Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

2010 Ford FAI Cup Final - Aviva Stadium - €10 a ticket

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

talla10 wrote: »
    Absolutly terrible penalties

Embarrassing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,978 ✭✭✭445279.ie

Well done Sligo!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Fair play sligo keeper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭Nemanja91

Well done Sligo, fully deserved it. Kelly was great in the shoot-out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Brilliant! Just brilliant!! Well done Sligo. Completely deserve it!! :D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭talla10

dreamers75 wrote: »
    Fair play sligo keeper.

Yeah credit where its due

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,852 ✭✭✭homer simpson

Has that ever been done before saving 4 out of 4 penalties!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,047 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Wahey... fair fecks to the lads!

Kelly was absolutely superb!

Tough call for motm, kelly will probably get it but ye had so many stand out players today!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,048 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

Congratulations to Sligo.

They were better today and Kelly was superb in the shootout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭daithijjj

Fantastic from the 'bit o red'. Yeeessssssssssssssssss

Nemanja91 wrote: »
    Tough call for motm, kelly will probably get it but ye had so many stand out players today!
    Thought N'Do already got it..

basquille wrote: »
    Thought N'Do already got it..

Yeah I just heard it there, he was class today, so composed!

I'm genuinely delighted for Paul Cook. As he said in his interview, they were very gracious in defeat last year so they deserve this win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,597 ✭✭✭LowOdour

well done to sligo, well deserved. Atmosphere seemed really good at the aviva...bottle that up and sell it to irfu

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

Has that ever been done before saving 4 out of 4 penalties!

yes

many times i assume

in a major national cup final though, probably not

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

LowOdour wrote: »
    well done to sligo, well deserved. Atmosphere seemed really good at the aviva...bottle that up and sell it to irfu

The FAI could do with some as well.

I'll tell you something..

.. anyone who went got their moneys worth for €10.. and then some!

Great atmosphere!

Think a Celtic keeper did it saved 8 or so in a row, others teams keeper saved 7 in same match think it ended 2-1 after 12 or 13 penos.

Sligo assistant has a nice claim there :D

Yeah, what happened to him? Did he get hit with the cup?? There were more tears there than Billy Dennehy!! :D

That's Dermot Brannigan, their PRO.

Got an almighty wallop with the lid of the cup.... god bless Sky+ and the rewind function. That's seriously in need of an animated gif! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,147 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

Well done Sligo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

talk about shoite penalties, lol

i could take off my jeans and score one in my boxers there...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

talk about shoite penalties, lol

i could take off my jeans and score one in my boxers there...

I for one would find it much easier to kick a ball whilst wearing boxers than I would if I had jeans on, tbh.

Soccer forum has hit a new low.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭antomorro-sei

Fair play to Sligo. Well deserved IMO.

• Registered Users Posts: 399 ✭✭BornToRun88

Super Sligo Rovers!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,313 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

It's safe to say the better team won. After last year, I am delighted for the Rovers -from sligo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭antomorro-sei

Hahahahahahahahahahahaha.

150336_457908888123_260859138123_5673252_8352431_n.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 492 ✭✭HoPpiE

Nemanja91 wrote: »
    Well done Sligo, fully deserved it. Kelly was great in the shoot-out.

I played Junior soccer with him at Castlebar Celtic and in one match he scored a hat-trick of penalties.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

Well done Sligo. Was a great game considering it was 0-0. Most of the neutrals were up for Sligo. Tenner very well spent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭TangyZizzle

Just home from Lansdowne, beautiful stadium. I was on the South Upper surrounded by Sligo heads, Godbless them, Ill never be able to take a person from the West seriously so long as they have that accent.

Sligo won, deservedly in my opinion. Well done!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

monkey9 wrote: »

Absolutely superb attendance. so happy for irish football right now. The fact that more people turn up for our national final over the visit of the rugby world cup champions is huge. Delighted to be honest. Today is a great day for the people who support local football.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,536 ✭✭✭Dolph Starbeam

Just back home from the game now, it was a good day considering there was a lot less goals than we were hoping for, Sligo deserved there win, Ndo is some player to watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,965 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Sligo play some quality football! Well worth a tenner. As for the shootout, that was even worse than the last penalty shootout I was at up in Derry a few years back for the League Cup Final.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,697 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

I preferred the bit where Rovers win everything...:cool:

Poor game, not helped by Rovers or the referee. Not impressed too much by the Aviva - more style than substance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,313 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

Helix wrote: »
    yes

many times i assume

in a major national cup final though, probably not

Derry keeper saved all pens in a shout out V Shels in the League cup final a couple of seasons ago

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

That's not a major cup final though in all fairness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭OhNoYouDidn't

Fair play to Sligs, they were the better team overall. Was very disappointed with the decisions for the penalties. Bradley being a pillock and getting a stupid second yellow cost us two penalty takers as Baker was pulled in to readjust the side.

Great game, great crowd great atmosphere. The fact that more showed up than the two previous rugby tests and possibly the Norway game says a great deal about the direction the LoI is headed. Its no coincidence that two of the more community oriented sides were there today.

Great day out, shame about the result.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭OhNoYouDidn't

dfx- wrote: »
    I preferred the bit where Rovers win everything...:cool:

Poor game, not helped by Rovers or the referee. Not impressed too much by the Aviva - more style than substance.

Come on, it was a belter of a game. Chances at both ends, some great individual performances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Fair play to Sligo, can't argue with the result - the best team on the day won it. I thought we looked very tired.

Rovers and Sligo has been a one-sided rivalry for the last couple of years but that might be changing soon, I can us and the Sligs fighting it out for top honours for a while now. Still good to see real football fans showing the IRFU and FAI how a proper atmosphere should be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Any highlights anywhere?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭FlawedGenius

Johner wrote: »
    Any highlights anywhere?
    MNS tommorow or full game on rte real player.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 405 ✭✭paddy978

Another 4 in a row for Shams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Fantastic. Over the moon. Very impressed by the new Lansdowne Rd, and must say, for all the bad we say about the FAI, hats of to you today, you got it right, 36000 attendence. Hopefully today was a great advert for LOI and hopefully as well aload of new fans have been got.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,697 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

Come on, it was a belter of a game. Chances at both ends, some great individual performances.

There were good patches to it alright, Rovers lacked time on the ball and Sligo desperately lacked a cutting edge to their play. Both teams best chances I think came from set-pieces.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,369 ✭✭✭UnitedIrishman

Very good advertisement for the game and the €10 entrance fee was genius by the FAI.

Glad to see Sligo win it and a Mayo man play a big part in it. Talking to lads that played with Kelly a few years ago, they reckoned he was the most professional player they'd ever played alongside - apparently he was giving the team talks and doing the coaching sessions when he was playing for Mayo in Oscar Traynor/U20's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭adamski8

Just home from Lansdowne, beautiful stadium. I was on the South Upper surrounded by Sligo heads, Godbless them, Ill never be able to take a person from the West seriously so long as they have that accent.

Sligo won, deservedly in my opinion. Well done!
    dont forget their lovable heads on them!

great entertainment for me anyway. won 50quid on the draw too :D

only **** thing is some jerk off shams fan was sitting in my seats and refused to move from them, I had to be moved to another stand!!!!!!! with a much ****tier view WTF?!!!!!! to top it off he was cursing at us in front of his kids, classy!

saw a fair few getting thrown out for drinking and other shenaigans.

great day anyway, wiped the floor with other ireland matches ive been to for atmosphere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,395 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

Best day of my life.
    Tracksuit is a legend. Super keeper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

Credit to Sligo and Paul Cook.

Players weren't phased by the occasion and they played the brand of football that has won them so many admirers this season.

Great support for both sides and showed how good the stadium will be for the big games in years to come.