year a new crossing warden {waste of time} was introduced below the school below the junction turning into moran park to suit JACKSER why is there a need for a crossing warden at the junction between Doyle's and Donohoe's. DRIVERS COP ON

This is the way it should be regarding this area of town and the school.

The whole road from Bohreen hill round about to the Main junction at Pettits should have speed ramp's

The playground on the fairgreen is nice but why not make the bottom part of the green a big carpark and and lay-by for school buses dropping kids to st Aidans school and add in another Zebra crossing at the lay-by.

The crossing at Pettits junction should be placed further back down Nunnery road towards doctor Bowe's.

The crossing warden down at the junction Nunnery road/Moran park should be at the town side of the Junction to suit more children. Just up the slip road a bit is a Big speed ramp that should be turned into a Zebra crossing with lights.

Any cars that park from Mahon's gate up along the double yellow lines to the school gate should be summonsed. And our Eastern European and African parent's should be told that it is Illegal to park on Double yellow lines and not to park on the footpath across from the school out side the the B&B. I am not a Racist by the way.

Also Mr's D Murphy should get a telling off for parking her Jeep up across from the convent and letting the kids run across the road.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭RKQ

Two weeks of spot checks & strong enforcement of traffic & parking laws by the Garda would bring huge results. Stopping bad habits at the start of term.

People parking on footpaths, on yellow box, on zebra-crossings and double yellow lines is a joke - enforce the rules, no excuses, zero tolerance.

Notice the traffic in town this week? Enniscorthy isn't one big car park during midterm.

There is a free car park beside Gael Scoil, but the majority of parents prefer to park on footpaths outside the school?

Colaiste Bride have been asked to carry out a Traffic Management Plan before their current Planning Application is granted. The School wrote to parents asking them not to block up Fr. Cullens Terrace, but many parents ignored this request. A number of Ambulance failed to get into the street because of conjestion in the past.

A little bit of common sense and consideration for others would go a long way.