Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

J1 2011

• 22-10-2010 3:55pm
    Registered Users Posts: 30

Hi all,I know it's abit early but starting to plan on going on a J1 next summer.Dont have anywhere in mind yet,just so long as its sunny and I can hopefully get work.Im basically open to suggestions and was hoping some of you guys might be able to share your experiences on where to go,places to stay,work etc.Also if anyone is actually going on one next year where have you in mind?:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 13 Gatorade237

Although I did the Canadian version this year, I was in New York for 3 weeks during it and was with people who were in the middle of their J1. Probably gonna go back to New York next year and work with a family friend in a bar. New York's a good choice as travelling on the Subway is really efficient and the place is really Irish orientated. That could be good or bad depending on your view. In Toronto, it was a plus but after a while your nationality became kind of a novelty. The Irish in certain places like San Diego have bad rep's for students and excessive drinking etc.
    However, my mum told me of people having to return from NYC due to not finding a job. I've also heard this happening in California so organising a job prior would obviously be a great advantage. Book changeable flights in case that does happen. And I knew of lads sharing one room to keep costs down because NYC is an expensive city like Toronto so cost of living is high. Cigarettes are around $12 (only in NYC though due to tax. Something like $5 in Jersey which is a 10min train ride away).
    PS: If you go with 'certain visa providers' don't go for their rip-off flights and go through sites like Kayak etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 09627685

me and 4 or 5 others are headin on a j1 this summer..have pretty much decided on montauk, heard good things about jobs, nightlife for under 21-ers etc..

• Registered Users Posts: 44 LimkUL

Myself and two lads are headin San Fran this summer, heard good things bout jobs once your there early. Hoping to head over in late May!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 impy

Hi everyone. I went on a J1 summer last year for 13 weeks, ended up going to Santa Barbara. What can I say, had a ball there!If you want any chance of getting accomodation go to the college area of Isla Vista, its a 2 dollar fare out there from the main town of Santa Barbara and hit places like Abrego Road and Breakpoint for places to live, mainly places with college studens that you can rent off of. Accomodation wise your looking at paying maybe 1200 a month between how many ever is in your group, maybe even cheaper?i strongly suggest lookin at craigslist even for accomodation but the only way really to get lodgings is to go out and start asking around!The Irish arent really well recieved over in SB, due to loud, drunk students from previous years who just piss take on their drinking!Santa Barbara is lovely though, Isla Vista is on the beach, right off a college campus with computers if you need to use the internet, although i strongly advise bringing a laptop!The weather there is fabulous and its a really relaxed setting. In isla vista if you walk twenty minutes down the road there is a Kmart, a park for watching baseball etc and Albertons...kinda like Dunnes Stores, very cheap!ID wise if you are not 21 its not that difficult to get drink, by asking american students or other irish to buy you some but if you are caught by the police it can mean serious trouble. Street drinking could land you with a 300 dollar fine which happened to my friend so be vigilant!Breakpoint is an apartment block which holds a lot of college students but that was the main area of trouble last year with the police raiding it all the time and a couple of irish got thrown out of their apartment. it is getting harder to find accomodation in SB as americans are beginning to hate us but you can always try!Job wise......you wont get one!not unless you lie and say your stayin for a year....but really and truely you probably wont get one...they are scarce and really just not there unless you are lucky!

If you are going to california for a j1 summer....i strongly sugest doing stuff like Disneyland/Seaworld/Universal for a bit of craic!Granted its an expensive day but one's you'll neverr forget!If I were to pick 2 out of 3 i would go with disneyland and universal. Seaworld is amazing as well but if you are just looking for rollarcoasters and disney magic instead of shamu and dolphins then opt for the other 2!When we went to disneyland we went to Hollywood for 2 days and stayed in banana bungalow hostel where they organised transport for 45 dollars..but trust me it was so worth it!Hollywood is a ****hole in my opinion, once you've seen the walk of fame and the kodak theatre there isint much else, in fact there is a lot of weirdoes and its very dirty and cheap there...but go for a say or two just to say you went!Universal studios is very near hollywood so a taxi is dirt cheap to get there. Seaworld is in san diego and we there is an organised free bus to seaworld from the bus station which is handy. Las Vegas is amazing....!!!If you have a chance, go there, if just to see the lights itself. hotels are dirt cheap, and mccdonalds will do food wise!The lights are crazy and you can walk in and out of the hotels like the MGM Grand, Bellagio, Cricus Circus etc!It is severly hot there though, like walking around in a sauna in the desert!so have water on hand but its brilliant, even if your not 21 u can chance gambling at an electronic blackjack table or trying your hand at the slot machines!they also give u free drink in casinos!Grand Canyon is class as well....once in a lifetime chance to see it probably so if you have money u might as well!We went on an organised tour for 60-80 dollars but it was so worth it..the photos come out amazing!Also for getting around state to state...greyhound buses should be used...so cheap!Also went to New York for 5 weeks and lived in Queens in jackson heights, safe neighbourhood, your only way of gettin around new york on the cheap is the subway which is complelty safe, dispite stories I never had any problems on it!VVisit as many sites as you can in America...esp New York. its a very clean safe city, times square is full of fun and lights. If you have money to see a broadway show i highly recommend it!Went to see Wicked and thought it was amazing!So all in all J1 was best experience of my life, you learn to feed yourself(aka noodles and pizza! and budget!!I brought over 3000 with me and it lasted the whole summer, that included 2 months rent in Santa barbara and 5 weeks rent in Queens in New York, seeing Vegas, Grand CAnyon, seaworld, disneyland, beverly hills and hollywood and san diego!an still came home with 20 euro!went with go 4 less and they were relatively cheap and helpful!Never had any major problems with them!

• Registered Users Posts: 5 rmck

in 2008, done my j1 in LA, lived in Santa Monica ,,,, best Summer of my life !!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Its funny how reading stuff can put u off somewhere,, i just read LA forums and judging by that I would not go but from experience I can tell you IGNORE IT ALL !!!!!!!!! I went with 4 other girls and simply had the best experience ever, defo move there in a while !!!
    Im going on j1 again this year and so tempted with LA but not going to simply because iv done it (but its defo a stopover) so im unsure where to go?? I want east Coast, wherevers hottest and on the beach if any1 has any advice???
    We were thinking Wildwood but heard its a bit quiet so now on to OCean City but is there much else to see there????
    If any1 has any help it wud be greatly appreciated, and any info on LA id be more than happy!!! :)
    Rachel

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 duff2690

yeah im looking for a group to go on a J1 this summer as well so if you want another person to tag along im all for it, anywhere is good and the sooner after we finish the better.

• Registered Users Posts: 44 LimkUL

Well myself and two other lads headin San Fran in May! Were from UL though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 sjos

rmck wrote: »
    in 2008, done my j1 in LA, lived in Santa Monica ,,,, best Summer of my life !!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Its funny how reading stuff can put u off somewhere,, i just read LA forums and judging by that I would not go but from experience I can tell you IGNORE IT ALL !!!!!!!!! I went with 4 other girls and simply had the best experience ever, defo move there in a while !!!
    Im going on j1 again this year and so tempted with LA but not going to simply because iv done it (but its defo a stopover) so im unsure where to go?? I want east Coast, wherevers hottest and on the beach if any1 has any advice???
    We were thinking Wildwood but heard its a bit quiet so now on to OCean City but is there much else to see there????
    If any1 has any help it wud be greatly appreciated, and any info on LA id be more than happy!!! :)
    Rachel
    hey!"
    me and 7 other girls are thinking of going to santa monica this summer....cannot wait..
    did you find accommodation when u were over there, where were the best places to stay????
    id really appreciate ur help:confused: lol
    Thanks a mill :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 mireo8

duff2690 wrote: »
    yeah im looking for a group to go on a J1 this summer as well so if you want another person to tag along im all for it, anywhere is good and the sooner after we finish the better.

I'm in the same boat... Dying to go cos you know you are a long time dead and all that jazz... Don't care where I go just wanna head off somewhere.. :) Was half thinking of Montauk cos it's small and I thought it might be easy to settle into if I was on my own.. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 rx

hey booked our flights to boston for the j1 but not sur where to go in the area, anyone know anything about either cape cod or newport rhode island???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 danibear

Hey, myself and my bf are thinking of heading to New York on the J1 but not until early July! will that be leaving it difficult to get accomodation?! we'd prefer to share with others too so the rent wouldn't be as high!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 139 ✭✭Dick Burns

danibear wrote: »
    Hey, myself and my bf are thinking of heading to New York on the J1 but not until early July! will that be leaving it difficult to get accomodation?! we'd prefer to share with others too so the rent wouldn't be as high!

you can stay in my place,ive a basement,It rubs the lotion on its skin. It does this whenever it is told.It rubs the lotion on its skin or else it gets the hose again,Put the ****ing lotion in the basket!